Space

International Space Station - Technology Experiment with Artificial Intelligence 'made in Germany'

World premiere – Rendezvous between CIMON and Alexander Gerst on the International Space Station

16 November 2018

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • CIMON1_sn.jpg
    CIMON and Alexander Gerst

    On 15 November 2018 CIMON, a technology experiment developed and built in Germany, was used for the first time aboard the International Space Station. The interactive and mobile astronaut assistant is equipped with artificial intelligence and is part of the current horizons mission of the German ESA astronaut Alexander Gerst.

  • CIMON2_sn.jpg
    World premiere in space

    During its first functional test in space, CIMON interacted with the German ESA astronaut Alexander Gerst for 90 minutes. It answered questions, hovered in front of the astronaut, made eye contact with him and played a piece of music.

  • CIMONTEAM_sn.jpg
    Go, CIMON, Go!

    The CIMON team at the BIOTESC User Support Center at the Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts was excited and relieved on 15 November 2018 following the first successful deployment of their ‘protégé’ with Alexander Gerst on the International Space Station ISS.

  • CIMON: Autonomous astronaut assistant<br />Credit: DLR (CC%2dBY 3.0)
    CIMON: Autonomous astronaut assistant

    This DLR infographic presents the relevant facts about the horizons experiment CIMON at a glance.

  • CIMON – the astronaut assistant developed and built in Germany – has survived its cosmic baptism of fire. He worked together with the German ESA astronaut Alexander Gerst for around 90 minutes in the Columbus module of the International Space Station (ISS).
  • Alexander Gerst has lived and worked on the ISS since 8 June 2018. CIMON is part of his six-month horizons mission. The five-kilogram, 3D-printed, medicine ball sized robot is the first astronaut assistant in space to be equipped with artificial intelligence and is a technology experiment for human-machine interaction in a cosmic setting.
  • Funded by the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy, CIMON was developed and built by Airbus in Friedrichshafen and Bremen on behalf of the German Aerospace Center (DLR). It uses artificial intelligence (AI) based on IBM's Watson technology. The Medical Center of the University of Munich (LMU) is responsible for the scientific aspects of the project.
  • Focus: Space, artificial intelligence

On 15 November 2018 at 11:40 CET, the mission team in the Biotechnology Space Support Center (BIOTESC) at Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts watched with baited breath. After two-and-a-half years of highly intensive preparations, as well as countless testing and training sessions with CIMON (Crew Interactive Mobile CompanioN) on Earth, you could hear a pin drop – there was an atmosphere of total concentration and thrilled anticipation. After a software upload to the International Space Station, a software update for CIMON himself, an audio check and a test of the navigation camera, Alexander Gerst took a good look at his new robotic housemate and put him straight into operation. The world premiere lasted 90 minutes – the first 'rendezvous' between the German ESA astronaut and his autonomous mobile robot assistant.

Once Alexander Gerst had taken his manmade helper out of its box in the Columbus module of the ISS, the German astronaut woke him up with the words "Wake up, CIMON!" The answer came promptly: "What can I do for you?” After this initial banter, Gerst allowed CIMON to float around freely – initially by remote control from Earth. The guidance, navigation and control system was thus activated.

Then came some autonomous navigation with multiple turns and movements in all directions. Once complete, CIMON was able to locate Gerst's face and make eye contact. To demonstrate its capabilities as an assistant, CIMON used its 'face' – a display at the centre of the sphere – to show the instructions for a student experiment on crystallisation and also played a song. It then recorded a video and photo of Alexander Gerst using its integrated cameras. Afterwards, Alexander Gerst brought CIMON back to its place in the Columbus module. "The voice communication worked perfectly and I am very relieved that the cooperation between CIMON and Alex ran so smoothly," says Gwendolyne Pascua, the BIOTESC project manager who spoke directly with Alexander Gerst during the commissioning phase to guide him through the experiment.

"It is an incredible feeling and an absolute delight to witness how CIMON is seeing, hearing, understanding and speaking. For us, this first real deployment in space is part of history and is hopefully just the beginning of its usage on the ISS," says Dr Christian Karrasch, CIMON project manager from the DLR Space Administration. "Interaction with artificial intelligence fascinates me. As a system, CIMON is unparalleled elsewhere in the world and was designed specifically for deployment on the ISS. We are entering uncharted territory here and broadening technological horizons in Germany."

