Antenna system for Russian-German experiment installed on the International Space Station

Extravehicular activity for ICARUS

16 August 2018

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • IcarusEVA_sn.jpg
    Spacewalk outside the International Space Station

    On the evening of 15 August 2018, Russian cosmonauts Sergei Prokopyev and Oleg Artemyev deployed the antennas of the German-Russian ICARUS project on the Zvezda module of the International Space Station (ISS) during an almost eight hour extravehicular activity (EVA). The spacewalk began at 18:17 CEST on 15 August, and ended at 02:03 CEST on 16 August. It took the two cosmonauts five hours to install the ICARUS antennas, which was completed at 00:18 CEST.

  • ICARUS%2dAntennentest
    ICARUS antenna test

    The ICARUS antenna, installed on the outside of the Russian Zvezda module on the ISS on 15 August 2018, had to be prepared for its space mission. In addition to thermal tests, radio frequency tests of the antennas in Ilmenau (photo) were also on the programme. The antenna block consists of three up to two-metre-long receiving and one transmitting antenna. Receive antennas can receive data from more than 15 million transmitters worldwide, anywhere in the world.

  • ICARUS Tierbeobachtung
    ICARUS wildlife observation

    Martin Wikelski, Director of the Max Planck Institute for Ornithology and Principal Investigator of the ICARUS project, with a white stork wearing a trial ICARUS transmitter (Tag).

  • ISS
    The International Space Station ISS

    The International Space Station ISS is the largest man-made object in Earth orbit and is operated jointly by the US, Russia, Japan, Canada and the European Space Agency ESA.

Focus: Space, animal and environmental observation

On  the evening of 15 August 2018, Russian cosmonauts Sergei Prokopyev and Oleg Artemyev deployed the antennas of the German-Russian ICARUS project on the Zvezda module of the International Space Station (ISS) during an almost eight hour extravehicular activity (EVA). The spacewalk began at 18:17 CEST on 15 August, and ended at 02:03 CEST on 16 August. It took the two cosmonauts five hours to install the ICARUS antennas, which was completed at 00:18 CEST.

The cosmonauts received support from German ESA astronaut Alexander Gerst, who oversaw the operation from inside the station. Now that the antenna block has been installed, the ICARUS (International Cooperation for Animal Research Using Space) system, which allows the ISS to track animal migration across the world, is finally complete. ICARUS is a project of the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) Space Administration, the Max Planck Institute for Ornithology in Radolfzell and the Russian space agency, Roscosmos. ICARUS will soon be put into operation in the coming days and weeks and is also a part of Alexander Gerst's current horizons mission.

Scientists in Russia and Germany expect that knowledge gained through ICARUS will provide new insights into the lives and environments of animals, including the ways in which they interact with humans. "On their way south, for example, storks often rest in the vicinity of locust breeding grounds on the southern edge of the Sahara. As such, the birds show us exactly where these swarms of insects are. This can help us avoid plagues of pests and prevent famine," explains Martin Wikelski, scientific director of the ICARUS project at the Max Planck Institute for Ornithology in Radolfzell.

Wikelski's Russian colleague Grigori Tertitski, a project manager at the Institute of Geography at the Russian Academy of Sciences, is already looking forward to learning more about the routes that small birds take as they migrate from east to west. "Some of these animals are infected with bird flu in East Asia. As they migrate through the territory of the Russian Federation, they may then infect other animals. Knowing more about this would be very helpful," says the scientist.

The ISS hosts both the ICARUS antennas and a computer to control it. On the ground, tiny radio transmitters, known as tags, are attached to animals. These tags are no bigger than a thumbnail and their mass comes in at just five grams, so they can be attached to small creatures like songbirds without affecting their behaviour. The tags collect data about each animal's acceleration, the ambient temperature and the alignment of Earth's magnetic field, as well as recording the animal's route using satellite navigation data. The tags generally operate in a resource-saving low-energy mode, but switch to full power when the ISS passes overhead. They send the data they have recorded to the space station, receive new orbital data and can be reprogrammed. This means that the antenna system in space may receive huge clusters of data from the tags of several hundred animals simultaneously.

"The ICARUS project is a good example of highly successful cooperation between Russian and German scientists using the ISS," stresses Johannes Weppler, project manager at DLR, who witnessed the spacewalk live from the Russian control centre near Moscow. The two countries have been working together on the project for over five years.

Mikhail Belyayev, Principal Investigator of a previous ISS experiment called Uragan, which was conducted by the Russian space company RKK Energia, explains: "Russian scientists will combine data from the ICARUS system with information from other measuring devices used in Uragan, including data from spectrometers and optical cameras. This allows us not only to track the migratory paths of animals, but also to understand the reasons for any changes to these routes."

