DLR tests innovative crisis management solutions in The Hague

DLR erprobt neuartige Krisenmanagementlösungen in Den Haag

28 May 2019

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • ZKI 3D%2dVisualisierung
    ZKI 3D visualisation

    The city administration of The Hague works with ZKI 3D visualisations / maps.

  • ZKI Interactive 3D
    ZKI interactive 3D

    The 3D map gives a virtualised impression of the flooded infrastructure of The Hague. The various information components can be faded in and out separately, thus enabling individual viewing.

  • Lagebesprechung des Regional Operational Teams (ROT)
    The Regional Operational Team (ROT) discusses the situation

    The entire crisis-management team meets to discuss the crisis using systems and solutions developed by DLR.

  • Polizei arbeitet mit ZKI%2d3D%2dVisualisierungen
    Police personnel working with ZKI 3D visualisations

    Police personnel working with ZKI 3D visualisations.

  • Teilnehmer der DRIVER+ Krisenübung „Niederlande“
    Participants in the DRIVER+ crisis exercise ‘The Netherlands’

    Participants in the DRIVER+ crisis exercise ‘The Netherlands’.

  • DLR participates in a European crisis trial as part of the EU project DRIVER+.
  • DLR's main contributions are innovative 2D and 3D maps and a traffic routing system.

A comprehensive flood scenario was simulated in The Hague from 22 to 23 May 2019 as part of the Driving Innovation in Crisis Management for European Resilience (DRIVER+) project. Five innovative solutions were evaluated. The trial, which was conducted with the participation of crisis managers from several countries, was an opportunity to examine innovative solutions for crisis management in Europe. The German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) conducted the trial together with the crisis team in The Hague and at the same time tested new developments from the Centre for Satellite Based Crisis Information (ZKI) and also the 'KeepOperational' traffic management system from the DLR Institute of Transportation Systems.

Tabletop trial

"The trial examined a simulated flooding scenario in which a lock in The Hague failed due to extreme weather conditions," explains Konstanze Lechner, leader of the crisis exercise at DLR. "A large part of The Hague city centre was flooded and the infrastructure damaged, threatening a large proportion of the city’s population," Lechner continued. 

End-users and decision-makers from all levels of crisis management participated in a 'tabletop' trial in various situation centres. Their task was to take measures against flooding in a simulated environment and to integrate the products developed in DRIVER+ into their existing procedures and test them.

The ZKI supported each situation centre by providing up-to-date information about the extent of the disaster and the buildings and infrastructure that might have been affected. "A simulated flood mask was generated, which was derived from current aerial imagery," explains Lechner. “The flood data were made available to the participants via standardised interfaces, so that they could be integrated into various systems and other solutions used by the participants." In addition, the ZKI solution generated digital, interactive 2D and 3D map products showing the extent of the flooding and its effects on the infrastructure in specific areas. The overall objective was to simulate an aerial overview of the affected area and to support the crisis management team with innovative information products.

During the trial, the police action centre used the DLR traffic management system KeepOperational to draw up traffic plans and analyse the accessibility of the affected area. The flooding information provided by the ZKI and the flood prediction model created by another simulation tool were also taken into account. The police action centre also added its own information to the KeepOperational tool, such as traffic congestion reported by local units. KeepOperational combined traffic information from ground-based traffic sensors with airborne information and other sources and provided improved navigation data based on a common situation picture.

"The DRIVER+ trial was a complete success," says Lechner. "The crisis managers were able to sufficiently test all technical innovations in their working environment. Both the new developments from the ZKI and KeepOperational were very well received by the police action centre in particular," Lechner summarised.

About ZKI

ZKI Logo

The Centre for Satellite Based Crisis Information (ZKI) supports emergency forces with rapid aerial and satellite mappings for use in natural disasters, humanitarian crisis and civil security. Satellite data are recorded, analysed and compiled to produce needs-based, topical maps and visualisations at very short notice within the framework of the 'International Charter Space and Major Disasters', the Copernicus Emergency Mapping Service and the national ZKI-DE Service for Federal Authorities. In recent years, ZKI has established itself as one of the leading institutions in satellite-based crisis information – nationally, in Europe and globally. Reliable and fast provision of information, competent advice and training, as well as close contact with the users are the keys to success.

About KeepOperational

Keep Operational

KeepOperational uses derived situation and traffic information to present a comprehensive situation picture of the crisis area and its effects on the traffic situation. KeepOperational is based on the DLR Traffic Data Platform. The Traffic Data Platform is a service framework for the collection, processing and utilisation of traffic data. These can be obtained from different sources, for example loop detector data or floating car data. In combination with location information from aerial photographs, KeepOperational offers functions for traffic analysis and route planning. In contrast to public transport portals, added value is achieved by considering the application specifics. Information layers can also be imported from other data sources by using standardised formats. The KeepOperational tool is provided as a web application with a service-oriented back-end system.

