+++ At DLR, we are always looking for bright minds – even during the current exceptional circumstances. Our current vacancies can be found here. +++

Bookmark
Student placement

Prototype Development for Tracking First Responders

Starting date

1 july 2020

Duration of contract

6 months

Remuneration

up to the German TVöD 5

Type of employment

Part-time

"Cutting-edge research requires excellent minds – particularly more females – at all levels. Launch your mission with us and send in your application now!" Prof. Pascale Ehrenfreund - Chair of the DLR Executive Board

In indoor emergency situations, such as a building on fire, usually the first responders arrive by emergency vehicles and small teams of them enter the building without knowing the floorplan. At the same time, the commander of the first responders on sight needs to know the positions of the first responders in the building to coordinate their actions. Therefore, DLR developed a pedestrian dead reckoning (PDR) solution based on inertial measurements with a sensor located on the foot or inside the pocket. The PDR solution enables indoor navigation, where GNSS navigation is difficult, erroneous and often totally fails. Combining the PDR solution with a simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM) algorithm, the first responder can be accurately located within a learned map of the environment while walking. The SLAM algorithm processes the individual tracks at the central command to learn the map more precisely and visualize the first responders’ positions accurately for coordination. Hence, the PDR positions have to be communicated reliably to the central command.
The complete wearable PDR system shall be integrated into a small prototype that has the size of a “cigarette box”. It includes the inertial sensor, a CPU/microcontroller for the PDR algorithm, GNSS and a communication unit. The prototype shall be light weight, small size and consume little power.

Your task is to test for the prototype different commercially available CPU/microcontroller boards and communication units that are already or can be combined with inertial/GNSS sensors.

In detail, your tasks are:

  • prepare and test existing CPU/microcontroller boards for performing the PDR. Candidates are for instance Arduino based solutions or a Raspberry Pi in combination with microE boards
  • research extensively possible solutions of existing communication technologies that are candidates for communicating position information of first responders with an excellent building penetration. Examples are WLAN, BLE, LTE Cat M1, LTE NB-IoT, Sigfox and LoRa
  • build up and test the hardware and program suitable input/output-interfaces for data transmission
  • test and compare candidate communication technologies, i.e. highlight differences in performance and analyze advantages/disadvantages with particular focus on robustness and reliable transmission with quasi error free transmission of the pedestrians’ position.

Your qualifications:

  • excellent knowledge of communication theory
  • excellent knowledge in programming (JAVA, C, Python)
  • extensive hands on experience with experimental hardware platforms, e.g. Raspberry PI or Arduino
  • good mathematical/signal-processing background
  • independent working

Your benefits:

Look forward to a fulfilling job with an employer who appreciates your commitment and supports your personal and professional development. Our unique infrastructure offers you a working environment in which you have unparalled scope to develop your creative ideas and accomplish your professional objectives. Our human resources policy places great value on a healthy family and work-life-balance as well as equal opportunities for persons of all genders (m/f/non-binary). Individuals with disabilities will be given preferential consideration in the event their qualifications are equivalent to those of other candidates.

  • Apply online now
  • You can send this job advertisement via e-mail and complete your application on a personal computer or laptop.

    We need your digital application documents (PDF). The document upload function is not supported by all mobile devices. Please complete your application on a PC/laptop.

    Complete application on PC

Technical contact

Dr.-Ing. Susanna Kaiser
Institute of Communications and Navigation

Phone: +49 8153 28-2862

Send message

Vacancy 49113

HR department Oberpfaffenhofen

Send message

DLR site Oberpfaffenhofen

To location

DLR Institute of Communications and Navigation

To institute

+++ Wir suchen immer kluge Köpfe für das DLR – auch in dieser besonderen Lage. Unsere aktuellen Stellenangebote finden Sie hier. +++

