Mars Express - Insight into the history of the Martian climate
Mars Express
theme

Mars Express mission

A winter wonderland in red and white – Korolev Crater on Mars

20 December 2018

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • Perspektivischer Blick in den Krater Korolev nahe des Marsnordpols
    Perspective view of the Korolev Crater near the north pole of Mars

    The image shows the 82-kilometre-diameter Korolev crater. It contains a 1800-metre-long glacier. It is extremely cold in Mars’ high northern latitudes – during the polar night, temperatures can fall well below minus 100 degrees Celsius. Some craters lying to the south of the permanent ice cap at the north pole become proper ‘cold traps’ that hold ice all year round, as the carbon dioxide atmosphere cools above the ice sheet, acting a little like an insulator. Frost and ice deposits have also formed along the two-kilometre-high crater rim, which sublimate over the course of the seasons, making the direct transition from solid to gas. The viewing direction is southeast to northwest.

  • HRSC images show the impact crater Korolev on Mars, which is filled with water ice all year round.
  • This domed deposit forms a glacier comprising around 2200 cubic kilometres of non-polar ice on Mars. That is about 50 times the volume of Lake Constance.
  • Water ice is permanently stable in Korolev crater because the depression is a natural cold trap.
  • Liquid water is no longer found on Mars, but there is a considerable amount of ice.
  • Focus: Space, planetary research

This image mosaic made up of images acquired by the High Resolution Stereo Camera (HRSC) on board ESA's Mars Express spacecraft shows the well-preserved Korolev Crater on Mars, which is filled with water ice all year round. The crater was named after the renowned Russian rocket engineer and spacecraft designer Sergei Pavlovich Korolev. The HRSC camera on Mars Express is operated by the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR). The systematic processing of the camera data took place at the DLR Institute for Planetary Research in Berlin-Adlershof. The working group of Planetary Science and Remote Sensing at Freie Universität Berlin used the data to create the image products shown here.

The 82-kilometre-diameter Korolev Crater was named after Sergei Pavlovich Korolev (1907–1966), the chief constructor and father of Russian space technology. Korolev developed the first Russian intercontinental rocket, R7, the precursor of the modern Soyuz rockets that are still used today. Korolev, who was known in his own country and in the West simply as the 'Chief Designer', anonymously oversaw the USSR's rocket programme, initially with the aim of developing intercontinental ballistic launchers for nuclear warheads, but with further applications for civil aviation. In 1957, Korolev put the first artificial satellite, Sputnik 1 (Russian for companion) in space via a Semyorka rocket during the International Geophysical Year, paving the way for the first manned space flight in 1961, with cosmonaut Yuri Gagarin on board the Vostok 1 space capsule. In the final years of his life, when he was already severely ill, Korolev devoted himself to developing the N1 launch vehicle, which allowed the Soviet Union to win the space race to the Moon ahead of the United States. His most famous saying was, "The simpler a design, the better. Anyone can build something complicated."

  Image mosaic of Korolev Crater on Mars: The well-preserved Korolev impact crater is located in the Martian northern lowlands, which surround the North Pole ice cap. The crater floor, which lies two kilometres beneath the crater rim, is covered in a 1800-metre deposit of water ice all year round. The domed ice forms a glacier comprising around 2200 cubic kilometres of non-polar ice on Mars. That is about 50 times the volume of Lake Constance and is comparable in size to the Canadian Great Bear Lake. The crater is named after the renowned Russian rocket designer Sergei Pavlovich Korolev. With his rocket and spacecraft design, Korolev was responsible for the first man-made satellite of Earth Sputnik in 1957, and for the first human spaceflight of Yuri Gagarin in 1961 on Vostok 1. The image is a mosaic made up of five individual images acquired by the DLR-operated HRSC stereo camera on board the ESA Mars Express orbiter. Credit: ESA/DLR/FU Berlin.

