News Archive

An aircraft for future flight research

DLR and Dassault sign purchase contract for the flight test vehicle iSTAR

25 April 2018

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • Unterzeichnung des Vetrages über den Erwerb des Falcon 2000LX%2dTwinjets
    Signing of the purchase contract for a Falcon 2000LX twin-jet

    From left to right the CEO of Dassault Aviation Eric Trappier; Chair of the DLR Executive Board, Pascale Ehrenfreund; German Chancellor Angela Merkel; Secretary of State at the French Ministry for the Economy and Finance, Delphine Gény-Stephann; and DLR Executive Board Member for Aeronautics Research Rolf Henke. The agreement includes the delivery of the aircraft and its conversion to the iSTAR (in-flight Systems and Technology Airborne Research) flight test vehicle.

  • Vertrag zu iSTAR (in%2dflight Systems and Technology Airborne Research)
    iSTAR (in-flight Systems and Technology Airborne Research) flight test vehicle.

    The purchase contract was signed at the ILA Berlin Airshow 2018 by the Chair of the DLR Executive Board Pascale Ehrenfreund, DLR Executive Board Member for Aeronautics Research Rolf Henke and CEO of Dassault Aviation Eric Trappier. The agreement includes the delivery of the aircraft and its conversion to the iSTAR (in-flight Systems and Technology Airborne Research) flight test vehicle.

  • Forschungsflugzeug iSTAR
    Research aircraft iSTAR

    ISTAR will be equipped with additional control surfaces, an experimental digital flight control system and other hardware.

  • Falcon 2000LX will be rebuilt as a 'flying simulator'
  • iSTAR will be a powerful tool to assess the flight characteristics of newly developed environment friendly aircraft configurations under realistic conditions
  • New research aircraft will be stationed at DLR’s Braunschweig location from 2020
  • Focus: Aeronautics, digitalisation

On 25 April 2018, at the Berlin Air Show ILA 2018, the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) and Dassault signed the purchase contract for a Falcon 2000 LX twinjet in the presence of German Chancellor Angela Merkel. The agreement involves the delivery of the aircraft and  its conversion into the flight test vehicle iSTAR (in-flight Systems and Technology Airborne Research) by 2020. With iSTAR, it is possible to test (in real conditions) the flight characteristics of newly designed, real or virtual aircraft within the iSTAR flight envelope, including the in-flight simulation of unmanned systems. In addition, iSTAR will serve as test bed in the classic fields of aerodynamics, aeroelasticity, structures, propulsion, flight control and flight guidance.

“Dassault is granting DLR access to its in-house development expertise and extensive experience in aerodynamics,” says Chair of the DLR Executive Board, Pascale Ehrenfreund, about the special partnership. “The Falcon 2000LX has the required flight and safety margins we need for a research aircraft and greatly enhances our ability to conduct interdisciplinary research throughout the aviation system,” says Ehrenfreund.

Equipment with digital flight control and experimental system

The Falcon 2000 LX is an experimental aircraft used by Dassault for flight testing and development purposes. The aircraft will be transferred to Bordeaux-Mérignac where it will initially be converted into an instrumented flight test vehicle to be operational by 2020. Two further development phases will follow until mid-2020s, in order to achieve full operational capability.

“With the iSTAR research aircraft, DLR is acquiring the ability to perform in-flight simulation, which is a powerful tool for assessing the flight characteristics of newly-developed aircraft configurations under realistic conditions,” says Rolf Henke, DLR Executive Board Member for Aeronautics. “This will greatly facilitate the development of new greener and more efficient aircraft and components, and will enable the evaluation of increasingly automated pilot assistance systems, including automatic taxiing and take-off, and enhance the testing of unmanned aerial vehicles and their integration into controlled airspace.”

“DLR is one of the largest and most respected aeronautics research centres in the world and we are proud to be part of this ambitious new test and research programme,” says Dassault CEO Eric Trappier. “This project will make a significant contribution to improving the safety and efficiency of manned and unmanned aerial vehicles, which is a top priority for the aviation industry.”

The fully functional iSTAR research aircraft will be equipped with additional control surfaces, an experimental digital flight control system and other hardware, including an intuitive EASy II cockpit with EFVS, a Rockwell Collins head-up display and a Dassault Falcon Sphere II electronic flight bag suite.

The new research aircraft will be stationed at the DLR site in Braunschweig and will be made available to other national and European research institutes as well as aircraft manufacturers and suppliers.

Last modified:
16/05/2018 11:30:54

Contacts

 

Falk Dambowsky
German Aerospace Centre (DLR)

Media Relations, Aeronautics

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3959
Oliver Brieger
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

DLR Flight Experiments facility

Tel.: +49 8153 28-2966
Vadim Feldzer
Dassault Aviation

Tel.: +33 14 7114-413

News-Archiv Luftfahrt

Ein Flugzeug für die Luftfahrt der Zukunft

DLR und Dassault unterzeichnen Kaufvertrag für den Flugversuchsträger iSTAR

Mittwoch, 25. April 2018

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • Unterzeichnung des Vetrages über den Erwerb des Falcon 2000LX%2dTwinjets
    Unterzeichnung des Vetrages über den Erwerb des Falcon 2000LX-Twinjets

    (v.l.n.r) Eric Trappier, GIFAS´ Präsident und CEO der Dessault Aviation, Prof. Dr. Pascale Ehrenfreund, Vorstandsvorsitzende des DLR, Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel, Delphine Gény-Stephann, Staatssekretärin im französischen Wirtschaftsministerium und Prof. Rolf Henke, Vorstand für den Bereich Luftfahrt im DLR.

