EDEN ISS

#MadeInAntarctica - Growing vegetables in the eternal ice

365 days in the Antarctic, including 257 days cut off from the outside world, together with the crew members of the overwintering team at the Neumayer III Antarctic station, which is operated by the Alfred Wegener Institute (AWI) –in December 2017, DLR scientist Paul Zabel relocated to the Antarctic, where he cultivated vegetables, salads and herbs in the EDEN ISS greenhouse using artificial light, effective nutrient solutions and completely without soil.

With the EDEN ISS greenhouse in the inhospitable environment of the Antarctic, the DLR scientists are looking to get as close as possible to the conditions of a long-term mission in space. The research laboratory not only serves to test the cultivation of vegetables for future crewed space missions to the Moon and Mars, but also allows scientists to research food production in climatically unfavorable areas such as deserts and Arctic regions.

In the years 2019 and 2020 DLR, together with the AWI and other research partners, will further develop the production processes in the EDEN ISS greenhouse. The project will be continued and be open to researchers from all over the world.

News

EDEN-ISS

#MadeInAntarctica - Gemüseanbau im ewigen Eis

365 Tage in der Antarktis, davon 257 Tage abgeschnitten von der Außenwelt, gemeinsam mit den Kameraden im Überwinterungsteam der vom Alfred-Wegener-Institut (AWI) betriebenen Antarktisstation Neumayer III - Für ein Jahr war DLR-Wissenschaftler Paul Zabel Ende Dezember 2017 auf den siebten Kontinent gezogen und züchtete im Gewächshaus EDEN-ISS Gemüse, Salate und Kräuter mithilfe von künstlichem Licht, effektiven Nährstofflösungen und vollkommen ohne Erde. Mit großem Erfolg: Innerhalb des Jahres erntete "Antarktisgärtner" Zabel insgesamt 77 Kilogramm Salat, 67 Kilogramm Gurken und 46 Kilogramm Tomaten.

Mit dem Gewächshaus EDEN-ISS in der unwirtlichen Umgebung der Antarktis wollten die DLR-Wissenschaftler so dicht wie möglich an die Bedingungen einer Langzeitmission im Weltraum herankommen. Das Forschungslabor dient nicht nur der Erprobung der Gemüsezucht für zukünftige bemannte Weltraummissionen zu Mond und Mars. Zugleich forschen die Wissenschaftler für die Nahrungsmittelproduktion in klimatisch ungünstigen Gebieten wie Wüsten und arktischen Regionen.

In den Jahren 2019 und 2020 wird das DLR zusammen mit dem AWI und anderen Forschungspartnern die Produktionsprozesse im EDEN-ISS-Gewächshaus weiterentwickeln. Denn geplant ist, das Projekt fortzuführen - offen für Forscher aus der ganzen Welt.

 

Aufzeichung der Pressekonferenz zu EDEN-ISS vom 13. September 2018

Aktuelles