Accurate air pollution measurements – the Sentinel-5P data service commences operations

11 July 2018

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • 11072018_S5P_Ozone.jpg
    Ozone hole over the Antarctic

    The Sentinel-5P mission will produce a complete global atmospheric composition dataset over the course of each day. The DLR Earth Observation Center (EOC) creates different products from the data, which are made available no later than three hours after the measurements were performed. The example here shows the distribution of ozone over the southern hemisphere on 9–10 November 2017. The very thin ozone layer (blue) over the Antarctic is particularly noticeable.

  • 11072018_Sentinel%2d5_Precusor_Sierra_Negra_02.jpg
    Comparison of resolutions – TROPOMI / Sentinel-5P and GOME-2 / MetOp

    The TROPOMI instrument on board Sentinel-5P has a spatial resolution of 7 by 3.5 kilometres, surpassing comparable satellites by a factor of 100. For comparison, the graphic shows the spread of the sulphur dioxide cloud from the Sierra Negra volcano on 27 June 2018. On the left is the measurement result from TROPOMI / Sentinel-5P and on the right the result from the EUMETSAT MetOp-A and MetOp-B satellites.

    The image contains modified Copernicus Sentinel data (2018), processed by DLR / BIRA.

  • 11072018_Sentinel%2d5_Precusor_Sierra_Negra.jpg
    Sentinel-5P detects severe volcanic eruption

    At around 20:12 local time on 26 June 2018 (02:12 UTC on 27 June), the Sierra Negra volcano erupted on Isabela Island in the Galapagos archipelago. Sentinel-5P was above the area at exactly that time and was able to detect extremely high concentrations of sulphur dioxide in its measurements. With more than 500 DU (Dobson unit), the detected values exceeded the usual measurement scale by a factor of 100.

    The image contains modified Copernicus Sentinel data (2018), processed by DLR / BIRA.

  • Produktvergleich: Schwefeldioxid%2dWolke über Hawaii
    Product comparison – sulphur dioxide cloud over Hawaii

    The high resolution of the new Copernicus satellite Sentinel-5 Precursor (S5P) allows, for the first time, the detection of closely separated sources and a more accurate determination of the propagation of volcanic ash clouds. The graphic shows the sulphur dioxide cloud over Hawaii after the eruption of the Kilauea volcano. On the left is the measurement result from the Sentinel-5P TROPOMI instrument, and on the right the result the GOME-2 instrument carried by the EUMETSAT MetOp A and B satellites. GOME-2 has a resolution of 40 × 80 kilometres, so that the distinction between multiple sulphur dioxide sources is not possible.

    The image contains modified Copernicus Sentinel data (2018), processed by DLR / BIRA.

  • Wolkenband über Hawaii
    Band of cloud over Hawaii

    Optical sensors cannot penetrate through clouds or other visual barriers, so their view of Earth is often limited. This image of Hawaii was acquired by the Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer (MODIS), which is carried on NASA’s Terra and Aqua satellites.

  • Sentinel-5P data products are now available
  • Daily global measurements of ozone, nitrogen dioxide,carbon monoxide, aerosol and cloud properties
  • The DLR Earth Observation Center (EOC) is responsible for the payload data ground segment of the Sentinel-5P mission as well as for the analysis of the satellite data together with KNMI.
  • Focus: Space, Earth Observation, Big Data

Air pollution is one of the biggest threats to health worldwide. Around seven million people die as a result of pollutants every year, as the World Health Organization (WHO) has recently established in a global study. Industrial fumes and exhaust emissions from cars and other vehicles make a significant contribution to the number of deaths, as the particles penetrate deep into people’s airways, lungs and cardiovascular system. There is now a special service that can pinpoint sources of pollution precisely and analyse global pollutant distributions from space.

The European Sentinel-5 Precursor Earth observation satellite provides daily global measurements of ozone, nitrogen dioxide, carbon monoxide, and aerosol and cloud properties. The data gathered by the TROPOspheric Monitoring Instrument (TROPOMI) instrument are freely available. Decision-makers, environmental authorities and scientists rely on high-precision data products to better understand and combat global challenges such as air pollution and climate change. The German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) is responsible for the payload data ground segment of the Sentinel-5P mission and, together with the Royal Netherlands Meteorological Institute (Koninklijk Nederlands Meteorologisch Instituut; KNMI), is responsible for analysing the satellite data.

