November 3, 2023

Special exhibition on fertiliser: Solar Fuels exhibit shows sustainable production methods

Solar Fuels at the Museum Brot und Kunst
The DLR exhibit "Solar Fuels" (right) can be experienced interactively and is presented by researcher Lena Klass (illustration left) via an audio guide.

Solar Fuels in the agriculture of tomorrow? No more dreams of the future with CO2-neutral fertilisers! On the ecologically important topic of fertiliser, the special exhibition "Elixir of life. Fertiliser between magic power and explosive" has started at the Museum Brot und Kunst in Ulm. We are pleased to be there with our exhibit "Solar Fuels"!

The exhibition provides exciting insights into the history of fertilisers, their social significance as well as new technical production processes. On display are photos, videos, installations and artworks that present the topic in a vivid and entertaining way, including a graphic illustration by our colleague Lena Klaas, which introduces visitors to the topic via audio guide.

Our exhibit on the solar production of fuels and fertilisers illustrates our CO2-neutral approach: a production path from the collection of solar energy in a solar power plant, hydrogen production by means of a thermochemical reaction, subsequent ammonia production in the Haber-Bosch process to fertiliser application on the field. Our recently completed SESAM project has also addressed the topic and further developed a thermochemical air separation for the production of nitrogen, also an important basic material for fertiliser production.

The exhibition runs until 07.04.2024. Come by, experience our research interactively and learn more about one of the most important global food issues!

Contact

Lena Klaas

Project management
German Aerospace Center (DLR)
Institute of Future Fuels
Linder Höhe, D-51147 Köln-Porz
Germany

Christian Siegel

Communication Officer
German Aerospace Center (DLR)
Institute of Future Fuels
Schneiderstraße 2, D-52428 Jülich
Germany
Tel: +49 (0) 2461 93730-328

3. November 2023

Sonderausstellung zum Thema Dünger: Solar Fuels Exponat zeigt nachhaltige Produktionswege auf

Solar Fuels im Museum Brot und Kunst
Das DLR-Exponat "Solar Fuels" (rechts) lässt sich interaktiv erleben und wird von der Forscherin Lena Klass (Illustration links) über einen Audio-Guide vorgestellt.

Solar Fuels in der Landwirtschaft von morgen? Mit CO2-neutralen Düngern keine Zukunftsmusik mehr! Zum ökologisch wichtigen Thema Dünger ist nun die Sonderausstellung „Lebenselexier. Dünger zwischen Zauberkraft und Sprengstoff“ im Museum Brot und Kunst in Ulm gestartet. Wir freuen uns mit unserem Exponat „Solar Fuels“ dabei zu sein!

Die Ausstellung vermittelt spannende Einblicke in die Geschichte der Düngemittel, ihre gesellschaftliche Bedeutung sowie neue technische Herstellungsverfahren. Zu sehen sind Fotos, Videos, Installationen und Kunstwerke, die das Thema anschaulich und unterhaltsam darstellen, darunter auch eine grafische Illustration unserer Kollegin Lena Klaas, welche die Besuchenden per Audio-Guide in die Thematik einführt.

Unser Exponat zur solaren Herstellung von Kraftstoffen und Düngern verdeutlicht unseren CO2-neutralen Ansatz: einen Produktionsweg vom Sammeln der Sonnenenergie in einem Solarkraftwerk, die Wasserstoff-Produktion mittels thermochemischer Reaktion, die anschließende Ammoniakherstellung im Haber-Bosch-Verfahren bis hin zur Dünge-Anwendung auf dem Acker. Auch unser jüngst abgeschlossenes Projekt SESAM hat sich der Thematik gewidmet und eine thermochemische Luftzerlegung zur Herstellung von Stickstoff weiterentwickelt, ebenfalls ein wichtiger Grundstoff für die Düngemittelproduktion.

Die Ausstellung läuft noch bis zum 07.04.2024. Kommen Sie vorbei, erleben Sie unsere Forschung interaktiv und erfahren Sie mehr über eines der wichtigsten globalen Ernährungs-Themen!

Kontakt

Lena Klaas

Projektleitung
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)
Institut für Future Fuels
Linder Höhe, D-51147 Köln-Porz

Christian Siegel

Referent Institutskommunikation
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) e.V.
Institut für Future Fuels
Schneiderstraße 2, D-52428 Jülich
Tel: +49 (0) 2461 93730-328