+++ At DLR, we are always looking for bright minds – even during the current exceptional circumstances. Our current vacancies can be found here. +++

Bookmark
Scientific activities / projects

Development and implementation of new optical remote sensing techniques

Starting date

1. September 2020

Duration of contract

zunächst befristet auf 3 Jahre

Remuneration

bis Entgeltgruppe 13 TVöD

Type of employment

Full-time (part-time possible)

"Cutting-edge research requires excellent minds – particularly more females – at all levels. Launch your mission with us and send in your application now!" Prof. Pascale Ehrenfreund - Chair of the DLR Executive Board

The Institute for Solar-Terrestrial Physics develops and investigates new systems and methods for the observation and modelling of near-Earth space weather. Disturbances in the ionosphere can cause operational disturbances of satellite missions and modern communication, navigation and remote sensing systems. For this reason, the global ionospheric weather has been observed, investigated and modelled in Neustrelitz for years. Due to the complex coupling mechanisms between the thermosphere, ionosphere and magnetosphere and the sparse data coverage in the thermosphere and magnetosphere, the prediction of ionospheric disturbances is a particularly challenging task. A core element of the work is the determination of the state of the upper atmosphere with suitable measurement systems. 

Your mission is to develop and implement new optical remote sensing techniques for probing of the neutral upper atmosphere (200-1.500 km altitude). Your work will contribute to improving the measurement capabilities applicable to this region of earth’s atmosphere, which so far are mostly limited to in situ observations performed by satellites and sounding rockets.

During the first 1.5 to 2 years you will be working at the DLR Institute of Atmospheric Physics (IPA) in Oberpfaffenhofen. As a first step, you will use existing equipment and infrastructure at IPA to test various methods and techniques in close collaboration with IPA scientists and engineers. In further steps, you will design and build a prototype instrument at IPA. After the successful demonstration, you will relocate the instrument to the Institute for Solar-Terrestrial Physics and commence regular observations in Neustrelitz. In addition, you will organize and conduct measurement campaigns at various locations both domestic and abroad. You will analyze the acquired data, discuss science questions with the experts at the Institute for Solar-Terrestrial Physics, and publish results in international scientific journals. It is also your responsibility to maintain the instrument and keep its capabilities at the forefront of remote sensing through continuous upgrades and improvements.

Your qualifications:

  • completed scientific university studies (diploma/master) in physics, geophysics, mathematics, electrical engineering or a comparable course of studies
  • Doctorate or comparable proof of scientific qualification in experimental physics
  • profound knowledge in atmospheric physics and in particular the physics of the middle and upper atmosphere including relevant publications (at least one peer-reviewed publication as first author in the field of middle/upper atmosphere physics)
  • profound experience in the analysis of measurement data and the application of data science methods to large data sets (preferably with Matlab or IDL, Python)
  • experience with CAD systems (preferably Catia and/or Solid Works) and with the mechanical design of measuring instrumentation including stress analysis
  • knowledge in optics and in the application of optical remote sensing techniques for probing of the middle and upper atmosphere
  • experience with the organization and implementation of measurement campaigns at remote locations
  • good self-organization and a high level of independent initiative in the handling of complex technical and scientific issues
  • very good English language skills, both written and spoken; German language skills are advantageous

Your benefits:

Look forward to a fulfilling job with an employer who appreciates your commitment and supports your personal and professional development. Our unique infrastructure offers you a working environment in which you have unparalled scope to develop your creative ideas and accomplish your professional objectives. Our human resources policy places great value on a healthy family and work-life-balance as well as equal opportunities for persons of all genders (m/f/non-binary). Individuals with disabilities will be given preferential consideration in the event their qualifications are equivalent to those of other candidates.

  • Apply online now
  • You can send this job advertisement via e-mail and complete your application on a personal computer or laptop.

    We need your digital application documents (PDF). The document upload function is not supported by all mobile devices. Please complete your application on a PC/laptop.

    Complete application on PC

Technical contact

Dr. rer. nat. Claudia Borries
Phone: +49 3981 480 215

Send message

Vacancy 49427

HR department Berlin

Send message

DLR site Neustrelitz

To location

Institute for Solar-Terrestrial Physics

To institute

Früher wollte ich neue Wege entdecken. Heute bin ich Forscherin beim DLR

Bookmark
Wissenschaftliche Tätigkeit / Projektarbeit

Entwicklung und Implementierung neuer optischer Fernerkundungstechniken

Beginn

1. September 2020

Dauer

zunächst befristet auf 3 Jahre

Vergütung

bis Entgeltgruppe 13 TVöD

Beschäftigungsgrad

Vollzeit (Teilzeit möglich)

"Spitzenforschung braucht auf allen Ebenen exzellente Köpfe - besonders noch mehr weibliche! Starten Sie bei uns, wir freuen uns auf Ihre Bewerbung" Ihre Prof. Dr. Pascale Ehrenfreund - Vorsitzende des Vorstands

Das Institut für Solar-Terrestrische Physik entwickelt und untersucht neue Systeme und Methoden zur Beobachtung und Modellierung des erdnahen Weltraumwetters. Störungen in der Ionosphäre können Betriebsstörungen von Satellitenmissionen und modernen Kommunikations-, Navigations- und Fernerkundungssystemen verursachen. Aus diesem Grund wird bereits seit Jahren in Neustrelitz das globale Ionosphärenwetter beobachtet, untersucht und modelliert. Wegen der komplexen Kopplungsmechanismen zwischen der Thermosphäre, Ionosphäre und Magnetosphäre und der sehr dünnen Datenabdeckung in der Thermosphäre und Magnetosphäre, ist die Vorhersage ionosphärischer Störungen eine besonders herausfordernde Aufgabe. Ein Kernelement der Arbeit ist die Bestimmung des Zustands der oberen Atmosphäre mit geeigneten Messsystemen. 