Früher wollte ich neue Wege entdecken. Heute bin ich Forscherin beim DLR

Bookmark
Studentische Tätigkeit

Entwicklung eines Prototyps für das Tracken von Einsatzkräften

Beginn

1. Juli 2020

Dauer

6 Monate

Vergütung

bis Entgeltgruppe 5 TVöD

Beschäftigungsgrad

Teilzeit

In Notfallszenarien in Gebäuden wie z.B. im Brandfall erreichen Rettungskräfte den Einsatzort in  Einsatzwagen und kleine Teams betreten das Gebäude ohne die Kenntnis eines Gebäudeplans. Zur gleichen Zeit benötigt der Kommandant das Wissen über die Positionen der Einsatzkräfte innerhalb des Gebäudes, um die Aktionen des Teams zu koordinieren. Für diesen Zweck hat das DLR ein Fußgängernavigationssystem (Pedestrian Dead Reckoning-PDR) entwickelt, welches auf den Daten eines mitzuführenden Inertial-Sensors basiert, der am Fuß oder in der Hosentasche befestigt wird. Diese PDR-Lösung ermöglicht die Navigation in Gebäuden, in denen GNSS-Navigation schwierig ist und fehlerhaft sein bzw. ausfallen kann. Kombiniert man die PDR-Lösung mit einem sogenannten SLAM-Verfahren (Simultaneous Localization and Mapping), kann die Rettungskraft sehr genau während dem Laufen innerhalb der erlernten Karte lokalisiert werden. Das SLAM-Verfahren prozessiert die individuellen Tracks in einer Zentraleinheit, um die Karte zu verfeinern und die Positionen der Einsatzkräfte für den Koordinator zu visualisieren. Daher müssen die Positionen zuverlässig an die Befehlszentrale übertragen werden. Das PDR System soll in einem tragbaren, kleinen Prototyp integriert werden, welches die Größe einer Zigarettenschachtel haben soll. Dieser Prototyp beinhaltet den Inertial-Sensor, eine Mini-CPU bzw. einen Microkontroller für das Ausführen des PDR-Algorithmus und eine Kommunikationseinheit. Der Prototyp soll von kleiner Größe und möglichst leicht sein, und wenig Energie verbrauchen.

Ihre Aufgabe ist das Austesten verschiedener kommerziell verfügbarer CPU/Mikrocontroller-Boards und Kommunikationseinheiten für den Prototyp, die mit einem Inertial-Sensor und GNSS-Sensor kombiniert werden können.

Im Einzelnen sind Ihre Aufgaben:

  • Testen und bereiten Sie existierende CPU/Mikrocontroller-Boards für das Ausführen des PDR-Algorithmus vor. Kandidaten sind z.B. Arduino basierte Lösungen oder ein Raspberry Pi in Kombination mit microE-Boards
  • Erforschen Sie ausführlich mögliche Lösungen existierender Kommunikations-Technologien, welche Kandidaten für das Übertragen der Positionsinformationen der Einsatzkräfte mit einer exzellenten Gebäudedurchdringung sind. Beispiele sind WLAN, BLE, LTE Cat M1, LTE NB-IoT, Sigfox und LoRa
  • Bauen Sie die Hardware zum Test auf und programmieren Sie geeignete Input/Output Schnittstellen für die Datenübertragung
  • Testen und vergleichen Sie die Kommunikations-Technologien, d.h. beleuchten Sie Unterschiede in Leistung und analysieren Sie Vor- und Nachteile im Hinblick auf Robustheit und zuverlässiger Übertragung bei der Übertragung der Fußgängerpositionen

Ihre Qualifikation:

  • exzellentes Wissen im Bereich der Kommunikations-Theorie
  • exzellentes Wissen im Bereich der Programmierung (JAVA, C, Python)
  • umfassende praktische Erfahrung mit Hardware Plattformen, z.B. Raspberry PI oder Arduino
  • gute Hintergründe in mathematischer/Signalverarbeitung
  • unabhängiges Arbeiten

Ihr Start:

Freuen Sie sich auf einen Arbeitgeber, der Ihr Engagement zu schätzen weiß und Ihre Entwicklung durch vielfältige Qualifizierungs- und Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten fördert. Unser einzigartiges Arbeitsumfeld bietet Ihnen Gestaltungsfreiräume und eine unvergleichbare Infrastruktur, in der Sie Ihre Mission verwirklichen können. Vereinbarkeit von Privatleben, Familie und Beruf sowie Chancengleichheit von Personen aller Geschlechter (m/w/d) sind wichtiger Bestandteil unserer Personalpolitik. Bewerbungen schwerbehinderter Menschen bevorzugen wir bei fachlicher Eignung.

  • Jetzt online bewerben
  • Sie können sich diese Stellenanzeige per E-Mail zusenden und Ihre Bewerbung am stationären Computer oder Laptop erstellen.

    Wir benötigen Ihre digitalen Bewerbungsunterlagen (PDF). Die Übermittlung wird von einigen Mobilgeräten nicht standardmäßig unterstützt. Bitte erstellen Sie Ihre Bewerbung an einem PC/Laptop.

    Bewerbung am PC erstellen

Fachliche/r Ansprechpartner/in

Dr.-Ing. Susanna Kaiser
Institut für Kommunikation und Navigation

Tel.: +49 8153 28-2862

Nachricht senden

Kennziffer 49113

Personalbetreuung Oberpfaffenhofen

Nachricht senden

DLR-Standort Oberpfaffenhofen

zum Standort

DLR-Institut für Kommunikation und Navigation

zum Institut