Aeroliner3000 – train concept by DLR and Andreas Vogler Studio impresses in the 'Tomorrow's Train Design Today' competition

15 June 2015

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • Mit dem Aeroliner3000 gemeinsam erfolgreich
    Successful partnership for the Aeroliner3000

    The concept, developed by DLR and Andreas Vogler Studio, convinced the jury of the competition ‘Tomorrow's Train Design Today’, and promises more passenger capacity, less noise and lower carbon dioxide emissions.

  • Neue Ideen für das britische Bahnsystem %2d der Aeroliner3000
    New ideas for the British railway system – the Aeroliner3000

    The railway system in the UK will change dramatically in the coming years; the time for new concepts, such as the Aeroliner3000, has arrived.

The Aeroliner3000 train concept, jointly developed by the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) and the Andreas Vogler Studio (AV Studio) architectural practice, is one of the three finalists in the international 'Tomorrow's Train Design Today' competition. The partners, DLR and AV Studio, are receiving sponsorship of 750,000 British pounds (around 1,032,000 Euro) to continue developing their concept. In the course of the competition, engineers, designers and architects were called on to develop innovative solutions to prepare rail transport in Great Britain for the future. The focus was on high-speed transport and a time horizon of 30 years. A total of 48 submissions were received.

Ideas for a leap in innovation

"The rail system in Great Britain is facing a leap in innovation. In the coming decades, the number of new trains required will increase dramatically because old trains will need replacing and, at the same time, new high speed connections will be established," says Joachim Winter from the DLR Institute of Vehicle Concepts in Stuttgart, summarising the initial situation. Currently, there is only one high-speed line in Great Britain, which connects London to the Eurotunnel under the English Channel. The targets of the competition are correspondingly challenging. The proposed solutions are supposed to significantly reduce costs, double passenger capacity, reduce carbon dioxide emissions and provide passengers with maximum comfort without having a negative impact on safety or operational reliability.

DLR 'Next Generation Train' project as a template

The technology of the Aeroliner3000 is largely based on DLR's Next Generation Train (NGT) train concept. In this project, scientists from 11 DLR institutes are carrying out interdisciplinary work on central issues such as how the next generation of high-speed trains can be made even faster, safer, more comfortable and more environment-friendly. In doing so they are considering a wide range of aspects, from lightweight construction of the carriage bodies and chassis to aerodynamics, energy and passenger flows, as well as life cycle costs.

"To successfully participate in the competition, we needed to adapt the NGT concept to the British rail infrastructure in terms of design and interpretation," explains Andreas Vogler, owner of the eponymous Munich-based architecture and design studio. A smaller clearance gauge is traditionally used on British railways and this does not currently permit double-decker railway carriages. The clearance gauge is a construction specification for the dimensions of a rail vehicle and defines the prescribed clearance or free space that there must be between the train and tunnel walls or signals, for example. "Like the NGT, the Aeroliner3000 is an entirely new conceptual train. Using innovative technologies and a clever design, we were able to demonstrate with the Aeroliner3000 that a highly comfortable double-decker high-speed train is also a promising solution for the British rail network,” say Vogler and Winter in summary.

More passengers, less noise and lower carbon dioxide emissions

The Aeroliner3000's double-decker carriages provide 20 percent more seats than the reference train used in the competition. With better baggage handling and optimised control of the passenger flow when boarding and alighting, the concept also enables the stopping times of the train in stations to be significantly reduced.

Consistent use of lightweight construction techniques that reduce the weight of the carriage body by 25 percent and aerodynamic optimisation of the entire train reduce operating and maintenance costs and limit carbon dioxide and noise emissions. At the same time, the Aeroliner3000's lightweight construction principle will enable a double-decker carriage to be deployed for the first time. The load-bearing structure of the carriage body is perfectly adapted to the requirements and loads – in other words, the 'skeleton' of the carriage body has the structural characteristics that are needed to ensure stability. This means that the interior of the carriage can be designed flexibly, for example with regard to the design and shape of the intermediate floor, making a double-decker concept possible.

Target – transferring technology to industry

The partners want to use the prize money to, among other things, construct a demonstration model of a centre coach for the Aeroliner3000 by the end of the competition in 2016. This would then be used principally to conduct further research into passenger comfort. "Our plan is to present the model at the InnoTrans 2016 international rail transport show in Berlin and inspire manufacturers with the concept," says Joachim Winter, explaining the way forward. "DLR's aim is to turn ideas into innovations and, once the technologies we have developed have reached a certain level of maturity, transfer them to industry."

