DLR/NASA – 3D radar measurements of forest areas

15 July 2015

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • Waldgebiet Traunstein: F%2dSAR Aufnahme
    Traunstein Forest – F-SAR image

    Polarimetric radar image of the test area near Traunstein, in southeastern Bavaria, acquired up by the F-SAR sensor in L-band (22 centimetre wavelength) on 30 June 2015. The image is shown in false colours; forest areas appear in green; surfaces with low vegetation are shown in blue / red.

  • Vertical profile of the forest

    The test area near Traunstein. This image shows an example of a vertical profile of radar backscatter in this forest. The backscatter is scaled in shades of green, from dark green (low backscatter) to white (high backscatter). The solid lines represent the heights of the forest floor and crown, determined by lidar measurements.

  • NASA/DLR%2dTeamfoto
    NASA / DLR team photograph

    Team photograph of the NASA and DLR researchers during the joint measurement campaign for three-dimensional surveying of forest areas. The DLR Microwaves and Radar Institute and NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) have had a good working relationship for years.

  • Forschungsflugzeug der NASA
    NASA research aircraft

    Scientists from the Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) used NASA’s Gulfstream III research aircraft.

  • DLR research aircraft

    Scientists from the DLR Microwaves and Radar Institute used the DLR research aircraft Dornier Do-228 for the measurement flights with the F-SAR system. The DLR Facility Flight Experiments, based in Oberpfaffenhofen and Braunschweig, is responsible for the operation of highly modified research aircraft.

A tangle of treetops and branches, through which just the occasional clear area provides glimpses of the trunks and roots growing below. Whether it is woodland with German spruces or a tropical rainforest, very few sensors are able to see through this green carpet and clearly visualise the underlying structures. The German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) is developing radar technology that, for the first time, will enable a three-dimensional visual representation of forest areas from the roots to the crowns. The radar experts at DLR partnered with the US aerospace agency NASA in a measurement campaign, which has now confirmed the capability of the F-SAR system. The cooperation was aimed at validating the suitability of the radar data to infer a variety of parameters, including a forest’s height or vertical structure.

"The collaboration with NASA allowed us to really test both the sensor technology and the algorithms. We could not have hoped for better results," said Andreas Reigber, project coordinator at the DLR Microwaves and Radar Institute.

Same task, different sensors

To conduct a cross comparison of the data, NASA and DLR each used different sensor systems while imaging the same area. The measurement flights took place over a test region near Traunstein, in southeastern Bavaria. NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory deployed its UAVSAR sensor on board a NASA Gulfstream III research aircraft. All the data of the partners from Pasadena was recorded within two days. Roughly a week later, the conditions and weather were sufficiently similar for the DLR team from the Microwaves and Radar Institute to take to the air for its own measurement campaign. Reigber and his colleagues flew over the test area 10 times in quick succession, using the DLR Dornier Do-228 research aircraft, and mapping the forest from a variety of angles. This is the only way in which the individual data acquisitions can be assembled to produce a three-dimensional image later on.

The F-SAR system developed by the DLR Microwaves and Radar Institute is particularly suited for use in forested regions, as it permits simultaneous measurements at several wavelengths. This means that F-SAR only needs one overflight to map different levels of the same terrain. Three wavelengths were used for the spatial survey of Traunstein Forest; the DLR researchers used sensors in C-band and X-band to scan the upper sections of the forest crown, while the L-band sensors penetrated the vegetation to open a window on the forest floor below.

The first evaluations of the measurement campaign have since confirmed F-SAR's accuracy. Moreover, the DLR researchers can use the comparative data provided by NASA to achieve even greater precision in the radar system’s calibration. The scientists can use the variations in the images to understand the capabilities of each sensor to detect certain forest characteristics. The scientists will produce the 'end product' – a three-dimensional image of the forest – once data analysis is complete.

Biomass as a climate factor

Environmental and climate researchers are not alone in wishing they could understand the characteristics of a forest with just one measurement – however complex, impenetrable and expansive it may be. A forest's structure also reveals the biomass it contains. As a natural storage mechanism for carbon, biomass directly influences the greenhouse effect. Therefore, radar tomography opens up entirely new and efficient avenues to identify one fundamental climate factor. The DLR scientists are keen to establish 3D radar mapping as a standard operating procedure – and also to install the technology on satellites. This successful measurement campaign, conducted in cooperation with NASA, has now confirmed that radar technology from Oberpfaffenhofen is on precisely the right track, and that this cooperation has been an important step forward in getting ready for future Earth observation missions.

