Bookmark
PhD position

Quantum Memories suited for Space

Starting date

1 August 2019

Duration of contract

3 years

Remuneration

According to the German 13 TVöD

Type of employment

Part-time

"Cutting-edge research requires excellent minds – particularly more females – at all levels. Launch your mission with us and send in your application now!" Prof. Pascale Ehrenfreund - Chair of the DLR Executive Board

The Institute of Optical Sensor Systems investigates and develops active and passive optical sensor systems for satellites, flying platforms and robotic systems. The institute is participating in the scientific analysis of the resulting data. It is involved in numerous national and international cooperations.

Photonic quantum memories are so far missing key components for the second quantum revolution and enable a plethora of novel applications. For example, quantum networks promise not only physical instead of algorithmic security in communication but also the possibility for connecting quantum computers and simulators for calculations and simulations on distributed machines.

The recently founded Group on Physical Foundations of IT-Security focuses on the one hand on the development of non-classical light sources and quantum memories for single photons. On the other hand, security-relevant applications of these key components in the emerging quantum technologies are explored. Most prominent, quantum secured communication and optical computation in the quantum and classical regime are in the research focus.

At the beginning of the PhD work, a quantum memory for single photons in alkaline vapor at room temperature is built and optimized with respect to noise, efficiency, bandwidth and storage time. Special remark is on the suitability of the used components for future airborne and space missions. Later, the memory is tested in first applications.

To support our dynamic team, we are looking for a highly motivated student with first experiences in experimental quantum optics or atomic physics to realize a quantum memory experiment and to develop tools and methods for optimizing the memory.

Please send a letter of motivation summarizing your qualification and academic interests, a complete CV and transcription of grades/diplomas. Letters of recommendation from previous supervisors and mentors will be considered. In case of questions, contact janik.wolters@dlr.de.

Your working time will be 19,25 hours per week.

Your qualifications:

  • Master or equivalent degree in physics or closely related fields
  • Experience with experimental optics
  • Profound knowledge in theoretical physics
  • Quantum optics experience is advantageous
  • Programming skills for data analysis and experimental control
  • Capacity for teamwork

Your benefits:

Look forward to a fulfilling job with an employer who appreciates your commitment and supports your personal and professional development. Our unique infrastructure offers you a working environment in which you have unparalled scope to develop your creative ideas and accomplish your professional objectives. Our human resources policy places great value on a healthy family and work-life-balance as well as equal opportunities for persons of all genders (m/f/non-binary). Individuals with disabilities will be given preferential consideration in the event their qualifications are equivalent to those of other candidates.

  • Apply online now
  • You can send this job advertisement via e-mail and complete your application on a personal computer or laptop.

    We need your digital application documents (PDF). The document upload function is not supported by all mobile devices. Please complete your application on a PC/laptop.

    Complete application on PC

Technical contact

Prof. Janik Wolters
Institute of Optical Sensor Systems

Phone: +49 30 67055-7906

Send message

Vacancy 40861

HR department Berlin

Send message

DLR site Berlin

To location

Institute of Optical Sensor Systems

To institute

Bookmark
Promotion

Quantenspeicher für Weltraumanwendungen

Beginn

1. August 2019

Dauer

3 Jahre

Vergütung

bis Entgeltgruppe 13 TVöD

Beschäftigungsgrad

Teilzeit

"Spitzenforschung braucht auf allen Ebenen exzellente Köpfe - besonders noch mehr weibliche! Starten Sie bei uns, wir freuen uns auf Ihre Bewerbung" Ihre Prof. Dr. Pascale Ehrenfreund - Vorsitzende des Vorstands

Das Institut für Optische Sensorsysteme erforscht und entwickelt aktive und passive optische Sensorsysteme für die Raumfahrt, für fliegende Plattformen und für robotische Systeme. Es beteiligt sich an der wissenschaftlichen Nutzung der mit diesen Systemen gemessenen Daten und ist mit seinen Kernkompetenzen in einer Vielzahl von nationalen und internationalen Kooperationen eingebunden. 

