The DLR site in Oberpfaffenhofen

'Space data highway'

Preparations nearly complete at the German Space Operations Center

05 August 2019

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • EDRS%2dKontrollraum im GSOC
    EDRS control room at GSOC

    The German Space Operations Center (GSOC) in Oberpfaffenhofen is responsible for controlling the European Data Relay System (EDRS) payloads, controlling the EDRS-C satellite and operating the ground stations.

  • Aufbau der EDRS%2dHauptantennen in Weilheim
    Construction of the primary EDRS antennas in Weilheim

    The two primary European Data Relay System (EDRS) antennas are located at the DLR ground station in Weilheim, Germany. They were constructed specifically for the project in 2015 and are used exclusively for EDRS. One of the antennas is equipped with both transmitting and receiving systems, while the other is used exclusively for data reception.

  • EDRS: Ka%2dBand Antenne
    EDRS Ka-band antenna

    The DLR ground station in Weilheim, Germany, operates two 6.8-metre Ka-band antennas for the European Data Relay System (EDRS). Two identical antennas are located in Redu, Belgium and Harwell, England and serve as redundant backup systems. All four EDRS antennas are operated from Weilheim.

  • EDRS%2dA %2d künstlerische Darstellung
    Artist’s impression of the EDRS system in space

    The graphic shows the operating principle of the European ‘space data highway’ with the EDRS-A node in geostationary orbit above the Sentinel Earth observation satellites of the EU Copernicus programme and the International Space Station (ISS).

Focus: Space

The final preparations for the launch of the EDRS-C satellite are currently underway at the German Space Operations Center (GSOC) in Oberpfaffenhofen. The communications satellite is scheduled to lift off from the European Spaceport in French Guiana on 6 August 2019 and will be a core component of the European Data Relay System (EDRS) – the 'space data highway'. Using satellite-based Laser Communications Terminals (LCTs), EDRS can transmit large amounts of data from space to Earth in a very short time. The German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) and GSOC are responsible for operating the EDRS-C satellite, the EDRS payloads and the ground stations.

Approximately 100 GSOC staff members have been deployed for the EDRS-C ground segment – from staffing the control room in Oberpfaffenhofen to the provision of IT infrastructure and support for the ground station in Weilheim. The mission operations for the overall system are conducted at the premises of Airbus Defence and Space in Ottobrunn.

The data relay system is based on two geostationary satellites that act as distributors and transmit data from Earth observation satellites in low Earth orbit to ground stations in Europe. This makes data rates of up to 1.8 gigabits per second possible. For the management of the 'intersatellite links', the data links between the satellites, GSOC uses its own software: "We are particularly proud of the development of a fully automated system that accepts, processes, optimises and monitors the planned links. This enables each shift to establish up to 100 connections per relay satellite and to carry out parallel maintenance and, if necessary, error analyses," explains Felix Huber, Director of DLR Space Operations and Astronaut Training. With the ERDS-A distribution node, launched in 2016, more than 23,000 intersatellite links with an availability of more than 99.8 percent have already been realised.

Datalinks, antennas and orbital manoeuvres

GSOC is responsible for the EDRS 'ground segment'. Oberpfaffenhofen operates the satellite control centre for EDRS-C as well as controlling the payloads for EDRS-C and EDRS-A. The payload on board the satellites consists of the LCTs for receiving the data as well as Ka-band antennas for forwarding the data to the receiving antennas on the ground. In total, the receiving network consists of four antennas, which are procured by GSOC and operated remotely. The two primary EDRS antennas are located at DLR's ground station in Weilheim, Germany, and are supplemented by one antenna each in Redu, Belgium and Harwell, England.

In recent weeks and months, the operations specialists have set up and tested the ground systems and trained for mission operations in various simulations. Over the next few days, GSOC will commission the new ERDS-C satellite together with a team of engineers from satellite manufacturer OHB System in Bremen, Prime Contractor Airbus Defence and Space and the European Space Agency (ESA) – one of the main clients for the project.

"Following the lift-off of the Ariane 5 launcher and the injection of the satellite into a geostationary transfer orbit, the first step is to obtain a stable connection with the satellite. At the beginning, this is the biggest challenge for establishing safe satellite operations," explains EDRS Project Manager Ralf Faller from GSOC. The first contact will be followed by an intensive test phase. Over a period of several weeks, the 12-member control room team will also perform various orbit correction manoeuvres to ensure that the satellite reaches its final orbital position and can commence service.