The DLR Microwaves and Radar Institute is currently preparing for Biomass, a European Space Agency (ESA) satellite-based mission that will conduct radar observations of Earth's surface. The main focus of the mission is to determine the volume of biomass in the tropical rain forests. In addition, the Institute is at the forefront of Tandem-L, a highly innovative satellite mission tasked with using radar to record the dynamic processes unfolding on Earth's surface. Together, these projects promise a level of scientific insight one would not necessarily expect from flying over an area of woodland.

Last modified:
16/07/2015 18:25:39

Contacts

 

Bernadette Jung
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Public Affairs and Communications: Oberpaffenhofen, Weilheim, Augsburg

Tel.: +49 8153 28-2251

Fax: +49 8153 28-1243
Priv.-Doz. Dr.-Ing. Andreas Reigber
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Microwaves and Radar Institute

Tel.: +49 8153 28-2360
Katrin Witte
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Tel.: +49 8153 28-1357

Fax: +49 8153 28-1347

DLR/NASA: 3D-Radarmessungen von Waldgebieten

Mittwoch, 15. Juli 2015

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • Waldgebiet Traunstein: F%2dSAR Aufnahme
    Waldgebiet Traunstein: F-SAR Aufnahme

    Polarimetrische Radaraufnahme des Testgebiets Traunstein, aufgenommen durch den F-SAR Sensor im L-Band (22 cm Wellenlänge) am 30. Juni 2015. Darstellung in Falschfarben: Waldgebiete erscheinen in grün, Oberflächen mit niedriger Vegetation in blau/rot.

  • Vertikales Profil des Waldgebiets
    Vertikales Profil des Waldgebiets

    Testgebiet Traunstein: Beispiel für ein vertikales Profil der Radarrückstreuung dieses Waldgebiets. Die Rückstreuung ist in Grüntönen skaliert, von dunkelgrün (geringe Rückstreuung) bis weiß (hohe Rückstreuung). Die durchgezogenen Linien stellen die Höhen von Waldboden und -krone, bestimmt durch Lidarmessungen, dar.

  • NASA/DLR%2dTeamfoto
    NASA/DLR-Teamfoto

    Gruppenbild der NASA- und DLR-Wissenschaftler bei der gemeinsamen Messkampagne zur dreidimensionalen Vermessung von Waldgebieten. Das DLR-Institut für Hochfrequenztechnik und Radarsysteme und das Jet Propulsion der NASA (JPL) verbindet seit vielen Jahren eine gute Zusammenarbeit.

  • Forschungsflugzeug der NASA
    Forschungsflugzeug der NASA

    Die Wissenschaftler des NASA-Jet Propulsion Laboratory nutzten ein Forschungsflugzeug vom Typ Gulfstream III (G-III).

  • Forschungsflugzeug des DLR
    Forschungsflugzeug des DLR

    Für die Messflüge mit dem F-SAR-System nutzten die DLR-Wissenschaftler das DLR-Forschungsflugzeug Dornier Do-228. Für die Bereitstellung und den Einsatz der Forschungsflotte ist der Flugbetrieb der DLR-Einrichtung Flugexperimente in Oberpfaffenhofen und Braunschweig zuständig.

Baumkronen und Zweige dicht an dicht, nur vereinzelt geben Lichtungen den Blick auf Stamm und Wurzeln preis. Ob deutscher Fichtenwald oder tropischer Regenwald – nur wenige Sensoren sind in der Lage durch diesen grünen Teppich zu blicken und die Strukturen deutlich sichtbar zu machen. Das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) entwickelt eine Radartechnologie, die Waldgebiete erstmals in hoher Auflösung dreidimensional abbildet, von den Wipfeln bis zum Boden. In einer gemeinsamen Messkampagne mit der US-amerikanischen Luft- und Raumfahrtbehörde NASA haben die Radarexperten des DLR die Leistungsfähigkeit des speziellen F-SAR Systems nun bestätigt. Ziel der Zusammenarbeit war es die Möglichkeiten von Radardaten hinsichtlich der Ableitung von verschiedenen Parametern zu validieren, etwa die Höhe oder die vertikale Struktur eines Waldes.

"Die Zusammenarbeit mit der NASA ermöglicht es uns, sowohl die Sensortechnik als auch die verwendete Algorithmik auf Herz und Nieren zu testen. Schön, dass alles so gut geklappt hat", sagt Projektkoordinator Priv.-Doz. Dr. Andreas Reigber vom DLR-Institut für Hochfrequenztechnik und Radarsysteme.

