Low cost flight monitor – changing trends in the low cost flight sector

11 May 2016

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • Fluggesellschaften am Köln/Bonner Flughafen
    Airlines at Cologne/Bonn Airport

    Instead of continuing to build up their network of flight routes, the airlines concerned have been operating more flights on fewer routes.

Differing airline strategies are shaking up the range of offers in the low cost flight sector. Instead of continuing to build up their network of flight routes, the airlines concerned have been operating more flights on fewer routes. While Ryanair is ramping up its range of routes in the German marketplace, Germanwings/Eurowings is now starting to offer the first long-haul low cost flights to destinations such as America and Asia. This and much more has come from analyses carried out by scientists at the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR), which appear in the 2016 issue of Low Cost Monitor.

Shrinking price ranges

Passengers paid an average of between 64 and 107 euros for a flight ticket in spring 2016 – depending on the advance-booking period (one day, one week, one month, three months). Just last year, the price range between the most expensive and inexpensive flight price was even greater (46 and 136 euros). "Some airlines have reduced their ticket prices and others have increased them. Overall, this has led to an equalisation in the price range of flights," explains Peter Berster from the DLR Institute of Air Transport and Airport Research. But the trend may look different on individual routes: "On up-and-coming routes, low cost airlines are competing more and more with one another," says Berster. On popular routes such as Cologne/Bonn – Berlin, prices have dropped significantly.

 

Flight price staggering
  Flight price staggering

 

 

 

Average flight prices 2015/16
  Average flight prices 2015/16

Flights and routes – ups and downs

Low cost airlines are offering around four percent more flights and almost five percent fewer routes within and outside Germany. One reason for this is that Ryanair is making a big push into the German market, offering 60 percent more flights compared to last year.

 

Flights and routes offered
  Flights and routes offered

 

 

 

Flights in the low cost segment
  Flights in the low cost segment

 

Three main airlines in Germany and Europe

Germanwings/Eurowings, Air Berlin, and Ryanair are the three airlines with the most low cost flight offers in the German market. Germanwings/Eurowings has reinforced its leading position in the low cost market in Germany, offering over 200 destinations.

Across Europe, Ryanair and Easyjet lead the pack as the largest airlines in the low cost sector. Together, they have a share of almost 45 percent of the European low cost market. In the process, Ryanair has increased its flight offers by over 17 percent compared to last year. Easyjet has grown significantly too, with over seven percent more flights. This means that the home bases for these two airlines – Dublin and London Luton airports – are once again the top two airports in Europe handling the most low cost flights. They are followed by Barcelona in third place. Overall, the market share in low cost traffic in Europe is around 28 percent.

Cologne/Bonn and Berlin-Schönefeld – four out of five trips are low cost flights

Ryanair's expansion has also led to greater airport capacity. Berlin-Schönefeld and Cologne/Bonn are prime examples. Cologne/Bonn airport is handling 572 low cost flights per week – almost a quarter more in this sector than in 2015. This means that low cost flights are accounting for 80 percent of total flights.

Schönefeld has also reached a low cost share of almost 80 percent as a result of the increase in Ryanair offers. The Irish low cost airline increased its flight offers from/to Schönefeld from around 40 flights a week to over 200.

Most popular destination – United Kingdom

One in five low cost flights goes to the United Kingdom. This puts it back at the top of foreign destinations in spring 2016. Spain and Italy follow in second and third place. Although hardly any changes in the flights offered are seen here, scientists did record a growth in low cost flight offers to eastern Europe. "Hungarian low cost operator Wizz Air is continuing to build up its range of flights from Germany. However, Ryanair is also trying to increase its flight offers in this market," says Berster.

Low cost and traditional commercial airlines

Airlines often use a distinct format for their low cost offers. This means that it is difficult to define clear differentiation criteria for this sector, such as a lower price, general availability, or direct sales via the internet. The business models of some low cost operators also blend in with those of traditional airlines, making it difficult to categorise them. This is especially the case for Air Berlin, which operates traditional regular services and charter flights, as well as low cost flights.

