Fiftieth anniversary of the Moon landing at the Deutsches Museum in Munich

Impressive VR simulation of the first Moon landing with DLR participation

Beindruckende VR-Simulation der ersten Mondlandung mit DLR-Beteiligung

04 June 2019

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • Grafische Darstellung der Mondlandefähre Eagle
    Graphical representation of the Apollo Lunar Module ‘Eagle’

    A new VR simulation developed with DLR participation shows the descent and landing of the Lunar Module ‘Eagle’, the terrain around the landing site and the return flight. Acknowledgements: The 3D models of Eagle were created with the DLR visualisation software SimVis using published material from NASA 3D Resources (see image).

Focus: Space, digitalisation

On 1 June 2019, as part of activities marking the 50th anniversary of the first humans landing on the Moon, a 'Moon Talk' was held in the Deutsches Museum in Munich. Apollo 16 astronaut Charlie Duke also participated in a panel discussion. During the ‘First Moon Landing’ introductory presentation, the former director of the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) Robotics and Mechatronics Center, Gerd Hirzinger, showed exciting aspects and details of the Apollo 11 mission using a newly-developed Virtual Reality (VR) simulation. This simulation shows the descent and landing of Eagle, the exploration of the terrain around the landing site by the astronauts, as well as part of the ascent and return to the Command and Service Module (CSM) that remained in lunar orbit.

Using a scientific approach, the operations and the chronological sequences of these mission phases were thoroughly analysed and reconstructed on the basis of available NASA documents, radio voice recordings and video recordings. This process was necessary because, according to NASA statements, the original tapes on which the telemetry was recorded during the mission can no longer be found in the archives.

The trajectory reconstructions for the descent and landing, and the ascent from the lunar surface, were carried out at the DLR Institute of System Dynamics and Control. A temporally-consistent descent profile for the lander, showing location and attitude, was computed on the basis of relevant sources from which Eagle’s planned flight guidance inputs and course positions were obtained. With the help of precise Modelica system dynamics models and powerful in-house optimisation tools, physically and flight-dynamically realistic trajectories were generated that can be realised with the available thrust of Eagle’s main engine and which also correspond to the available data on fuel reserves.

The overall production and the integration of the trajectories into the VR simulation was performed by VR Dynamix GmbH, Munich. In the near future, the VR installation that was displayed will be extended with additional, visionary elements having the theme ‘Moon Village’. Interested visitors will then be able to personally experience this world in the VRlab, the Virtual Reality Laboratory (VRlab) at the Deutsches Museum. The VR simulation will also be showcased at the Institute of System Dynamics and Control Technology during the DLR Open Day in Oberpfaffenhofen on 21 July 2019, on the anniversary of the day when humans first set foot on the Moon.

Last modified:
05/06/2019 11:06:50

Contacts

 

Falk Dambowsky
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Media Relations

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3959
Paul Acquatella
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Institute of System Dynamics and Control

Tel.: +49 8153 28-4067
Lale Evrim Briese
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Institute of System Dynamics and Control (SR)

Tel.: +49 8153 28-1323

Mehr über das DLR

Jubiläum 50 Jahre Mondlandung im Deutschen Museum

Beindruckende VR-Simulation der ersten Mondlandung mit DLR-Beteiligung

Beindruckende VR-Simulation der ersten Mondlandung mit DLR-Beteiligung

Dienstag, 4. Juni 2019

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • Grafische Darstellung der Mondlandefähre Eagle
    Grafische Darstellung der Mondlandefähre Eagle

    Eine neue unter DLR-Beteiligung entstandenen VR-Simulation zeigt Anflug und Landung der Landefähre ‚Eagle‘ sowie die Umgebung der Landung und den Rückflug.

    Danksagung: Für die Erstellung der Eagle 3D-Modelle mit der DLR Visualisierungssoftware SimVis (siehe Bild) wurde veröffentlichtes Material von NASA 3D Resources verwendet.

Schwerpunkt: Raumfahrt, Digitalisierung

Am 1. Juni 2019 fand im Deutschen Museum München anlässlich des Jubiläums 50 Jahre Mondlandung ein "Moon-Talk" statt, an dem auch der Apollo 16-Astronaut Charlie Duke im Rahmen einer Podiumsdiskussion teilnahm. In der einführenden Präsentation "Die erste Mondlandung" zeigte Prof. Dr. Gerd Hirzinger, ehemaliger Direktor des DLR Robotik und Mechatronik Zentrums, mit Hilfe einer unter Beteiligung des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) neu entwickelten Virtual Reality-Simulation spannende Aspekte und Details der Apollo 11-Mission. Die Simulation zeigt Anflug und Landung der Landefähre "Eagle", sowie den Ausstieg der Astronauten und die Erkundung des Geländes um die Landestelle sowie Start und Rückflug zum Mond-Orbiter.

In wissenschaftlicher Herangehensweise wurden anhand von verfügbaren NASA-Dokumenten, Sprechfunkmitschnitten und Videoaufzeichnungen das Szenario und der zeitliche Ablauf dieser Missionsphase eingehend analysiert und rekonstruiert. Dieser Prozess wurde notwendig, weil nach NASA-Angaben die Originalbänder, auf denen die Telemetrie während der Mission aufgezeichnet wurde, in den Archiven nicht mehr auffindbar sind.

Die Rekonstruktionen der Anflugtrajektorie, der Landung und des Abhebens von der Mondoberfläche wurden am Institut für Systemdynamik und Regelungstechnik des DLR in Oberpfaffenhofen vorgenommen. Auf Basis der relevanten Quellen, aus denen die geplante Flugführung und einzelne Eagle-Bahnpositionen zu entnehmen sind, berechneten die Wissenschaftler einen zeitlich durchgängigen Anflugverlauf mit Position und Lage der Landefähre. Mit Hilfe von präzisen Modelica-Systemdynamikmodellen und leistungsfähigen, hauseigenen Optimierungstools wurden physikalisch und flugdynamisch realistische Flugbahnen (Trajektorien) generiert, die sowohl mit dem installierten Schub des Eagle-Haupttriebwerks realisierbar sind, als auch mit den dokumentierten Angaben zu den Treibstoffreserven übereinstimmen.

Für die Gesamtherstellung der VR-Simulation und für die Einbindung der Trajektorien zeichnet die VR-Dynamix GmbH, München verantwortlich. In naher Zukunft wird die gezeigte VR-Installation um weitere, visionäre Elemente zum Thema ‚Moon Village‘ erweitert werden. Für interessierte Besucher wird dann diese planetare Welt im VRlab, dem Virtual Reality Labor des Deutschen Museums, persönlich unmittelbar erfahrbar werden. Zudem ist geplant, die VR-Simulation am Institut für Systemdynamik und Regelungstechnik zum Tag der offenen Tür des DLR in Oberpfaffenhofen am 21. Juli 2019, dem Jubiläumstag der ersten bemannten Mondlandung, zu zeigen.

Zuletzt geändert am:
05.06.2019 09:41:57 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Falk Dambowsky
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Media Relations

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3959

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Paul Acquatella
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Systemdynamik und Regelungstechnik

Tel.: +49 8153 28-4067
Lale Evrim Briese
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Systemdynamik und Regelungstechnik

Tel.: +49 8153 28-1323