The 'Tomorrow's Train Design Today' competition was created and sponsored as part of the Future Railway Programme in collaboration with the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) and the British Department for Transport, DfT. The Future Railway Programme is a joint initiative by British rail operator Network Rail and the British Rail Safety and Standards Boards (RSSB).

Last modified:
03/06/2015 10:36:37

Contacts

 

Dorothee Bürkle
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Media Relations, Energy and Transport Research

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3492

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Dr.-Ing. Joachim Winter
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Institute of Vehicle Concepts, NGT Project Manager

Tel.: +49 711 6862-274

Fax: +49 711 6862-258
Andreas Vogler
Andreas Vogler Studio

Tel.: +49 173 3570833

Aeroliner3000: Zugkonzept von DLR und Andreas Vogler Studio überzeugt beim Wettbewerb "Tomorrow’s Train Design Today"

Montag, 15. Juni 2015

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • Mit dem Aeroliner3000 gemeinsam erfolgreich
    Mit dem Aeroliner3000 gemeinsam erfolgreich

    Das Konzept von DLR und Andreas Vogler Studio überzeugte die Jury des Wettbewerbs "Tomorrow's Train Design Today" und verspricht mehr Passagiere, weniger Lärm sowie geringere CO2-Emissionen

  • Neue Ideen für das britische Bahnsystem %2d der Aeroliner3000
    Neue Ideen für das britische Bahnsystem - der Aeroliner3000

    Das Bahnsystem im Vereinigten Königreich steht in den nächsten Jahren vor einem dramatischen Umbruch - die Zeit für neue Konzepte wie den Aeroliner3000 ist reif

Das gemeinsam vom Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) und dem Architekturbüro Andreas Vogler Studio (AV Studio) entwickelte Zugkonzept "Aeroliner3000" gehört zu den drei Finalisten des weltweit ausgeschriebenen Wettbewerbs "Tomorrow’s Train Design Today". Für die weitere Ausarbeitung ihres Konzepts erhalten die Partner DLR und AV Studio eine Förderung von 750.000 britischen Pfund (rund 1.032 000 Euro). Im Zuge des Wettbewerbs waren Ingenieure, Designer und Architekten dazu aufgerufen, innovative Lösungen zu entwickeln, um den Schienenverkehr in Großbritannien fit für die Zukunft zu machen. Der Fokus lag dabei auf dem Hochgeschwindigkeitsverkehr und einem Zeithorizont von 30 Jahren. Insgesamt gingen 48 Einreichungen ein.

Ideen für den Innovationssprung

"Das Bahnsystem in Großbritannien steht vor einem Innovationssprung: In den nächsten Jahrzehnten wird die Zahl der benötigten neuen Züge drastisch ansteigen, weil alte Züge ersetzt werden müssen und gleichzeitig neue Hochgeschwindigkeitsverbindungen etabliert werden sollen", fasst Dr. Joachim Winter vom DLR-Institut für Fahrzeugkonzepte in Stuttgart die Ausgangssituation zusammen. Aktuell gibt es in Großbritannien nur eine Schnellfahrstrecke. Sie verbindet London mit dem Eurotunnel unter dem Ärmelkanal. Entsprechend anspruchsvoll sind die Zielvorgaben des Wettbewerbs: Die Lösungsvorschläge sollen die Kosten deutlich reduzieren, die Passagierkapazität verdoppeln, Kohlenstoffdioxidemissionen senken und den Fahrgästen ein Maximum an Komfort bieten ohne dass daraus negative Auswirkungen auf die Sicherheit oder operationelle Zuverlässigkeit entstehen.

DLR-Projekt "Next Generation Train" als Vorbild

Die Technologie des Aeroliner3000 basiert zu großen Teilen auf dem DLR-Zugkonzept "Next Generation Train (NGT)". In diesem Projekt arbeiten Wissenschaftler aus elf DLR-Instituten interdisziplinär an zentralen Fragestellungen, wie die Hochgeschwindigkeitszüge der nächsten Generation noch schneller, sicherer, komfortabler und umweltverträglicher gemacht werden können. Sie berücksichtigen dabei eine Vielzahl von Aspekten – von der Leichtbaukonstruktion von Wagenkästen über das Fahrwerk und die Aerodynamik bis hin zu Energie- und Fahrgastflüssen sowie die Lebenszykluskosten.

