Bookmark
PhD position

Terahertz spectroscopy with quantum-cascade lasers

Starting date

1 october 2019

Duration of contract

3 years

Remuneration

According to the German TVöD 13

Type of employment

Part-time

"Cutting-edge research requires excellent minds – particularly more females – at all levels. Launch your mission with us and send in your application now!" Prof. Pascale Ehrenfreund - Chair of the DLR Executive Board

People at the DLR Institute of Optical Sensor Systems investigate and develop active and passive optical sensor systems for satellites, flying platforms and robotic systems. Our vision is to develop autonomous optical sensor systems in analogy to and extension of the human visual perception. The sensor systems are developed for applications spanning the UV, visible, infrared and THz spectral range. In the department Terahertz and Laser Spectroscopy, innovative technologies and instruments are developed for the exploration of the terahertz spectral range. Today, terahertz systems are already used in several application fields. Imaging systems are routinely employed for security controls and spectroscopic systems allow for highly specific and sensitive detection of gases.

Your tasks:

You develop and investigate methods for high-resolution terahertz spectroscopy with quantum-cascade lasers. The task comprises the design, construction and evaluation of a spectrometer for broad-band molecular and solid state spectroscopy. In addition, you will be involved in the development of laser-based terahertz spectrometers for balloon and satellite missions.

You will be a member of the Helmholtz Research School on Security Technologies (HRSST). The mission of the Research School is to contribute to civil security by excellent research and by training and education of young researchers in technology fields which are highly relevant for civil security. The payment will be according to German TVÖD E13 or an equivalent scholarship by the HRSST.

Your working time will be 19,25 hours per week.

Your qualifications:

  • Master in physics with good or very good grades (Students close to earning their degree are also invited to apply)
  • laboratory experience
  • good written and oral English skills
  • a high motivation for scientific work
  • willingness to work in a multidisciplinary team

Your benefits:

Look forward to a fulfilling job with an employer who appreciates your commitment and supports your personal and professional development. Our unique infrastructure offers you a working environment in which you have unparalled scope to develop your creative ideas and accomplish your professional objectives. Our human resources policy places great value on a healthy family and work-life-balance as well as equal opportunities for persons of all genders (m/f/non-binary). Individuals with disabilities will be given preferential consideration in the event their qualifications are equivalent to those of other candidates.

  • Apply online now
  • You can send this job advertisement via e-mail and complete your application on a personal computer or laptop.

    We need your digital application documents (PDF). The document upload function is not supported by all mobile devices. Please complete your application on a PC/laptop.

    Complete application on PC

Technical contact

Prof. Dr. Heinz-Wilhelm Hübers
Institute of Optical Sensor Systems

Phone: +49 30 67055-596

Send message

Vacancy 39299

HR department Berlin

Send message

DLR site Berlin

To location

Institute of Optical Sensor Systems

To institute

Bookmark
Promotion

Terahertzspektroskopie mit Quantenkaskadenlasern

Beginn

1. August 2019

Dauer

3 Jahre

Vergütung

Entgeltgruppe 13 TVöD

Beschäftigungsgrad

Teilzeit

"Spitzenforschung braucht auf allen Ebenen exzellente Köpfe - besonders noch mehr weibliche! Starten Sie bei uns, wir freuen uns auf Ihre Bewerbung" Ihre Prof. Dr. Pascale Ehrenfreund - Vorsitzende des Vorstands

Menschen am DLR-Institut für Optische Sensorsysteme erforschen und entwickeln aktive und passive optische Sensorsysteme für die Raumfahrt, für fliegende Plattformen und für robotische Systeme. In der Abteilung Terahertz- und Laserspektroskopie werden innovative neue Technologien und Instrumente zur Erschließung des Terahertz-Spektralbereichs entwickelt und eingesetzt. Terahertz-Systeme kommen heute schon in verschiedenen Anwendungsfeldern zum Einsatz. Bildgebende Systeme werden zum Beispiel routinemäßig für Sicherheitskontrollen eingesetzt und mit spektroskopischen Systemen kann man unter anderem Gase spezifisch und mit hoher Empfindlichkeit detektieren („spektraler Fingerabdruck“).

Im Rahmen einer Promotion entwickeln und untersuchen Sie Methoden für hochauflösende Terahertz-Spektroskopie mit Quantenkaskadenlasern.

Die Aufgabe umfasst das Design, den Aufbau und die Evaluierung eines Spektrometers für breitbandige Molekül- und Festkörperspektroskopie. Darüber hinaus wirken Sie mit bei der Konzeption und dem Aufbau von laserbasierten Terahertz-Spektrometern im Rahmen von Ballon- und Satellitenmissionen.

Die Promotion erfolgt im Rahmen der Helmholtz Research School on Security Technologies (HRSST). Die Ziele der HRSST sind die Ausbildung junger Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler und die Förderung exzellenter Forschung auf technologischen Feldern, die für die zivile Sicherheit relevant sind.

Ihre Arbeitsleistung erbringen Sie in einem Umfang von 19,25 Std./Woche.

Ihre Qualifikation:

  • abgeschlossenes wissenschaftliches Hochschulstudium (Diplom/Master) in Physik mit guten oder sehr guten Noten (Studenten, die kurz vor dem Studienabschluss stehen, sind ebenfalls eingeladen, sich zu bewerben)
  • Laborerfahrung
  • gute Englischkenntnisse in Wort und Schrift
  • hohe Motivation zur wissenschaftlichen Arbeit
  • Bereitschaft zur Arbeit in einem multidisziplinären Team

Ihr Start:

Freuen Sie sich auf einen Arbeitgeber, der Ihr Engagement zu schätzen weiß und Ihre Entwicklung durch vielfältige Qualifizierungs- und Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten fördert. Unser einzigartiges Arbeitsumfeld bietet Ihnen Gestaltungsfreiräume und eine unvergleichbare Infrastruktur, in der Sie Ihre Mission verwirklichen können. Vereinbarkeit von Privatleben, Familie und Beruf sowie Chancengleichheit von Personen aller Geschlechter (m/w/d) sind wichtiger Bestandteil unserer Personalpolitik. Bewerbungen schwerbehinderter Menschen bevorzugen wir bei fachlicher Eignung.

  • Jetzt online bewerben
  • Sie können sich diese Stellenanzeige per E-Mail zusenden und Ihre Bewerbung am stationären Computer oder Laptop erstellen.

    Wir benötigen Ihre digitalen Bewerbungsunterlagen (PDF). Die Übermittlung wird von einigen Mobilgeräten nicht standardmäßig unterstützt. Bitte erstellen Sie Ihre Bewerbung an einem PC/Laptop.

    Bewerbung am PC erstellen

Fachliche/r Ansprechpartner/in

Prof. Dr. Heinz-Wilhelm Hübers
Institut für Optische Sensorsysteme

Tel.: +49 30 67055-596

Nachricht senden

Kennziffer 39299

Personalbetreuung Berlin

Nachricht senden

DLR-Standort Berlin

zum Standort

DLR-Institut für Optische Sensorsysteme

zum Institut