For this reason, the airlines considered by DLR in the Low Cost Monitor are not identified in terms of their business model, but on the basis of the high number of flight offers in the low cost sector compared to the overall market.

The results outlined can be found in the DLR Low Cost Monitor 1/2016. The report has been published every spring and autumn since 2006 by the DLR Institute of Air Transport and Airport Research.

Last modified:
17/05/2016 14:18:09

Contacts

 

Fabian Locher
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Corporate Communications, Editor Aeronautics

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3959

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Dr Peter Berster
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

DLR Institute of Air Transport and Airport Research

Tel.: +49 2203 601-4554

Fax: +49 2203 601-2377

Billigflug-Check: Trendwende im Geschäft mit den günstigen Flugtickets

Mittwoch, 11. Mai 2016

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • Fluggesellschaften am Köln/Bonner Flughafen
    Fluggesellschaften am Köln/Bonner Flughafen

    Statt das Streckennetz weiter auszubauen, flogen die betrachteten Fluggesellschaften mehr Flüge auf weniger angebotenen Strecken.

Unterschiedliche Strategien der Airlines führen zu einer veränderten Angebotslandschaft im Billigflug-Sektor: Statt das Streckennetz weiter auszubauen, flogen die betrachteten Fluggesellschaften mehr Flüge auf weniger angebotenen Strecken. Während Ryanair sein Angebot im deutschen Markt aufstockt, bietet Germanwings/Eurowings erstmalig auch Low Cost Flüge auf Langstrecken, wie Amerika und Asien, an. Das - und vieles mehr - geht aus den Analysen der Wissenschaftler des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) hervor, die im aktuellen Low Cost Monitor 2016 aufgeführt sind.

Preisspanne schrumpft

Zwischen 64 und 107 Euro bezahlten Passagiere im Frühjahr 2016 durchschnittlich für ein Flugticket - je nach Vorausbuchungszeitraum (1 Tag, 1 Woche, 1 Monat, 3 Monate). Noch im Vorjahr lag die Preisspanne zwischen dem teuersten und dem niedrigsten Flugpreis weiter auseinander (46 und 136 Euro). "Die Fluggesellschaften haben ihre Ticketpreise teils reduziert und teils erhöht. Das führt insgesamt zu einer Angleichung der Flugpreis-Spanne", erklärt Dr. Peter Berster vom DLR-Institut für Flughafenwesen und Luftverkehr. Auf einzelnen Strecken kann dieser Trend jedoch anders aussehen: "In aufkommensstarken Strecken treten die Günstigflieger immer stärker untereinander in den Wettbewerb", so Dr. Berster. Auf vielgeflogenen Strecken, wie zum Beispiel Köln/Bonn - Berlin, sind die Preise deutlich zurückgegangen.

 

Flugpreisstaffelung
  Flugpreisstaffelung

 

 

 

Durchschnittliche Flugpreise 2015/16
  Durchschnittliche Flugpreise 2015/16

Flüge und Strecken: Anstieg und Rückgang

Rund vier Prozent mehr Flüge auf fast fünf Prozent weniger Strecken boten die Fluggesellschaften im Niedrigpreissegment in und ab Deutschland an. Ein Grund hierfür ist, dass Ryanair verstärkt in den deutschen Markt drängt und 60 Prozent zusätzliche Flüge im Vergleich zum Vorjahr anbietet.

 

Angebotene Flüge und Strecken
  Angebotene Flüge und Strecken

 

 

 

Flüge im Low Cost Segment
  Flüge im Low Cost Segment

 

Drei Airlines dominieren Deutschland und Europa

Germanwings/Eurowings, Air Berlin und Ryanair sind die drei Fluggesellschaften mit den meisten günstigen Flugangeboten auf dem deutschen Markt. Germanwings/Eurowings baut dabei mit über 200 angebotenen Zielen seine Spitzenstellung im deutschen Low Cost Markt weiter aus.