 

A year-round ice reservoir

Korolev impact crater is located in the northern lowlands of Mars, not far from the large dune field of Olympia Undae, which surrounds part of the north polar ice cap. The crater floor, which lies two kilometres beneath its rim, is covered in a 1.8-kilometre central mound of water ice all year round. This domed deposit forms a glacier comprising around 2200 cubic kilometres of non-polar ice on Mars. That is about 50 times the volume of Lake Constance and is comparable in size to the Canadian Great Bear Lake. This leads us to assume, however, that this quantity of ice is mixed with a certain amount of dust. Smaller amounts of water ice are distributed on and around the crater edge in the form of thin layers of frost.

At present, there is no liquid water on Mars, but there is a considerable quantity of ice. The planet's two polar caps consist of a mixture of carbon dioxide and water ice, which vary greatly in proportion to one another depending on the season. In winter, for instance, a one- to two-metre layer of carbon dioxide ice (dry ice) forms on the permanent ice cap at the north pole, but then sublimates again in summer, undergoing a direct transition from solid to gas. The changing expanses of the polar caps can be observed in detail using telescopes and satellite images. A considerable quantity of ground ice has also been detected in the Martian subsoil using radar measurements. The corresponding soil layer could be permeated by up to 50 percent frozen water. However, we do not have exact figures.

  Colour-coded topographical image map of the Korolev Crater: The image strips acquired from different angles by the HRSC camera system on board Mars Express are used to generate digital terrain models of the Martian surface, containing height information for each recorded pixel. The reference level for the altitude information is Mars. The colour coding of the digital terrain model (top right) indicates the elevation differences effectively: the topographical profile of the region covers approximately 3500 metres of elevation. The rim of the 82-kilometre-wide Korolev Crater towers around 2000 metres above the surroundings. The top of the glacier inside the crater lies a few hundred metres below the crater rim. Due to sublimation, the 1800 metre-thick domed deposit lies in a ring-shaped crater that is slightly more than two kilometres deep. Credit: ESA/DLR/FU Berlin - CC BY-SA 3.0 IGO.

 

The water ice in Korolev Crater is permanently stable because the depression acts as a natural cold trap. The air above the ice cools down and is thus heavier than the warmer air around it. As air is a poor conductor of heat, it shields the ice from the environment. If it is immobile above the ice, little heating of the ice takes place via heat exchange, and the cold air protects the ice from warming and evaporation. Louth Crater, a similar crater with a smaller ice dome that is also located in the northern lowlands, was photographed by the HRSC back in February 2005. In this case, a layer of water ice formed against the dark dune field that lies on the crater floor. The dimensions are substantially smaller here: the ice cap of Louth Crater is 12 kilometres across, while the ice sheet in Korolev Crater can measure up to 60 kilometres.

The northern edge of Korolev Crater was also imaged by the CaSSIS camera on board the ESA ExoMars TGO probe on 15 April 2018 and was one of the first places on Mars to be photographed by the camera system, just days after the HRSC acquired images of the crater during orbit 18,042. ESA's ExoMars programme is devoted to searching for life on the Red Planet. It has two components: the ExoMars 2016 mission put the Trace Gas Orbiter (TGO) into Mars orbit, but fell short of the target of safely setting down the Schiaparelli landing demonstrator on the Martian surface. The second part of the ExoMars mission is planned for 2020, when a landing platform and a 2021 Rover are set to land in Oxia Planum on Mars’ highland-lowland border.

  Topographical overview map of the vicinity of the Korolev Crater: Almost the entire northern hemisphere of Mars is occupied by the lowlands, which fall away towards the north pole, before rising to the polar cap, measuring 1000 kilometres across, at the northernmost point of Mars, with a 2000-metre-thick ice cap. During the roughly 350-day polar night, over a quarter of the carbon dioxide in the thin Martian atmosphere sublimates, causing the polar cap to grow south, extending to 68 degrees North. This region is also home to the 82-kilometre-wide Korolev Crater, which was flown over by the ESA’s Mars Express orbiter several times over the last year, capturing images with its DLR-operated HRSC camera system. The data from five HRSC image strips have been used to create an image mosaic and a digital elevation model. There is a permanent ice field inside Korolev Crater. Credit: NASA/JPL/MOLA; FU-Berlin