In the coming months the Sentinel-5P service will continue to expand, with global analysis products for sulphur dioxide, formaldehyde, tropospheric ozone, ozone profiles, methane and aerosol layer heights. This information not only assists with atmospheric and climate research and health care, but is also used in the field of aviation safety, to better predict volcanic ash clouds.

On 26 June 2018, shortly before the end of its test phase, the surveillance satellite quickly detected the eruption of the Sierra Negra volcano on the Galápagos Islands. At around 20:12 local time (02:12 UTC on 27 June), Sentinel-5P detected extremely high concentrations of sulphur dioxide over the volcano, and was able to determine the spread of the gas cloud with great accuracy.

Complex processing, unparalleled quality

With a spatial resolution of 3.5 kilometres by 7 kilometres, the TROPOMI multispectrometer outperforms comparable systems by a factor of 100. For the first time, air pollution from individual cities and built-up areas can be detected from space. The satellite orbits Earth 14 times a day with complementary orbits. Whether they relate to ozone levels or sulphur dioxide concentrations, the individual data products are made available within three hours of the measurements being taken. This service, which operates almost in real time, is technically demanding, but crucial for users, as change processes in the atmosphere often occur very fast. Overall, Sentinel-5P provides a complete global dataset for atmospheric composition every day.

The complex technical processes required to produce a total of 12 end products with a daily data volume of up to two terabytes makes the Sentinel-5P mission unique. The TROPOMI measurements move through a highly complex processing chain, whereby the raw spectral data are received by the ground station in the Arctic and transmitted to DLR via global fibre-optic links. Then, they are analysed, filtered, processed into individual data products and automatically made available on a web server. The DLR Earth Observation Center (EOC) and KNMI developed the processing system. DLR runs the processors and ensures that the complex work steps run smoothly. In addition to TROPOMI data, the results of measurements performed by international partner organisations, which are constantly being received by the EOC in Oberpfaffenhofen, are integrated into the products. Remote sensing experts can thus ensure that their evaluations are highly accurate and up to date at a global level.

Open web service and secure data transmission

The various Sentinel-5P products are made available via the 'Copernicus Open Access Hub', an ESA data portal. Special users, such as the European Centre for Medium-Range Weather Forecasts (ECMWF), are also given special access to the data by the EOC, to ensure immediate data provision. In addition, DLR is currently working on its own supplementary Sentinel-5P products via the ‘EOC Geoservice’. This open web service is designed to enable users to view or download the data for selected regions in different projections and data formats, or to integrate them directly into their own systems.

Data management is vital to ensure that the atmospheric data can be used at any point in the future. The EOC is responsible for the long-term archiving of the data for Sentinel-5P, as it is for other missions in the European Copernicus programme. In view of these new challenges, the DLR facility recently expanded the capacity of its data library by 60 petabytes.

Thanks to its special infrastructure and long-standing experience, the EOC has also been entrusted with the payload ground segment for Sentinel-5P, from setup to operation. This means that DLR’s experts are now responsible for all data traffic, from initial receipt, processing and data management all the way through to the dissemination and long-term storage of valuable Earth observation products.

The TROPOMI data reception is realised by a consortium consisting of DLR, the Norwegian company Kongsberg Satellite Services (KSAT) and the Swedish Space Corporation (SSC). The consortium is using the polar ground stations Svalbard in Norway and Inuvik in Canada. DLR operates its own receiving station on the grounds of the Inuvik Satellite Station Facility (ISSF) of the Canada Centre for Mapping and Earth Observation (CCMEO).

The global communication networks for science and research Cybera, CANARIE, Uninett, NORDUnet, GÉANT and DFN, which form the backbone of data transmission, contribute to meeting near-real-time requirements. The commissioning of the 1154-kilometere Mackenzie Valley Fibre Link through the Canadian Arctic in June 2017 was also very important.

About the mission

The Sentinel-5P satellite was launched on 13 October 2017. The Sentinel-5P mission was developed within the scope of the European Copernicus Earth-observation programme by the European Space Agency (ESA) and the Netherlands Space Office (NSO), as was the scientific payload, the TROPOMI instrument. The satellite data is analysed by the Royal Netherlands Meteorological Institute (KNMI) and the German Aerospace Center (DLR). The mission is supported by the ESA Member States, the NSO and the European Union.

