Growth in global air traffic – June breaks records

01 July 2016

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • Rekord%2dStarts im Juni 2016
    Record number of take-offs in June 2016

    For the first time, the number of worldwide flights in June exceeded the three million planned take-offs mark – an increase of 3.5 percent compared to the previous year.

  • Weltweite Verteilung der Luft%2dVerkehrsströme
    Worldwide distribution of air traffic

    The coloured sections on the outermost part of the circle correspond to the number of take-offs per region. The lines in between indicate the share of flights from one region to another respective region. In addition, they indicate how much traffic some regions get from other regions.

For the first time, the number of worldwide flights in June exceeded the three million planned take-offs mark – an increase of 3.5 percent compared to the previous year. This is one of the findings in the latest Global Aviation Monitor. Researchers at the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) regularly monitor more than 3500 airports and 850 airlines to determine current trends in global air traffic.

The full report can be found here.

Global growth

Following years of decline and stagnation, the number of flights in North America has once again increased by one percent compared to the previous year. With over 880,000 flights per month, North America continues to be the biggest market in the world for air traffic, handling approximately 30 percent of global air traffic. In second place is Asia with an overall share of 27 percent of global air traffic due to an increase of between five and 10 percent in recent years. Europe is in third place, with 750,000 take-offs per month. The European market grew between three and five percent monthly on average over the last year. Germany is following the global trend in growth too – 85,000 take-offs in June represents an increase of 3.6 percent compared to June 2015.

Flight volume is expected to increase between two and four percent in the third quarter of 2016 – in Europe and worldwide.

Over one third more flights in Berlin-Schönefeld

One airport is particularly benefiting from the global trend. In June 2016, Berlin-Schönefeld Airport handled 35 percent more flights than in the previous year. This growth is primarily due to the significant increase in Ryanair offerings. Cologne-Bonn Airport is also benefiting from the Irish low cost carrier’s offensive.

But a negative trend is seen at smaller airports such as Dortmund and Frankfurt-Hahn. The retreat of Air Berlin and other airlines from smaller airports has led to shrinking flight numbers. "We have noticed that low cost carriers are increasingly focusing on larger locations and withdrawing more and more from the small airports," explains Peter Berster from the DLR Institute of Air Transport and Airport Research

"With regard to destinations, in recent months, we have noticed an almost 30 percent decline of air traffic from Germany to Africa," adds Basher.

Low cost carriers gain ground across the world

When measuring by the number of flights, American Airlines is the biggest carrier in the world. With the takeover of US Airways, this year the North American company is offering 85 percent more flights than in the previous year – 200,000 flights in June 2016 alone. On the other hand, real growth without the acquisition of competitors is observed in some low cost carriers such as Ryanair and Indian airline IndiGo. Amongst the five largest airlines in the world, two are now low cost carriers – Southwest and Ryanair – in addition to US airlines from three major air transport alliances: Oneworld, SkyTeam, and StarAlliance.

Inexpensive European flight market

Two low cost carriers are also the top airlines in Europe with the most flight offerings. While several traditionally large airlines such as SAS, Air France, and Aeroflot have reduced their range, Ryanair has increased its offer of flights across Europe by 10 percent to around 59,000 take-offs. By comparison, Easyjet has 45,000 flights per month, Lufthansa 41,000 and Turkish Airlines 36,000. In Germany, Lufthansa continues to be the undisputed number one with 27,500 take-offs, followed by Air Berlin with 12,000, and Germanwings/Eurowings with approximately 10,000 take-offs.

Despite Ryanair's strong growth of over 36 percent in Germany compared to the previous year, the number of flights in the country remains relatively low – at 3700 take-offs. Lufthansa is also aligning itself strategically with the low cost flight tickets business. With the exception of flights to and from its hubs in Frankfurt and Munich, Lufthansa has transferred all its domestic and European flights to its subsidiary Germanwings in recent years. The long-haul low cost carrier Eurowings, which also belongs to the Lufthansa group and into which all Germanwings flights are expected to be integrated in future, has been in existence since 2015. Noticeable in the German market is the strong growth of low cost carrier Transavia, a subsidiary of KLM/Air France, which is now offering flights within Germany on the Munich-Berlin route with the launch of the 2016 summer timetable this June.