DRIVER+

DRIVER+ Logo

DRIVER+ (Driving Innovation in Crisis Management for European Resilience) is an EU-funded project that supports crisis management experts in devising solutions for complex disaster recovery operations. A total of four crisis exercises (trials) and a final demonstration with the active participation of crisis management experts will be conducted during the project. The aim is to identify and evaluate innovative solutions that meet the experts' expectations and address pre-identified concerns.

For more information about the Dutch trial and DRIVER+ activities, go to www.driver-project.eu. Further information about this crisis trial is available here.

Last modified:
31/05/2019 16:34:59

Contacts

 

Jasmin Begli
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Corporate Communications, Braunschweig

Tel.: +49 531 295-2108

Fax: +49 531 295-12100
Dr Konstanze Lechner
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Earth Observation Center, Geo-Risks and Civil Security

Tel.: +49 8153 28-1706

Mehr über das DLR

DLR erprobt neuartige Krisenmanagementlösungen in Den Haag

DLR erprobt neuartige Krisenmanagementlösungen in Den Haag

Dienstag, 28. Mai 2019

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • ZKI 3D%2dVisualisierung
    ZKI 3D-Visualisierung

    Stadtverwaltung Den Haag arbeitet mit ZKI 3D Visualisierungen / Karten

  • ZKI Interactive 3D
    ZKI Interactive 3D

    Die 3D-Karte gibt einen virtuellen Eindruck von der überfluteten Infrastruktur Den Haags. Die Informationen können einzeln ein- und ausgeblendet werden und ermöglichen so eine individuelle Betrachtung.

  • Lagebesprechung des Regional Operational Teams (ROT)
    Lagebesprechung des Regional Operational Teams (ROT)

    Lagebesprechung des gesamten Krisenstabs zur Besprechung der Hochwassersituation mittels der DLR Entwicklungen

  • Polizei arbeitet mit ZKI%2d3D%2dVisualisierungen
    Polizei arbeitet mit ZKI-3D-Visualisierungen

  • Teilnehmer der DRIVER+ Krisenübung „Niederlande“
    Teilnehmer der DRIVER+ Krisenübung „Niederlande“

  • DLR organisiert gemeinsam mit Nutzern eine europäische Krisenübung im EU-Projekt DRIVER+
  • Hauptbeiträge des DLR sind innovative 2D- und 3D-Lagekarten sowie ein Verkehrsroutingsystem

Vom 22. bis 23. Mai 2019 wurde in Den Haag im Projekt DRIVER+ ein umfassendes Hochwasserszenario simuliert. Dabei bewerteten die Wissenschaftler fünf innovative Lösungen. Unter Beteiligung von Krisenmanagern aus mehreren Ländern war dies eine Gelegenheit, innovative Lösungen für das Krisenmanagement in Europa zu untersuchen. Das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) organisierte gemeinsam mit dem Krisenstab in Den Haag (Safety Region the Hague) die Krisenübung und erprobte gleichzeitig neue Entwicklungen des Zentrums für satellitengestützte Kriseninformation (ZKI) und das Verkehrsmanagementsystem "KeepOperational" des DLR-Instituts für Verkehrssystemtechnik.

Tabletop Trial

"In der Krisenübung wurde ein simuliertes Überflutungsszenario untersucht, bei dem durch extreme Wetterbedingungen eine Schleuse in Den Haag brach", erklärt Dr. Konstanze Lechner, Leiterin der Krisenübung vom DLR, das Szenario. "Ein großer Teil des Den Haager Stadtzentrums wurde dadurch überflutet und die Infrastruktur geschädigt, wodurch ein Großteil der Stadtbevölkerung bedroht war", so Lechner weiter.

Endnutzer und Entscheidungsträger aus allen Ebenen des Krisenmanagements nahmen in verschiedenen Lagezentren an einer sogenannten "Tabletop"-Übung teil. Sie hatten dabei die Aufgabe, in einer simulierten Umgebung Maßnahmen gegen die Überflutung zu ergreifen und dafür die in DRIVER+ entwickelten Produkte in ihre bisherige Verfahrensweise zu integrieren und zu testen.

Das ZKI unterstützte jedes Lagezentrum mittels aktueller Informationen über das Ausmaß der Katastrophe und die möglicherweise betroffenen Gebäude und Infrastrukturen. "Es wurde eine simulierte Hochwassermaske erzeugt, die im Ernstfall aus aktuellen Luftbildern von Hochwassern abgeleitet wird", erklärt Lechner. "Die Überflutungsdaten wurden den Beteiligten über standardisierte Schnittstellen bereitgestellt, so dass sie in verschiedene Systeme und andere Lösungen von beteiligten Partnern integriert werden konnten." Darüber hinaus hat das ZKI digitale, interaktive 2D- und 3D-Kartenprodukte erstellt, die das Ausmaß der Überschwemmungen und deren Auswirkungen auf die Infrastruktur in definierten Interessengebieten zeigten. Übergeordnetes Ziel war es, einen flugzeuggestützten Überblick über das betroffene Gebiet zu simulieren und durch innovative Informationsprodukte den Krisenstab zu unterstützen.