 

  • Image processing

    The mosaic consists of five orbit strips (18042, 5726, 5692, 5654, 1412) and covers a region 161.8 to 168.0 degrees East and 71.7 to 73.8 degrees North. Orbit 18,042 was captured on 4 April 2018. The resolution of the colour mosaic is approximately 21 metres per pixel. The colour mosaic was created using data from the nadir channels, the fields of view which are aligned perpendicular to the surface of Mars, and the colour channels of the HRSC. The oblique perspective view was generated from the digital terrain model, the nadir and colour channels of HRSC. The colour-coded topographic view is based on a digital terrain model (DTM) of the region, from which the topography of the landscape can be derived. The reference body for the HRSC DTM is a Martian sphere.

  • The HRSC experiment on Mars Express

    The High Resolution Stereo Camera was developed at the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) and built in collaboration with partners in industry (EADS Astrium, Lewicki Microelectronic GmbH and Jena-Optronik GmbH). The science team, which is headed by Principal Investigator (PI) Ralf Jaumann, consists of 52 co-investigators from 34 institutions and 11 countries. The camera is operated by the DLR Institute of Planetary Research in Berlin-Adlershof.

Last modified:
20/12/2018 11:20:16

Contacts

 

Elke Heinemann
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Public Affairs and Communications

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2867

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Prof.Dr. Ralf Jaumann
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Institute of Planetary Research, Planetary Geology

Tel.: +49 30 67055-400

Fax: +49 30 67055-402
Ulrich Köhler
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Tel.: +49 30 67055-215

Fax: +49 30 67055-303
Dr Daniela Tirsch
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

DLR Institute of Planetary Research

Tel.: +49 30 67055-488

Fax: +49 30 67055-402

Mars Express - der Klimageschichte des Mars auf der Spur
theme

Mission Mars Express

Ein Wintertraum in Rot und Weiß - der Korolev-Krater auf dem Mars

Donnerstag, 20. Dezember 2018

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • Perspektivischer Blick in den Krater Korolev nahe des Marsnordpols
    Perspektivischer Blick in den Krater Korolev nahe des Marsnordpols

    Das Bild zeigt den 82 Kilometer großen Krater Korolev. In seinem Inneren befindet sich ein 1800 Meter mächtiger Gletscher. In hohen nördlichen Breiten auf dem Mars ist es extrem kalt - in der Polarnacht können die Temperaturen auf weit unter minus 100 Grad Celsius fallen. Südlich der dauerhaften Eiskappe des Nordpols werden manche Krater zu regelrechten „Kältefallen“, in denen sich während des ganzen Jahres Eis permanent hält, indem sich die Kohlendioxidatmosphäre über dem Eisschild abkühlt und ein wenig wie ein Isolator wirkt. Entlang des zwei Kilometer hohen Kraterrandes haben sich ebenfalls Frost- und Eisablagerungen gebildet, die aber im Lauf der Jahreszeiten sublimieren (direkter Übergang in den gasförmigen Zustand). Die Blickrichtung ist Südost-Nordwest.

  • Bilder der HRSC-Kamera zeigen den Einschlagskrater Korolev auf dem Mars, der das ganze Jahr über mit Wassereis gefüllt ist.
  • Diese gewölbte Eiskuppe bildet einen etwa 2200 Kubikkilometer umfassenden Gletscher aus nicht-polarem Eis auf dem Mars.
  • Wassereis ist im Krater Korolev dauerhaft stabil, weil die Vertiefung eine natürliche Kältefalle darstellt.
  • Wasser gibt es heute auf dem Mars zwar nicht mehr, aber Eis gibt es in durchaus beachtlichen Vorkommen.
  • Schwerpunkt(e): Raumfahrt, Planetenforschung