"CIMON represents the embodiment of our vision," adds Till Eisenberg, project manager for CIMON at Airbus. "It is a huge step for human spaceflight and one that we are taking here as a team. In CIMON, we have laid the foundation for social assistance systems that can work even under extreme conditions."  

CIMON used the Wi-Fi on the International Space Station for data transmission and established an Internet connection to the IBM Cloud via satellite link and ground stations. "When CIMON is asked a question or when it is addressed, the Watson AI first converts the audio signal into text that can be understood or interpreted by the AI," says Matthias Biniok, IBM project manager, describing the processes taking place in CIMON's 'brain'. "IBM Watson is thus able to grasp the underlying intention, as well as the context of the words. The result is a pinpoint response, which is then converted back into language and beamed up to the ISS. This process enables a natural, dynamic spoken dialogue."

Bernd Rattenbacher, team leader at the BIOTESC Biotechnology Space Support Center of the Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts, says: "The data connection to the Earth runs via satellite to NASA and to the Columbus Control Centre at the DLR site in Oberpfaffenhofen. The signal travels from there to us, the CIMON ground station at BIOTESC in Lucerne, the Swiss User Support and Operations Center, which is connected to the IBM Cloud in Frankfurt by Internet. The runtime for the signal alone via the satellites is 0.4 second in one direction. A large number of firewalls and VPN tunnels are enabled to ensure data security."

CIMON also has a scientific background. The consultants are Judith-Irina Buchheim and Professor Alexander Choukèr from the Department of Anaesthesiology at LMU Munich. "As an AI partner and companion, CIMON could support astronauts in their high workload of experiments as well as maintenance and repair work, thus reducing their exposure to stress," Buchheim says.

  • CIMON – The idea

    Developed and built in Germany, CIMON is a technology experiment to support astronauts and increase the efficiency of their work. CIMON is able to show and explain information, instructions for scientific experiments and repairs. The voice-controlled access to documents and media is an advantage, as the astronauts can keep both hands free. It can also be used as a mobile camera to save astronaut crew time. CIMON could perform routine tasks, in particular, such as the documentation of experiments, the search for objects and for taking inventory. CIMON is also able to see, hear, understand and speak. Its eyes are actually two cameras that it uses for facial recognition, as well as five other cameras for orientation and video documentation. Ultrasound sensors measure distances to recognise potential collisions. Its ears consist of eight microphones to identify directions, and an additional directional microphone to improve voice comprehension. Its mouth is a loudspeaker used to speak or to play music. At the heart of the AI for language understanding is the IBM Watson AI technology from the IBM Cloud. CIMON was not equipped with self-learning capabilities and requires active human instruction. The AI used for autonomous navigation was contributed by Airbus and is designed for movement planning and object recognition. Twelve internal fans allow CIMON to move and rotate freely in all directions. This means it can turn toward the astronaut when addressed. It can also nod or shake its head and follow through space either autonomously or on command.

  • CIMON – The partners

    The development and construction of the interactive astronaut assistant was commissioned by the Space Administration of the German Aerospace Center (DLR), funded by the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi) and implemented by Airbus in Friedrichshafen and Bremen. The Watson AI technology from the IBM Cloud is used for voice-controlled artificial intelligence. Scientists from the Medical Center of the University of Munich (LMU) helped develop and oversee the human aspects of the assistance system. A roughly 50-strong project team from DLR, Airbus, IBM and LMU have been working on the implementation of CIMON since August 2016. CIMON has been on board the ISS since 2 July 2018. It is no coincidence that its name is reminiscent of Simon Wright, the robot assistant – the ‘flying brain’ – from the science-fiction series 'Captain Future'.

    Other partners are the European Space Agency (ESA) and BIOTESC at the Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts (Switzerland) for the operational preparation and implementation of the experiment in the infrastructure of the ISS, as well as the Columbus Control Center at the DLR site in Oberpfaffenhofen for operational mission planning.

