Experiments
horizons mission
theme

Gene Control Prime - gene regulation of immune cells

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • Makrophage in Schwerelosogkeit
    Genetic causes of immunodeficiency in microgravity

    What influence does gravity have on gene regulation and the function of immune cells? This question should be answered by the experimental series 'Gene Control Prime', which will also investigate the genetic causes of immunodeficiency in microgravity. The findings may help to find new treatments for immune system disorders and new ways to fight bone atrophy (osteoporosis) on Earth.

What influence does gravity have on gene regulation and the function of immune cells? How do these cells adapt to changing gravitational conditions and other environmental factors? The experiment series ‘Gene Control Prime’ will attempt to answer these questions in order to find out about the cellular and molecular causes of impaired immune behaviour in microgravity. Gene Control Prime is looking for evidence of the effect of space conditions on the human immune system and bone metabolism. The results should help to understand the general causes of immunodeficiency and to develop new therapies. Understanding the molecular regulatory mechanisms of the immune system is as important for future long-term missions by astronauts as it is for humans on Earth.

A pharmaceutically influenced regulation of the function of bone-degrading cells, the osteoclasts, opens up new possibilities for combatting bone atrophy in humans on Earth. Earlier experiments have provided evidence that epigenetic mechanisms play a major role here. Under the influence of external factors – such as microgravity –, they allow the nucleus to regulate when and to what extent which genes are switched on and off. Thus, these mechanisms mediate the gravitational influence on the genes (gene expression). In this case, the gene sequence is not changed, but chromosome sections are influenced in their activity. Among other things, these processes play a role in the complex regulation of the immune system and enable adaptation to new environmental conditions. However, this can also lead to malfunctions. Part of the experiment therefore investigates the activation processes in bone-degrading cells under different gravitational conditions.

Another part of the experiment focuses on the phagocytes of the immune system, the macrophages, and investigates, among other things, genome-wide transcriptional changes and modified, DNA-bound proteins. In this way, specific factors that regulate gene expression by gravity will be identified. The experiment looks for key parameters for the control of human macrophages and osteoclasts in microgravity and examines their adaptability to particular environmental conditions.

Info card experiment

  Info card: Experiment Gene Control Prime. Credit: DLR.

 

Last modified:
19/06/2018 10:23:08

Experimente
Mission horizons
theme

Gene Control Prime: Genregulation von Immunzellen

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • Makrophage in Schwerelosogkeit
    Makrophage oder "Fresszelle" in Schwerelosogkeit

    Die Experimentserie "Gene Control Prime" untersucht den Einfluss der Schwerkraft auf die Genregulation und die Funktion von Immunzellen. Die Ergebnisse sollen dazu beitragen, die generellen Ursachen von Immunschwäche zu verstehen und neue Therapien zu entwickeln.

Welchen Einfluss hat die Schwerkraft auf die Genregulation und die Funktion von Immunzellen? Wie passen sich diese Zellen an die veränderten Schwerkraftbedingungen und andere Umweltfaktoren an? Diese Fragen versucht die Experimentserie "Gene Control Prime" zu beantworten, um den zellulären und molekularen Ursachen für das beeinträchtigte Immunverhalten in Schwerelosigkeit auf die Spur zu kommen. Gene Control Prime sucht Hinweise auf die Wirkung der Weltraumbedingungen auf das menschliche Immunsystem und den Knochenstoffwechsel. Die Ergebnisse sollen dazu beitragen, die generellen Ursachen von Immunschwäche zu verstehen und neue Therapien zu entwickeln. Das Verständnis der molekularen Regulationsmechanismen des Immunsystems ist für zukünftige Langzeitmissionen von Astronauten ebenso wichtig wie für den Menschen auf der Erde. Eine pharmazeutisch beeinflussbare Regulation der Funktion von knochenabbauenden Zellen, den Osteoklasten, eröffnet neue Möglichkeiten zur Bekämpfung von Knochenschwund bei Menschen auf der Erde.

Frühere Experimente haben Hinweise geliefert, dass sogenannte epigenetische Mechanismen hier eine große Rolle spielen. Sie erlauben dem Zellkern, unter Einfluss äußerer Faktoren - wie zum Beispiel Schwerelosigkeit - zu regulieren, wann und in welchem Ausmaß welche Gene ein- und ausgeschaltet werden. So nehmen diese Mechanismen Einfluss auf die schwerkraftbeeinflusste Ausprägung der Gene (Genexpression). Hierbei wird nicht die Gensequenz verändert, sondern Chromosomenabschnitte werden in ihrer Aktivität beeinflusst. Diese Vorgänge spielen unter anderem bei der komplexen Regulation des Immunsystems eine Rolle und ermöglichen die Anpassung an neue Umweltbedingungen. Das kann aber auch zu Funktionsstörungen führen. Ein Teil des Experiments untersucht daher die Aktivierungsprozesse in knochenabbauenden Zellen unter verschiedenen Schwerkraftbedingungen.

Ein anderer Teil des Experiments hat die Fresszellen des Immunsystems, die Makrophagen, im Blick und untersucht unter anderem genomweite Transkriptionsänderungen und modifizierte, DNA-gebundene Proteine. Auf diese Weise sollen gezielt Faktoren erkannt werden, die schwerkraftabhängig die Genexpression regulieren. Das Experiment sucht nach Schlüsselparametern für die Beeinflussung der menschlichen Makrophagen und Osteoklasten in Schwerelosigkeit und prüft deren Anpassungsfähigkeit an besondere Umweltbedingungen.

Infokarte zum Experiment

 

  Infokarte zum Experiment Gene Control Prime. Quelle: DLR.

 

Zuletzt geändert am:
07.06.2018 14:02:01 Uhr