Das DLR-Verkehrsmanagementsystem KeepOperational wurde in der Übung vom Aktionszentrum "Polizei" verwendet, um Verkehrspläne zu erstellen und die Erreichbarkeit des betroffenen Krisengebietes zu analysieren. Dabei wurden die Hochwasserinformationen des ZKI und die Hochwasservorhersage einer Simulationssoftware berücksichtigt. Das Aktionszentrum "Polizei" fügte dem KeepOperational-Tool auch eigene Informationen hinzu, beispielsweis Staus, die von Einheiten vor Ort gemeldet wurden. Das Ziel von KeepOperational war es, Verkehrsinformationen von terrestrischen Verkehrssensoren mit luftgestützten Informationen oder anderen Quellen zu kombinieren, um den Einsatzkräften verbesserte Routingtools auf Basis eines gemeinsamen Lagebilds bereit zu stellen.

"Die Krisenübung war ein voller Erfolg", freut sich Lechner. "Die Krisenmanager konnten alle technischen Innovationen ausreichend in ihrer Arbeitsumgebung testen. Sowohl die neuen Entwicklungen des ZKI als auch KeepOperational kamen vor allem beim Lagezentrum der Polizei sehr gut an." So Lechner weiter.

Zum ZKI

ZKI Logo

Das Zentrum für satellitengestützte Kriseninformation (ZKI) unterstützt Einsatzkräfte mit schnellen Luft- und Satellitenbildkartierungen für den Einsatz bei Naturkatastrophen, humanitären Notfällen und im Bereich der zivilen Sicherheit. Im Rahmen der "International Charter on Space and Major Disasters" , des Copernicus Emergency Mapping Service und im nationalen ZKI-DE Service für Bundesbehörden werden Satellitendaten in kürzester Zeit aufgenommen, analysiert und zu bedarfsgerechten thematischen Kartierungen und Visualisierungen weiterverarbeitet. So hat sich das ZKI in den letzten Jahren als eine der führenden Einrichtungen in der satellitengestützten Kriseninformation etabliert - national, in Europa, und auch im internationalen Umfeld. Zuverlässige und schnelle Bereitstellung von Informationen, kompetente Beratung und Schulung sowie der enge Kontakt mit den Nutzern sind die entscheidenden Erfolgsfaktoren.

Zu KeepOperational

Keep Operational

KeepOperational ermöglicht mithilfe von abgeleiteten Lage- sowie Verkehrsinformationen, die Darstellung eines übergreifenden Verkehrslagebilds über das Krisengebiet und die Auswirkungen auf die Verkehrslage. KeepOperational basiert auf der DLR Traffic Data Platform. Die Traffic Data Platform ist ein Service-Framework zur Erfassung, Verarbeitung und Nutzung von Verkehrsdaten. Die Verkehrsdaten können aus verschiedenen Quellen gewonnen werden, z.B. Schleifendetektordaten oder Floating Car Data. In Kombination mit Lageinformationen aus Luftbildern bietet KeepOperational Funktionen zur Verkehrsanalyse und Routenplanung. Im Gegensatz zu öffentlichen Verkehrsportalen wird ein Mehrwert durch die Berücksichtigung der Einsatzspezifika erzielt.

DRIVER+

DRIVER+ Logo

DRIVER+ (Driving Innovation in Crisis Management for European Resilience) ist ein EU-finanziertes Projekt, das Krisenmanagement-Experten hilft, Lösungen für komplexe Rettungsmaßnahmen im Katastrophenfall zu finden. Insgesamt finden während des Projektes vier Krisenübungen (Trials) und eine abschließende Demonstration mit aktiver Beteiligung von Krisenmanagement-Experten statt. Ziel ist es, innovative Lösungen zu identifizieren und zu bewerten, die den Erwartungen der Experten entsprechen und vorab identifizierte Probleme adressieren.

Für weitere Informationen über den niederländischen Trial und über die Aktivitäten von DRIVER+ besuchen Sie bitte unsere Website unter www.driver-project.eu. Weitere Details zu dieser Krisenübung finden Sie auch in einer DRIVER+ Pressemeldung.

Zuletzt geändert am:
28.05.2019 15:52:57 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Jasmin Begli
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation, Braunschweig

Tel.: +49 531 295-2108

Fax: +49 531 295-2102
Dr. Konstanze Lechner
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Earth Observation Center; Georisiken und zivile Sicherheit

Tel.: +49 8153 28-1706