Global Aviation Monitor

The Global Aviation Monitor (GAM) is published quarterly by the DLR Institute of Air Transport and Airport Research. The report sets out the current situation of international, European, and German air transport and offers a short-term forecast for the following three months. It provides stakeholders in the air transport market with early notice of changes in the global air transport sector.

Last modified:
01/07/2016 09:42:41

Contacts

 

Fabian Locher
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Corporate Communications, Editor Aeronautics

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3959

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Dr Peter Berster
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

DLR Institute of Air Transport and Airport Research

Tel.: +49 2203 601-4554

Fax: +49 2203 601-2377

Wachstum im weltweiten Luftverkehr: Juni bricht Rekorde

Freitag, 1. Juli 2016

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • Rekord%2dStarts im Juni 2016
    Rekord-Starts im Juni 2016

    Erstmals überschreitet die Anzahl der weltweiten Flugbewegungen in einem Juni die Marke von drei Millionen geplanten Starts – ein Plus von 3,5 Prozent im Vergleich zum Vorjahr.

  • Weltweite Verteilung der Luft%2dVerkehrsströme
    Weltweite Verteilung der Luft-Verkehrsströme

    Die Breite der äußeren Kreis-Segmente entsprechen der totalen Anzahl der Starts. Die einzelnen Linien dazwischen zeigen die Anteile der Flüge aus dem jeweiligen Segment in die anderen Segmente auf. Zusätzlich wird verdeutlicht, wie viel Verkehr innerhalb der einzelnen Segmente stattfindet.

Erstmals überschreitet die Anzahl der weltweiten Flugbewegungen in einem Juni die Marke von drei Millionen geplanten Starts – ein Plus von 3,5 Prozent im Vergleich zum Vorjahr. Das ist eine der Erkenntnisse des neuen Global Aviation Monitors. Wissenschaftler des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) beleuchten regelmäßig mehr als 3500 Flughäfen und 850 Fluggesellschaften, um die aktuellen Trends des weltweiten Luftverkehrs aufzuzeigen.

Den vollständigen Bericht finden Sie hier.

Globales Wachstum

Nach Jahren des Rückgangs und der Stagnation wächst in Nordamerika erstmals wieder die Zahl der Flugbewegungen gegenüber dem Vorjahr um ein Prozent. Mit mehr als 880.000 Starts pro Monat ist Nordamerika somit weiterhin der weltweit größte Markt im globalen Luftverkehr – rund 30 Prozent des globalen Luftverkehrs werden hier abgewickelt. An zweiter Stelle folgt der asiatische Kontinent, der dank jahrelanger Wachstumsraten zwischen fünf und 10 Prozent, mittlerweile einen Gesamtanteil am weltweiten Luftverkehr von 27 Prozent aufweist. Europa liegt mit 750.000 Starts pro Monat weltweit auf Platz Drei. Im letzten Jahr ist der europäische Markt monatlich im Schnitt zwischen drei und fünf Prozent gewachsen. Auch Deutschland hält mit dem weltweiten Wachstumstrend mit: 85.000 Starts im Juni 2016 entsprechen einem Plus von 3,6 Prozent gegenüber Juni 2015.

Für das dritte Quartal 2016 wird auf europäischer und globaler Ebene von einem weiteren Wachstum bei den Flugbewegungen zwischen zwei und vier Prozent ausgegangen.

Über ein Drittel mehr Flüge in Berlin-Schönefeld

Ein Flughafen profitiert besonders von dem globalen Trend: Im Juni 2016 hat der Flughafen Berlin-Schönefeld 35 Prozent mehr Flüge abgewickelt als noch im Vorjahr. Dieser Anstieg geht vor allem auf den starken Ausbau der Angebote von Ryanair zurück. Auch der Flughafen Köln-Bonn profitiert von der Offensive des irischen Low Cost Carriers.

