Automation and networking in freight transport - effects on the logistics industry

29 November 2017

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • Automatisiertes Fahren im Straßengüterverkehr
    Automated freight ground transport

    Within the scope of the ATLaS project, investigations are being carried out into how the logistics industry can become more efficient and service oriented through automation and networking.

  • A study by DLR and the Hamburg University of Technology is examining the use of digitalisation for added value in freight transport
  • For example, in the future, it may be possible to combine several HGVs to form virtual goods trains
  • Focus: Digitalisation, mobility, goods transport

The automation and networking of transport will bring changes to the logistics industry. In the ATLaS project (Automated and networked movement in Logistics – opportunities for greater added value), scientists from the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) and the Hamburg University of Technology (TUHH) are investigating how these changes will affect freight transport. The aim of the project is to discover the changes that await freight transport and the best way to support the introduction of important technologies. ATLaS is funded by the German Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure (BMVI).

The following issues will be examined within the scope of the project: What are the expectations of logistics-industry stakeholders – from haulage companies to the large logistics companies – regarding networked and automated transport in the transportation of goods by road? Which conditions are required for the sensible implementation of new technologies in the industry? "Technological developments towards automated driving are advancing very quickly, driven by technology manufacturers. With the ATLaS project we are now for the first time including stakeholders from the logistics industry in the development process," says Stephan Müller, who manages the work of the DLR Institute of Transport Research in the ATLaS research project, which forms the starting point of the project.

New logistics structures through automatic freight trains on motorways

In the ATLaS project, scientists are investigating how automation and networked systems can make the logistics industry more efficient and more service oriented. Müller continued: "The logistics companies will only use new technologies if these can lower their costs, increase process efficiency and generate new logistics business models using added-value services." One example of the use of new technologies is the automated and connected driving of HGVs on motorways, which can be linked to form 'freight trains', so-called platooning. In doing so, only one driver would be needed to actually control the 'freight train'. As the personnel costs of the driver are about one third of the total transport costs, a clear increase in transport efficiency would be possible through the electronic coupling of several HGVs. Even under today's technical and legal framework conditions, the other drivers could hand over the majority of the driving tasks to the automation technology and carry out other tasks or take a break. "Although such new transport capacities would have to be planned in advance, the use of HGVs in freight trains would be possible across Europe 24 hours a day, seven days a week (24/7). As a result, logistic networks can easily be reimagined, which would make the supply of production companies more flexible, and direct transportation could replace complex warehouse structures," says Gernot Liedtke, Manager of the Commercial Transport Department at the DLR Institute of Transport Research, describing the possible benefits of partial automation in the logistics industry.

Demand-oriented innovations

During the project, researchers will carry out individual interviews with stakeholders from the logistics industry. Using simulations and model calculations, they will then examine which innovations are significant for the logistics industry and how they can be profitably incorporated into existing logistics structures. The effects of possible innovations on inner-city transport and on air quality will also be included in this work. Thus, the project will create a broad information base to set the correct framework conditions for the freight transport of the future.

Under the leadership of Heike Flämig, the TUHH and DLR are part of a project consortium that is working on ATLaS and is supported by LogistikNetz Berlin-Brandenburg e.V. and the Dronemasters Future Mobility Initiative as subcontractors.

More information on the project can be found here.

Last modified:
04/12/2017 15:18:55

Contacts

 

Dorothee Bürkle
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Media Relations, Energy and Transport Research

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3492

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Dr. Ing. Stephan Müller
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

DLR Institute of Transport Research

Tel.: +49 30 67055-149

Fax: +49 30 67055-283
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Heike Flämig
Hamburg University of Technology (TUHH)

Institute for Transport Planning and Logistics

Tel.: +49 40 428783-907

Fax: +49 40 428782-728

Mehr über das DLR

Automatisiertes und vernetztes Fahren im Güterverkehr - Auswirkungen auf die Logistikbranche

Mittwoch, 29. November 2017

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • Automatisiertes Fahren im Straßengüterverkehr
    Automatisiertes Fahren im Straßengüterverkehr

    Im Rahmen des Projektes ATLaS wird untersucht, wie die Logistikbranche durch die Automatisierung sowie der Vernetzung effizienter und serviceorientierter werden kann.

  • Studie vom DLR und der TU Hamburg-Harburg untersucht, wo Unternehmen im Güterverkehr durch die Digitalisierung Chancen für mehr Wertschöpfung sehen.
  • In Zukunft können zum Beispiel mehrere Lastkraftwagen zu virtuellen Güterzügen zusammengestellt werden.
  • Schwerpunkt(e): Digitalisierung, Mobilität, Güterverkehr

Automatisiertes und vernetztes Fahren bedeuten auch für die Logistikbranche gravierende Veränderungen. Im Projekt ATLaS (Automatisiertes und vernetztes Fahren in der Logistik - Chancen für mehr Wertschöpfung) untersuchen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft und Raumfahrt (DLR) und der TU Hamburg-Harburg (TUHH), wie sich dieser Wandel auf den Güterverkehr auswirken wird. Das Ziel des Projekts ist es, herauszufinden, welche Veränderungen im Güterverkehr anstehen und wie die Einführung wichtiger Technologien bestmöglich unterstützt werden kann. ATLaS wird vom Bundesministerium für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur (BMVI) gefördert.

