Bookmark
PhD position

Model error and uncertainty at the midlatitude tropopause using airborne lidar observations

Starting date

Immediatly

Duration of contract

3 years

Remuneration

According to the German 13 TVöD

Type of employment

Part-time

"Cutting-edge research requires excellent minds – particularly more females – at all levels. Launch your mission with us and send in your application now!" Prof. Pascale Ehrenfreund - Chair of the DLR Executive Board

The department “Lidar” at the DLR Institute of Atmospheric Physics develops ground-based, airborne and space-borne lidar systems and applies them for active remote sensing of key meteorological parameters and atmospheric trace gases to facilitate research in weather and climate as well as in air traffic safety. One of the fields of research is the application of airborne and space-borne lidar observations to study atmospheric dynamics, to identify gaps in our observation system and to demonstrate the relevance of these new observation types.

Prediction of the daily weather in mid-latitudes depends on correctly predicting the thermodynamic and dynamic structure of the tropopause and the Rossby waves that propagate along it. Recently, lidar measurements have shown significant errors in NWP models with respect to the strong gradients in wind, temperature and moisture that are found at the tropopause. Lidar and dropsonde profile observations taken during the North Atlantic Waveguide and Downstream Impact Experiment (NAWDEX, http://www.pa.op.dlr.de/nawdex/) provide a unique opportunity to investigate the representation of the tropopause in NWP models and study the impact on forecast error growth in the mid-latitudes in a combined approach using campaign data and ensemble methods.

The project is embedded in the Transregional Collaborative Research Center "Waves to Weather" (https://www.wavestoweather.de) of the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG, German Research Foundation) and will address the following topics:

  • Comparison of observations and model fields to quantify errors and to obtain a coherent view of their distribution near the tropopause.
  • Analysis of assimilation output from the ECMWF ensemble data assimilation system to investigate the impact of individual NAWDEX observations on the tropopause structure.
  • Study the temporal and spatial evolution of tropopause sharpness using state-of-the-art 3D visualization methods (in collaboration with colleagues at the University of Hamburg)
  • Application of ensemble sensitivity analysis (ESA) to study the role of the diagnosed analysis uncertainties for the downstream weather evolution and to investigate how physical processes impact the tropopause structure.

Your qualifications:

  • MSc in Meteorology, Physics, or other Geosciences
  • Some experience in the analysis of observational data and/or NWP data analysis and diagnostics
  • Very good knowledge of English
  • Experience with Unix, and statistical/visualisation software (e.g. python, IDL, MATLAB)

Your benefits:

Look forward to a fulfilling job with an employer who appreciates your commitment and supports your personal and professional development. Our unique infrastructure offers you a working environment in which you have unparalled scope to develop your creative ideas and accomplish your professional objectives. Our human resources policy places great value on a healthy family and work-life-balance as well as equal opportunities for persons of all genders (m/f/non-binary). Individuals with disabilities will be given preferential consideration in the event their qualifications are equivalent to those of other candidates.

  • Apply online now
  • You can send this job advertisement via e-mail and complete your application on a personal computer or laptop.

    We need your digital application documents (PDF). The document upload function is not supported by all mobile devices. Please complete your application on a PC/laptop.

    Complete application on PC

Technical contact

Dr. Andreas Schäfler
Phone: +49 8153 28-2719

Send message

Vacancy 41353

HR department Oberpfaffenhofen

Send message

DLR site Oberpfaffenhofen

To location

DLR Institute of Atmospheric Physics

To institute

Bookmark
Promotion

Untersuchung von Modellfehlern und Unsicherheiten an der Tropopause mit Hilfe flugzeuggetragener Lidarbeobachtungen

Beginn

ab sofort

Dauer

3 Jahre

Vergütung

bis Entgeltgruppe 13 TVöD

Beschäftigungsgrad

Teilzeit

"Spitzenforschung braucht auf allen Ebenen exzellente Köpfe - besonders noch mehr weibliche! Starten Sie bei uns, wir freuen uns auf Ihre Bewerbung" Ihre Prof. Dr. Pascale Ehrenfreund - Vorsitzende des Vorstands

Die Abteilung LIDAR entwickelt bodengestützte, flugzeuggetragene und im Weltraum operierende Lidar-Systeme und betreibt sie zur aktiven Fernerkundung wichtiger meteorologischer Parameter und atmosphärischer Spurengase, die der Erforschung des Wetters und Klimas dienen. Zu den zentralen Anwendungsfeldern der Lidarbeobachtungen zählen Fragestellungen der atmosphärischen Dynamik, die Identifikation von Lücken im globalen Beobachtungssystem und die Demonstration des Nutzens neuer Beobachtungstypen.

