Launch of the BioRock space experiment to the International Space Station

Biofilms and microbial mineral exploitation in space

26 July 2019

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • Bacillus subtilis Biofilm
    Bacillus subtilis Biofilm

    Bacillus subtilis biofilm grown on a membrane and stained with a fluorescent dye that binds to nucleic acids.

  •  Integration der mit Bacillus subtilis Sporen beimpften Basaltscheiben
    Integration of basalt discs inoculated with Bacillus subtilis spores

    Biomining reactor assembly – integration of basalt discs inoculated with Bacillus subtilis spores into the BioRock flight hardware. Once in space, a nutrient medium will be added to start bacterial growth.

Focus: Space, astrobiology

The ESA BioRock space experiment was carried into orbit, bound for the International Space Station (ISS), on 25 July 2019 as part of the SpaceX CRS-18 mission. CRS-18 lifted off from Space Launch Complex 40 (SLC-40) at Cape Canaveral Air Force Station, Florida, aboard a Falcon 9 launcher. The experiment will investigate the growth of biofilms and their ability to extract minerals and use them as nutrients (biomining) in microgravity conditions. This will be directly compared with results obtained under Mars and Earth gravity conditions simulated using a centrifuge on the ISS. The findings will contribute towards a better understanding of the growth of microorganisms in space, which is also key to bioregenerative life support systems, the formation of biofilms and microbial ore extraction. In future, such processes could be used in the biomining of economically valuable chemical elements such as copper on other planets. The German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) is playing a key role in the experiment.

Three species of bacteria are being investigated in the BioRock experiment: Sphingomonas desiccabilis, Bacillus subtilis and Cupriavidus metallidurans. "Our research focuses on the organism Bacillus subtilis," says Petra Rettberg from the DLR Institute of Aerospace Medicine. "We are curious to see how well this bacterium can extract nutrients from the minerals of the basalt that was inoculated with Bacillus spores for the space experiment." Over the coming weeks, the experiment will be put into operation on the ISS and is expected to remain in space until the end of August 2019. The experiment will then return to Earth for analysis and evaluation, with the samples later being examined in the astrobiological laboratories at the DLR site in Cologne.

Biofilms are among the oldest visible signs of life on Earth and could also perhaps be found to be the earliest forms of life on other planets and moons in the Solar System. A biofilm is a structured community of microorganisms on a surface, encapsulated in a self-formed matrix made of extracellular polymeric substances (EPS). This EPS matrix holds the microorganisms together in their three-dimensional arrangement and enables the biofilm to adhere to surfaces. The properties of microorganisms living within a biofilm generally differ substantially from those of microorganisms of the same species existing independently. The dense environment of the film allows them to cooperate with one another, interact in many ways and protects these minute organisms from external influences. This means that microorganisms in biofilms are highly resistant to various chemical and physical effects and can be used for a range of applications in space.

The ESA's BioRock experiment involves the UK Centre for Astrobiology in Edinburgh, which is responsible for the scientific coordination, along with the SCK•CEN Belgian Nuclear Research Centre in Mol and the DLR Institute of Aerospace Medicine in Cologne.

Last modified:
29/07/2019 13:54:42

Contacts

 

Falk Dambowsky
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Media Relations

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3959
Dr Petra Rettberg
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

DLR Institute of Aerospace Medicine

Tel.: +49 2203 601-4637
Felix Fuchs
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

DLR Institute of Aerospace Medicine

Tel.: +49 2203 601-4209
Ralf Möller
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

DLR Institute of Aerospace Medicine

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3145

Mehr über das DLR

Start des Weltraumexperiments BioRock zur internationalen Raumstation ISS

Biofilme und mikrobielle Mineralienausbeutung im Weltraum

Freitag, 26. Juli 2019

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • Bacillus subtilis Biofilm
    Bacillus subtilis Biofilm

    Auf einer Membran gewachsener Bacillus subtilis Biofilm, der mit einem an Nukleinsäuren bindenden Fluoreszenzfarbstoff angefärbt wurde.

  •  Integration der mit Bacillus subtilis Sporen beimpften Basaltscheiben
    Integration der mit Bacillus subtilis Sporen beimpften Basaltscheiben

    Biomining-Reaktor-Zusammenbau: Integration der mit Bacillus subtilis Sporen beimpften Basaltscheiben in die BioRock-Weltraumhardware
    Im Weltraum wird Nährmedium zugegeben werden, um das Bakterienwachstum zu starten.

