On 3 October 2018, the German ESA astronaut will assume overall responsibility of the International Space Station

Alexander Gerst assumes command of the ISS

02 October 2018

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • ISS%2dExpedition Crew 56
    ISS Expedition Crew 56

    A team in space – ISS Expedition 56 crew (from left): Serena Auñón-Chancellor (Flight Engineer / USA), Sergei Valerich Prokopyev (Flight Engineer / Russia), Andrew J. Feustel (Commander / USA), Alexander Gerst (Flight Engineer / Germany), Oleg Germanovich Artemyev (Flight Engineer / Russia), and Richard R. Arnold (Flight Engineer / USA).

  • CrewGerst_sn.jpg
    Selfie to the third: Alexander Gerst with Serena Auñón-Chancellor and Sergei Prokopyev

    On 3 October 2018, ESA astronaut Alexander Gerst will become the first German and second European to take command of the ISS. The picture shows Alexander Gerst together with his crew colleagues Serena Auñón-Chancellor and the Russian cosmonaut Sergei Prokopyev on the International Space Station. From mid-October, NASA astronaut Nick Hague and cosmonaut Alexey Ovchinin will also be on board.

  • CrewGesamtGerst_sn.jpg
    Posing in microgravity: The team of Crew 56

    As an ISS commander, you have to be a particularly good team player: Alexander Gerst (back left) will take over this special task on 3 October 2018 as the first German astronaut to achieve this from his crew colleague, NASA astronaut Andrew Feustel (right).

  • On 3 October 2018, the Day of German Unity, NASA astronaut Andrew Feustel will hand over command of the International Space Station (ISS) to the German ESA astronaut Alexander Gerst
  • Ceremony on board the ISS will be broadcast live by NASA and ESA
  • Focus: human spaceflight, ISS, international collaboration

Alexander Gerst will undoubtedly never forget 3 October 2018 – on the 'Day of German Unity', the 42-year old geophysicist and astronaut will be the first German and second European to become Commander of the International Space Station (ISS). The ceremony aboard the ISS will last from 04:10 to 16:30 CEST and be broadcast live on the Internet by NASA and ESA. NASA astronaut, Andrew 'Drew' Feustel, Commander of the current 'Expedition 56' crew will then officially hand over the 'top position' on the Space Station to Alexander Gerst. The German ESA astronaut will assume overall responsibility for both the Expedition 57 crew and all modules of the Space Station, that is, the US, Russian, Japanese and European parts, until the end of his mission and return to Earth – which will probably take place on 13 December.

"The transfer of overall responsibility for the crew and the ISS space station to the German ESA astronaut Alexander Gerst is an enormous vote of confidence in the partnership between Europe and the other ISS nations, in particular the two founding nations – the United States and Russia," says Pascale Ehrenfreund, Chair of the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) Executive Board.

"Germany is the strongest European partner of the ISS; we are the European leader in the use of the space station with about 40 percent." Passing on command to Alexander Gerst is therefore also a special recognition of the achievements in his two previous ISS missions – 'Blue Dot' in 2014 and 'horizons' this year," adds Walther Pelzer, DLR Executive Board member responsible for the Space Administration and for the German contributions to the 'horizons' mission and ESA.

Gerst's crew will continue to be NASA astronaut Serena Auñón-Chancellor and Russian cosmonaut Sergei Prokopjev – with whom @Astro_Alex set off to the ISS for his 'horizons' mission on 6 June 2018. From mid-October, they will be joined by NASA astronaut Nick Hague and cosmonaut Alexey Ovchinin, who will take off for the space station in a Russian Soyuz capsule on 11 October.

Compared to an astronaut's 'normal' everyday life as a mission specialist, for example in the role of a flight engineer or scientist, being captain of the entire spaceship means "maintaining an overview especially in critical situations and making informed decisions," explains Volker Schmid, 'horizons' Mission Manager and Head of the ISS Division at the DLR Space Administration in Bonn. Experience of procedures on board the ISS is just as important as being accepted by the crew. "The Captain must be a team player more so than anyone else, while earning the respect and confidence to assume responsibility for the entire crew and ship, even in a crisis," says Schmid. The Commander also works extremely closely with the Flight Director and mission team on the ground to ensure a successful overall mission. Alexander Gerst is also responsible for safety, the health of the crew and the protection of the ISS modules. In an emergency, he will be the one who makes decisions regarding rescue measures, including aborting the mission or returning to Earth prematurely.

Last modified:
02/10/2018 21:32:10

Contacts

 

Elisabeth Mittelbach
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Head Communications

Tel.: +49 228 447-385

Fax: +49 228 447-386
Volker Schmid
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Space Administration, Human Spaceflight, ISS and Exploration

Tel.: +49 228 447-305

Fax: +49 228 447-737

Mehr über das DLR

Am 3. Oktober 2018 wird der deutsche ESA-Astronaut die Gesamtverantwortung auf der Internationalen Raumstation übernehmen

Alexander Gerst wird Kommandant der ISS

Dienstag, 2. Oktober 2018

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • ISS%2dExpedition Crew 56
    ISS-Expedition Crew 56

    Ein Team im Weltraum – die ISS-Expedition 56-Crew (von links): Serena Auñón-Chancellor (Bordingenieurin/USA), Sergei Walerjewitsch Prokopjew (Bordingenieur/Russland), Andrew J. Feustel (Kommandant/USA), Alexander Gerst (Bordingenieur/Deutschland), Oleg Germanowitsch Artemjew (Bordingenieur/Russland) und Richard R. Arnold (Bordingenieur/USA).