Gleiche Aufgabe, verschiedene Sensoren

Für einen Kreuzvergleich der Daten erstellten NASA und DLR Aufnahmen desselben Gebiets mit jeweils unterschiedlichen Sensorsystemen. Die Messflüge fanden über einem Testgebiet bei Traunstein statt: Das NASA-Jet Propulsion Laboratory nutzte seinen UAVSAR-Sensor an Bord eines Forschungsflugzeugs vom Typ Gulfstream-III. Nach zwei Tagen hatten die Partner aus Pasadena alle Aufnahmen "im Kasten". Unter Beachtung möglichst identischer Bedingungen und Wetterverhältnisse startete rund eine Woche später das DLR-Team vom Institut für Hochfrequenztechnik und Radarsysteme seine Messreihe. Mit dem DLR-Forschungsflugzeug Dornier Do-228 überflogen Reigber und seine Kollegen das Testgebiet zehn Mal in kurzer Abfolge. Der Wald wurde dabei aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln aufgenommen. Nur so lässt sich aus den Einzelaufnahmen später ein dreidimensionales Bild erstellen.

Das F-SAR System des DLR-Instituts für Hochfrequenztechnik und Radarsysteme ist für den Wald-Einsatz besonders geeignet, da es Messungen in mehreren Wellenlängen gleichzeitig erlaubt. In nur einem Überflug kann das F-SAR so verschiedene Ebenen eines Gebiets erfassen. Für die räumliche Vermessung des Traunsteiner Waldes wurden drei verschiedene Wellenlängen eingesetzt: Um den oberen Bereich der Waldkrone abzutasten, setzten die DLR-Wissenschaftler auf Radarsensoren im C-Band und X-Band Frequenzbereich. Das L-Band hingegen dringt durch die Vegetation und gibt sozusagen den Blick frei auf den Waldboden.

Die ersten Auswertungen der Messkampagne bestätigen nun die Messgenauigkeit des F-SARs. Die Vergleichsdaten der NASA können die DLR-Wissenschaftler außerdem nutzen, um das Radarsystem noch gezielter zu kalibrieren. Unterschiede in den Aufnahmen geben den Radarexperten Aufschluss über die Fähigkeit eines Sensors bestimmte Waldeigenschaften zu erkennen. Die dreidimensionalen Radarbilder des Waldes, das "Endprodukt", erstellen die Wissenschaftler nach der vollständigen Auswertung der Daten.

Klimafaktor Biomasse

Die Eigenschaften eines Waldes auf einen Blick, egal wie komplex, undurchdringlich und weitläufig – davon träumen nicht zuletzt Umwelt- und Klimaforscher. Denn anhand der Struktur eines Waldes können sie seine Biomasse ermitteln. Biomasse hat als natürlicher Kohlenstoffspeicher unmittelbaren Einfluss auf den Treibhauseffekt. Die Radar-Tomographie eröffnet damit ganz neue und effiziente Methoden einen grundlegenden Klimafaktor zu bestimmen. Die DLR-Wissenschaftler wollen die 3D-Radarvermessung von Waldgebieten für den Regelbetrieb etablieren – und auch auf Satelliten zum Einsatz bringen. Die erfolgreiche Messkampagne zusammen mit dem NASA-Jet Propulsion Laboratory hat nun bestätigt, dass die Radartechnologie aus Oberpfaffenhofen genau auf dem richtigen Weg ist. Die Zusammenarbeit war somit ein wichtiger Schritt zur Vorbereitung der nächsten Erdbeobachtungsmissionen.

Im Auftrag der europäischen Weltraumorganisation ESA bereitet das DLR-Institut für Hochfrequenztechnik und Radarsysteme derzeit "BIOMASS" vor, eine satellitengestützte Mission zur Radarbeobachtung der Erdoberfläche. Im Fokus: die Bestimmung der Biomasse tropischer Regenwälder. Darüber hinaus steht das Institut an der Speerspitze von "Tandem-L", einer hochinnovativen Satellitenmission zur Erfassung von dynamischen Prozessen auf der Erdoberfläche mittels Radar. Ausblicke der Forschung, die ein Waldüberflug zunächst nicht vermuten lässt.

Zuletzt geändert am:
20.07.2015 12:18:55 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Bernadette Jung
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Politikbeziehungen und Kommunikation: Oberpfaffenhofen, Weilheim, Augsburg

Tel.: +49 8153 28-2251

Fax: +49 8153 28-1243
PD Dr.-Ing. Andreas Reigber
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Hochfrequenztechnik und Radarsysteme

Tel.: +49 8153 28-2360
Katrin Witte
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Tel.: +49 8153 28-1357

Fax: +49 8153 28-1347