"We are proud to have been able to contribute Russian experience in running and devising experiments on the ISS to the ICARUS project. At the same time, we are enabling our scientists to establish themselves as world leaders in this field of research," adds Vasili Savinkov, project leader at Roscosmos.

  • ICARUS partners

    ICARUS is a collaborative effort between the Max Planck Society, the Roscosmos state agency for space activities (Roscosmos), and DLR, which secured funding for the project from the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi). The tags were developed by the German company ICARUS Global Observation System GmbH (I-GOS), based in Immenstaad. The ICARUS antenna and on-board computer were designed and built by SpaceTech GmbH (Immenstaad), with support from its Russian industry partner RKK Energia (Korolev).

Last modified:
22/08/2018 09:04:04

Contacts

 

Elisabeth Mittelbach
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Communications, Space Administration

Tel.: +49 228 447-385

Fax: +49 228 447-386
Johannes Weppler
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

DLR Space Administration, Human Spaceflight, ISS and Exploration

Tel.: +49 228 447-385

Fax: +49 228 447-737

Antenne für deutsch-russisches Experiment auf der Internationalen Raumstation montiert

Außenbordeinsatz für ICARUS

Donnerstag, 16. August 2018

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • IcarusEVA_sn.jpg
    Außenbordeinsatz an der ISS

    Der russische Kosmonaut Sergei Prokopjew bei seinem ersten Außenbordeinsatz am 15. August 2018 am russischen Swesda-Modul der ISS. Prokopjew gehört zur aktuellen ISS-Expedition 56 und ist am 6. Juni 2018 zusammen mit dem deutschen ESA-Astronauten Alexander Gerst zur Internationalen Raumstation gestartet.

  • ICARUS%2dAntennentest
    ICARUS-Antennentest

    Die ICARUS-Antenne, die im August 2018 an der Außenseite des russischen Swesda-Moduls an der ISS installiert werden soll, musste auf ihren Weltraumeinsatz vorbereitet werden. Neben Thermaltests standen auch Hochfrequenz-Tests der Antennen in Ilmenau (Foto) auf dem Programm. Der Antennenblock besteht aus drei bis zu zwei Meter langen Empfangs- und einer Sendeantenne. Die Empfangsantennen können weltweit die Daten von mehr als 15 Millionen Sendern empfangen, die sich irgendwo auf der Erde bewegen.

  • ICARUS Tierbeobachtung
    ICARUS-Tierbeobachtung

    Prof. Martin Wikelski, Direktor des Max-Planck-Instituts für Ornithologie und wissenschaftlicher Leiter des ICARUS-Projekts, mit einem Weißstorch, der einen ICARUS-Sender ("Tag") in einer Testversion trägt.

  • ISS
    Die internationale Raumstation ISS

    Die internationale Raumstation ISS ist das größte künstliche Objekt im Erdorbit und wird gemeinsam von den USA, Russland, Japan, Kanada und der europäischen Weltraumorganisation ESA betrieben.

Schwerpunkt(e): Raumfahrt, Tier- und Umweltbeobachtung

Am Abend des 15. August 2018 haben die beiden russischen Kosmonauten Sergei Prokopjew und Oleg Artemjew bei ihrem fast achtstündigen Außenbordeinsatz an der Internationalen Raumstation ISS auch die ICARUS- Antenne des gleichnamigen deutsch-russischen Forschungsprojektes am Swesda-Modul entfaltet. Der Außenbordeinsatz dauerte von 18:17 Uhr Mitteleuropäischer Sommerzeit (MESZ) am 15. August bis 02:03 Uhr MESZ am 16. August. Für die Außeninstallation der ICARUS-Antenne brauchten die beiden Kosmonauten rund fünf Stunden bis 00:18 Uhr MESZ.

Unterstützt wurden Prokopjew und Artemjew vom deutschen ESA-Astronauten Alexander Gerst, der den Einsatz vom Inneren der Station aus überwachte. Mit der Installation der Antenne ist das ICARUS-System (International Cooperation for Animal Research Using Space), mit dem von der ISS aus weltweit Tierwanderungen aller Art verfolgt werden können, nun komplett. ICARUS ist ein Projekt des Raumfahrtmanagements im Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR), des Max-Planck-Instituts für Ornithologie in Radolfzell und der russischen Raumfahrtbehörde Roskosmos. In den nächsten Tagen und Wochen wird ICARUS in Betrieb genommen. Das Experiment ist auch Teil der aktuellen horizons-Mission von Alexander Gerst.