GSOC will provide satellite operations and data relay services for 15 years. GSOC will also support the further development of the EDRS infrastructure and will use the data highway for its own Earth observation satellites.

EDRS ground segment

EDRS is a public-private partnership between the ESA and Airbus Defence and Space. DLR invested 8.7 million euro from its research funds in the development of the complete EDRS ground segment and the preparations for its operation. The Bavarian Ministry of Economic Affairs, Regional Development and Energy provided 7.5 million euro.

Last modified:
06/08/2019 14:34:12

Contacts

 

Bernadette Jung
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Public Affairs and Communications: Oberpaffenhofen, Weilheim, Augsburg

Tel.: +49 8153 28-2251

Fax: +49 8153 28-1243
Florian Sellmaier
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

DLR Space Operations and Astronaut Training

Tel.: +49 8153 28-3719

Der DLR-Standort Oberpfaffenhofen

"Datenautobahn im All"

Vorbereitung am Deutschen Raumfahrtkontrollzentrum

Montag, 5. August 2019

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • EDRS%2dKontrollraum im GSOC
    EDRS-Kontrollraum im GSOC

    Das Deutsche Raumfahrtkontrollzentrum (GSOC) in Oberpfaffenhofen ist für die Steuerung der Nutzlasten in EDRS, die Kontrolle des Satelliten EDRS-C und den Betrieb der Empfangsstationen verantwortlich.

  • Aufbau der EDRS%2dHauptantennen in Weilheim
    Aufbau der EDRS-Hauptantennen in Weilheim

    Die beiden EDRS-Hauptantennen befinden sich auf der DLR-Bodenstation in Weilheim. Sie wurden 2015 speziell für das Projekt erbaut und werden exklusiv für EDRS genutzt. Eine der Antennen ist mit einem Sende- und Empfangssystem ausgestattet, die andere wird ausschließlich zum Datenempfang genutzt.

  • EDRS: Ka%2dBand Antenne
    EDRS: Ka-Band Antenne

    Die DLR-Bodenstation Weilheim betreibt für das Europäische Datenrelais System (EDRS) zwei 6,8 Meter große Ka-Band Antennen. Weitere baugleiche Antennen befinden sich in Redu, Belgien und in Harwell, England und dienen als reduntantes Alternativsystem. Alle vier EDRS-Antennen werden von Weilheim aus betrieben.

  • EDRS%2dA %2d künstlerische Darstellung
    Künstlerische Darstellung des EDRS-Systems im All

    Die Grafik veranschaulicht das Prinzip der europäischen "Datenautobahn im All" und zeigt den EDRS-A-Knoten im geostationären Orbit oberhalb der Sentinel-Erdbeobachtungssatelliten von Copernicus und der Internationalen Raumstation ISS.

Schwerpunkt: Raumfahrt

In diesen Stunden laufen am Deutschen Raumfahrtkontrollzentrum (GSOC) in Oberpfaffenhofen die letzten Vorbereitungen zum Start der Mission EDRS-C: Der Kommunikationssatellit soll am 6. August 2019 abheben und ist Kernbestandteil des Europäischen Datenrelais System (EDRS) - der "Datenautobahn im All". EDRS kann mithilfe von Satelliten-Laserterminals riesige Datenmengen innherhalb kürzester Zeit vom Weltraum zur Erde übertragen. Das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) ist mit seinem Deutschen Raumfahrtkontrollzentrum für den Betrieb der EDRS-Satelliten, Nutzlasten und Empfangsstationen verantwortlich.

Rund 100 Mitarbeiter des GSOC sind für das EDRS-C-Bodensegment im Einsatz - von der Steuerung im Kontrollraum in Oberpfaffenhofen, über die Bereitstellung der IT-Infrastruktur, bis zur Betreuung der Empfangsstationen in Weilheim. Der Missionsbetrieb für das Gesamtsystem findet bei Auftraggeber Airbus Defence and Space in Ottobrunn statt.