Last modified:
16/11/2018 16:15:35

Contacts

 

Elisabeth Mittelbach
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Communications, Space Administration

Tel.: +49 228 447-385

Fax: +49 228 447-386
Volker Schmid
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Space Administration, Human Spaceflight, ISS and Exploration

Tel.: +49 228 447-305

Fax: +49 228 447-737
Dr. Christian Karrasch
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Space Administration, Human Spaceflight, ISS and Exploration

Tel.: +49 228 447-291

Fax: +49 228 447-737

Raumfahrt

Mehr über das DLR

Internationale Raumstation – Technologie-Experiment mit Künstlicher Intelligenz „made in Germany“

CIMON gelingt Weltpremiere mit Alexander Gerst auf der ISS

Freitag, 16. November 2018

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • CIMON1_sn.jpg
    CIMON und Alexander Gerst

    Am 15. November 2018 war CIMON, ein in Deutschland entwickeltes und gebautes Technologie-Experiment, zum ersten Mal an Bord der Internationalen Raumstation im Einsatz. Der interaktive, mobile und mit einer künstlichen Intelligenz ausgestattete Astronauten-Assistent ist Teil der aktuellen horizons-Mission des deutschen ESA-Astronauten Alexander Gerst.

  • CIMON2_sn.jpg
    Weltpremiere im All

    Bei seinem ersten Funktionstest im All interagierte CIMON 90 Minuten lang mit dem deutschen ESA-Astronauten Alexander Gerst. Er beantwortete Fragen, schwebte vor dem Astronauten und hielt Blickkontakt und spielte ein Musikstück ab.

  • CIMONTEAM_sn.jpg
    Go, CIMON, Go!

    Große Freude und Erleichterung herrschte bei dem CIMON-Team im BIOTESC-Nutzerunterstützungszentrum an der Hochschule Luzern am 15. November 2018 nach dem ersten erfolgreichen Einsatz ihres „Schützlings“ mit Alexander Gerst auf der Internationalen Raumstation ISS.

  • CIMON %2d Der autonome Astronauten%2dAssistent<br />Credit: DLR (CC%2dBY 3.0)
    CIMON - Der autonome Astronauten-Assistent

    Die DLR-Infografik stellt das horizons-Experiment CIMON (Crew Interactive MObile CompanioN) mit den wichtigsten Daten und Fakten auf einen Blick vor.

  • Der in Deutschland entwickelte und gebaute Astronauten-Assistent CIMON hat seine Feuertaufe im All bestanden. Er und der deutsche ESA-Astronaut Alexander Gerst haben rund 90 Minuten im Columbus-Modul der Internationalen Raumstation ISS miteinander gearbeitet.
  • Alexander Gerst lebt und arbeitet seit dem 8. Juni 2018 auf der Internationalen Raumstation ISS. Teil seiner sechsmonatigen horizons-Mission ist auch CIMON: Die medizinballgroße, fünf Kilogramm schwere, 3D-gedruckte Kunststoffkugel ist der erste mit künstlicher Intelligenz ausgestattete Astronauten-Assistent im Weltraum, ein Technologie-Experiment für die Mensch-Maschine-Interaktion im All.
  • CIMON wurde im Auftrag der Raumfahrtagentur im Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) mit Mitteln des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Energie von Airbus in Friedrichshafen und Bremen entwickelt und gebaut und nutzt die künstliche Intelligenz (KI) der IBM-Watson-Technologie. Das Klinikum der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München betreut das Projekt wissenschaftlich.
  • Schwerpunkte: Raumfahrt, künstliche Intelligenz

Am 15. November 2018 um 11.40 Uhr MEZ hielt das Missionsteam im Bodenkontrollzentrum BIOTESC der Hochschule Luzern den Atem an. Nach zweieinhalb Jahren intensivster Vorbereitungen und unzähliger Test- und Trainingsstunden mit CIMON (Crew Interactive Mobile CompanioN) auf der Erde konnte man eine Stecknadel zu Boden fallen hören - höchste Konzentration und freudige Anspannung lagen in der Luft: Nach dem Software-Upload zur ISS und einem Software-Update von CIMON selbst, einem Audio-Check und einem Test der Navigations-Kamera nahm Alexander Gerst seinen neuen künstlichen Mitbewohner auf der Raumstation nicht nur in Augenschein, sondern auch in Betrieb. 90 Minuten lang dauerte die Weltpremiere, das erste "Rendezvous" zwischen dem deutschen ESA-Astronauten und dem sich autonom fortbewegenden robotischen Assistenten.

