October 23, 2023

Temperature record in the MOPUW, the hottest thermal oil plant in the world

Research in the mobile pump and heat transfer fluid test stand (MOPUW)
Scientist Christoph Hilgert prepares to take a heat transfer fluid sample in a cold system.
  • In tests on new types of heat transfer fluids, a new global temperature record was set.
  • Together with industrial partners, the researchers at the Cologne MOPUW were able to demonstrate the functionality of the entire system in continuous operation at up to 470 degrees Celsius.
  • Important insights were also gained into the pump technology used.
  • The foundations have thus been laid for further test series with even higher temperatures.

The Mobile Pump and Heat Transfer Fluid Test Stand (MOPUW) enables the demonstration and research of new types of heat transfer fluids for solar thermal power plants and industrial plants on a pilot plant scale. In the completed first system demonstration with a high-temperature silicone oil, DLR, in cooperation with the participating industrial partners, demonstrated the functionality of the entire system at temperatures of up to 470 degrees Celsius in continuous operation.

HELISOL® XLP, a new silicone oil developed by WACKER Chemie AG, was used as the heat transfer fluid in the MOPUW test stand. In combination with a pump from DICKOW Pumpen GmbH of the NMX series, it was continuously pumped around the system at temperatures between 450 and 470 degrees Celsius.

Really hot oil

According to the researchers' knowledge and according to the operating parameters, no other plant in the world can be operated with a thermal oil at such high temperatures. The industrial partners involved in the MOPUW test stand are the pump manufacturer DICKOW, the plant manufacturer heat 11, the chemical company WACKER and TÜV NORD.

Close monitoring

To determine how temperature-resistant the heat transfer fluid is, the researchers from the Institute of Future Fuels operated the test stand for a period of 3,000 hours at 450 degrees Celsius, another 1,000 hours at 460 degrees Celsius and finally 1,000 hours at the peak temperature of 470 degrees Celsius. During the test operation, the stability of the HELISOL® silicone oil was confirmed by regular sampling. To this end, a series of tests were carried out, including the analysis of gases that can form in the system over time. In addition, WACKER was able to determine the chemical age of the fluid in laboratory tests during operation on the basis of certain parameters. These indicate the degree to which the long siloxane chains that make up the HELISOL® XLP fluid crosslink with each other under the influence of the high operating temperature. As the degree of cross-linking of a silicone fluid increases, the viscosity can increase, leading to problems in plant operation, including increased energy requirements for the pumps. In a CSP solar thermal power plant with a maximum operating temperature of 425 degrees Celsius, the application limit or service life of the fluid is over 25 years, according to the manufacturer.

Mobile heat transfer fluid and pump test stand (MOPUW)
The new test stand in Cologne-Porz makes it possible to demonstrate and research new types of heat transfer fluids on a pilot plant scale with limited effort.
Credit:

Bundeministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz

The heart of the plant, a new NMX high-temperature pump from DICKOW, was also qualified during operation and tested under extreme conditions. In particular, the heavily stressed seals and the smooth running of the unit were meticulously analysed. Just like the HELISOL® XLP heat transfer fluid, the pump also passed the stress test.

Due to the very good test results, the project partners consider even higher operating temperatures of up to 480 degrees Celsius to be technically feasible. An important foundation has thus been laid for future projects and further test series.

Contact

Christoph Hilgert

Project management
German Aerospace Center (DLR)
Institute of Future Fuels
Linder Höhe, D-51147 Köln-Porz
Germany

Christian Siegel

Communication Officer
German Aerospace Center (DLR)
Institute of Future Fuels
Schneiderstraße 2, D-52428 Jülich
Germany
Tel: +49 (0) 2461 93730-328

23. Oktober 2023

Temperaturrekord im MOPUW, der heißesten Thermalölanlage der Welt

Forschungsarbeiten im mobilen Pumpen- und Wärmeträgerteststand (MOPUW)
Wissenschaftler Christoph Hilgert bereitet bei kalter Anlage die Entnahme einer Wärmeträgerprobe vor.
  • Bei Versuchen zu neuartigen Wärmeträgerfluiden wurde ein neuer, weltweiter Temperaturrekord aufgestellt.
  • Gemeinsam mit den Industriepartnern konnten die Forschenden im Kölner MOPUW die Funktionalität des Gesamtsystems im Dauerbetrieb bei bis zu 470 Grad Celsius nachweisen.
  • Auch konnten wichtige Erkentnisse zur verwendeten Pumpentechnologie gewonnen werden.
  • Die Grundlagen für weitere Versuchsreihen mit noch höheren Temperaturen sind damit gelegt.