Basis des Datenrelais-Systems sind zwei geostationäre Satelliten, die als Verteiler agieren und Daten von Erdbeobachtungssatelliten aus dem niedrigen Erdorbit zu den Bodenstationen in Europa übertragen. Damit sind Bandbreiten von bis zu 1,8 Gigabit möglich. Für die "Intersatellite Links", der Datenverbindung zwischen den Satelliten, nutzt das GSOC eine eigene Software:

"Besonders stolz sind wir auf die Entwicklung eines vollautomatisierten Systems, welches die geplanten Links annimmt, verarbeitet, optimiert und überwacht. Dadurch ist unsere Schicht in der Lage, pro Relay-Satellit bis zu 100 Verbindungen aufzubauen und parallel dazu Wartungen und gegebenenfalls Fehleranalysen durchzuführen", erklärt Prof. Felix Huber, Direktor des DLR-Raumflugbetriebs und Astronautentraining. So wurden mit dem 2016 gestarteten Verteilerknoten ERDS-A bereits mehr als 23.000 Intersatellite-Links mit einer Verfügbarkeit von mehr als 99,8 Prozent realisiert.

Datenlinks, Antennen und Bahnmanöver

Das Deutsche Raumfahrtkontrollzentrum betreut das sogenannte "Bodensegment". So betreiben die Oberpfaffenhofener das Satellitenkontrollzentrum für EDRS-C sowie die Nutzlasten für EDRS-C und -A. Die Nutzlast an Bord der Satelliten besteht aus den Laserkommunikationsterminals (LCTS) zum Empfang der Daten sowie Ka-Band Antennen zum Weiterleiten der Daten an die Empfangsantennen am Boden. Insgesamt umfasst das Empfangsnetzwerk vier Antennen, die vom GSOC beschafft und ferngesteuert betrieben werden: Die beiden EDRS-Hauptantennen befinden sich auf der DLR-Bodenstation in Weilheim, ergänzt durch je eine Antenne in Redu, Belgien und Harwell, England.

So haben die Betriebsspezialisten in den letzten Wochen und Monaten das Bodensystem eingerichtet, getestet und den Missionsbetrieb in verschiedenen Simulationen trainiert. In den nächsten Tagen wird das GSOC nun den neuen ERDS-C-Satelliten in Betrieb nehmen, gemeinsam mit einem Team aus Ingenieuren des Satellitenhersteller OHB System in Bremen, des Hauptauftragnehmers Airbus DS und ESA-Mitarbeitern als einer der Hauptkunden des Projekts.

"Nach dem Start der Ariane-5-Rakete und dem Aussetzen des Satelliten in einer GEO-Transferbahn gilt es zunächst, eine stabile Verbindung mit dem Satelliten zu bekommen. Dies ist am Anfang die größte Herausforderung, um einen sicheren Satellitenbetriebs zu etablieren", erklärt EDRS-Projektleiter Ralf Faller am GSOC. Nach dem ersten Kontakt und folgt eine intensive Testphase. Über mehrere Wochen führt das 12-köpfige Team im Kontrollraum auch verschiedene Bahnkorrekturmanöver durch, damit der Satellit seine finale Position im Orbit erreicht und seinen Dienst aufnehmen kann.

15 Jahre lang wird das Deutsche Raumfahrtkontrollzentrum in Oberpfaffenhofen den Satellitenbetrieb und den Datenrelais-Service bereitstellen. Auch den weiteren Aufbau der EDRS-Infrastruktur unterstützt das GSOC und wird die Datenautobahn für die eigenen Erdbeobachtungssatelliten nutzen.

EDRS-Bodensegment

Das "European Data Relay Satellite System" EDRS wird im Rahmen einer öffentlich-privaten Partnerschaft zwischen der Europäischen Weltraumorganisation ESA und der Firma Airbus Defence and Space betrieben. In den Aufbau des gesamten EDRS-Bodensegments und die Vorbereitungen des Betriebs investierte das DLR aus Forschungsmitteln 8,7 Millionen Euro. Das Bayerische Staatsministerium für Wirtschaft und Medien, Energie und Technologie stellte 7,5 Millionen Euro zur Verfügung.

Zuletzt geändert am:
05.08.2019 16:11:10 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Bernadette Jung
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Politikbeziehungen und Kommunikation: Oberpfaffenhofen, Weilheim, Augsburg

Tel.: +49 8153 28-2251

Fax: +49 8153 28-1243
Florian Sellmaier
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumflugbetrieb und Astronautentraining

Tel.: +49 8153 28-3719