Nachdem Alexander Gerst seinen künstlichen Helfer aus seiner Box im Columbus-Modul der ISS geholt hatte, weckte er ihn mit den Worten "Wach auf, CIMON!" und die Antwort kam prompt: "Was kann ich für Dich tun?" Nach diesem ersten "Small Talk" ließ Alexander Gerst CIMON frei schweben - zunächst noch ferngesteuert vom Boden. Damit wurde das so genannte "Guidance, Navigation and Control"-System in Betrieb genommen.

Es folgte die autonome Navigation mit mehreren Drehungen und Bewegungen in alle Richtungen und CIMON war in der Lage, das Gesicht von Alexander Gerst zu suchen und Augenkontakt aufzunehmen. Als Demonstration seiner Assistenzfähigkeiten zeigte CIMON auf seinem "Gesicht", einem Display in der Mitte der Kugel, die Anleitung für ein Schüler-Experiment zur Kristallbildung und spielte einen Musiktitel ab. Er nahm mit seinen integrierten Kameras ein Video und ein Foto von Alexander Gerst auf. Zum Abschluss brachte Alexander Gerst CIMON wieder an seinen Platz im Columbus-Modul zurück. Während der Kommissionierung hat die Projektverantwortliche von BIOTESC, Gwendolyne Pascua, direkt mit Alexander Gerst gesprochen, um ihn durch das Experiment zu begleiten: "Die Sprachverbindung hat einwandfrei funktioniert und ich bin sehr erleichtert, dass die Zusammenarbeit mit CIMON und Alex so gut geklappt hat."

"Es ist ein unglaubliches Gefühl und eine wahnsinnige Freude, zu erleben, dass CIMON wirklich sieht, hört, versteht und spricht. Dieser erste echte Einsatz im All bedeutet für uns ein Stück Raumfahrtgeschichte und stellt den Beginn für einen hoffentlich langen Einsatz auf der ISS dar", fasst Dr. Christian Karrasch, CIMON-Projektleiter in der deutschen Raumfahrtagentur im DLR zusammen. "Die Interaktion mit einer Künstlichen Intelligenz fasziniert mich. Das System CIMON ist in dieser Form weltweit einzigartig und speziell für den Einsatz auf der Internationalen Raumstation konzipiert. Wir betreten hier Neuland und erweitern den technologischen Horizont in Deutschland."

" Mit CIMON haben wir eine Vision von uns in die Realität umgesetzt. Es ist ein sehr großer Schritt für die bemannte Raumfahrt, den wir hier gemeinsam gehen konnten. Durch CIMON haben wir den Grundstein für soziale Assistenzsysteme gelegt, die unter extremen Bedingungen zum Einsatz kommen sollen", ergänzt Till Eisenberg, CIMON-Projektleiter bei Airbus. 

Zur Datenübertragung nutzte CIMON das WLAN auf der Internationalen Raumstation und stellte über Satellitenverbindung per Bodenstationen eine Internetverbindung zur IBM Cloud her. Was dann in CIMONs Gehirn abläuft, erklärt Matthias Biniok, IBM-Projektleiter, so: "Wird CIMON eine Frage gestellt oder mit ihm gesprochen, wandelt die Watson KI dieses Audiosignal zunächst in Text um, der von der KI verstanden beziehungsweise interpretiert wird. Dabei kann IBM Watson die Inhalte nicht nur in ihrem Kontext verstehen, sondern ebenso die damit verbundene Intention. Das Resultat ist eine passgenaue Antwort, die wiederum in Sprache umgewandelt und wieder an die ISS zurückgeschickt wird. So ist ein natürlicher, dynamischer Sprach-Dialog möglich."

Bernd Rattenbacher, Teamleiter beim Bodenkontrollzentrum an der Hochschule Luzern: "Die Datenverbindung zur Erde läuft via Satellit zur NASA und zum Columbus Kontrollzentrum beim DLR in Oberpfaffenhofen. Von dort aus geht das Signal zu uns, der CIMON Bodenstation in BIOTESC, dem Schweizer User Support und Operations Center, das per Internet mit der IBM Cloud in Frankfurt verbunden ist. Die reine Signallaufzeit über die Satelliten beträgt 0,4 Sekunden in eine Richtung. Zur Datensicherheit sind viele Firewalls und VPN Tunnel aktiv."