Die Vorhersagbarkeit des Wetters in den mittleren Breiten hängt stark von einer korrekten Vorhersage der thermodynamischen und dynamischen Struktur der Tropopause und der Ausbreitung von Rossybwellen ab. Mit Hilfe von flugzeuggetragenen Lidarmessungen konnten kürzlich signifikante Fehler in numerischen Wettervorhersagemodellen in Bezug auf starke Gradienten des Winds, der Temperatur und der Feuchte an der Tropopause aufgezeigt werden. Lidar und Dropsondenprofile, die während der Forschungskampagne North Atlantic Waveguide and Downstream Impact Experiment (NAWDEX, http://www.pa.op.dlr.de/nawdex/) gemessen wurden, stellen eine einzigartige Gelegenheit dar, die Repräsentation der Tropopause in numerischen Modellen zu untersuchen.

Dieses Promotionsprojekt ist Teil des von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft geförderten Transregio Waves2Weather (https://www.wavestoweather.de)). Das Projekt wird mit Hilfe einer kombinierten Verwendung von Messdaten und Ensemblemethoden den Einfluss von Fehlern an der Tropopause auf das Wachstum von Vorhersagefehlern in den mittleren Breiten erforschen. Dazu werden folgende Themen bearbeitet:

  • Vergleich von Beobachtungen mit Modellfeldern um Fehler an der Tropopause zu quantifizieren.
  • Analyse von Daten des Datenassimilationssystems des Europäischen Zentrums für mittelfristige Wettervorhersage (EZMW) um den Einfluss der Beobachtungen auf die Tropopausenstruktur zu untersuchen.
  • Untersuchung der zeitlichen und räumlichen Variabilität der Tropopausenschärfe mit neuartigen 3D Visualisierungsmethoden (Kooperation mit der Universität Hamburg).
  • Test der Auswirkungen diagnostizierter Fehler auf die stromabwärtige Wetterentwicklung sowie der Auswirkungen physikalischer Prozesse auf die Tropopausenstruktur mit Hilfe der Methode der Ensemble Sensitivitätsanalyse.

Ihre Qualifikation:

  • MSc in Meteorologie, Physik, oder einer anderen Erdwissenschaft
  • Grundlegende Erfahrung in der Analyse von Beobachtungsdaten und/oder Daten von Wettermodellen
  • sehr gute Englischkenntnisse
  • Erfahrung mit Unix, und einer Statistik/Visualierungssoftware (z.B. python, IDL, MATLAB)

Ihr Start:

Freuen Sie sich auf einen Arbeitgeber, der Ihr Engagement zu schätzen weiß und Ihre Entwicklung durch vielfältige Qualifizierungs- und Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten fördert. Unser einzigartiges Arbeitsumfeld bietet Ihnen Gestaltungsfreiräume und eine unvergleichbare Infrastruktur, in der Sie Ihre Mission verwirklichen können. Vereinbarkeit von Privatleben, Familie und Beruf sowie Chancengleichheit von Personen aller Geschlechter (m/w/d) sind wichtiger Bestandteil unserer Personalpolitik. Bewerbungen schwerbehinderter Menschen bevorzugen wir bei fachlicher Eignung.

  • Jetzt online bewerben
  • Sie können sich diese Stellenanzeige per E-Mail zusenden und Ihre Bewerbung am stationären Computer oder Laptop erstellen.

    Wir benötigen Ihre digitalen Bewerbungsunterlagen (PDF). Die Übermittlung wird von einigen Mobilgeräten nicht standardmäßig unterstützt. Bitte erstellen Sie Ihre Bewerbung an einem PC/Laptop.

    Bewerbung am PC erstellen

Fachliche/r Ansprechpartner/in

Dr. Andreas Schäfler
Tel.: +49 8153 28-2719

Nachricht senden

Kennziffer 41353

Personalbetreuung Oberpfaffenhofen

Nachricht senden

DLR-Standort Oberpfaffenhofen

zum Standort

DLR-Institut für Physik der Atmosphäre

zum Institut