Links

Airborne observatory brings the long search to a successful conclusion

SOFIA uncovers one of the building blocks of the early Universe

17 April 2019

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • HeH%2dGrafik_sn.jpg
    Spectrum of the helium hydride ion

    Spectrum of the helium hydride ion (HeH+), detected using the GREAT instrument on board the SOFIA airborne observatory, observing in the direction of the planetary nebula NGC 7027. The background image of NGC 7027 was generated using data acquired by the Near Infrared Camera and Multi-Object Spectrometer (NICMOS) installed on board the Hubble Space Telescope. The obvious area of transition between the hot ionised gas (yellowish-white) and the cooler shell (red) is clearly visible. It is in this transition zone that HeH+ is formed (marked with molecule symbols in the artist’s impression). The area of the sky captured by the GREAT measurements has a diameter of 14.3 arc seconds and includes most of the radiation from the planetary nebula. The width of the HeH+ spectral line is the result of the propagation velocity of the expanding shell.

  • SOFIALuke_sn.jpg
    SOFIA airborne observatory

    With the SOFIA airborne observatory, astronomical observations in the infrared and submillimetre wavelength ranges are carried out using the 2.5-metre telescope on board the modified Boeing 747SP, flying mostly above the disruptive effects of Earth’s atmosphere.

  • TeleskopGREAT_sn.jpg
    GREAT instrument

    The GREAT far-infrared spectrometer is mounted on the telescope flange within the pressurised cabin of the SOFIA airborne observatory. The telescope dish is located in a sealed space at the rear of the aircraft; its airlock is only opened during flight.

  • The early development of the Universe would have been impossible without a small ion known as HeH+.
  • Previously, scientists had been unable to detect this ion in space.
  • Thanks to the GREAT far-infrared spectrometer on board the SOFIA airborne observatory, an international team of researchers has now succeeded in obtaining proof of its presence.
  • Focus: space, astronomy, astrophysics

The helium hydride ion, to give HeH+ its full name, once posed something of a dilemma for science. Although its existence has been known from laboratory studies for almost 100 years, it had not been found in space, despite extensive searches. As a result, the chemical model calculations associated with it were called into question. But an international team of researchers led by Rolf Güsten of the Max Planck Institute for Radio Astronomy in Bonn  has now succeeded in clearly detecting this ion in the direction of the planetary nebula NGC 7027. The proof was obtained using the German Receiver for Astronomy at Terahertz Frequencies (GREAT), a far-infrared spectrometer carried on board the Stratospheric Observatory for Infrared Astronomy (SOFIA). SOFIA is a joint project by the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) and NASA, the US space agency. The results were published in the 18 April 2019 issue of the scientific journal Nature.

"Over the last decade, people have had great hopes for space observatories such as Spitzer (NASA, launched 2003) and Herschel (ESA, launched 2009), but none of these telescopes were able to detect this ion. SOFIA has provided us with proof that this ion really can form in planetary nebulae. At present, there is no other telescope capable of observing at these wavelengths, so this observation platform will remain unique for many years to come," says Anke Pagels-Kerp, Head of the Space Science Department at the DLR Space Administration in Bonn.

In the late 1970s, astrochemical models suggested that a detectable quantity of HeH+ might be present within nebulae in the Milky Way. It was thought most likely to be found in what are known as planetary nebulae, which are shells of gas and dust that have been ejected from a Sun-like star in the last phase of their lifecycle. The high-energy radiation generated by the central star drives ionisation fronts into the envelope of ejected material. According to the model calculations, it is precisely here that the HeH+ ions are supposed to form. Yet despite its undisputed importance in the history of the early Universe, it had long proven impossible to find the HeH+ ion in interstellar space. Although it has been known to exist since 1925, specific searches for it in space have been unsuccessful over recent decades.

The molecule emits its strongest spectral line at a characteristic wavelength of 149.1 micrometres (corresponding to a frequency of 2.01 terahertz). Earth's atmosphere blocks all radiation in this wavelength range, preventing searches by ground-based observatories; therefore, the search must be conducted either from space or using high-flying observatories such as SOFIA. At an altitude of 13 to 14 kilometres, SOFIA operates above the absorbing layers of the lower atmosphere.

"SOFIA offers a unique opportunity to use the very latest technologies at any given time. The ongoing German-led development of the GREAT instrument has now made the detection of helium hydride possible. This underlines the importance of such instruments and the potential that their development holds for SOFIA in future," explains Heinz Hammes, SOFIA Project Manager at the DLR Space Administration.

