The DLR site in Oberpfaffenhofen

Climate change in the southern hemisphere

Investigating the ozone hole, Amazon fires and gravity waves with the German HALO research aircraft

Ozonloch, Amazonasbrände und Schwerewellen im Fokus des deutschen Forschungsflugzeugs HALO

11 September 2019

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • HALO erreicht Rio Grande in Südargentinien
    HALO arrives in Rio Grande, southern Argentina

    During the SOUTHTRAC mission, the research aircraft HALO is stationed at the airport in Rio Grande/Argentina.

  • HALO bei der Ankunft in Rio Grande
    HALO upon arrival to Rio Grande

    HALO's flight to Rio Grande was made in three stages. After leaving from DLR's home base in Oberpfaffenhofen near Munich, it flew to the Cape Verde Islands and then Buenos Aires.

  • HALO mit neuem Laser%2dMessgerät ALIMA
    HALO with the new ALIMA laser measurement system

    The new laser-based ALIMA measuring system during a test in front of the DLR hangar in Oberpfaffenhofen. ALIMA uses light detection and ranging (lidar), which, like radar, detects the backscattering of signals, in this case transmitted using a high-performance pulsed laser. This technique allows gravity waves to be detected at altitudes of up to 90 kilometres during flight.

  • LIDAR%2dMessgerät ALIMA in der HALO%2dKabine
    LIDAR measuring device ALIMA in the HALO cabin

    The LIDAR measuring instrument ALIMA is installed vertically in the HALO cabin. It is used to observe gravity waves over HALO up to a height of 90 kilometres during flight.

  • HALO vor dem Hangar in Rio Grande
    HALO in front of the hangar in Rio Grande

  • Scientists from DLR, KIT, Forschungszentrum Jülich and the universities of Mainz and Frankfurt are coordinating the measurement campaign.
  • The influence of gravity waves on polar vortices over Antarctica, and chemical and dynamic processes in the tropopause region are being analysed.
  • Focus: Aeronautics, climate change

The German High Altitude and Long Range (HALO) research aircraft will be exploring the atmosphere in the southern hemisphere and its impact on climate change during September and November 2019 as part of the SOUTHTRAC (Transport and Composition of the Southern Hemisphere UTLS) mission. The main objective of the first phase of the campaign is to investigate gravity waves at the southern tip of South America and over Antarctica. In the second phase of the campaign, in November, the scientific focus of the investigations will shift to the exchange of air masses between the stratosphere and troposphere. During the transfer flights between Europe and South America, the researchers will investigate how current burning of biomass in the Amazon rainforest is affecting the climate, among other things. Scientists from the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR), the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Forschungszentrum Jülich (FZJ) and the universities of Mainz and Frankfurt will coordinate the extensive research flights.

Trace gases, such as ozone and water vapour, are effective greenhouse gases and play an important role in climate change. Since the late 1980s the Montreal Protocol has restricted the manufacture of substances such as hydrochlorofluorocarbons, which severely deplete the ozone layer. A very large hole has formed in the ozone layer over the Antarctic region. It will take many decades for the ozone layer to fully recover. The importance of this for climate change in the southern hemisphere is now being investigated in detail by researchers as part of the SOUTHTRAC campaign.

The most important atmospheric conditions for the formation of the ozone hole over Antarctica are low temperatures and the reduced exchange of air masses with mid-latitudes. The latter is ensured by a stable Antarctic polar air vortex, but this can be weakened by strong wave activity. “For the first time in this region, we are investigating the excitation and propagation of gravity waves into the middle atmosphere at an altitude of 90 kilometres, which is partly triggered by the airflow over the Andes and the Antarctic peninsula. These slow down the polar vortex,” says Markus Rapp, Director of the DLR Institute of Atmospheric Physics. “Until now, this effect has not been sufficiently taken into account in climate and weather models.”

“During the measurement flights, we also want to examine the chemical and dynamic processes that influence trace gases like ozone and water vapour in the tropopause region,” says Björn-Martin Sinnhuber of the Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research – Atmospheric Trace Gases and Remote Sensing at KIT. “We will also look at the role played by biomass combustion of the kind that is currently occurring with the fires in the Amazon rainforest.” The universities of Wuppertal and Heidelberg are also partners in the project.

Innovative remote sensing techniques will be combined with highly accurate local measurements on the aircraft and compared with satellite data. “In order to adapt the flights optimally to the meteorological situation, atmospheric modellers will be on site, using predictions made by the Jülich atmosphere model CLaMS (Chemical Long-Range Model of the Stratosphere),” says Martin Riese, Deputy Director of the Institute of Energy and Climate Research at FZJ. The long-range airborne measurements conducted using HALO will be supplemented by activities conducted on the ground. Balloon radiosondes will be launched, and measurements will be performed on board a glider operating from the city of El Calafate. Meteorological and chemical forecasting models will provide the information about the local weather, atmospheric circulation and trace gas distribution required for precise flight planning.