Ein Negativtrend ist hingegen an kleineren Flughäfen wie Dortmund oder Frankfurt-Hahn festzustellen. Der Rückzug Air Berlins und weiterer Fluggesellschaften von den kleineren Standorten führt hier zu schrumpfenden Flugbewegungen. "Wir bemerken, dass sich die Low Cost Carrier verstärkt auf größere Standorte konzentrieren und sich von den kleinen Flughäfen mehr und mehr zurückziehen", erklärt Dr. Peter Berster vom DLR-Institut für Flughafenwesen und Luftverkehr.

"Bei den Reisezielen stellen wir fest, dass in den letzten Monaten von Deutschland aus der Flugverkehr von Deutschland nach Afrika um fast 30 Prozent zurückgegangen ist", so Dr. Berster.

Low Cost Carrier weltweit auf dem Vormarsch

Gemessen an der Anzahl der Flugbewegungen ist American Airlines die größte Fluggesellschaft der Welt. Durch die Übernahme von US Airways konnten die Amerikaner 85 Prozent mehr Flüge anbieten als im Vorjahr – allein 200.000 Flüge im Juni 2016. Ein reales Wachstum ohne Übernahme von Konkurrenten ist dagegen bei einigen Low Cost Carriern wie Ryanair oder der indischen IndiGo festzustellen. Zu den fünf größten Fluggesellschaften der Welt zählen nun – neben jeweils einer US-Airline aus den drei großen Luftverkehrsallianzen Oneworld, SkyTeam und StarAlliance – die beiden Low Cost Carrier Southwest und Ryanair.

Billigflug-Markt in Europa

Auch in Europa liegen zwei Low Cost Carrier an der Spitze der Fluggesellschaften mit den meisten Flugangeboten. Während einige traditionell große Fluggesellschaften, wie SAS, Air France oder Aeroflot ihre Angebote reduzieren, hat Ryanair seine europaweit angebotenen Flüge um 10 Prozent auf rund 59.000 Starts im Juni gesteigert. Zum Vergleich: Easyjet kommt auf 45.000 Starts, Lufthansa auf 41.000 Starts und Turkish Airlines auf 36.000 Starts pro Monat. In Deutschland liegt Lufthansa weiterhin unangefochten auf Platz Eins mit 27.500 Starts, gefolgt von Air Berlin mit 12.000 Starts und Germanwings/Eurowings mit rund 10.000 Starts.

Trotz des starken Wachstums von Ryanair in Deutschland von über 36 Prozent gegenüber dem Vorjahr, ist die Anzahl der Flugbewegungen mit 3.700 Starts hierzulande noch relativ gering. Auch die Lufthansa richtet sich strategisch weiter am Geschäft mit den günstigen Flugtickets aus: Außer von und zu den Knotenpunkten Frankfurt und München, hat Lufthansa in den vergangenen Jahren alle nationalen und europäischen Flüge auf ihre Tochtergesellschaft Germanwings übertragen. Seit Ende 2015 gibt es zudem den Langstrecken-Low Cost Carrier Eurowings, der ebenfalls zum Lufthansa-Konzern gehört und in den künftig auch alle Flüge von Germanwings integriert werden sollen. Auffallend im deutschen Markt ist auch das starke Wachstum des Low Cost Carriers Transavia, ein Tochterunternehmen von KLM-Air France, welches mit Beginn des Sommerflugplans 2016 ab Juni nun auch innerdeutsche Flüge auf der Strecke München-Berlin anbietet.

Global Aviation Monitor

Der Global Aviation Monitor (GAM) wird vom DLR-Institut für Flughafenwesen und Luftverkehr quartalsweise herausgegeben. In dem Bericht wird die aktuelle Situation des weltweiten, europäischen und deutschen Luftverkehrs erfasst und eine Kurzfristprognose für die nächsten drei Monate erstellt. Relevanten Akteuren im Luftverkehrsmarkt werden so frühzeitig Veränderungen im weltweiten Luftverkehr aufgezeigt.

Zuletzt geändert am:
30.06.2016 16:39:24 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Fabian Locher
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation, Redaktion Luftfahrt

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3959

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Dr. Peter Berster
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Flughafenwesen und Luftverkehr

Tel.: +49 2203 601-4554

Fax: +49 2203 601-2377