Enabling communications using lasers

Laser terminals from DLR and its spin-off, Mynaric, inducted into the 'Space Technology Hall of Fame'

Die Optische Bodenstation Oberpfaffenhofen

16 February 2018

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • Die Optische Bodenstation Oberpfaffenhofen
    The optical ground station in Oberpfaffenhofen

    The optical ground station in Oberpfaffenhofen serves as a receiving station with its 40-centimetre telescope. It has been designed especially with a view to taking measurements.

  • Das "Freespace Experimental Laser Terminal II"
    The 'Freespace Experimental Laser Terminal II'

    Attached to the underside of DLR’s Dornier Do 228-212 research plane – the ‘Freespace Experimental Laser Terminal II’ for data communications between the aircraft and the ground. Numerous measurements were taken with the system. The relevant properties of the atmosphere were determined in order to optimise the data transmission systems.

  • Laser terminals from the DLR spin-off Mynaric provide fast Internet above the clouds
  • Digital space technologies are being used in society
  • Focus: Space, communications, digitalisation, social benefits, spin-offs

Laser terminals from Mynaric, a spin-off company of the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) have been inducted into the 'Space Technology Hall of Fame'. "This US Space Foundation award is a great honour for us. DLR technologies that have been designed and produced by Mynaric have received a great deal of international recognition. These technologies and their transfer are a great example of the aerospace industry’s contribution to digitalisation," says Pascale Ehrenfreund, Chair of the DLR Executive Board.

Broadband connectivity is the challenge

With high-speed Internet, networking and digitalisation, the demand for ubiquitous network connectivity is increasing rapidly. The data transmission infrastructure outside of major cities has long since reached its limits. In response to this, corporations such as Amazon, Google and Facebook are striving to build a superfast Internet above the clouds, in order to bring outlying areas online. The products developed by Mynaric enable the necessary data highways to be established between aircraft, platforms in the stratosphere, and even satellites. Laser light can transmit large amounts of data over enormous distances, securely and without any losses.

The DLR Institute of Communications and Navigation has been actively researching laser communications systems for many years and plays a leading international role in their development and testing. "Our Institute, together with Mynaric, has often been the first to demonstrate many new developments. These include the first connection to a tethered balloon, a stratospheric balloon, a propeller-driven aircraft and to a jet-to-jet connection. The Institute also holds a number of world records, including transmission over a stretch of open space of more than 10 kilometres, at a data rate of 1.73 terabits per second. Our researchers have repeatedly laid the foundations for new technological developments," reports Christoph Günther, Director of the Institute. Laser communications allow the data transmission rate to be significantly increased, as more than 1000 times more spectrum is available. The highly concentrated nature of the light means that the majority of it reaches the receiver, thereby significantly increasing efficiency compared to radio waves.

"We are currently experiencing a radical change in telecommunications infrastructure, and laser communications is regarded as a key technology for data transmission in the skies, as the equivalent of optical fibres. We believe that our products place us in an ideal position to establish ourselves as one of the market leaders for the Internet above the clouds," says Mynaric CEO Wolfram Peschko.

Induction into the Hall of Fame

Mynaric's laser communications products have been inducted into the 'Space Technology Hall of Fame' under the heading 'Laser terminals for the skies and beyond'. Some of the key technologies for this have been licensed from DLR. Every year, the Hall of Fame recognises technologies that were originally developed for the aerospace industry and are being used as practical, marketable products – particularly if they improve people's quality of life. Both individuals and organisations are honoured. The award was created in 1988 by the Space Foundation, a non-profit organisation headquartered in Colorado that supports space exploration and exploitation, in collaboration with the US space agency, NASA. "We are delighted that the Space Foundation has inducted this collective achievement of rigorous research, transfer and bold entrepreneurship into the Space Technology Hall of Fame," says Rolf-Dieter Fischer, Director of DLR Technology Marketing. The official award ceremony will take place on 19 April 2018 at the Space Symposium in Colorado Springs.

  • Background box – Mynaric

    With the aim of commercialising technology from research, three former employees from the Institute of Communications and Navigation – Markus Knapek, Joachim Horwath and Dirk Giggenbach – founded Vialight (now Mynaric) in 2009. "The foundations of this development were laid at DLR, based on the technology for aeronautical applications developed by DLR, which was first demonstrated in a project aboard a Panavia Tornado sponsored by Airbus. Together with Vialight (now Mynaric), we developed a terminal for the Tornado on behalf of Airbus, which was flown at Mach 0.7 in 2012," explains Christoph Günther. Since then, Mynaric has continued to evolve and was floated on the stock exchange in 2017 to drive the company’s growth. "Our research into communications technologies has advanced laser communications, our technology marketing has supported its transfer into applications, and our researchers have shown the entrepreneurial spirit to market this technology by founding Mynaric," says Rolf-Dieter Fischer, explaining the interaction of those involved. "For improved global networking with increasing bandwidth, the possible applications of laser communications are almost unlimited." The spin-off was supported by DLR Technology Marketing, funded by Helmholtz Enterprise and underwent the incubation programme at ESA BIC Bavaria. Since 2011, Mynaric has held a licence to commercialise the technology for the 'Internet above the clouds' researched at DLR and developed during innovation projects.