Mit dem ICARUS-Wissen versprechen sich Wissenschaftler in Russland und Deutschland neue Erkenntnisse über Leben und Umwelt der Tiere, sowie über das Zusammenspiel mit uns Menschen. "Störche rasten auf ihrem Weg nach Süden häufig in der Nähe von Heuschreckenbrutstätten am Südrand der Sahara. Somit zeigen uns die Vögel an, wo sich diese Insektenschwärme genau befinden. So kann gegen die Schädlingsplagen vorgegangen und Hungersnöte können vermieden werden", erklärt Prof. Martin Wikelski, wissenschaftlicher Leiter des ICARUS-Projektes vom Max-Planck-Institut für Ornithologie in Radolfzell.

Sein russischer Kollege Grigori Tertitski, Projektleiter am Institut für Geographie der Russischen Akademie der Wissenschaften, erwartet bereits mit Spannung, mehr über die Zugwege kleiner Vögel von Ost nach West zu lernen. "Teilweise infizieren sich diese Tiere in Ostasien mit der Vogelgrippe. Bei ihrem Zug durch das Gebiet der Russischen Föderation können sie dann andere Tiere anstecken. Hier mehr zu wissen, wäre sehr hilfreich", meint der Wissenschaftler.

An Bord der ISS befinden sich die ICARUS-Antenne und ein Computer, der sie steuert. Am Boden spielen kleine Funksender, die sogenannten Tags, die Hauptrolle. Sie sind so groß wie ein Daumennagel und wiegen gerade einmal fünf Gramm. So können sie auch an kleineren Tieren, wie etwa Singvögeln, befestigt werden, ohne dass sich deren Verhalten dadurch ändert. Die Tags sammeln Daten zur Beschleunigung, zur Umgebungstemperatur und der Ausrichtung zum Erdmagnetfeld. Außerdem zeichnen sie die Route des Tieres mit Hilfe von Satellitennavigationsdaten auf. Dies alles geschieht in einem sparsamen Niedrigenergiemodus. Die Tags berechnen allerdings, zu welchem Zeitpunkt die ISS über sie hinwegfliegt und erwachen dann "zu vollem Leben": Sie senden die aufgezeichneten Daten zur Raumstation, empfangen neue Bahndaten der ISS und können neu programmiert werden. Dabei kann die Antenne im Weltall die Daten ganzer Schwärme, also mehrerer hundert Tiere, gleichzeitig empfangen.

"Das ICARUS-Projekt ist ein gelungenes Beispiel der sehr guten russisch-deutschen Zusammenarbeit bei der wissenschaftlichen Nutzung der ISS", unterstreicht Johannes Weppler, ICARUS-Projektleiter im DLR Raumfahrtmanagement in Bonn, der den Außenbordeinsatz live im russischen Kontrollzentrum nahe Moskau miterlebte. Seit mehr als fünf Jahren arbeiten die beiden Seiten schon zusammen, um das Projekt zu realisieren.

"Die russischen Wissenschaftler werden die Daten des ICARUS-Systems mit Informationen von anderen Messgeräten des Experimentes Uragan zusammenbringen - unter anderem Daten von Spektrometern und optischen Kameras", erläutert der wissenschaftliche Leiter des Experiments "Uragan" beim russischen Raumfahrtkonzern RKK Energia, Prof. Dr. Mikhail Belyayev. "Dies ermöglicht es uns, nicht nur die Migrationswege der Tiere zu verfolgen, sondern auch die Gründe für Änderungen dieser Routen zu verstehen."

"Wir sind stolz, dass wir die russische Erfahrung beim Betrieb und Bau von Experimenten auf der ISS bei ICARUS einbringen konnten. Gleichzeitig ermöglichen wir es unseren Wissenschaftlern, sich auf diesem Forschungsgebiet in der Weltspitze zu etablieren", ergänzt Vasili Savinkov, Projektverantwortlicher bei Roskosmos.

  • Die Partner von ICARUS

    ICARUS ist eine Kooperation der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, des russischen Staatskonzerns für Weltraumaktivitäten "Roskosmos" und der DLR Raumfahrtagentur, die das Projekt mit Mitteln des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi) unterstützt. Die Tags wurden von der deutschen Firma ICARUS Global Observation System GmbH (I-GOS) in Immenstaad entwickelt. Die ICARUS-Antenne und der Onboard-Computer wurden von der SpaceTech GmbH (Immenstaad) mit der Unterstützung des russischen Industriepartners RKK Energia (Korolev) designt und gebaut.

Zuletzt geändert am:
23.08.2018 11:22:27 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Elisabeth Mittelbach
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrtmanagement, Strategie und Kommunikation

Tel.: +49 228 447-385

Fax: +49 228 447-386
Johannes Weppler
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrtmanagement, Astronautische Raumfahrt, ISS und Exploration

Tel.: +49 228 447-358