  • CrewGerst_sn.jpg
    Selfie zu Dritt: Alexander Gerst mit Serena Aunon-Chancellor und Sergei Prokopjev

    Am 3. Oktober 2018 soll der ESA-Astronaut Alexander Gerst als erster Deutscher und zweiter Europäer das Kommando auf der ISS übernehmen. Das Bild zeigt @Astro_Alex zusammen mit seinen Crew-Kollegen Serena Aunon-Chancellor und dem russischen Kosmonauten Sergei Prokopjev auf der Internationalen Raumstation. Zusätzlich an Bord sind ab Mitte Oktober auch der NASA-Astronaut Nick Hague und der Kosmonaut Alexey Ovchinin.

  • CrewGesamtGerst_sn.jpg
    Posieren in Schwerelosigkeit: Das Team der Crew 56

    Als ISS-Kommandant muss man ein besonders guter Teamplayer sein: Alexander Gerst (hinten links) übernimmt am 3. Oktober 2018 als erster Deutscher Astronaut diese besondere Aufgabe von seinem Crew-Kollegen, dem NASA-Astronauten Andrew Feustel (rechts hinten).

  • Am Tag der Deutschen Einheit, 3. Oktober 2018, wird das Kommando auf der Internationalen Raumstation ISS von NASA-Astronaut Andrew Feustel an den deutschen ESA-Astronauten Alexander Gerst übergeben werden.
  • Die Zeremonie an Bord der ISS wird live von NASA und ESA übertragen.
  • Schwerpunkte: Astronautische Raumfahrt, ISS, Internationale Zusammenarbeit

Der "Tag der Deutschen Einheit" 2018  wird für Alexander Gerst wohl unvergesslich werden: Am 3. Oktober wird der 42-jährige Geophysiker und Astronaut als erster Deutscher und zweiter Europäer Kommandant der Internationalen Raumstation ISS. Von 16.10 Uhr bis 16.30 Uhr Mitteleuropäischer Sommerzeit soll die Zeremonie an Bord der ISS dauern, die NASA und ESA live im Internet übertragen. NASA-Astronaut Andrew "Drew" Feustel, Kommandant der aktuellen Crew der "Expedition 56", übergibt dann offiziell den "Chefposten" auf der Raumstation an Alexander Gerst. Der deutsche ESA-Astronaut hat danach bis zum Ende seiner Mission und seiner Rückkehr zur Erde - voraussichtlich am 13. Dezember - sowohl die Gesamtverantwortung für die Crew der Expedition 57, als auch für alle Module der Raumstation, also den amerikanischen, russischen, japanischen und europäischen Teil.

"Die Übergabe der Gesamtverantwortung für die Crew und die Raumstation ISS an den deutschen ESA-Astronauten Alexander Gerst ist ein sehr großer Vertrauensbeweis für die Partnerschaft zwischen Europäern und den anderen ISS-Nationen, insbesondere den beiden ISS-Gründungsnationen USA und Russland", sagt Prof. Pascale Ehrenfreund, Vorstandsvorsitzende des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR).

"Deutschland ist der stärkste europäische Partner der ISS, wir sind mit rund 40 Prozent europäischer Spitzenreiter bei der Nutzung der Raumstation. Die Kommandoübergabe an Alexander Gerst ist deshalb auch vor diesem Hintergrund eine besondere Anerkennung seiner  Leistungen bei seinen beiden bisherigen ISS-Missionen ‘Blue Dot‘ im Jahre 2014 und ‘horizons‘ in diesem Jahr", ergänzt Dr. Walther Pelzer, DLR-Vorstand für das Raumfahrtmanagement und in dieser Funktion zuständig für die deutschen Beiträge zur horizons-Mission und zur ESA. 

Zu Gersts Crew gehören nach wie vor die NASA-Astronautin Serena Aunon-Chancellor und der russische Kosmonaut Sergei Prokopjev - mit ihnen ist @Astro_Alex am 6. Juni 2018 gemeinsam zu seiner horizons-Mission zur ISS aufgebrochen. Neu an Bord sind ab Mitte Oktober der NASA-Astronaut Nick Hague und der Kosmonaut Alexey Ovchinin. Sie sollen mit einer russischen Sojus-Kapsel am 11. Oktober zur Raumstation starten.

Kapitän des gesamten Raumschiffs zu sein bedeutet im Vergleich zum "normalen" Astronautenalltag als Missionsspezialist, also zum Beispiel Bordingenieur oder Wissenschaftler, "vor allem auch in kritischen Situationen den Überblick zu behalten und überlegt Entscheidungen zu treffen", erklärt Volker Schmid, horizons-Missionsmanager und ISS-Fachgruppenleiter beim DLR Raumfahrtmanagement in Bonn. Erfahrung mit den Abläufen an Bord der ISS spiele hier eine ebenso große Rolle wie die Akzeptanz innerhalb der Crew. "Der Kapitän muss mehr als jeder andere ein Teamplayer sein, zugleich aber auch den Respekt und das Vertrauen genießen, auch im Krisenfall für die gesamte Mannschaft und das Schiff Verantwortung zu übernehmen", sagt Schmid. Zusätzlich arbeite der Kommandant besonders eng mit dem Flugdirektor und dem Missionsteam am Boden zusammen, um eine erfolgreiche Gesamtmission zu gewährleisten. Außerdem ist Alexander Gerst für die Sicherheit, die Gesundheit der Crew und den Schutz der ISS-Module zuständig. Im Notfall entscheidet er über Rettungsmaßnahmen bis hin zum Missionsabbruch oder eine vorzeitige Rückkehr zur Erde.

Zuletzt geändert am:
02.10.2018 18:40:56 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Elisabeth Mittelbach
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrtmanagement, Gruppenleiterin Kommunikation

Tel.: +49 228 447-385
Volker Schmid
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrtmanagement, Astronautische Raumfahrt, ISS und Exploration

Tel.: +49 228 447-305

Fax: +49 228 447-737