After the Big Bang, chemistry began in the Universe

The HeH+ ion is very important by virtue of its role in the formation of the Universe; all chemistry began approximately 300,000 years after the Big Bang. Although the Universe was still in its early stages, the temperature had already fallen to under approximately 3700 degrees Celsius. The elements that formed in the Big Bang – such as hydrogen, helium, deuterium and traces of lithium – were ionised at first, due to the high temperatures. As the Universe cooled, they recombined with free electrons to create the first neutral atoms. This happened first with helium. At this point, hydrogen was still ionised and was present in the form of free protons, or hydrogen nuclei. These combined with the helium atoms to form the helium hydride ion HeH+, making it one of the very first molecular compounds in the Universe. As recombination advanced, HeH+ reacted with the newly-formed neutral hydrogen atoms, thus paving the way for the formation of molecular hydrogen and thus the chemical origins of the Universe.

"Thanks to recent advances in terahertz technology, it is now possible to perform high-resolution spectroscopy at the required far-infrared wavelengths," explains Rolf Güsten, Lead Author of the article. As a result of measurements performed using the GREAT spectrometer on board the SOFIA airborne observatory, the team can now announce the unambiguous detection of the HeH+ ion in the direction of the planetary nebula NGC 7027.

Original publication:
Rolf Güsten et al.: First detection of the helium hydride ion (HeH+) in space, published in the 18 April 2019 issue of Nature.

  • SOFIA

    The Stratospheric Observatory for Infrared Astronomy (SOFIA) is a joint project by the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) and the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA). The German contribution of the project is managed by the DLR Space Administration, using funds provided by the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy, the Federal State of Baden-Württemberg and the University of Stuttgart. The scientific operations are coordinated by the German SOFIA Institute (Deutsches SOFIA Institut; DSI) at the University of Stuttgart in Germany and the Universities Space Research Association (USRA) in the USA. The development of the German instruments is financed with funds from the Max Planck Society (Max-Planck-Gesellschaft; MPG), the German Research Foundation (Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft; DFG) and DLR.

  • GREAT

    The German Receiver for Astronomy at Terahertz Frequencies (GREAT) is a high-resolution spectrometer for astronomical observations at far-infrared wavelengths between 0.06 and 0.6 millimetres. This means that GREAT operates in a spectral range that is inaccessible to ground-based observatories due to absorption by Earth's atmosphere. The modular design of the instrument allows the short-term installation of new technologies. Using GREAT on board the SOFIA airborne observatory, more than 150 successful research flights have been carried out since 2011. GREAT is a joint endeavour by the Max Planck Institute for Radio Astronomy in Bonn and KOSMA/University of Cologne, in conjunction with the DLR Institute of Optical Sensor Systems in Berlin.

Last modified:
25/04/2019 18:08:47

Contacts

 

Martin Schulz
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Space Administration, Strategy and Communication

Tel.: +49 228 447-124

Fax: +49 228 447-386
Dr Anke Pagels-Kerp
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Head of Department for Space Science

Tel.: +49 228 447-382
Dr Rolf Güsten
Max Planck Institute for Radio Astronomy

Tel.: +49 228 525-383

Fax: +49 228 525-488

Fliegendes Observatorium führt lange Suche zu erfolgreichem Ende

SOFIA entdeckt Baustein für das junge Universum

Mittwoch, 17. April 2019

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • HeH%2dGrafik_sn.jpg
    Spektrum des Heliumhydrid-Ions

    Spektrum des Heliumhydrid-Ions HeH+, beobachtet mit dem GREAT-Instrument an Bord des Flugzeug-Observatoriums SOFIA in Richtung des Planetarischen Nebels NGC 7027. Das Hintergrundbild von NGC 7027 wurde mit der NICMOS-Kamera von Hubble erzeugt; darin ist die scharfe Übergangsregion zwischen heißem ionisiertem Gas (weißlich-gelb) und der kühleren Hülle (in rot) deutlich sichtbar. Genau in dieser Übergangszone entsteht HeH+ (durch Molekülsymbole in künstlerischer Darstellung markiert). Der mit den GREAT-Messungen erfasste Bereich am Himmel hat einem Durchmesser von 14,3 Bogensekunden und schließt den überwiegenden Teil der Strahlung des Planetarischen Nebels ein. Die Linienbreite der HeH+-Spektrallinie resultiert aus der Ausbreitungsgeschwindigkeit der expandierenden Hülle.

  • Eines der ältesten Geheimnisse des Universums ist gelöst

    Eines der ältesten Geheimnisse des Universums ist gelöst

    Die fliegende Sternwarte SOFIA entdeckt Baustein für das junge Universum. Die frühe Entwicklung unseres Universums ist nicht denkbar ohne ein Molekül namens HeH+. Dieses Molekül konnte bisher im Weltall nicht nachgewiesen werden. Mit Hilfe des Ferninfrarot-Spektrometers GREAT an Bord der fliegenden Sternwarte SOFIA glückte einem internationalen Forscherteam nun der Nachweis.

