Clean Sky 2 Technology Evaluator

Clean Sky 2's Technology Evaluator: On target for sustainable air transport

Clean Sky 2

28 September 2018

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • Clean Sky 2
    Clean Sky 2 programme

    Clean Sky 2's Technology Evaluator research and test all technological innovations and aircraft improvement.

Following the agenda of the Clean Sky programme (2008-2017), in 2014 the Clean Sky 2 programme ambitiously continued the successful research collaboration between partners from European industry and research. The participants have defined a set of goals to make a considerable contribution towards more sustainable air transport operations based on multidisciplinary research, intense aerospace industry collaboration and a long-term perspective. Researching and testing technological innovations and aircraft improvements play a central role by enabling the implementation of the European Strategic Research and Innovation Agenda (SRIA) for aviation and the corresponding 'Flightpath 2050' goals. Both have been defined by the Advisory Council for Aviation Research and innovation in Europe (ACARE) and have put a leading roadmap for future aviation development in place. Compared to the year 2000, by 2025 CO2 emission of air traffic shall be reduced by 75 percent per passenger kilometre while noise emissions in the airport surroundings shall be reduced by 65 percent. In addition, 90 percent of travellers within Europe shall be able to complete their journey, door-to-door within four hours.

The Clean Sky 2 programme develops and tests new technologies and aircraft concepts that will significantly contribute to these objectives. In addition to its involvement in various technology and system demonstrator platforms, the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) plays a key role in the programme through leading the Technology Evaluator. The Technology Evaluator assesses the Clean Sky 2 benefits with regard to several assessment categories focusing in particular on the environment, as well as on socio-economic improvements.

Innovation potential to increase sustainability

Within the environmental assessment category, the reduction potential for CO2 emissions, NOx emissions and noise, as well as effects of air traffic on local air quality and climate impact have the highest priority. Concentrating on the socio-economic category, the Technology Evaluator also focuses on air transport-related GDP and employment impacts, as well as on mobility and connectivity improvements as an indirect result of the Clean Sky 2 activities. These assessment dimensions are also important in light of the ACARE 'Flightpath 2050' goals, and are analysed by DLR's own forecasts up to the year 2035. Further development up to the year 2050 is estimated on the basis of a scenario approach to enable the calculation of Clean Sky 2 benefits with the most realistic assumptions over the long-term. Changing framework conditions (e.g. in form of capacity constraints and changes of the energy supply chain of the air transport sector) are also reflected.

With regard to the environment, the numerous assessments performed by the Clean Sky 2 Technology Evaluator start at the Mission Level. The impact of the individual aircraft and their contribution to the Clean Sky 2 environmental objectives is in focus here. To consider the environmental impacts on a wider scale, additional assessments are performed at Airport Level (e.g. in relation to rotorcraft mission productivity). The Air Transport System Level is the third and final analysis category to measure the overall impact of the Clean Sky 2 programme over the long-term. This approach guarantees the consideration of all relevant categories of civil air transport, including, for example, long-range operations, regional air transport and fast rotorcraft from a multidimensional and holistic perspective.

Transparency

Going beyond the scope of these essential assessments, an essential role of the Clean Sky 2 programme is its contribution to improving the competitiveness of the European aerospace industry. With a funding volume of 4 billion euro and more than 500 partners (as of 2018) Clean Sky 2 is the largest European research programme and a key driver of innovation and cooperation. DLR’s Technology Evaluator has also transferred this key role to other parts of its research agenda. An in-house Technology Evaluator information system is currently in preparation to provide open access to the described assessment results and to illustrate the added value for society.

Last modified:
17/10/2018 13:54:24

Contacts

 

Dr. Kolja Kindler
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Tel.: +49 2203 601-4353

Clean Sky 2 Technology Evaluator

Clean Sky 2 Technology Evaluator: Im Kurs auf die Luftfahrt der Zukunft

Clean Sky 2

Freitag, 28. September 2018

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • Clean Sky 2
    Clean Sky 2

    Innerhalb des Clean Sky Forschungsprogramms prüft und bewertet der Technology Evaluator alle Technologiebeiträge.