  • Vertrag zu iSTAR (in%2dflight Systems and Technology Airborne Research)
    Vertrag zu iSTAR (in-flight Systems and Technology Airborne Research)

    Die Vereinbarung beinhaltet die Lieferung des Flugzeugs und dessen Umwandlung zum Flugversuchsträger iSTAR (in-flight Systems and Technology Airborne Research). (v.l.n.r) Eric Trappier, GIFAS´ Präsident und CEO der Dessault Aviation, Prof. Dr. Pascale Ehrenfreund, Vorstandsvorsitzende des DLR, Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel, Delphine Gény-Stephann, Staatssekretärin im französischen Wirtschaftsministerium und Prof. Rolf Henke, Vorstand für den Bereich Luftfahrt im DLR.

  • Forschungsflugzeug iSTAR
    Forschungsflugzeug iSTAR

    Ausgestattet wird iSTAR mit zusätzlichen Steuerflächen, einem experimentellen digitalen Flugsteuerungssystem und weiterer Hardware.

  • Falcon 2000LX wird zum „Fliegenden Simulator“ umgebaut.
  • iSTAR ist leistungsfähiges Werkzeug, um die Flugeigenschaften neu entwickelter umweltfreundlicher Flugzeugkonfigurationen unter realistischen Bedingungen zu beurteilen.
  • Neues Forschungsflugzeug wird ab 2020 am DLR-Standort Braunschweig stationiert.
  • Schwerpunkt(e): Luftfahrt, Digitalisierung

Am 25. April 2018 unterzeichneten das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) und Dassault Aviation im Beisein von Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel auf der ILA Berlin einen Vertrag über den Erwerb eines Falcon 2000LX-Twinjets. Die Vereinbarung beinhaltet die Lieferung des Flugzeugs und dessen Umwandlung zum Flugversuchsträger iSTAR (in-flight Systems and Technology Airborne Research), der in der Lage ist, die Flugeigenschaften neuer Flugzeugentwürfe real oder virtuell, bemannt oder unbemannt, unter realen Betriebsbedingungen zu testen. Darüber hinaus dient iSTAR als Flugversuchsträger in den klassischen Bereichen Aerodynamik, Aeroelastizität, Strukturen, Antrieb, Flugsteuerung und Flugführung.

"Dassault gewährt dem DLR Zugang zu seinem internen Entwicklungs-Know-how und seiner umfangreichen Erfahrung in der Aerodynamik", beschreibt die Vorstandsvorsitzende des DLR, Prof. Dr. Pascale Ehrenfreund, die besondere Partnerschaft. "Die Falcon 2000LX hat die erforderlichen Flugleistungen- und Sicherheitsreserven, die wir für ein Forschungsflugzeug benötigen und stärkt unsere Fähigkeit zur interdisziplinären Forschung im gesamten Luftfahrtsystem erheblich.

Ausstattung mit digitaler Flugsteuerung und Experimentiersystem

Die erworbene Falcon 2000LX ist ein Versuchsflugzeug, das von Dassault für Flugversuche und Entwicklungszwecke eingesetzt wurde. Es wird in das Werk in Bordeaux-Mérignac überführt, wo es zunächst zu einem instrumentierten Flugversuchsträger umgerüstet wird, der bis 2020 einsatzbereit sein soll. Das Luftfahrzeug wird später für zwei weitere Modifikationsphasen bei Dassault umgebaut, um die volle Funktionalität zu erreichen. Diese Phasen sollen bis Mitte 2020 abgeschlossen sein.

"Mit dem Forschungsflugzeug iSTAR erhält das DLR die Fähigkeit der Inflight -Simulation. Dies ist ein leistungsfähiges Werkzeug, um die Flugeigenschaften neu entwickelter Flugzeugkonfigurationen unter realistischen Bedingungen zu beurteilen", sagt DLR-Luftfahrtvorstand Prof. Rolf Henke. "Dies wird die Entwicklung neuer umweltfreundlicher und effizienter Flugzeuge und Komponenten erheblich erleichtern. Darüber hinaus wird iSTAR die Evaluierung von zunehmend automatisierten Pilotenassistenzsystemen, einschließlich automatischem Rollen und Starten, ermöglichen und die Erprobung unbemannter Luftfahrzeuge und deren Integration in den kontrollierten Luftraum verbessern."

"Das DLR ist eines der größten und angesehensten Luftfahrtforschungszentren der Welt und wir sind stolz darauf, Teil dieses ehrgeizigen neuen Test- und Forschungsprogramms zu sein", sagt Dassault-Chef Eric Trappier. Dieses Vorhaben wird wesentlich dazu beitragen, die Sicherheit und Effizienz von bemannten und unbemannten Flugzeugen zu verbessern, was für uns in der Luftfahrtindustrie oberste Priorität hat."

Das voll funktionsfähige Forschungsflugzeug iSTAR wird mit zusätzlichen Steuerflächen, einem experimentellen digitalen Flugsteuerungssystem und weiterer Hardware ausgestattet, darunter ein intuitives EASy II-Cockpit mit EFVS, einem Rockwell Collins Head-Up-Display und einer Dassault Falcon Sphere II Electronic Flight Bag Suite.
Das neue Forschungsflugzeug wird am DLR-Standort Braunschweig stationiert werden und steht anderen nationalen und europäischen Forschungseinrichtungen sowie Flugzeugherstellern und Zulieferern zur Verfügung.

Zuletzt geändert am:
16.05.2018 11:26:57 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Falk Dambowsky
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Media Relations

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3959

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Oliver Brieger
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Flugexperimente, Leiter Forschungsflugbetrieb

Tel.: +49 531 295-2800

Fax: +49 8153 28-1347
Vadim Feldzer
Dassault Aviation

Tel.: +33 14 7114-413