  • SOFIALuke_sn.jpg
    Fliegendes Infrarotobservatorium SOFIA

    Fliegende Sternwarte: Mit dem 2,5 Meter-Teleskop an Bord der modifizierten Boeing 747SP werden astronomische Beobachtungen im Infrarot- und Submillimeter-Wellenlängenbereich durchgeführt – weitgehend oberhalb der dabei störenden irdischen Lufthülle.

  • TeleskopGREAT_sn.jpg
    Teleskop GREAT

    Das Ferninfrarot-Spektrometer GREAT ist innerhalb der Druckluftkabine im Flugzeugobservatorium SOFIA am Teleskopflansch montiert. Die Teleskopschüssel selbst befindet sich in einem hermetisch abgeschlossenen Raum im hinteren Teil des Flugzeugs. Ihre Luke wird erst während des Fluges geöffnet.

  • Die frühe Entwicklung unseres Universums ist nicht denkbar ohne ein Molekül namens HeH+.
  • Dieses Molekül konnte bisher im Weltall nicht nachgewiesen werden.
  • Mit Hilfe des Ferninfrarot-Spektrometers GREAT an Bord der fliegenden Sternwarte SOFIA glückte einem internationalen Forscherteam nun der Nachweis.
  • Schwerpunkte: Raumfahrt, Luftfahrt, Astronomie

Das Heliumhydrid-Ion, wie HeH+ mit vollem Namen heißt, stellte die Wissenschaft vor ein Dilemma: Aus Laboruntersuchungen ist es seit fast 100 Jahren bekannt, aber im Weltall war es trotz aufwendiger Suche bisher nicht aufzufinden. Mit der Folge, dass die damit verbundenen chemischen Modellrechnungen angezweifelt wurden. Doch einem internationalen Forscherteam unter der Leitung von Rolf Güsten vom Bonner Max-Planck-Institut für Radioastronomie ist es nun geglückt, dieses Molekül in Richtung des Planetarischen Nebels NGC 7027 eindeutig nachzuweisen. Gelungen ist der Nachweis mit Hilfe des Ferninfrarot-Spektrometers GREAT an Bord der fliegenden Sternwarte SOFIA. SOFIA (Stratosphären Observatorium für Infrarot-Astronomie) ist ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) und der US-amerikanischen Raumfahrtbehörde NASA. Die Ergebnisse werden in der Ausgabe der Fachzeitschrift „Nature" vom 18. April 2019 veröffentlicht.

„Im vergangenen Jahrzehnt setzte man große Hoffnungen in die Weltraumobservatorien ‚Spitzer‘ (NASA, gestartet 2003) und ‚Herschel‘ (ESA, gestartet 2009), aber keines der Teleskope war in der Lage, dieses Molekül zu detektieren. Mit SOFIA haben wir den Nachweis erbracht, dass dieses Molekül sich tatsächlich in Planetarischen Nebeln bilden kann. Derzeit gibt es kein anderes Teleskop, welches in diesen Wellenlängen beobachten kann. Das macht diese Beobachtungsplattform noch für viele Jahre einzigartig", sagte Anke Pagels-Kerp, Abteilungsleiterin Extraterrestrik im DLR Raumfahrtmanagement in Bonn.

In den späten 1970er Jahren deuteten astrochemische Modelle auf die Möglichkeit hin, dass HeH+ in nachweisbarer Häufigkeit in astrophysikalischen Nebeln innerhalb unserer Milchstraße vorhanden sein könnte. Es wurde angenommen, dass es vielleicht am leichtesten in sogenannten Planetarischen Nebeln gefunden werden könnte, die von sonnenähnlichen Sternen in der letzten Phase ihres Lebenszyklus ausgestoßen werden. Die energiereiche Strahlung, die dabei vom Zentralstern erzeugt wird, treibt Ionisationsfronten in die ausgestoßene Hülle. Genau dort soll sich nach den Modellrechnungen das HeH+-Molekül ausbilden. Doch trotz seiner unbestrittenen Bedeutung für die Geschichte des frühen Universums gelang es für lange Zeit nicht, das HeH+-Molekül im interstellaren Raum aufzufinden. Durch Laboruntersuchungen ist es seit 1925 bekannt, während die gezielte Suche im Weltall während der vergangenen Jahrzehnte erfolglos blieb.

Das Molekül strahlt am stärksten in einer Spektrallinie bei einer charakteristischen Wellenlänge von 0,149 mm (entsprechend einer Frequenz von 2,01 Terahertz). Die Erdatmosphäre ist in diesem Wellenlängenbereich komplett undurchlässig für alle bodengebundenen Observatorien, so dass die Suche entweder aus dem Weltraum oder mit hochfliegenden Observatorien wie SOFIA erfolgen muss. In einer Flughöhe von 13 bis 14 Kilometern operiert SOFIA oberhalb der absorbierenden Schichten der unteren Atmosphäre. 