Mit dem Forschungsrahmenprogramm Clean Sky 2 hat im Jahr 2014 die erfolgreiche Forschungskooperation von Industrieunternehmen und Forschungseinrichtungen aus Clean Sky (2008-2017) ihre ambitionierte Fortsetzung gefunden. Die Akteure haben sich zum Ziel gesetzt, einen wesentlichen Beitrag zur Steigerung der Nachhaltigkeit des Luftverkehrs zu leisten. Mit der Förderung multidisziplinärer Kooperation und der Fokussierung auf die Langfristentwicklung des Luftverkehrssektors sollen vor diesem Hintergrund Technologieinnovationen erforscht und erprobt werden, die im Einklang mit den Zielen der europäischen Luftfahrtvision "Flightpath 2050" und der Forschungs- und Innovationsagenda "SRIA" (Strategic Research and Innovation Agenda) stehen. Das europäische Forum für Luftfahrtforschung "ACARE" (Advisory Council for Aviation Research and Innovation in Europe) hat in diesem Zusammenhang wesentliche Leitlinien für die Zukunft gesetzt. Gegenüber dem Jahr 2000 sollen die CO2-Emissionen des Luftverkehrs bis zum Jahr 2050 um 75 Prozent und die Lärmemissionen im Flughafenumfeld um 65 Prozent gesenkt werden. Für Reisezeiten von Tür-zu-Tür innerhalb Europas wird zudem eine maximale Reisedauer von vier Stunden angestrebt.

Clean Sky 2 erforscht und demonstriert zu diesem Zweck Einzeltechnologien und neuartige Vehikelkonzepte, die einen vielversprechenden Beitrag leisten um die vorweg genannten Ziele zu erreichen. Neben der Einbindung in diverse Technologie- und Demonstratorplattformen leitet das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) als Teil dieser Initiative den Technology Evaluator. Damit laufen im DLR alle Fäden zusammen, um die Technologiebeiträge auf Vehikelebene, auf Flughafenebene und auf Flottenebene analysieren und bewerten zu können. Die Betrachtung umfasst zudem alle relevanten Kategorien der zivilen Luftfahrt, darunter Langstreckenflugzeuge, Regionalflugzeuge und schnelle Drehflügler, und erfolgt in ganzheitlicher und mehrdimensionaler Hinsicht.

Nachhaltige Innovationsimpulse

In diesem Kontext stehen Reduktionspotentiale für CO2- und Nox-Emissionen also auch Auswirkungen auf die lokale Luftqualität sowie die globale Klimawirksamkeit des Luftverkehrs im Mittelpunkt. Darüber hinaus widmet sich der Technology Evaluator dem sozio-ökonomischen Mehrwert des Luftverkehrs. Beschäftigungs- und Wertschöpfungseffekte sowie die möglichen Verbesserungen im Bereich von Mobilität und Konnektivität, die auch im "Flightpath 2050" eine wichtige Rolle spielen, werden bis zum Jahr 2035 auf Basis von eigenen Luftverkehrsprognosen segmentspezifisch berechnet. Für den Langfristhorizont bis zum Jahr 2050 erfolgt eine weitere Einschätzung der Entwicklung über Szenarien. Mittels Bewertung der technologischen Potentiale, die sich durch die Clean Sky 2-Arbeiten eröffnen, legt der Technology Evaluator in diesem Zusammenhang großen Wert auf die präzise Einschätzung der Entwicklung des gesamten Luftfahrtsystems um die Resultate realitätsgetreu bewerten zu können. Veränderte Rahmenbedingungen wie beispielsweise in Form von Kapazitätsengpässen oder verbesserte Nutzungsmöglichkeiten von alternativen Energiequellen für den Luftverkehr spielen hierbei eine große Rolle.

Transparenz

Insgesamt steht bei den umfassenden Betrachtungen der Beitrag des Clean Sky 2 Programms zur Steigerung der Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der europäischen Luftfahrtindustrie im Vordergrund. Mit einem Projektvolumen von vier Milliarden Euro und einer Beteiligung von mehr als 500 Partnern gilt das Programm bereits jetzt als unverzichtbarer Treiber für Innovation und Kooperation. Der Technology Evaluator hat diesen Führungsanspruch auch auf weitere Bereiche der Forschung übertragen. So ist ein eigenes Informationssystem vorgesehen, das die Ergebnisse der DLR-Technologiebewertung auch der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich und den gesellschaftlichen Mehrwert sichtbar machen soll.

Zuletzt geändert am:
15.10.2018 11:34:53 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Dr. Kolja Kindler
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Vorstandsbereich Luftfahrt

Tel.: +49 2203 601-4353