  • Copernicus – The European Earth observation programme

    The Sentinel satellites belong to the European Union's Copernicus programme. Its purpose is to collect and analyse remote sensing data of Earth. The information is used by government agencies, companies, the scientific community and interested citizens.

    Copernicus consists of six satellite families, known as the Sentinels, which map the Earth and its atmosphere and therefore provide important data for climate protection, sustainable development, humanitarian aid and civilian security, as well as on the condition of the oceans, landmass and vegetation. Measuring devices on the ground, in the air and in bodies of water add to the satellite data.

    The European Space Agency (ESA) and the European Organisation for the Exploitation of Meteorological Satellites (EUMETSAT) operate the 20 environmental satellites. The German Federal Ministry for Transport and Digital Infrastructure (BMVI) is in charge of the German contribution to Copernicus. The German Aerospace Center (DLR) looks after the programme in Germany.

  • German partners in industry and research

    Sentinel-5P is a cooperation between the Netherlands and ESA, which carries 40 percent of the costs. In addition, companies domiciled in Germany, among them Airbus Defence & Space in Friedrichshafen, have contributed key components of the satellite (mass storage and radiant cooler) and of the monitoring instrument TROPOMI. Important parts of the instrument and platform were built by various German companies – for instance STI GmbH (solar cells) and ZARM Technik AG. The DLR Earth Observation Centerin Oberpfaffenhofen, which built the payload ground segment that it operates on behalf of the ESA, is also involved in the Sentinel missions and therefore contributes to the Copernicus programme. A consortium comprising DLR, the University of Bremen and the Max Planck Institute for Chemistry in Mainz built the scientific data processing systems.

Last modified:
24/07/2018 09:25:45

Contacts

 

Bernadette Jung
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Public Affairs and Communications

Tel.: +49 8153 28-2251

Fax: +49 8153 28-1243
Diego Loyola
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

DLR Remote Sensing Technology Institute

Tel.: +49 8153 28-1367

Fax: +49 8153 28-1446

Luftverschmutzungen genauestens auf der Spur: Sentinel-5P-Datenservice gestartet

Mittwoch, 11. Juli 2018

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • Ozonloch über der Antarktis
    Ozonloch über der Antarktis

    Im Rahmen der Sentinel-5P-Mission entsteht im Laufe eines Tages ein kompletter globaler Datensatz zur Zusammensetzung der Atmosphäre. Das DLR Earth Observation Center (EOC) erstellt aus den Daten unterschiedliche Produkte, die spätestens drei Stunden nach den Messungen zur Verfügung stehen. Das Beispiel hier zeigt die Ozonverteilung über der südlichen Halbkugel (9.-10. November 2017) - auffällig ist die sehr dünne Ozonschicht (blau) über der Antarktis.

  • Auflösung im Vergleich: TROPOMI/Sentinel%2d5P und GOME%2d2/MetOp
    Auflösung im Vergleich: TROPOMI/Sentinel-5P und GOME-2/MetOp

    Das TROPOMI-Instrument an Bord von Sentinel-5P arbeitet mit einer räumlichen Auflösung von 7 x 3,5 Kilometer und übertrifft damit vergleichbare Satelliten um das Hundertfache. Zum Vergleich: Die Grafik hier zeigt die Ausbreitung der Schwefeldioxid-Wolke des Sierra Negra Vulkans am 27. Juni 2018 - links die Messung von TROPOMI/Sentinel-5P und rechts die Messung der EUMETSAT MetOp-A und -B -Satelliten.

    Die Darstellung enthält modifizierte Copernicus-Sentinel-Daten (2018), prozessiert durch DLR/BIRA.

  • Sentinel%2d5P erfasst schweren Vulkanausbruch
    Sentinel-5P erfasst schweren Vulkanausbruch

    Am 26. Juni 2018, gegen 20:12 Uhr Ortszeit, kam es zum Ausbruch des Sierra Negra Vulkans auf der Galapagosinsel Isabela. Sentinel-5P befand sich genau zum Zeitpunkt über dem Gebiet und konnte bei seinen Messungen extreme hohe Schwefeldioxid-Konzentrationen nachweisen. Mit mehr als 500 DU (Dobson unit) übertrafen die Messwerte die übliche Messskala um das Hundertfache.
    Die Darstellung enthält modifizierte Copernicus-Sentinel-Daten (2018), prozessiert durch DLR/BIRA.