CIMON hat auch einen wissenschaftlichen Hintergrund. Berater sind Dr. Judith-Irina Buchheim und Prof. Alexander Choukèr von der Klinik für Anästhesiologie am Klinikum der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München. Judith Buchheim: "CIMON könnte als KI-Partner und Begleiter Astronauten bei ihrem hohen Pensum an Experimenten, Instandhaltungs- und Reparaturarbeiten unterstützen und dadurch deren Stressexposition reduzieren."

  • CIMON - die Idee

    CIMON ist ein in Deutschland entwickeltes und gebautes Technologie-Experiment zur Unterstützung und Effizienz-Steigerung der Arbeit eines Astronauten. CIMON kann Informationen, Anleitungen zu wissenschaftlichen Experimenten und Reparaturen darstellen und erklären. Ein Vorteil ist, dass der Astronaut beide Hände frei hat durch den sprachgesteuerten Zugriff auf Dokumente und Medien. Weitere Anwendungen sind etwa die Nutzung als mobile Kamera zur Einsparung von Astronauten Crew-Zeit. Vor allem Routineaufgaben könnten durch CIMON erledigt werden, wie etwa die Dokumentierung von Experimenten, Suche nach Objekten und Inventarisierung. CIMON kann auch sehen, hören, verstehen und sprechen. Seine beiden Augen sind zwei Kameras zur Gesichtserkennung und weitere fünf Kameras zur Orientierung und Videodokumentation. Ultraschall-Sensoren messen Abstände zur Kollisions-Erkennung. Seine Ohren sind acht Mikrofone zur Richtungserkennung plus ein Richt-Mikrofon für eine gute Spracherkennung. Sein Mund ist ein Lautsprecher, über den er sprechen und Musik abspielen kann. Kernstück der KI für das Verständnis von Sprache ist die IBM Watson KI-Technologie aus der IBM Cloud. Selbstständiges Lernen von CIMON wurde ausgeschlossen, er muss aktiv durch einen Menschen trainiert werden. Die KI zur autonomen Navigation stammt von Airbus und dient der Bewegungsplanung und Objekterkennung. Durch zwölf interne Ventilatoren kann sich CIMON frei in alle Raumrichtungen bewegen und rotieren. Somit kann er sich dem Astronauten zuwenden, wenn er angesprochen wird, Kopfnicken, Kopfschütteln und räumlich selbstständig oder auf Kommando folgen.

  • CIMON - die Partner

    Entwicklung und Bau des interaktiven Astronauten-Assistenten wurden von der Raumfahrtagentur im Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) mit Mitteln des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Energie in Auftrag gegeben und von Airbus in Friedrichshafen und Bremen umgesetzt. Als sprachgesteuerte Künstliche Intelligenz dient die Watson KI-Technologie aus der IBM Cloud. Die menschlichen Aspekte des Assistenzsystems wurden von Wissenschaftlern des Klinikums der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (LMU) mitentwickelt und betreut. Ein rund 50-köpfiges Projektteam von DLR, Airbus, IBM und der LMU arbeitet seit August 2016 an der Realisierung von CIMON. Seit dem 2. Juli 2018 ist CIMON auf der ISS. Sein Name erinnert nicht zufällig an "Professor Simon Wright", den robotischen Assistenten - das "fliegende Gehirn" - aus der japanischen Science-Fiction-Serie "Captain Future".

Weitere Partner sind die Europäische Weltraumorganisation ESA, BIOTESC an der Hochschule Luzern (Schweiz) zur operationellen Vorbereitung und Durchführung des Experimentes in der Infrastruktur der ISS und das Columbus-Kontrollzentrum beim DLR in Oberpfaffenhofen zur operationellen Missionsplanung.

Berichte, Fotos und Videos aus dem CIMON-Bodenkontrollzentrum befinden sich in unserer Sammlung auf dem DLR-Twitterkanal.

Zuletzt geändert am:
20.11.2018 11:34:22 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Elisabeth Mittelbach
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrtmanagement, Strategie und Kommunikation

Tel.: +49 228 447-385

Fax: +49 228 447-386
Volker Schmid
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrtmanagement, Astronautische Raumfahrt, ISS und Exploration

Tel.: +49 228 447-305

Fax: +49 228 447-737
Dr. Christian Karrasch
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrtmanagement, Astronautische Raumfahrt, ISS und Exploration

Tel.: +49 228 447-291

Fax: +49 228 447-737