Der mobile Pumpen- und Wärmeträgerteststand (MOPUW) ermöglicht die Demonstration und Erforschung neuartiger Wärmeträgerfluide für Solarthermiekraftwerke und Industrieanlagen im Technikumsmaßstab. Bei der abgeschlossenen ersten Systemdemonstration mit einem Hochtemperatur-Silikonöl hat das DLR in Kooperation mit den beteiligten Industriepartnern die Funktionalität des Gesamtsystems bei Temperaturen von bis zu 470 Grad Celsius im Dauerbetrieb nachgewiesen.

Als Wärmeträgerfluid wurde das von der Firma WACKER Chemie AG neu entwickelte Silikonöl HELISOL® XLP im MOPUW Teststand genutzt. In Kombination mit einer Pumpe der Firma DICKOW Pumpen GmbH der Baureihe NMX wurde es dabei kontinuierlich in der Anlage bei Temperaturen zwischen 450 und 470 Grad Celsius umgepumpt.

Wirklich heißes Öl

Nach den Kenntnissen der Forschenden des DLR und gemäß der Betriebsparameter lässt sich weltweit keine andere Anlage bei solch hohen Temperaturen mit einem Thermoöl betreiben. Am Teststand MOPUW sind als Industriepartner der Pumpenhersteller DICKOW, der Anlagenbauer heat 11, der Chemiekonzern WACKER sowie der TÜV NORD beteiligt.

Engmaschiges Monitoring

Um festzustellen, wie temperaturbeständig das Wärmeträgerfluid ist, betrieben die Forschenden des Instituts für Future Fuels den Teststand über eine Dauer von 3.000 Stunden bei 450 Grad Celsius, weitere 1.000 Stunden bei 460 Grad Celsius und schließlich 1.000 Stunden bei der Spitzentemperatur von 470 Grad Celsius. Während des Versuchsbetriebs wurde durch regelmäßige Probenentnahme die Stabilität des Silikonöls HELISOL® bestätigt. Hierzu wurden eine Reihe von Untersuchungen durchgeführt, unter anderem die Analyse von Gasen, die sich im Laufe der Zeit im System bilden können. Ergänzend konnte WACKER in Laboruntersuchungen im laufenden Betrieb das chemische Alter des Fluids anhand bestimmter Parameter bestimmen. Diese weisen darauf hin, bis zu welchem Grad sich die langen Siloxanketten, aus denen das Fluid HELISOL® XLP besteht, unter Einwirkung der hohen Betriebstemperatur miteinander vernetzen. Bei steigendem Vernetzungsgrad eines Silikonfluids kann es zu einem Anstieg der Viskosität (Zähflüssigkeit) kommen und damit zu Problemen im Anlagenbetrieb, unter anderem durch einen erhöhten Energiebedarf bei den Pumpen. In einem CSP-Solarthermiekraftwerk mit einer maximalen Betriebstemperatur von 425 Grad Celsius liegt die Einsatzgrenze beziehungsweise Lebensdauer des Fluids nach Angaben des Herstellers bei über 25 Jahren.

Mobiler Wärmeträger- und Pumpenteststand (MOPUW)
Der neue Teststand in Köln-Porz ermöglicht es, mit begrenztem Aufwand neuartige Wärmeträgerfluide im Technikumsmaßstab zu demonstrieren und zu erforschen.
Credit:

Bundeministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz

Auch das Herzstück der Anlage, eine neue Hochtemperatur-Pumpe NMX der Firma DICKOW, wurde im laufenden Betrieb qualifiziert und unter Extrembedingungen geprüft. Akribisch analysiert wurden insbesondere die stark beanspruchten Dichtungen und die Laufruhe des Aggregats. Ebenso wie das Wärmeträgerfluid HELISOL® XLP konnte auch die Pumpe den Stresstest bestehen.

Aufgrund der sehr guten Testergebnisse halten die Projektpartner auch noch höhere Betriebstemperaturen von bis zu 480 Grad Celsius für technisch realisierbar. Eine wichtige Grundlage für zukünftige Projekte und weitere Versuchsreihen ist somit gelegt.

Kontakt

Christoph Hilgert

Projektleitung
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)
Institut für Future Fuels
Linder Höhe, D-51147 Köln-Porz

Christian Siegel

Referent Institutskommunikation
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) e.V.
Institut für Future Fuels
Schneiderstraße 2, D-52428 Jülich
Tel: +49 (0) 2461 93730-328