Photonische Quantenspeicher sind eine bisher fehlende Schlüsselkomponente für die zweite Quantenrevolution und ermöglichen vielzählige neue Anwendungen. Quantennetzwerke, zum Beispiel, versprechen nicht nur physikalische statt algorithmische Sicherheit in der Kommunikation, sondern auch die Möglichkeit, Quantencomputer für Berechnungen und Simulationen an verteilten Maschinen zu verbinden.

Die neu gegründete Arbeitsgruppe "Physikalische Grundlagen der IT-Sicherheit" konzentriert sich zum einen auf die Entwicklung von nicht-klassischen Lichtquellen und Quantenspeichern für einzelne Photonen und zum anderen werden sicherheitsrelevante Anwendungen dieser Schlüsselkomponenten in der Quantentechnologie untersucht. Dabei stehen die physikalisch gesicherte Kommunikation und optisches Computing im Quanten- und klassischen Regime im Vordergrund.

Im Rahmen einer Promotion soll ein Quantenspeicher für einzelne Photonen in Alkali-Atomen bei Raumtemperatur aufgebaut und hinsichtlich des Rauschens, der Effizienz, Bandbreite und Speicherzeit optimiert werden. Besondere Beachtung findet hierbei die Eignung der verwendeten Komponenten für zukünftige Luft- und Raumfahrtmissionen. Später soll der Quantenspeicher in ersten Anwendungen erprobt werden. Die Promotion findet an der Technischen Universität Berlin statt.

Zur Unterstützung unseres dynamischen Teams suchen wir hochmotivierte Studierende mit ersten Erfahrungen in der experimentellen Quantenoptik oder Atomphysik, um den Versuchsaufbau für das Quantenspeicherexperiment zu realisieren und Werkzeuge und Methoden zur Speicheroptimierung zu entwickeln.

Interessierte Bewerberinnen und Bewerber reichen bitte ein Motivationsschreiben mit einer Zusammenfassung ihrer Qualifikationen und ihrer akademischen Interessen, einen vollständigen Lebenslauf und Zeugnisse mit Noten ein. Empfehlungsschreiben von früheren Vorgesetzten und Betreuern werden berücksichtigt.  

Ihre Arbeitsleistung erbringen Sie in einem Umfang von 19,25 Std./Woche.

Ihre Qualifikation:

  • abgeschlossenes wissenschaftliches Hochschulstudium in Physik (Diplom/Master) oder in einer vergleichbaren Fachrichtung
  • Erfahrung mit experimenteller Optik
  • fundierte Kenntnisse in der theoretischen Physik
  • Programmierkenntnisse für Datenanalyse und Experiment-Kontrolle
  • Fähigkeit zur Teamarbeit
  • gute Englischkenntnisse
  • Quantenoptik-Erfahrungen sind von Vorteil

Ihr Start:

Freuen Sie sich auf einen Arbeitgeber, der Ihr Engagement zu schätzen weiß und Ihre Entwicklung durch vielfältige Qualifizierungs- und Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten fördert. Unser einzigartiges Arbeitsumfeld bietet Ihnen Gestaltungsfreiräume und eine unvergleichbare Infrastruktur, in der Sie Ihre Mission verwirklichen können. Vereinbarkeit von Privatleben, Familie und Beruf sowie Chancengleichheit von Personen aller Geschlechter (m/w/d) sind wichtiger Bestandteil unserer Personalpolitik. Bewerbungen schwerbehinderter Menschen bevorzugen wir bei fachlicher Eignung.

  • Jetzt online bewerben
  • Sie können sich diese Stellenanzeige per E-Mail zusenden und Ihre Bewerbung am stationären Computer oder Laptop erstellen.

    Wir benötigen Ihre digitalen Bewerbungsunterlagen (PDF). Die Übermittlung wird von einigen Mobilgeräten nicht standardmäßig unterstützt. Bitte erstellen Sie Ihre Bewerbung an einem PC/Laptop.

    Bewerbung am PC erstellen

Fachliche/r Ansprechpartner/in

Prof. Janik Wolters
Institut für Optische Sensorsysteme

Tel.: +49 30 67055-7906

Nachricht senden

Kennziffer 40861

Personalbetreuung Berlin

Nachricht senden

DLR-Standort Berlin

zum Standort

DLR-Institut für Optische Sensorsysteme

zum Institut