Airborne laser looking upwards

The DLR team for the SOUTHTRAC mission will be using laser measurement technology on board HALO and in a measurement station on the ground in order to record gravity waves as far up as the middle atmosphere. This uses light detection and ranging (lidar), which, like radar, detects the backscattering of signals, in this case transmitted using a high-performance pulsed laser. “For the first time, HALO is using the Airborne LIdar for Middle Atmosphere research (ALIMA) to explore altitudes between 15 and 90 kilometres. This is the region where gravity waves influence the global circulation system, and has not yet been given adequate consideration in climate models,” says Bernd Kaifler, who, together with his colleagues at the DLR Institute of Atmospheric Physics, was responsible for the development and construction of the unique new instrument. The spectral measurement and evaluation of the laser light backscattered in the atmosphere and collected by a telescope on board HALO provides the researchers with high-resolution temperature, wind and aerosol profiles along the flight path, and therein the signatures of the gravity waves.

Oceans, mountains, gravity waves
Gravity waves form when atmospheric circulation systems are disrupted. They are observed as periodic fluctuations in temperature, pressure and wind that can extend up to 90 kilometres high in the middle atmosphere – the stratosphere and the mesosphere. They are triggered when strong wind systems meet high mountains. With mountains ranges running from north to south, which present a major obstacle to the very strong winds at these latitudes, the southern tip of South America and the Antarctic peninsula make an ideal place to investigate the lifecycle of these waves and their impact on climate change in the southern hemisphere.

Night shifts for research

The research flights will take place exclusively at night in order to ensure that the laser measurements are as disturbance-free as possible. “The numerous night flights represent a challenge for our crew,” explains DLR research pilot Marc Puskeiler. “Flights to Antarctica, in particular, where there is no air traffic control and no alternative airfields, have to be very carefully planned if they are to return safely to their starting point in Rio Grande, Argentina.” HALO was flown here in three stages from its home base at the DLR site in Oberpfaffenhofen, near Munich. It first travelled to the Cape Verde Islands and then onward to Buenos Aires.

About HALO

The High Altitude and Long Range (HALO) research aircraft is a joint initiative of German environmental and climate research institutions. HALO is supported by grants from the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), the German Research Foundation (DFG), the Helmholtz Association of German Research Centres, the Max Planck Society (MPG), the Leibniz Association, the Free State of Bavaria, the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), the Forschungszentrum Jülich and the German Aerospace Center (DLR).

Last modified:
11/09/2019 15:17:18

Contacts

 

Falk Dambowsky
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Media Relations

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3959
Prof.Dr. Markus Rapp
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Director of the DLR Institute of Atmospheric Physics

Tel.: +49 8153 28-2521

Fax: +49 8153 28-1841
Dr Marc Puskeiler
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Flight Experiments

Tel.: +49 8153 28-1765

Der DLR-Standort Oberpfaffenhofen

Mehr über das DLR

Klimawandel in der Südhemisphäre

Ozonloch, Amazonasbrände und Schwerewellen im Fokus des deutschen Forschungsflugzeugs HALO

Ozonloch, Amazonasbrände und Schwerewellen im Fokus des deutschen Forschungsflugzeugs HALO

Mittwoch, 11. September 2019

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • HALO erreicht Rio Grande in Südargentinien
    HALO erreicht Rio Grande in Südargentinien

    Während der Mission SOUTHTRACK ist das Forschungsflugzeug HALO auf dem Flughafen in Rio Grande/Argentinien stationiert.

  • HALO bei der Ankunft in Rio Grande
    HALO bei der Ankunft in Rio Grande

    HALO flog in drei Etappen vom heimischen DLR-Standort Oberpfaffenhofen bei München über die Kapverdischen Inseln und Buenos Aires nach Rio Grande.

  • HALO mit neuem Laser%2dMessgerät ALIMA
    HALO mit neuem Laser-Messgerät ALIMA

    Das neue laserbasierte Messgerät ALIMA bei einem Test vor dem DLR-Hangar in Oberpfaffenhofen. Bei ALIMA kommt das Messverfahren LIDAR (Light Detecting and Ranging) zum Einsatz, dass ähnlich der RADAR-Technologie die Rückstreuung ausgesendeter Signale detektiert, wobei ein gepulster leistungsstarker Laser zur Sondierung genutzt wird. Mit der Technik können Schwerewellen bis 90 Kilometern Höhe im Flug detektiert werden.