Last modified:
19/02/2018 15:11:31

Contacts

 

Miriam Poetter
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Communications Oberpfaffenhofen

Tel.: +49 8153 28-2297

Fax: +49 8153 28-1243
Dr Rolf-Dieter Fischer
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

DLR Technology Marketing

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3660

Fax: +49 2203 695-689
Christian Fuchs
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

DLR Institute of Communications and Navigation

Tel.: +49 8153 28-1547

Mehr über das DLR

Mit Laserstrahlen Kommunikation ermöglichen

Laser Terminals von DLR und DLR-Ausgründung Mynaric werden in die "Space Technology Hall of Fame" aufgenommen

Die Optische Bodenstation Oberpfaffenhofen

Freitag, 16. Februar 2018

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • Die Optische Bodenstation Oberpfaffenhofen
    Die Optische Bodenstation Oberpfaffenhofen

    Die Optische Bodenstation Oberpfaffenhofen dient mit ihrem 40 Zentimeter Teleskop als Empfangsstation. Sie wurde insbesondere im Hinblick auf die Durchführung von Messungen entworfen.

  • Das "Freespace Experimental Laser Terminal II"
    Das "Freespace Experimental Laser Terminal II"

    Unten am Flugzeug angebracht: Das "Freespace Experimental Laser Terminal II" zur Datenkommunikation zwischen Flugzeug und Boden. Mit dem System wurden zahlreiche Messungen durchgeführt. Dabei wurden die relevanten Eigenschaften der Atmosphäre bestimmt, um die Datenübertragungssysteme optimieren zu können.

  • Laser Terminals der DLR-Ausgründung Mynaric bieten schnelles Internet über den Wolken.
  • Digitale Technologien aus der Raumfahrt finden Anwendung in der Gesellschaft.
  • Schwerpunkt(e): Raumfahrt, Kommunikation, Digitalisierung, Gesellschaftlicher Nutzen, Ausgründungen

Die Laser Terminals von Mynaric, einer Ausgründung des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR), werden in die Space Technology Hall of Fame aufgenommen. "Die Auszeichnung der US Space Foundation ist für uns eine große Ehre. Technologien des DLR, die von Mynaric eingesetzt und weiterentwickelt wurden, erfahren damit eine hohe internationale Anerkennung. Diese Technologien und deren Transfer sind ein gutes Beispiel für Beiträge der Luft- und Raumfahrt zur Digitalisierung", sagte Professor Pascale Ehrenfreund, Vorstandsvorsitzende des DLR.

Breitbandanschluss als Herausforderung

In Zeiten von High-Speed-Internet, Vernetzung und Digitalisierung steigt der Bedarf nach allgegenwärtiger Netzwerkanbindung rasant an. Die Infrastrukturen für die Übertragung von Daten außerhalb von Ballungszentren stoßen dabei längst an ihre Grenzen. Konzerne wie Amazon, Google oder Facebook streben als Reaktion darauf den Aufbau eines superschnellen Internets über den Wolken an, um auch die Randgebiete ans Netz zu bringen. Die von Mynaric entwickelten Produkte ermöglichen den Aufbau der hierfür benötigten Datenautobahnen zwischen Flugzeugen, Plattformen in der Stratosphäre oder auch Satelliten. Das Laserlicht kann große Datenmengen über enorme Entfernungen verlustfrei und sicher übertragen.

Das DLR-Institut für Kommunikation und Navigation ist seit vielen Jahren in der Erforschung von Laserkommunikationssystemen aktiv und nimmt eine international führende Rolle bei der Entwicklung und Erprobung solcher Systeme ein. "Unser Institut konnte Vieles erstmals demonstrieren. Dazu gehört die erste Verbindung mit einem Fesselballon, mit einem Stratosphärenballon, mit einer Propellermaschine und zusammen mit Mynaric mit einem Düsenjet. Darüber hinaus halten wir am Institut verschiedene Weltrekorde, zu denen die Übertragung mit einer Datenrate von 1.73 Terabit pro Sekunde über eine Freiraumstrecke von mehr als zehn Kilometer zählt. Unsere Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler konnten immer wieder die Grundlagen für neue technologische Entwicklungen legen," berichtet Professor Christoph Günther, Direktor des DLR Instituts für Kommunikation und Navigation. Mit Laserkommunikation lässt sich die Übertragungsrate deutlich erhöhen, da mehr als 1000-mal so viel Spektrum zur Verfügung steht. Aus der hohen Bündelung des Lichtes folgt, dass ein großer Teil dieses Lichts den Empfänger trifft. Das vergrößert die Effizienz gegenüber Radiowellen erheblich.