Ihre Mission ist die Entwicklung und Implementierung neuer optischer Fernerkundungstechniken zur Sondierung der neutralen oberen Atmosphäre (200-1500 km Höhe). Ihre Arbeit wird dazu beitragen, die für diese Region der Erdatmosphäre anwendbaren Messmöglichkeiten zu verbessern, die bisher meist auf In-situ-Beobachtungen durch Satelliten und Höhenforschungsraketen beschränkt sind.

In den ersten 1,5 bis 2 Jahren werden Sie am DLR-Institut für Physik der Atmosphäre (IPA) in Oberpfaffenhofen arbeiten. In einem ersten Schritt werden Sie die am IPA vorhandene Ausrüstung und Infrastruktur nutzen, um in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Wissenschaftlern/Wissenschaftlerinnen und Ingenieuren/Ingenieurinnen des IPA verschiedene Methoden und Techniken zu testen. In weiteren Schritten entwerfen und bauen Sie am IPA ein Prototypinstrument. Nach der erfolgreichen Demonstration verlagern Sie das Gerät an das Institut für Solar-Terrestrische Physik und beginnen mit den regelmäßigen Beobachtungen in Neustrelitz. Darüber hinaus werden Sie Messkampagnen an verschiedenen Standorten im In- und Ausland organisieren und durchführen. Sie werden die gewonnenen Daten analysieren, wissenschaftliche Fragen mit den Experten des Instituts für Solar-Terrestrische Physik diskutieren und die Ergebnisse in internationalen Fachzeitschriften veröffentlichen. Es liegt auch in Ihrer Verantwortung, das Instrument zu warten und seine Fähigkeiten durch kontinuierliche Ergänzung und Verbesserungen wettbewerbsfähig zu halten.

Ihre Qualifikation:

  • abgeschlossenes wissenschaftliches Hochschulstudium (universitäres Diplom/Master) in Physik, Geophysik, Mathematik, Elektrotechnik oder einer vergleichbaren Fachrichtung
  • Promotion oder vergleichbarer Nachweis einer wissenschaftlichen Qualifizierung in experimenteller Physik
  • Kenntnisse in Atmosphärenphysik, insbesondere im Bereich der mittleren und oberen Atmosphäre, sowie deren Nachweis in relevanten Publikationen (mindestens eine peer-reviewed Publikation im Bereich mittlere/obere Atmosphäre als Erstautor)
  • Kenntnisse in der Auswertung von Messdaten und der Anwendung von Methoden aus der Datenwissenschaft auf große Datensätze (vorzugsweise mit Matlab oder IDL, Phython)
  • Erfahrung mit CAD Systemen (vorzugsweise Catia oder Solid Works) und im Bereich mechanische Konstruktion und Stressanalyse von Bauteilen
  • Kenntnisse im Bereich Optik und der Anwendung von optischer Fernerkundung zur Untersuchung der mittleren- und oberen Atmosphäre
  • Erfahrung in der Organisation und Durchführung von Messkampagnen an entlegenen Orten
  • sehr gute Englischkenntnisse in Wort und Schrift
  • gute Selbstorganisation und ein hoher Grad von Eigeninitiative bei der Bewältigung von komplexen technischen und wissenschaftlichen Problemen von Vorteil

Ihr Start:

Freuen Sie sich auf einen Arbeitgeber, der Ihr Engagement zu schätzen weiß und Ihre Entwicklung durch vielfältige Qualifizierungs- und Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten fördert. Unser einzigartiges Arbeitsumfeld bietet Ihnen Gestaltungsfreiräume und eine unvergleichbare Infrastruktur, in der Sie Ihre Mission verwirklichen können. Vereinbarkeit von Privatleben, Familie und Beruf sowie Chancengleichheit von Personen aller Geschlechter (m/w/d) sind wichtiger Bestandteil unserer Personalpolitik. Bewerbungen schwerbehinderter Menschen bevorzugen wir bei fachlicher Eignung.

  • Jetzt online bewerben
  • Sie können sich diese Stellenanzeige per E-Mail zusenden und Ihre Bewerbung am stationären Computer oder Laptop erstellen.

    Wir benötigen Ihre digitalen Bewerbungsunterlagen (PDF). Die Übermittlung wird von einigen Mobilgeräten nicht standardmäßig unterstützt. Bitte erstellen Sie Ihre Bewerbung an einem PC/Laptop.

    Bewerbung am PC erstellen

Fachliche/r Ansprechpartner/in

Dr. rer. nat. Claudia Borries
Tel.: +49 3981 480 215

Nachricht senden

Kennziffer 49427

Personalbetreuung Berlin

Nachricht senden

DLR-Standort Neustrelitz

zum Standort

DLR-Institut für Solar-Terrestrische Physik

zum Institut