  • LIDAR%2dMessgerät ALIMA in der HALO%2dKabine
    LIDAR-Messgerät ALIMA in der HALO-Kabine

    Das LIDAR-Messgerät ALIMA ist senkrecht in der HALO-Kabine verbaut, um Schwerewellen im Flüg über HALO bis in 90 Kilometer Höhe beobachten zu können.

  • HALO vor dem Hangar in Rio Grande
    HALO vor dem Hangar in Rio Grande

  • Wissenschaftler des DLR, KIT, Forschungszentrum Jülich und der Universitäten Mainz und Frankfurt koordinieren die Messkampagne.
  • Einfluss von Schwerewellen auf polaren Wirbel über der Antarktis sowie chemische und dynamische Prozesse in der Tropopausenregion werden analysiert
  • Schwerpunkte: Luftfahrt, Klimawandel, Globaler Wandel

Mit der Mission "SOUTHTRAC" (Transport and Composition of the Southern Hemisphere UTLS) erkundet das deutsche Forschungsflugzeug HALO im September und November 2019 die südliche Atmosphäre und ihre Auswirkungen auf den Klimawandel. Das wichtigste Ziel der ersten Kampagnenphase ist die Untersuchung von Schwerewellen an der Südspitze Amerikas und über der Antarktis. In der zweiten Kampagnenphase im November bilden Untersuchungen des Luftmassenaustauschs zwischen Stratosphäre und Troposphäre den wissenschaftlichen Schwerpunkt. Während der Transferflüge zwischen Europa und Südamerika untersuchen die Forscher unter anderem, welchen Einfluss das aktuelle Verbrennen von Biomasse im Amazonas-Regenwald auf das Klima hat. Wissenschaftler des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR), des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT), des Forschungszentrums Jülich und der Universitäten Mainz und Frankfurt koordinieren die umfangreichen Forschungsflüge.

Spurengase wie Ozon und Wasserdampf sind effektive Treibhausgase und spielen eine wichtige Rolle im Klimawandel. Seit Ende der 1980er-Jahre verbietet das Montrealer Protokoll Stoffe wie Fluorchlorkohlenwasserstoffe (FCKW), welche die Ozonschicht stark ausdünnen. Vor allem über der Antarktis hatte sich ein großes Ozonloch gebildet. Es wird allerdings noch viele Jahrzehnte dauern, bis sich die Ozonschicht wieder erholt hat. Welche Bedeutung dies für den Klimawandel auf der Südhemisphäre hat, wollen die Forscherinnen und Forscher jetzt in der Kampagne "SOUTHTRAC" im Detail untersuchen.

Die wichtigsten atmosphärischen Voraussetzungen für die Bildung des Ozonlochs über der Antarktis sind tiefe Temperaturen und ein verminderter Austausch von Luftmassen mit mittleren Breiten. Letzteres wird durch einen stabilen Luftwirbel, den antarktischen polaren Vortex, gewährleistet, der allerdings durch starke Wellenaktivität geschwächt werden kann. "Wir untersuchen in dieser Region erstmalig, die Anregung und Ausbreitung von Schwerewellen bis in die mittlere Atmosphäre in 90 KilometerHöhe, die unter anderem durch die Überströmung der Anden und der antarktischen Halbinsel ausgelöst werden und den polaren Vortex abbremsen", sagt Prof. Markus Rapp, Direktor des DLR-Instituts für Physik der Atmosphäre. "Dieser Effekt wird von Klima- und Wettermodellen bisher nur sehr unzureichend berücksichtigt".

"In den Messflügen wollen wir außerdem die chemischen und dynamischen Prozesse untersuchen die Spurengase wie Ozon und Wasserdampf in der Tropopausenregion beeinflussen", sagt Dr. Björn-Martin Sinnhuber vom Institut Meteorologie und Klimaforschung - Atmosphärische Spurengase und Fernerkundung des KIT. "Zudem betrachten wir, welche Rolle die Verbrennung von Biomasse, wie beispielsweise die aktuellen Brände im Amazonas-Regenwald, spielt." Weitere Partner sind die Bergische Universität Wuppertal und die Universität Heidelberg.