  • Produktvergleich: Schwefeldioxid%2dWolke über Hawaii
    Produktvergleich: Schwefeldioxid-Wolke über Hawaii

    Die hohe Auflösung des neuen Copernicus-Satelliten Sentinel-5 Precursor (S5P), erlaubt es erstmals, nahegelegene Emissionsquellen getrennt zu erfassen und die Ausbreitung von Vulkanaschewolken genauer zu verorten. Die Grafik hier zeigt die Schwefeldioxid-Wolke über Hawaii nach Ausbruch des Kilauea Vulkans: links die Messung des TROPOMI-Instruments von Sentinel-5P und rechts die Messung durch das GOME-2-Instrument an Bord der EUMETSAT MetOp-A und –B -Satelliten. GOME-2 arbeitet mit einer Auflösung von 40×80 Quadratkilometern, so dass eine Unterscheidung der Schwefeldioxidquellen unmöglich ist.

    Die Darstellung enthält modifizierte Copernicus-Sentinel-Daten (2018), prozessiert durch DLR/BIRA.

  • Wolkenband über Hawaii
    Wolkenband über Hawaii

    Optische Sensoren können nicht durch Wolken oder andere Sichtbarrieren hindurchdringen, so dass der Blick auf die Erde oftmals eingeschränkt ist. Die Aufnahme von Hawaii stammt vom Radiospektrometer MODIS, das an Bord der Terra- und Aqua-Satelliten der NASA im Einsatz ist.

  • Sentinel-5P Datenprodukte sind ab sofort frei verfügbar
  • Täglich globale Messungen von Ozon, Stickstoffdioxid, Kohlenstoffmonoxid, Aerosol- und Wolkeneigenschaften
  • Das DLR Earth Observation Center (EOC) ist für das Nutzlastbodensegment der Sentinel-5P-Mission und gemeinsam mit KNMI für die Auswertung der Satellitendaten verantwortlich
  • Schwerpunkte: Raumfahrt, Erdbeobachtung, Big Data

Luftverschmutzung zählt zu den größten Gesundheitsgefahren weltweit. So sterben jährlich rund sieben Millionen Menschen durch Schadstoffbelastung, wie die Weltgesundheitsorganisation WHO in einer weltweiten Studie aktuell ermittelt hat. Industrieabgase und Schadstoffausstöße von Autos und anderen Verkehrsmitteln tragen zu den Todesfällen erheblich bei, da die Schmutzpartikel tief in Atemwege, Lungen und das Herz-Kreislaufsystem eindringen. Zur genauen Lokalisierung von Schadstoffquellen und zur Analyse der globalen Schadstoffverteilung gibt es nun einen besonderen Dienst aus dem All.

Der europäische Erdbeobachtungssatellit Sentinel-5 Precursor liefert täglich globale Messungen von Ozon, Stickstoffdioxid, Kohlenstoffmonoxid, Aerosol- und Wolkeneigenschaften. Die Daten des Messinstruments TROPOMI sind ab sofort frei zugänglich. Entscheidungsträger, Umweltbehörden und Wissenschaftler sind auf die hochgenauen Produkte angewiesen, um die globalen Herausforderungen Luftverschmutzung und Klimawandel besser verstehen und bekämpfen zu können. Das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) ist für das Nutzlastbodensegment der Sentinel-5P-Mission und gemeinsam mit dem Königlichen Niederländischen Meteorologischen Institut (KNMI) für die Auswertung der Satellitendaten verantwortlich.

In den kommenden Monaten wird der Sentinel-5P-Service laufend erweitert werden, mit globalen Analyseprodukten von Schwefeldioxid, Formaldehyd, troposphärischem Ozon, Ozonprofilen, Methan und Aerosolhöhen. Diese Informationen dienen nicht nur der Atmosphären- und Klimaforschung oder Gesundheitsvorsorge, sondern werden unter anderem auch in der Flugverkehrssicherheit zur besseren Vorhersage von Vulkan-Aschewolken genutzt.

So erfasste der Wächtersatellit am 26. Juni 2018, kurz vor Ende seiner Testphase, zeitnah den Ausbruch des Sierra Negra Vulkans auf den Galapagosinseln. Genau zum Zeitpunkt des Ausbruchs, gegen 20:12 Uhr Ortszeit, konnte Sentinel-5P extrem hohe Schwefeldioxid-Konzentrationen über dem Vulkan nachweisen und die Ausbreitung der Gaswolke sehr genau verorten.