Dieses Bildmosaik aus Aufnahmen der High Resolution Stereo Camera (HRSC) an Bord der ESA-Raumsonde Mars Express zeigt den gut erhaltenen Einschlagskrater Korolev auf dem Mars. Er ist das ganze Jahr über mit Wassereis gefüllt. Benannt wurde der Krater nach dem legendären russischen Raketeningenieur und Raumfahrt-Konstrukteur Sergej Pawlowich Koroljow. Die Kamera HRSC auf Mars Express wird vom Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) betrieben. Die systematische Verarbeitung der Kameradaten erfolgte am DLR-Institut für Planetenforschung in Berlin-Adlershof. Mitarbeiter der Fachrichtung Planetologie und Fernerkundung der Freien Universität Berlin erstellten daraus die hier gezeigten Bildprodukte.

Der 82 Kilometer große Krater Korolev wurde nach Sergej Pawlowich Koroljow (englische Schreibweise: Sergei Pavlovich Korolev) benannt, dem Chefkonstrukteur und Vater der russischen Raumfahrttechnik (1907-1966). Der Ingenieur Koroljow entwickelte die erste russische Interkontinentalrakete R7 - den Vorgänger der modernen Sojus-Raketen, die bis heute im Einsatz sind. Koroljow, der im eigenen Land sowie im Westen nur als "der Chefkonstrukteur" bekannt war, leitete im Anonymen das Raketenprogramm der UdSSR, zunächst mit dem Ziel, interkontinentale ballistische Trägerraketen für nukleare Sprengköpfe zu entwickeln, die aber auch für die zivile Raumfahrt weiterentwickelt wurden: 1957 brachte Koroljow mit einer Semjorka-Rakete im Zuge des Internationalen Geophysikalischen Jahres den ersten künstlichen Satelliten, Sputnik 1 (Russisch für Weggefährte) ins All, und ermöglichte vor allem 1961 den ersten bemannten Raumflug in der Raumkapsel von Wostok 1 mit dem Kosmonauten Juri Gagarin an Bord. In seinen letzten Lebensjahren, bereits schwerkrank, widmete sich Koroljow der Entwicklung der Trägerrakete N1, mit der die Sowjetunion den Wettlauf mit den Amerikanern zum Mond gewinnen sollte. Sein berühmtestes Motto war: "Je einfacher eine Konstruktion ist, desto genialer ist sie. Kompliziert bauen kann jeder."

  Bildmosaik des Kraters Korolev auf dem Mars: Der gut erhaltene, schüsselförmige Einschlagskrater Korolev befindet sich im nördlichen Marstiefland, das die Nordpoleiskappe umgibt. Der zwei Kilometer unterhalb des Kraterrandes gelegene Kraterboden ist ganzjährig mit einer 1800 Meter mächtigen Ablagerung aus Wassereis bedeckt. Die gewölbte Eiskuppe bildet einen etwa 2200 Kubikkilometer umfassenden Gletscher aus nicht-polarem Eis auf dem Mars. Das Bild ist ein Mosaik aus fünf Einzelaufnahmen der von DLR betriebenen Stereokamera HRSC auf dem ESA-Orbiter Mars Express. Quelle: ESA/DLR/FU Berlin - CC BY-SA 3.0 IGO.

 

Ganzjähriges Eisreservoir

Der Einschlagskrater Korolev befindet sich im nördlichen Tiefland des Mars, unweit des großen Dünenfeldes Olympia Undae, das einen Teil der Nordpoleiskappe umgibt. Der zwei Kilometer unterhalb des Kraterrandes gelegene Kraterboden ist ganzjährig mit einer 1,8 Kilometer mächtigen Ablagerung aus Wassereis bedeckt. Diese gewölbte Eiskuppe bildet einen etwa 2200 Kubikkilometer umfassenden Gletscher aus nicht-polarem Eis auf dem Mars. Das ist in etwa ein Zehntel des Volumes der Ostsee. Man kann jedoch davon ausgehen, dass dieser Eismenge einige Anteile Staub beigemischt sind. Kleinere Mengen Wassereis sind in Form von dünnen Frostlagen auf und um den Kraterrand verteilt.