Bei den Messflügen werden innovative Fernerkundungsmethoden mit hochgenauen lokalen Messungen am Flugzeug kombiniert und mit Satellitendaten verglichen. "Um die Flüge optimal an die meteorologische Situation anzupassen, sind Atmosphärenmodellierer vor Ort und nutzen Vorhersagen des Jülicher Atmosphärenmodells CLaMS (Chemisch Langrangesches Modell der Stratosphäre)", so Prof. Martin Riese, Direktor des Jülicher Instituts für Stratosphärenforschung. Die weiträumigen HALO-Messungen in der Luft werden mit Messaktivitäten ergänzt, die vom Boden ausgehen. Ballonradiosonden werden gestartet und Messungen an Bord eines von der Stadt El Calafate aus operierenden Segelflugzeugs durchgeführt. Meteorologische und chemische Vorhersagemodelle liefern Informationen über das lokale Wetter sowie die atmosphärische Zirkulation und Spurengasverteilung, die für eine präzise Flugplanung erforderlich sind.

Fliegender Laser mit Blick nach oben

Um die Schwerewellen durchgehend bis in die mittlere Atmosphäre zu erfassen, ist das DLR-Team der SOUTHTRAC-Mission an Bord von HALO und in einer Messstation am Boden mit Laser-Messtechnik aktiv. Dabei kommt das Messverfahren LIDAR (Light Detecting and Ranging) zum Einsatz, dass ähnlich der RADAR-Technologie die Rückstreuung ausgesendeter Signale detektiert, wobei ein gepulster leistungsstarker Laser zur Sondierung genutzt wird. "HALO blickt erstmals mit dem Messgerät ALIMA (Airborne LIdar for Middle Atmosphere research) während der Flüge von 15 bis hinauf in 90 Kilometer Höhe - den Bereich, wo Schwerewellen ihren Einfluss auf das globale Zirkulationssystem entfalten und bisher nur unzureichend in Klimamodellen berücksichtigt sind", sagt Bernd Kaifler, der Entwicklung und Bau des einzigartigen neuen Instruments gemeinsam mit Kolleginnen und Kollegen des DLR-Instituts für Physik der Atmosphäre verantwortet hat. Die spektrale Vermessung und Auswertung des in der Atmosphäre rückgestreuten und mit einem an Bord von HALO befindlichen Teleskopes gesammelten Laserlichtes liefert den Forschern hochaufgelöste Temperatur-, Wind- und Aerosolprofile entlang des Flugweges und darin die Signaturen der Schwerewellen.

Ozeane, Gebirge, Schwerewellen

Schwerewellen entstehen, wenn atmosphärische Zirkulationssysteme gestört werden. Sie zeigen sich als periodische Temperatur-, Druck- und Windschwankungen, die sich bis hinauf auf 90 Kilometer in die mittlere Atmosphäre, die Stratosphäre und Mesosphäre umfasst, ausbreiten. Dort wo starke Windsysteme auf hohe Gebirge treffen, werden sie ausgelöst. Mit seinen in Nord-Süd-Richtung ausgedehnten Bergen, die ein großes Hindernis für die sehr starken Winde in diesen Breiten darstellen, ist die südliche Spitze Südamerikas und die antarktische Halbinsel ein idealer Standort, um den Lebenszyklus dieser Wellen und ihren Einfluss auf den Klimawandel in der Südhemisphäre zu untersuchen.

Nachtschichten für die Forschung

Damit die Lasermessungen möglichst störungsfrei verlaufen, finden die Forschungsflüge ausschließlich in der Nacht statt. "Für unsere Crew sind die zahlreichen Nachtflüge eine Herausforderung", erzählt DLR-Testpilot Marc Puskeiler. "Gerade die Flüge in Richtung Antarktis, wo es keine Flugverkehrskontrolle und keine Ausweichflugplätze gibt, müssen besonders gründlich geplant werden, um den Ausgangspunkt Rio Grande in Argentinien wieder sicher zu erreichen." Zuvor war HALO in drei Etappen vom heimischen DLR-Standort Oberpfaffenhofen bei München über die Kapverdischen Inseln und Buenos Aires dorthin geflogen.

Über HALO

Das Forschungsflugzeug HALO (High Altitude and Long Range) ist eine Gemeinschaftsinitiative deutscher Umwelt- und Klimaforschungseinrichtungen. Gefördert wird HALO durch Zuwendungen des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF), der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG), der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft, der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft (MPG), der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft, des Freistaates Bayern, des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT), des Forschungszentrums Jülich und des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR).

Zuletzt geändert am:
13.09.2019 09:51:38 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Falk Dambowsky
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Media Relations

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3959

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Prof. Dr. Markus Rapp
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Physik der Atmosphäre, Direktor

Tel.: +49 8153 28-2521

Fax: +49 8153 28-1841
Dr. Marc Puskeiler
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Flugexperimente

Tel.: +49 8153 28-1765