Komplexe Verarbeitung, unerreichte Qualität

Das multispektrometrisch arbeitende Messinstrument TROPOMI (Tropospheric Monitoring Instrument) mit seiner räumlichen Auflösung von 3,5 Kilometer mal 7 Kilometer übertrifft vergleichbare Satelliten um das Hundertfache. So können erstmals Luftverschmutzungen von einzelnen Städten und Stadtgebieten aus dem All detektiert werden. Der Satellit umkreist die Erde 14 Mal pro Tag mit sich ergänzenden Orbits. Maximal drei Stunden nach der Messung stehen die einzelnen Datenprodukte bereits zur Verfügung, ob Ozonwerte oder Schwefeldioxid-Konzentration. Der nahe-Echtzeit Service ist technisch anspruchsvoll aber für die Nutzer wichtig, da Veränderungsprozesse in der Atmosphäre oft sehr schnell ablaufen. Insgesamt liefert Sentinel-5P damit täglich einen vollständigen globalen Datensatz zur Zusammensetzung der Atmosphäre.

Die komplexen technischen Prozesse, die notwendig sind, um insgesamt 12 Endprodukte mit einem täglichen Datenvolumen von bis zu zwei Terrabyte bereitzustellen, machen die Sentinel-5P-Mission einzigartig. Die TROPOMI-Messwerte durchlaufen dafür eine hochkomplexe Verarbeitungskette: Die rohen Spektraldaten werden von Bodenstationen in der Arktis empfangen und zum DLR über breitbandige globale Glasfaserverbindungen übertragen. Dort werden sie analysiert, gefiltert, zu einzelnen Datenprodukten aufbereitet und automatisch auf einem Webserver bereitgestellt. Entwickelt wurde das Prozessierungssystem vom DLR-Earth Observation Center (EOC) und dem KNMI. Das DLR betreibt die Prozessoren und sorgt für den reibungslosen Ablauf der komplexen Arbeitsschritte. So werden neben den TROPOMI-Daten auch Satellitendaten von internationalen Partnerorganisationen integriert, die am EOC in Oberpfaffenhofen laufend empfangen werden. Die Fernerkundungsexperten stellen dadurch sicher, dass die Auswertungen global hochgenau und auf dem neuesten Stand sind.

Offener Webservice und sicherer Datenverkehr

Die verschiedenen Sentinel-5P-Produkte werden über den "Copernicus Open Access Hub", ein offenes Datenportal der ESA bereitgestellt. Besondere Anwender, etwa das Europäische Zentrum für mittelfristige Wettervorhersage (ECMWF), werden vom EOC zusätzlich über einen eigenen Datenzugang versorgt, um die unmittelbare Datenversorgung zu gewährleisten. Darüber hinaus bietet das DLR über den "EOC Geoservice" eigene, ergänzende Sentinel-5P-Produkte an. Dieser offene Webservice ermöglicht es Nutzern, die Daten für ausgewählte Regionen in verschiedenen Projektionen und Dateiformaten anzusehen, herunterzuladen oder direkt in ihre eigenen Systeme zu integrieren.

Damit die Atmosphärendaten auch in Zukunft jederzeit genutzt werden können, ist das Datenmanagement entscheidend. Für Sentinel-5P - wie auch für weitere Missionen des europäischen Copernicus Programms - übernimmt das EOC als Service die Langzeit-Archivierung der Daten. Im Kontext dieser neuen Herausforderungen erweiterte die DLR-Einrichtung erst kürzlich die Kapazität seiner Datenbibliothek um 60 Petabyte.

Dank seiner besonderen Infrastruktur und langjährigen Erfahrung war und ist das EOC auch mit dem Nutzlastbodensegment von Sentinel-5P betraut, vom Aufbau bis zum Betrieb. Damit sind die DLR-Experten nun für den gesamten Datenverkehr zuständig - vom Empfang, über die Verarbeitung und das Datenmanagement, bis hin zur Verteilung und Langzeitspeicherung der wertvollen Erdbeobachtungsprodukte.