Im Rahmen des Projekts werden folgende Themen untersucht: Welche Erwartungen haben Akteure in der Logistikbranche - vom Fuhrunternehmen bis zum großen Logistikunternehmen - an das vernetzte und automatisierte Fahren im Straßengüterverkehr? Unter welchen Voraussetzungen können neue Technologien in der Branche sinnvoll eingesetzt werden? "Die technologische Entwicklung zum automatisierten Fahren schreitet sehr schnell voran, getrieben durch die Technologie-Hersteller. Im Projekt ATLaS werden wir nun erstmalig Akteure aus der Logistikbranche einbinden", beschreibt Dr.-Ing. Stephan Müller, der die Arbeiten des DLR-Instituts für Verkehrsforschung im Forschungsprojekt ATLaS leitet, die Ausgangslage des Projekts.

Neue Logistikstrukturen durch automatische Güterzüge auf Autobahnen

Die Wissenschaftler untersuchen im Projekt ATLaS wie die Logistikbranche durch die Automatisierung und Vernetzung effizienter und serviceorientierter werden kann. Müller geht davon aus: "Die Logistikunternehmen werden neue Technologien nur dann einsetzen, wenn sie damit Kosten einsparen, die Effizienz von Prozessen erhöhen und neue Logistik-Geschäftsmodelle mit Mehrwertdienstleistungen generieren können." Ein Beispiel für den Einsatz neuer Technologien ist das automatische und vernetzte Fahren von Lastkraftwagen (Lkw) auf Autobahnen, die zu "Güterzügen" zusammengestellt werden, das sogenannte Platooning. Bislang wird pro Lkw ein Fahrer benötigt, dessen Personalkosten etwa ein Drittel der Transportkosten ausmachen. Bei der elektronischen Kopplung von mehreren Lkw wäre eine deutliche Effizienzsteigerung des Transports möglich, da nur noch ein Fahrer den "Güterzug" steuern muss. Bereits unter heutigen technischen und rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen könnten die anderen Fahrer die Fahraufgabe größtenteils an die Automatisierungstechnik übergeben und andere Aufgaben wahrnehmen oder Ruhezeit nehmen. "Solche neuen Transportkapazitäten müssen zwar im Voraus geplant werden - der Einsatz von Lkw in Güterzügen wäre aber europaweit 24 Stunden und sieben Tage in der Woche (24/7) möglich. In der Folge können Logistiknetzwerke neu gedacht werden. Unter anderem lassen sich damit Produktionsbetriebe flexibler versorgen und komplexe Lagerstrukturen durch Direktverkehre ersetzen", beschreibt Prof. Gernot Liedtke, Leiter der Abteilung Wirtschaftsverkehr beim DLR-Institut für Verkehrsforschung die möglichen Vorteile der Teilautomatisierung in der Logistikbranche.

Bedarfsgerechte Innovationen

Die Wissenschaftler werden in dem Projekt Einzelinterviews mit Akteuren aus der Logistikbranche führen. Mit Hilfe von Simulationen und Beispielrechnungen untersuchen sie dann, welche Innovationen für die Logistikbranche von Bedeutung sind und wie sie in bestehende Logistikstrukturen nutzenstiftend eingebunden werden können. Auch die  Auswirkungen möglicher Neuerungen auf den innerstädtischen Verkehr und die Luftqualität sind Gegenstand der Arbeiten. Damit schafft das Projekt eine breite Informationsbasis, um die richtigen Rahmenbedingungen für den Güterverkehr der Zukunft zu setzen.

Unter der Leitung von Prof. Heike Flämig bilden die TUHH und das DLR bei ATLaS ein Projektkonsortium, das vom LogistikNetz Berlin-Brandenburg e.V. und der Dronemasters Future Mobility Initiative als Unterauftragnehmer unterstützt wird.

Weitere Informationen zum Projekt finden Sie hier.

 

Zuletzt geändert am:
29.11.2017 14:34:59 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Dorothee Bürkle
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Media Relations

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3492

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Dr. Ing. Stephan Müller
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Verkehrsforschung

Tel.: +49 30 67055-149

Fax: +49 30 67055-283
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Heike Flämig
Technische Universität Hamburg-Harburg

Institut für Verkehrsplanung und Logistik

Tel.: +49 40 428783-907

Fax: +49 40 428782-728