"Wir erleben aktuell einen Umbruch in der Telekommunikationsinfrastruktur und Laserkommunikation wird als Äquivalent zur Glasfaser für die Datenübertragung in der Luft als Schlüsseltechnologie gehandelt. Wir sehen uns mit unseren Produkten bestens positioniert, um uns als einer der Marktführer für das Internet über den Wolken zu etablieren," so Mynaric-Vorstand Dr. Wolfram Peschko.

Aufnahme in die Hall of Fame

Unter der Überschrift "Laser Terminals for the skies and beyond" werden die Laserkommunikationsprodukte von Mynaric in die "Space Technology Hall of Fame" aufgenommen. Einige Schlüsseltechnologien hierfür wurden vom DLR lizensiert. Mit der Aufnahmen in die Hall of Fame werden jährlich Technologien gewürdigt, die ursprünglich für die Luft- und Raumfahrttechnik entwickelt wurden und als marktreife Produkte eine praktische Anwendung finden - insbesondere wenn sie die Lebensqualität der Menschen steigert. Hierfür werden neben Einzelpersonen auch Organisationen gewürdigt. Der Preis wurde 1988 durch die Space Foundation, einer gemeinnützigen Organisation zur Unterstützung der Erforschung und Nutzung des Weltraums mit Sitz in Colorado, in Zusammenarbeit mit der amerikanischen Raumfahrtbehörde NASA geschaffen. "Wir freuen uns, dass die Space Foundation diese gemeinschaftliche Leistung aus konsequenter Forschung, Transfer und mutigem Unternehmergeist in die Space Technology Hall of Fame aufnimmt," so Dr. Rolf-Dieter Fischer, Leiter des DLR Technologiemarketings. Die offizielle Preisübergabe findet am 19. April 2018 auf dem Space Symposium in Colorado Springs statt.

  • Hintergrundbox zu Mynaric

    Um die Technologie aus der Forschung in den Markt zu bringen, haben drei Mitarbeiter des Instituts für Kommunikation und Navigation - Dr. Markus Knapek, Joachim Horwath und Dr. Dirk Giggenbach - im Jahr 2009 die Firma Vialight - heute Mynaric - gegründet. "Die Grundlagen dieser Entwicklung sind am DLR entstanden. Basis war die vom DLR entwickelte Technologie für aeronautische Anwendungen, welche erstmals im von der Firma Airbus geförderten Projekt an Bord eines Tornados demonstriert wurde. Zusammen mit ViaLight, dem heutigen Mynaric, entwickelten wir im Auftrag von Airbus ein Terminal für den Tornado, das 2012 mit Mach 0.7 geflogen wurde," erklärte Professor Günther. Seitdem hat sich Mynaric stetig weiterentwickelt und ging im Jahr 2017 an die Börse, um das Firmenwachstum weiter voran zu treiben. "Unsere Forschung im Bereich der Kommunikationstechnologien hat die Laserkommunikation vorangebracht, unser Technologiemarketing hat den Transfer in die Anwendung unterstützt und unsere beteiligten Wissenschaftler haben den Unternehmergeist gehabt, die Technologie mit der Gründung des Unternehmens Mynaric in den Markt zu bringen," so Dr. Fischer zum Zusammenspiel der Beteiligten. "Für eine global bessere Vernetzung mit immer mehr Bandbreite sind die Einsatzmöglichkeiten von Laserkommunikation nahezu unbegrenzt." Die Ausgründung wurde vom DLR Technologiemarketing betreut, mittels Helmholtz Enterprise gefördert und hat das Inkubationsprogramm beim ESA BIC Bavaria durchlaufen. Mynaric verfügt seit 2011 über eine Lizenz zur Kommerzialisierung der am DLR erforschten und im Rahmen von Innovationsprojekten weiterentwickelten Technologie für ein "Internet über den Wolken".

Zuletzt geändert am:
16.02.2018 15:11:37 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Miriam Poetter
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft-und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation Oberpfaffenhofen

Tel.: +49 8153 28-2297

Fax: +49 8153 28-1243
Dr. Rolf-Dieter Fischer
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

DLR-Technologiemarketing

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3660

Fax: +49 2203 695-689
Christian Fuchs
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Kommunikation und Navigation

Tel.: +49 8153 28-1547