Bookmark
Scientific activities / projects

Development of data science methods of climate informatics, in particular causality detection

Starting date

1 December 2018

Duration of contract

3 years

Remuneration

up to German TVöD 13

Type of employment

Full-time

"Cutting-edge research requires excellent minds – particularly more females – at all levels. Launch your mission with us and send in your application now!" Prof. Pascale Ehrenfreund - Chair of the DLR Executive Board

Your mission:

The German Aerospace Center (DLR) and Friedrich-Schiller-University (FSU) Jena in collaboration with the Max-Planck Institute for Biogeochemistry established a research group on Climate Informatics at the new DLR Institute of Data Science in Jena, Germany. Climate Informatics is a challenging and promising research field where a concentrated effort will have a high impact both to advance science and to address climate change topics of critical importance for the society.

The group develops innovative data science methods and closely works with experts in the climate sciences. The core methodological topics include graphical models, causal inference, nonlinear time series analysis, and deep learning via a close collaboration with the machine learning group at FSU Jena. But the methods are flexible and open for your ideas!

Your tasks:

  • development of data science algorithms for causal inference
  • application of methods on observed and simulated Earth system data
  • publication of results in peer-reviewed journals
  • presentation of results on national and international conferences

To support your international research experience, all positions have a generous travel budget for conferences and extended research stays. Currently, we have collaborators at Imperial College London, Oxford, Carnegie Mellon University, National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR), and California Institute of Technology.
 

Your qualifications:

  • Master or PhD in (applied) mathematics, statistics, computer science, physics, or data science
  • creativity and strong motivation to develop new algorithms and learning paradigms for using machine learning for climate science applications
  • practical knowledge of the current state-of-the-art in machine learning
  • desire and ability to work in an interdisciplinary team
  • commitment and dedication to develop robust, working systems
  • fluency in written and oral English
  • strong programming expertise in Python and general knowledge in computer science

Your benefits:

Look forward to a fulfilling job with an employer who appreciates your commitment and supports your personal and professional development. Our unique infrastructure offers you a working environment in which you have unparalled scope to develop your creative ideas and accomplish your professional objectives. Our human resources policy puts great value on a healthy work-life balance as well as equal opportunities for men and women. Individuals with disabilities will be given preferential consideration in the event their qualifications are equivalent to those of other candidates.

  • Apply online now
  • You can send this job advertisement via e-mail and complete your application on a personal computer or laptop.

    We need your digital application documents (PDF). The document upload function is not supported by all mobile devices. Please complete your application on a PC/laptop.

    Complete application on PC

Technical contact

Dr. Jakob Runge
Institute of Data Science

Phone: +49 2203 601-3770

Send message

Vacancy 26542

HR department Berlin

Send message

DLR site Jena

DLR Institute of Data Science

To institute

Bookmark
Wissenschaftliche Tätigkeit / Projektarbeit

Entwicklung von Data Science Methoden der Klimainformatik, inbesondere zur Kausalitätsdetektion

Beginn

1. Dezember 2018

Dauer

3 Jahre

Vergütung

Entgeltgruppe 13 TVöD

Beschäftigungsgrad

Vollzeit

"Spitzenforschung braucht auf allen Ebenen exzellente Köpfe - besonders noch mehr weibliche! Starten Sie bei uns, wir freuen uns auf Ihre Bewerbung" Ihre Prof. Dr. Pascale Ehrenfreund - Vorsitzende des Vorstands

Ihre Mission:

Den thematischen Schwerpunkt der Forschung im Institut für Datenwissenschaften in Jena bilden Arbeiten im Bereich Datenmanagement sowie die Analyse und Verarbeitung von großen und heterogenen Datenmengen. Die Arbeiten ergänzen zum einen etablierte Forschungsgebiete in den DLR-Instituten und erweitern zum anderen die Kernkompetenzen des DLR. Das Institut für Datenwissenschaften baut auf eine ausgeprägte interne Vernetzung mit DLR-Instituten auf und trägt in enger Kooperation mit regionalen Forschungs- und Industriepartnern zu Lösungen für die vielschichtigen Herausforderungen der Themen Big Data, IT-Sicherheit, Citizen Science und Smart Systems bei.

Im Rahmen der Arbeitsgruppe "Climate Informatics" werden innovative Data Science Methoden aus dem Bereich der Kausalen Inferenz und Deep Learning zur Analyse von Erdsystemdaten (Beobachtungsdaten und Erdsystemmodelldaten) entwickelt.

Die methodologischen Kernthemen der Gruppe umfassen graphische Modelle, kausale Inferenzalgorithmen, nichtlineare Zeitreihenanalyse und Deep Learning. Dabei wird eng mit Klimawissenschaftlern zusammengearbeitet. Die Methoden sind jedoch flexibel und offen für Ihre Ideen!

Ihre Aufgaben beinhalten:

  • informatische Entwicklung von Data Science Algorithmen zur Detektion von möglichen Kausalitäten
  • Anwendung der Methoden auf Beobachtungsdaten und Erdsystemmodelldaten
  • wissenschafltiche Auswertung und Publikation der Ergebnisse in Fachzeitschriften
  • Präsentation der Ergebnisse auf nationalen und internationalen Konferenzen

Wir bieten sehr gut ausgestattete Stellen mit der Möglichkeit von mehrmonatigen Auslandsaufenthalten am Imperial College, Carnegie Mellon University, NCAR Boulder, Caltech und bei weiteren Kooperationspartnern.

Ihre Qualifikation:

  • abgeschlossenes wissenschaftliches Hochschulstudium (Diplom/Master) der Informatik, Statistik, Mathematik oder Physik
  • Erfahrung auf dem Gebiet maschinelles Lernen und statistischer Modelle
  • exzellente Programmierkenntnisse
  • Englisch fließend in Wort und Schrift
  • Kreativität und starke Motivation zur Entwicklung von neuen Data Science Methoden zur Anwendung in der Klimaforschung
  • Erfahrung in der statistischen Analyse von Erdsystemmodell- und Beobachtungsdaten ist von Vorteil

Ihr Start:

Freuen Sie sich auf einen Arbeitgeber, der Ihr Engagement zu schätzen weiß und Ihre Entwicklung durch vielfältige Qualifizierungs- und Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten fördert. Unser einzigartiges Arbeitsumfeld bietet Ihnen Gestaltungsfreiräume und eine unvergleichbare Infrastruktur, in der Sie Ihre Mission verwirklichen können. Vereinbarkeit von Privatleben, Familie und Beruf sowie Chancengleichheit von Frauen und Männern sind wichtiger Bestandteil unserer Personalpolitik. Schwerbehinderte Bewerberinnen und Bewerber bevorzugen wir bei fachlicher Eignung.

  • Jetzt online bewerben
  • Sie können sich diese Stellenanzeige per E-Mail zusenden und Ihre Bewerbung am stationären Computer oder Laptop erstellen.

    Wir benötigen Ihre digitalen Bewerbungsunterlagen (PDF). Die Übermittlung wird von einigen Mobilgeräten nicht standardmäßig unterstützt. Bitte erstellen Sie Ihre Bewerbung an einem PC/Laptop.

    Bewerbung am PC erstellen

Fachliche/r Ansprechpartner/in

Dr. Jakob Runge
Institut für Datenwissenschaften

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3770

Nachricht senden

Kennziffer 26542

Personalbetreuung Berlin

Nachricht senden

DLR-Standort Jena

zum Standort

DLR-Institut für Datenwissenschaften

zum Institut