Wasser gibt es heute auf dem Mars zwar nicht mehr, aber Eis gibt es in durchaus beachtlichen Vorkommen. Die beiden Polkappen des Planeten bestehen aus einer Mischung aus Kohlendioxid- und Wassereis, deren Anteil zueinander mit den Jahreszeiten stark schwankt. So bildet sich beispielsweise im Winter eine bis zu zwei Meter mächtige Schicht aus Kohlendioxideis (Trockeneis) auf der bis zu zwei Kilometer mächtigen permanenten Eiskappe am Nordpol, die dann im Sommer wieder sublimiert (direkter Übergang vom festen in den gasförmigen Zustand). Die wechselnden Ausdehnungen der Polkappen können mit Teleskopen und Satellitenbildern sehr gut beobachtet werden. Auch im Marsuntergrund wurde eine beträchtliche Menge an Bodeneis mit Radarmessungen nachgewiesen. Die entsprechende Bodenschicht könnte bis zu 50 Prozent von gefrorenem Wasser durchsetzt sein. Genaue Zahlen gibt es dazu aber noch nicht.

  Farbkodierte topographische Bildkarte des Kraters Korolev: Aus den unter verschiedenen Winkeln aufgenommenen Bildstreifen des HRSC-Kamerasystems auf Mars Express werden digitale Geländemodelle der Marsoberfläche berechnet, die für jeden aufgenommenen Bildpunkt eine Höheninformation beinhalten. Das Referenzniveau, auf den sich die Höhenangaben beziehen, ist eine Marskugel. Norden ist in der Darstellung oben. Mit der Farbkodierung des digitalen Geländemodells (o. r.) lassen sich die Höhenunterschiede gut erfassen: Das topographische Profil der Region umfasst etwa 3500 Höhenmeter. Der Rand des 82 Kilometer großen Kraters Korolev überragt die Umgebung um etwa 2000 Meter. Die Oberseite des Gletschers im Innern des Kraters befindet sich einige hundert Meter unterhalb des Kraterrandes. Durch Sublimation liegt die 1800 Meter dicke Linse in der schüsselförmigen, etwas mehr als zwei Kilometer tiefen Kraterwölbung. Quelle: ESA/DLR/FU Berlin - CC BY-SA 3.0 IGO.

 

Wassereis ist im Krater Korolev dauerhaft stabil, weil die Vertiefung eine natürliche Kältefalle darstellt. Die über dem Eis liegende Luft kühlt ab und ist dadurch schwerer als die wärmere Außenluft. Da Luft ein schlechter Wärmeleiter ist, schirmt sie das Eis von der Umgebung ab. Wenn sie unbeweglich über dem Eis liegt, findet nur eine geringe Erwärmung des Eises durch Wärmeaustausch statt, und die kalte Luft schützt die Eisablagerung vor der Erwärmung und dem Verdampfen. Ein ähnlicher Krater namens Louth mit einer kleineren Eiskuppe, ebenfalls im nördlichen Tiefland gelegen, wurde von der HRSC schon im Februar 2005 aufgenommen. Hier bildete sich eine Lage aus Wassereis auf einem dunklen Dünenfeld, das sich auf dem Kraterboden befindet. Allerdings sind hier die Dimensionen deutlich kleiner: Die Eiskappe im Krater Louth durchmisst etwa 12 Kilometer - der Eisschild in Korolev hat eine Ausdehnung von bis zu 60 Kilometer zu bieten.