„SOFIA bietet die einzigartige Möglichkeit, jederzeit neueste Technologien einzusetzen. Mit der aktuellen Weiterentwicklung des deutschen Instruments GREAT wurde dieser Nachweis von Helium-Hydrid nun ermöglicht. Dies unterstreicht die Wichtigkeit und Chance, auch in Zukunft neue Instrumente für SOFIA zu entwickeln", erläutert Heinz Hammes, SOFIA-Projektleiter im DLR Raumfahrtmanagement.

Nach dem Urknall: Die Chemie unseres Universums beginnt

Die herausragende Bedeutung des HeH+-Moleküls ergibt sich aus seiner Rolle bei der Entstehung des Universums: Ungefähr 300 000 Jahre nach dem Urknall erfolgte der Beginn aller Chemie. Die Temperatur im noch jungen Universum war zu diesem Zeitpunkt bereits unter einen Wert von zirka 3700 Grad Celsius gefallen. Die im Urknall entstandenen Elemente wie Wasserstoff, Helium, Deuterium und Spuren von Lithium waren zunächst aufgrund der hohen Temperaturen ionisiert. Sie rekombinierten sich im abkühlenden Universum wieder mit freien Elektronen, um so die ersten neutralen Atome zu erzeugen. Zunächst erfolgte dies bei Helium. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt war der Wasserstoff selbst noch ionisiert und lag in der Form von freien Protonen oder Wasserstoffkernen vor. Mit ihnen verbanden sich die Heliumatome zum Heliumhydrid-Ion HeH+, das so zu einer der wohl ersten molekularen Verbindungen im Universum wurde. Mit fortschreitender Rekombination reagierte das HeH+ mit den nun vorhandenen neutralen Wasserstoffatomen und bildete so einen Pfad zur Entstehung von molekularem Wasserstoff und damit dem chemischen Beginn unseres Universums.

„Mit den jüngsten Fortschritten in der Terahertz-Technologie ist es nun möglich, hochauflösende Spektroskopie bei den erforderlichen ferninfraroten Wellenlängen durchzuführen", erklärte Rolf Güsten, Erstautor der Veröffentlichung. Als Ergebnis von Messungen mit dem GREAT-Spektrometer an Bord der fliegenden Sternwarte SOFIA kann das Team nun den eindeutigen Nachweis des HeH+-Moleküls in Richtung der Hülle des Planetarischen Nebels NGC 7027 bekannt geben.

Originalveröffentlichung:

Rolf Güsten et al.: First astrophysical detection of the helium hydride ion (HeH+), zur Veröffentlichung in Nature, Ausgabe vom 18. April 2019.

  • SOFIA

    Das Stratosphären Observatorium für Infrarot Astronomie, ist ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt und der National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA). Es wird vom DLR Raumfahrtmanagement mit Mitteln des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Energie, des Landes Baden-Württemberg und der Universität Stuttgart durchgeführt. Der wissenschaftliche Betrieb wird auf deutscher Seite vom Deutschen SOFIA Institut (DSI) der Universität Stuttgart koordiniert, auf amerikanischer Seite von der Universities Space Research Association (USRA). Die Entwicklung der deutschen Instrumente ist finanziert mit Mitteln der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft (MPG), der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) und des DLR.

  • GREAT

    Der "German Receiver for Astronomy at Terahertz Frequencies" ist ein hochauflösendes Spektrometer für astronomische Beobachtungen bei fern-infraroten Wellenlängen zwischen 0,06 und 0,6 mm. Damit operiert GREAT in einem Spektralbereich, der wegen der Absorption der Erdatmosphäre von bodengebundenen Observatorien aus nicht zugänglich ist. Der modulare Aufbau des Instruments ermöglicht den kurzfristigen Einbau neuartiger Technologie. Mit dem GREAT-Empfänger an Bord des Flugzeugobservatoriums SOFIA sind seit 2011 mehr als 150 erfolgreiche Forschungsflüge durchgeführt worden. GREAT ist eine gemeinsame Entwicklung des Max-Planck-Instituts für Radioastronomie in Bonn und KOSMA/Universität zu Köln, in Kooperation mit dem DLR-Institut für Optische Sensorsysteme in Berlin.

Zuletzt geändert am:
07.05.2019 08:39:02 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Martin Schulz
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrtmanagement, Strategie und Kommunikation

Tel.: +49 228 447-124

Fax: +49 228 447-386
Dr. Anke Pagels-Kerp
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrtmanagement, Abteilungsleitung Extraterrestrik

Tel.: +49 228 447-382
Dr. Rolf Güsten
Max-Planck-Institut für Radioastronomie

Tel.: +49 228 525-383

Fax: +49 228 525-488