"Für die erfolgreiche Teilnahme am Wettbewerb galt es, innerhalb des Systems Bahnfahren Innovation zu ermöglichen und im konkreten Fall einen doppelstöckigen Hochgeschwindigkeitszug das britische Lichtraumprofil zu konzipieren", erklärt Andreas Vogler, Inhaber des gleichnamigen Münchner Architektur- und Design-Studios. Traditionell wird in Großbritannien ein kleineres Lichtraumprofil gefahren, das bisher keine doppelstöckigen Zugwagen zuließ. Das Lichtraumprofil ist eine konstruktive Vorgabe für die Bemessung eines Schienenfahrzeugs und bezeichnet den vorgeschriebenen lichten also freien Raum, der zum Beispiel zwischen dem Zug und Tunnelwänden oder Signalen vorhanden sein muss. "Wie der NGT ist auch der Aeroliner3000 ein von Grund auf neu gedachter Zug. Durch innovative Technologien und ein cleveres Design konnten wir mit dem Aeroliner3000 zeigen, dass ein hochkomfortabler, doppelstöckiger Hochgeschwindigkeitszug auch für das britische Schienennetz eine zukunftsträchtige Lösung darstellt", fasst Andreas Vogler zusammen.

Mehr Passagiere, weniger Lärm und CO2-Emissionen

Die Doppelstockwagen des Aeroliner3000 bieten zwanzig Prozent mehr Sitzplätze im Vergleich zum im Wettbewerb gegebenen Referenzzug. Durch besseres Gepäck-Handling und eine optimierte Steuerung des Passagierflusses beim Ein- und Aussteigen ermöglicht das Konzept gleichzeitig, die Aufenthaltszeiten des Zuges in Bahnhöfen erheblich zu senken.

Konsequent angewendeter Leichtbau, der das Gewicht des Wagenkastens um 25 Prozent reduziert, sowie die aerodynamische Optimierung des gesamten Zuges sorgen für geringere Betriebs- sowie Unterhaltskosten und verringern den Ausstoß von Kohlenstoffdioxid sowie die Lärmemissionen. Gleichzeitig ermöglicht der Leichtbauansatz des Aeroliner3000 erst die Realisierung eines Doppelstockwagens: Die Tragstruktur des Wagenkastens ist optimal auf die Anforderungen und Belastungen angepasst, sprich das "Gerippe" des Wagenkastens weist nur noch die Struktur auf, die wirklich zur Stabilität benötigt wird. Auf diese Weise lässt sich das Innere des Wagens flexibler gestalten, beispielsweise hinsichtlich Design und Form des Zwischenbodens, und macht so ein zweistöckiges Konzept möglich.

Ziel: Technologietransfer in die Industrie

Mit dem Preisgeld wollen die Partner bis zum Ende des Wettbewerbs im Jahr 2016 das Konzept weiter ausarbeiten und ein Demonstrationsmodell eines Mittelwagens des Aeroliner3000 bauen. Mit dessen Hilfe soll vor allem der Fahrgastkomfort weiter untersucht werden sollen. "Unser Plan ist es, das Modell auf der internationalen Schienenverkehrsmesse InnoTrans 2016 in Berlin auszustellen und Hersteller für das Konzept zu begeistern", so Joachim Winter zum weiteren Vorgehen. "Ziel des DLR ist es, aus Ideen Innovationen zu machen und ab einem bestimmten Reifegrad der von uns entwickelten Technologien, diese der Industrie zu übergeben."

Der Wettbewerb „Tomorrow’s Train Design Today“ wurde ins Leben gerufen und finanziell gefördert im Zuge des "Future Railway Programme" in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) und dem britischen Verkehrsministerium (Department for Transport, DfT). Das "Future Railway Programme" ist eine gemeinsame Initiative des britischen Bahnnetzbetreibers Network Rail und der britischen Bahnaufsicht Rail Safety and Standards Boards (RSSB).

Zuletzt geändert am:
15.06.2015 13:00:57 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Dorothee Bürkle
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Media Relations

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3492

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Dr.-Ing. Joachim Winter
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Projektleiter Next Generation Train

Tel.: +49 711 6862-274

Fax: +49 711 6862-258
Andreas Vogler
Andreas Vogler Studio

Tel.: +49 173 3570833