Der Nordrand des Kraters Korolev wurde am 15. April 2018 auch von der Kamera CaSSIS an Bord der ESA-Sonde ExoMars TGO aufgenommen, als einem der ersten Orte, die das Kamerasystem auf dem Mars fotografierte - nur wenige Tage, nachdem die HRSC den Krater in Orbit 18042 abbildete. Das ExoMars-Programm der ESA widmet sich der Suche nach Leben auf dem Roten Planeten. Es besteht aus zwei Komponenten: die ExoMars 2016 Mission brachte den Trace Gas Orbiter (TGO) in eine Umlaufbahn um den Mars, verfehlte aber das Ziel, den Lande-Demonstrator Schiaparelli sicher auf der Marsoberfläche abzusetzen. Für 2020 ist der zweite Teil der ExoMars-Mission geplant, mit dem eine Landplattform und ein Rover 2021 in Oxia Planum an der Hochland-Tieflandgrenze des Mars landen soll.

  Topographische Übersichtskarte der Umgebung des Kraters Korolev: Fast die gesamte nördliche Halbkugel des Mars wird von Tiefebenen eingenommen, die in Richtung des Nordpols abfallen, ehe sich am nördlichsten Punkt des Mars die etwa 1000 Kilometer durchmessende Polkappe mit ihrer zweitausend Meter mächtigen Eiskappe erhebt. Während der etwa 350-tägigen Polarnacht sublimiert über ein Viertel des Kohlendioxids in der dünnen Marsatmosphäre und lässt die Polkappe auf eine südliche Ausdehnung von bis zu 68 Grad nördlicher Breite anwachsen. In dieser Zone befindet sich auch der 82 Kilometer große Krater Korolev, der im Laufe der letzten Jahre mehrmals vom ESA-Orbiter Mars Express überflogen und dabei mit dem vom DLR betriebenen Kamerasystem HRSC aufgenommen wurde. Aus den Bilddaten von fünf HRSC-Bildstreifen entstand ein Bildmosaik sowie ein digitales Höhenmodell. Im Inneren von Korolev befindet sich ein permanentes Eisfeld. Quelle: NASA/JPL/MOLA; FU-Berlin

 

  • Bildverarbeitung

    Das Mosaik besteht aus fünf Orbitstreifen (18042, 5726, 5692, 5654, 1412) und deckt ein Gebiet 161,8 - 168,0 Grad Ost und 71,5 - 73,8 Grad Nord ab. Orbit 18042 wurde am 4. April 2018 aufgenommen. Die Bildauflösung des Farbbildes beträgt etwa 21 Meter pro Bildpunkt (Pixel). Das Farbmosaik wurde aus den senkrecht auf die Marsoberfläche gerichteten Nadirkanälen der einzelnen Bildstreifen und den Farbkanälen der HRSC erstellt. Die perspektivische Schrägansicht wurde aus den Geländemodell-Daten, den Nadir- und Farbkanälen der HRSC berechnet. Die in Regenbogenfarben kodierte Aufsicht beruht auf einem digitalen Geländemodell (DTM) der Region, von dem sich die Topographie der Landschaft ableiten lässt. Der Referenzkörper für das HRSC-DTM ist eine Marskugel.

  • Das HRSC-Experiment auf Mars Express

    Die High Resolution Stereo Camera wurde am Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) entwickelt und in Kooperation mit industriellen Partnern gebaut (EADS Astrium, Lewicki Microelectronic GmbH und Jena-Optronik GmbH). Das Wissenschaftsteam unter Leitung des Principal Investigators (PI) Prof. Dr. Ralf Jaumann besteht aus 51 Co-Investigatoren, die aus 35 Institutionen und 11 Nationen stammen. Die Kamera wird vom DLR-Institut für Planetenforschung in Berlin-Adlershof betrieben.

 

Zuletzt geändert am:
20.12.2018 14:09:04 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Elke Heinemann
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Politikbeziehungen und Kommunikation

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2867

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Prof. Dr. Ralf Jaumann
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Planetenforschung, Planetengeologie

Tel.: +49 30 67055-400

Fax: +49 30 67055-402
Ulrich Köhler
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

DLR-Institut für Planetenforschung

Tel.: +49 30 67055-215

Fax: +49 30 67055-303
Dr. Daniela Tirsch
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

DLR-Institut für Planetenforschung

Tel.: +49 30 67055-488

Fax: +49 30 67055-402