Schwerpunkt(e): Raumfahrt, Astrobiologie

Am 25. Juli 2019 wurde das ESA-Weltraumexperiment BioRock mit SpaceX CRS-18 an Bord einer Falcon 9-Rakete von Cape Caneveral, Florida, USA, zur ISS gestartet. Mit dem Experiment werden das Wachstum von Biofilmen und deren Fähigkeit, Mineralien aufzuschließen und als Nährstoffe zu nutzen (biomining), unter Schwerelosigkeit im direkten Vergleich zu der mit Hilfe einer Zentrifuge auf der ISS simulierten Mars- und Erdschwerkraft untersucht. Die Ergebnisse werden zum besseren Verständnis des Wachstums von Mikroorganismen im Weltraum, das auch bei bioregenerativen Lebenserhaltungssystemen entscheidend ist, zur Biofilmentstehung und zur mikrobiellen Erzlaugung beitragen. Mit einem solchen Verfahren könnten zukünftig ökonomisch interessante chemische Elemente wie etwa Kupfer auf anderen Planeten nutzbar gemacht werden. An dem Experiment ist das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) maßgeblich beteiligt.

Im BioRock-Experiment werden drei Bakterienarten untersucht: Sphingomonas desiccabilis, Bacillus subtilis und Cupriavidus metallidurans. „Mit unserer Forschung konzentrieren wir uns auf den Organismus Bacillus subtilis“, sagt Dr. Petra Rettberg vom DLR-Institut für Luft- und Raumfahrtmedizin. „Wir sind gespannt, wie gut dieses Bakterium Nährstoffe aus den Mineralien des mit Bacillus-Sporen für das Weltraumexperiment angeimpften Basalts gewinnen kann.“ In den kommenden Wochen wird das Experiment auf der Internationalen Raumstation ISS in Betrieb genommen und voraussichtlich bis Ende August 2019 im Weltraum verbleiben. Für die Analyse und Auswertung kehrt das Experiment zur Erde zurück. Dann werden die Proben auch in den Astrobiologischen Laboren am DLR-Standort in Köln untersucht.

Biofilme gehören zu den ältesten sichtbaren Anzeichen von Leben auf der Erde und könnten vielleicht auch als die ersten Formen von Leben auf anderen Planeten und Monden unseres Sonnensystems entdeckt werden. Ein Biofilm ist eine strukturierte Gemeinschaft von Mikroorganismen auf einer Oberfläche, die in einer selbst entwickelten Matrix aus sogenannten extrazellulären polymeren Substanzen (EPS) eingekapselt leben. Diese EPS-Matrix hält die Mikroorganismen in ihrer dreidimensionalen Anordnung zusammen und lässt den Biofilm auf Oberflächen anhaften. Die Eigenschaften der in einem Biofilm lebenden Mikroorganismen unterscheiden sich in der Regel grundlegend von individuell lebenden Mikroorganismen derselben Art. Die dichte Umgebung des Films erlaubt es ihnen, untereinander zu kooperieren, in vielfältiger Weise zu interagieren und schützt diese winzigen Lebewesen vor äußeren Einflüssen. So sind die Biofilm-Bewohner gegenüber verschiedenen chemischen und physikalischen Einwirkungen sehr resistent und können für vielfältige Anwendungen in der Raumfahrt genutzt werden.

Beteiligt am ESA-Experiment BioRock sind das UK Center for Astrobiology in Edinburgh, das die wissenschaftliche Koordination von BioRock durchführt, das Belgian Nuclear Research Center in Mol und das DLR-Institut für Luft- und Raumfahrtmedizin in Köln.

Zuletzt geändert am:
26.07.2019 15:17:29 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Falk Dambowsky
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Media Relations

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3959

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Dr. Petra Rettberg
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Luft- und Raumfahrtmedizin

Tel.: +49 2203 601-4637
Felix Fuchs
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Luft- und Raumfahrtmedizin

Tel.: +49 2203 601-4209
Dr. Ralf Möller
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Luft- und Raumfahrtmedizin

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3145