Der TROPOMI-Datenempfang wird durch ein Konsortium bestehend aus dem DLR, dem norwegischen Unternehmen KSAT sowie dem schwedischen Unternehmen SSC realisiert. Das Konsortium nutzt dabei die polnahen Bodenstationen Svalbard in Norwegen und Inuvik in Kanada. Auf dem Gelände der Inuvik Satellite Station Facility (ISSF) der kanadischen Erdbeobachtungsbehörde CCMEO betreibt das DLR in diesem Zusammenhang eine eigene Empfangsanlage.

Einen nicht zu unterschätzenden Beitrag zur Erfüllung der Nahe-Echtzeitanforderungen leisten die globalen Kommunikationsnetze für Wissenschaft und Forschung Cybera, CANARIE, Uninett, NORDUnet, GÉANT und DFN, die das Rückrat der Datenübertragung bilden. Ganz wesentlich war auch die Inbetriebnahme des 1.154 Kilometer langen Mackenzie Valley Fibre Links durch die kanadische Arktis im Juni 2017.

Über die Mission

Der Satellit Sentinel-5P ist am 13. Oktober 2017 erfolgreich gestartet. Das TROPOMI-Instrument an Bord des Satelliten wurde im Rahmen des europäischen Erdbeobachtungsprogramms Copernicus von der Europäischen Raumfahrtorganisation ESA und der Niederländischen Raumfahrtorganisation NSO entwickelt. Die Auswertung der Satellitendaten erfolgt durch das Königliche Niederländische Meteorologische Institut (KNMI) sowie durch das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR). Gefördert wird die Mission durch die Mitgliedsstaaten der ESA, der NSO und der Europäischen Union.

  • Copernicus - das europäische Erdbeobachtungsprogramm

    Die Sentinel-Satelliten sind Teil des Copernicus-Programms der Europäischen Union. Es dient der Sammlung und Auswertung von Fernerkundungsdaten der Erde. Die Daten werden von Behörden, Unternehmen, der Wissenschaft und interessierten Bürgern genutzt.
    Copernicus besteht aus sechs Satellitenfamilien, den sogenannten Sentinels ("Wächtern"), die die Erde und Atmosphäre erfassen und somit wichtige Daten zu Klimaschutz, nachhaltiger Entwicklung, humanitärer Hilfe, ziviler Sicherheit und zum Zustand der Ozeane, des Landes und der Vegetation liefern. Ergänzt werden die Satelliten-Daten durch Messgeräte am Boden, in der Luft und in Gewässern.
    Den Betrieb der insgesamt 20 Umweltsatelliten übernehmen die europäische Weltraumagentur ESA und die Europäische Organisation für die Nutzung meteorologischer Satelliten, EUMETSAT.
    In Deutschland ist das Bundesministerium für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur (BMVI) federführend für Copernicus verantwortlich. Das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) begleitet das Programm in Deutschland.

  • Deutsche Partner in Industrie und Forschung

    Sentinel-5P ist eine Kooperation zwischen den Niederlanden und der ESA, die 40 Prozent der Kosten trägt. In Deutschland ansässige Firmen wie Airbus Defence & Space in Friedrichshafen haben jedoch entscheidende Teile des Satelliten (Massenspeicher und Strahlungskühler) bzw. des Messinstruments TROPOMI beigesteuert. Wichtige Bauteile des Instruments und der Plattform wurden bei verschiedenen Unternehmen in Deutschland hergestellt - zum Beispiel bei der STI GmbH (Solarzellen) und der ZARM Technik AG. An den Sentinel-Missionen und damit am Copernicus-Programm beteiligt ist auch das Deutsche Erdbeobachtungszentrum des DLR in Oberpfaffenhofen, das das Nutzlast-Bodensegment aufgebaut hat und für ESA betreibt. Ein Konsortium unter Beteiligung des DLR, der Universität Bremen und des Max-Planck-Instituts für Chemie in Mainz hat die wissenschaftliche Datenverarbeitung aufgebaut.

Zuletzt geändert am:
16.07.2018 14:28:51 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Bernadette Jung
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Politikbeziehungen und Kommunikation: Oberpfaffenhofen, Augsburg, Weilheim

Tel.: +49 8153 28-2251

Fax: +49 8153 28-1243
Dr.-Ing. Diego Loyola
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Methodik der Fernerkundung (IMF), Atmosphärenprozessoren

Tel.: +49 8153 28-1367

Fax: +49 8153 28-1446