The DLR site in Neustrelitz

Real-Time Acquisition of Sentinel-1 Mission Data at the German Remote Sensing Data Center

08 May 2015

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • Northeast Coast of South Africa, acquired by Sentinel-1A on 7 May 2015

    Northeast Coast of South Africa, acquired by Sentinel-1A on 7 May 2015 at 16:29 UTC. Received at the DFD Ground Station Neustrelitz from the on-board memory at 16:52 UTC.

  • Northeast Cost of South Africa

    Image section of the South African northeast coast, acquired by Sentinel-1A at 7 May 2015 at 16:29 UTC with ships off shore.

  • German Bay, acquired by Sentinel-1A on 7 January 2015

    German Bay, acquired by Sentinel-1A on 7 January 2015 at 05:40 UTC. Processed at the Ground Station Neustrelitz.

The German Remote Sensing Data Center (DFD) of the German Aerospace Center (DLR) in Neustrelitz was the first station worldwide outside the ESA core ground segment to acquire and process Sentinel-1 data. The radar data from this Copernicus satellite are being processed in near-real-time and used by DLR’s Maritime Safety Research Department in Neustrelitz and Bremen for such purposes as the automatic detection of ships and oil leaks and to derive wind, wave and ice parameters. The undergirding development work is being co-financed by the Federal Ministry of Economic Affairs and Energy and the State of Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania.

Direct acquisition enables German users to have access to data from this European satellite within minutes. This is absolutely crucial for urgent applications. In addition to the maritime near-real-time services the radar data are used by DFD’s Center for Satellite Based Crisis Information (ZKI) to generate maps showing the current flooding situation in Europe.

Neustrelitz is the first ground station to make possible this near-real-time access to Sentinel-1 data. The systems for acquiring the data in multimission operation and the associated process control were developed at DFD and integrated into the total processing chain with the help of a processor licenced from an outside source to generate standard products.

Direct reception of data from this satellite, launched in 2014, was regulated five months ago in an agreement between DLR and ESA. Acquisition of Sentinel data is one facet of the national collaborative Copernicus ground segment.

Sentinel-1A is the first operational satellite of the Sentinel series, which is being developed and operated for the European Copernicus programme. In the context of the core ground segment contracted by ESA, data from the satellites are acquired by ground stations in Svalbard (Norway), Matera (Italy) and Maspalomas (Spain) and then transferred to the processing and archiving centres (PACs) at DFD in Oberpfaffenhofen and Airbus in Farnborough (Great Britain). At those locations they are processed and distributed to users. In addition, national ground stations in the ESA member states can also directly acquire Sentinel data – as in Neustrelitz – in order to make them available for urgent applications.

For the further development of DFD as a European near-real-time data centre the acquisition in Neustrelitz of data from additional Sentinel missions is planned. The Sentinel-2 and Sentinel-3 satellites are planned for launch in the course of the current year.

Last modified:
02/06/2015 09:15:49

Contacts

 

Melanie-Konstanze Wiese
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Tel.: +49 30 67055-639

Fax: +49 30 67055-102
Holger Maass
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Tel.: +49 3981 480-111
Gunter Schreier
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

German Remote Sensing Data Center; Direction

Tel.: +49 8153 28-1375

Der DLR-Standort Neustrelitz

Echtzeit-Datenempfang der Sentinel-1 Mission am Deutschen Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum

Freitag, 8. Mai 2015

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • Nordostküste Südafrikas, aufgenommen von Sentinel%2d1A am 7. Mai 2015
    Nordostküste Südafrikas, aufgenommen von Sentinel-1A am 7. Mai 2015

    Nordostküste Südafrikas, aufgenommen von Sentinel-1A am 07. Mai 2015 um 16:29 UTC. Empfangen an der DFD Bodenstation Neustrelitz aus dem Bordspeicher um 16:52 UTC.