Europaweit führen Ryanair und Easyjet das Feld der größten Fluggesellschaften im Low Cost Segment an. Zusammen haben sie einen Anteil am europäischen Low Cost Markt von fast 45 Prozent. Ryanair steigerte dabei sein Flugangebot um mehr als 17 Prozent gegenüber dem Vorjahr. Auch Easyjet lege deutlich zu, mit über sieben Prozent zusätzlichen Flügen. Das führt dazu, dass die Heimatflughäfen dieser beiden Fluggesellschaften, Dublin und London-Stansted, wieder die ersten beiden Plätze der am meisten mit Low Cost Flügen angeflogenen Flughäfen Europas einnehmen. Auf Platz drei folgt Barcelona. Insgesamt beträgt der Marktanteil des Low Cost Verkehrs in Europa rund 28 Prozent.

Köln/Bonn und Berlin-Schönefeld: Vier von fünf Starts sind Low Cost Flüge

Die Expansion von Ryanair führt auch zu einer stärkeren Auslastung der Flughäfen. Insesondere Berlin-Schönefeld und Köln/Bonn bekommen diese deutlich zu spüren: Der Flughafen Köln/Bonn weist mit 572 Low Cost Starts pro Woche fast ein Viertel mehr Starts in diesem Segment auf als 2015. Das entspricht einem Anteil der Low Cost-Flüge am Gesamtangebot von fast 80 Prozent.

Auch Schönefeld kommt durch den Anstieg der Ryanair-Angebote auf einen Low Cost Anteil von fast 80 Prozent: Die irische Billig-Fluggesellschaft erhöhte ihr Angebot in Schönefeld von rund 40 Flügen pro Woche auf über 200.

Beliebtestes Ziel: Großbritannien

Jeder fünfte Low Cost Flug geht nach Großbritannien. Damit nimmt Großbritannien im Frühjahr 2016 erneut  die führende Rolle bei den Auslandszielen ein. An zweiter und dritter Stelle folgen Spanien und Italien. Während hier kaum Veränderungen bei den angebotenen Flügen zu vermerken sind, verzeichneten die Wissenschaftler einen Ausbau der Low Cost Angebote nach Osteuropa. "Der ungarische Billigflug-Anbieter Wizz baut sein Angebot an Flügen ab Deutschland immer mehr aus. Aber auch Ryanair versucht, verstärkt Flüge in diesem Markt anzubieten", sagt Dr. Berster.

Low Cost und traditioneller Linienflugbetrieb

Die Fluggesellschaften gestalten ihr Low Cost Angebot oft sehr unterschiedlich. Dadurch lassen sich nur wenige eindeutige Abgrenzungskriterien für dieses Marktsegment definieren, wie beispielsweise ein niedriger Preis und seine generelle Verfügbarkeit oder ein Direktvertrieb über das Internet. Die Geschäftsmodelle einiger Low Cost Gesellschaften verschmelzen zudem mit denen traditioneller Airlines und erschweren die Zuordnung. Dies trifft besonders auf die Fluggesellschaft Air Berlin zu, die neben dem Low Cost Segment auch traditionellen Linien- und Charterverkehr durchführt.

Die vom DLR im Low Cost Monitor betrachteten Fluggesellschaften werden deshalb nicht aufgrund ihres Geschäftsmodells identifiziert, sondern aufgrund ihrer hohen Anzahl von Angeboten im Niedrigpreissegment des Gesamtmarktes.

Die beschriebenen Ergebnisse stehen im "Low Cost Monitor 1/2016" des DLR. Der Bericht wird seit 2006 jeweils im Frühling und im Herbst vom DLR-Institut für Flughafenwesen und Luftverkehr veröffentlicht.

Zuletzt geändert am:
18.05.2016 16:01:49 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Fabian Locher
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation, Redaktion Luftfahrt

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3959

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Dr. Peter Berster
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Flughafenwesen und Luftverkehr

Tel.: +49 2203 601-4554

Fax: +49 2203 601-2377