  • Nordostküste Südafrikas
    Nordostküste Südafrikas

    Ausschnitt der Szene Nordostküste Südafrikas aufgenommen von Sentinel-1A am 7. Mai 2015 um 16:29 UTC mit Schiffen vor der Küste.

  • Deutsche Bucht, aufgenommen von Sentinel%2d1A am 7. Januar 2015
    Deutsche Bucht, aufgenommen von Sentinel-1A am 7. Januar 2015

    Deutsche Bucht, aufgenommen von Sentinel-1A am 7. Januar 2015 um 05:40 UTC. Prozessiert an der Bodenstation Neustrelitz.

Das Deutsche Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum (DFD) des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) in Neustrelitz hat als weltweit erste Station außerhalb des ESA Kern-Bodensegments Sentinel-1 Daten empfangen und verarbeitet. Die Radar-Daten des Copernicus Satelliten werden nahezu in Echtzeit prozessiert und dienen den maritimen Forschungsstellen des DLR in Neustrelitz und Bremen unter anderem zur automatischen Erkennung von Schiffen und Ölverschmutzungen sowie zur Ableitung von Wind-, Seegangs- und Eisparametern. Die Entwicklungsarbeiten hierzu werden durch das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie sowie das Land Mecklenburg-Vorpommern gefördert.

Durch den Direktempfang der Daten können deutsche Nutzer nach wenigen Minuten an die Daten des europäischen Satelliten gelangen. Entscheidend für zeitkritische Anwendungen! Neben den maritimen Echtzeitdiensten werden die Radar Daten am Zentrum für satellitenbasierte Kriseninformation (ZKI) des DFD zur Kartierung von aktuellen Hochwassersituationen in Europa eingesetzt.

Neustrelitz ist die erste Bodenstation, die diesen Nahe-Echtzeit-Zugriff auf die Sentinel-1 Daten ermöglicht. Die Systeme für den Datenempfang im Multi-Missionsbetrieb sowie die Prozesssteuerung wurden am DFD entwickelt und mit einem extern lizensierten Prozessor zur Generierung von Standardprodukten zu einer Gesamtkette integriert.

Der Direktempfang des 2014 gestarteten Satelliten wurde fünf Monate zuvor zwischen DLR und ESA in einem Abkommen geregelt. Der Empfang der Sentinel-Daten ist Teil des nationalen kollaborativen Copernicus Bodensegments.

Sentinel-1A ist der erste operationelle Satellit der Sentinel-Reihe, die für das europäische Copernicus-Programm entwickelt und betrieben wird. Im Rahmen des von der ESA beauftragten Kern-Bodensegments, werden die Aufnahmen der Satelliten von den Bodenstationen in Svalbard (Norwegen), Matera (Italien) und Maspalomas (Spanien), empfangen und an die Prozessierungs- und Archivierungszentren (PACs) am DFD in Oberpfaffenhofen und bei Airbus in Farnborough (Großbritannien) transferiert. Dort werden sie verarbeitet und an die Nutzer verteilt. Zusätzlich dürfen nationale Bodenstationen der ESA-Mitgliedsstaaten die Sentinel-Daten direkt empfangen, auch um diese – wie in Neustrelitz – zeitkritischen Anwendungen zugänglich zu machen.
Für den weiteren Ausbau des DFD als europäisches Nahe-Echtzeitdatenzentrum ist der Empfang weiterer Sentinel-Missionen in Neustrelitz geplant. Noch dieses Jahr starten die Missionen Sentinel-2 und Sentinel-3.
 

Zuletzt geändert am:
20.05.2015 16:25:33 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Melanie-Konstanze Wiese
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation, Berlin, Neustrelitz und Dresden

Tel.: +49 30 67055-639

Fax: +49 30 67055-102
Holger Maass
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Deutsches Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum (DFD)

Tel.: +49 3981 480-111
Gunter Schreier
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Deutsches Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum; Leitungsbereich

Tel.: +49 8153 28-1375