Bookmark
Scientific activities / projects

Ionosphere-Thermosphere Research

Starting date

1 September 2019

Duration of contract

3 years

Remuneration

According to the German 14 TVöD

Type of employment

Full-time

"Cutting-edge research requires excellent minds – particularly more females – at all levels. Launch your mission with us and send in your application now!" Prof. Pascale Ehrenfreund - Chair of the DLR Executive Board

Our Institute for Solar-Terrestrial Physics develops and investigates new systems and methods for monitoring and modelling of near-Earth space weather. Disturbances in the thermosphere-ionosphere-magnetosphere system can cause disruptions of satellite missions and modern communication, navigation and remote sensing systems. Therefore, our team in Neustrelitz monitors investigates and models the ionosphere for many years. The prediction of perturbations in the ionosphere is a specifically challenging task due to complex coupling mechanisms between thermosphere, ionosphere and magnetosphere and a sparse coverage of measurements especially in the thermosphere and magnetosphere. A key element of this work is the development and operation of numerical models of the coupled thermosphere-ionosphere-magnetosphere system.

Your mission is the assessment of coupling mechanisms of the thermosphere-ionosphere-magnetosphere system with dynamics from below (originating in litho- or hydrosphere or the lower and middle atmosphere) or above (originating from solar radiation, wind and interplanetary magnetic field). Your work will comprise the following tasks:

  • Conduct research into determining the nature/magnitude/interrelationship of atmospheric and space-plasma properties and flows, waves and tides, neutral winds, electromagnetic field and wave properties, and inter-hemispheric and vertical coupling between atmospheric regions through empirical studies, theoretical and computational means.

  • Applying scientific methods to tackle key unsolved problems in solar-terrestrial physics, with specific focus on the thermosphere-ionosphere-magnetosphere system

  • Utilizing one or more state-of-the-art physics-based numerical models of the upper atmosphere and ionosphere, comparing with multiple observational data sets from the Earth's upper atmosphere, ionosphere and solar parameters, interpreting results, and documenting findings

  • Presenting research findings to the international scientific community and continuously exchange your experience with other teams operating in this field.

  • Taking charge of project tasks.

You will bring in your excellent skills into a successful and motivated research team with long and broad scientific expertise in the ionosphere and space weather context which involves data acquisition and processing, phenomenological physical studies and technological impact assessment. Here, you will experience a very good working atmosphere.

Your qualifications:

  • Master of Science or comparable scientific degree in physics, meteorology, applied mathematics or a related natural scientific subject
  • PhD in physics, meteorology, applied mathematics or a related natural scientific subject
  • long standing fundamental specialized knowledge and ample experience in the interpretation and analysis of ionosphere-, thermosphere observations with advanced methods
  • strong aptitude for computational research
  • excellent programming skills (e.g. Fortran, Python, Matlab, C++)
  • long lasting experience in scientific work and peer-reviewed publishing
  • good capability to communicate in English
  • a well-developed background in ionospheric research is beneficial
  • desirable is a good knowledge and ample experience in the operation of atmospheric models
  • desirable are analytical competence and statistical knowledge

Your benefits:

Look forward to a fulfilling job with an employer who appreciates your commitment and supports your personal and professional development. Our unique infrastructure offers you a working environment in which you have unparalled scope to develop your creative ideas and accomplish your professional objectives. Our human resources policy places great value on a healthy family and work-life-balance as well as equal opportunities for persons of all genders (m/f/non-binary). Individuals with disabilities will be given preferential consideration in the event their qualifications are equivalent to those of other candidates.

  • Apply online now
  • You can send this job advertisement via e-mail and complete your application on a personal computer or laptop.

    We need your digital application documents (PDF). The document upload function is not supported by all mobile devices. Please complete your application on a PC/laptop.

    Complete application on PC

Technical contact

Dr. rer. nat. Claudia Borries
Phone: +49 3981 480 215

Send message

Vacancy 38786

HR department Berlin

Send message

DLR site Neustrelitz

To location

Institute for Solar-Terrestrial Physics

To institute

Bookmark
Wissenschaftliche Tätigkeit / Projektarbeit

Ionosphären-Thermosphären-Forschung

Beginn

1. September 2019

Dauer

3 Jahre

Vergütung

bis Entgeltgruppe 14 TVöD

Beschäftigungsgrad

Vollzeit

"Spitzenforschung braucht auf allen Ebenen exzellente Köpfe - besonders noch mehr weibliche! Starten Sie bei uns, wir freuen uns auf Ihre Bewerbung" Ihre Prof. Dr. Pascale Ehrenfreund - Vorsitzende des Vorstands

Das Institut für Solar-Terrestrische Physik entwickelt und untersucht neue Systeme und Methoden zur Beobachtung und Modellierung des erdnahen Weltraumwetters. Störungen in der Ionosphäre können Betriebsstörungen von Satellitenmissionen und modernen Kommunikations-, Navigations- und Fernerkundungssystemen verursachen. Aus diesem Grund wird bereits seit Jahren in Neustrelitz das globale Ionosphärenwetter beobachtet, untersucht und modelliert. Wegen der komplexen Kopplungsmechanismen zwischen der Thermosphäre, Ionosphäre und Magnetosphäre und der sehr dünnen Datenabdeckung in der Thermosphäre und Magnetosphäre, ist die Vorhersage ionosphärischer Störungen eine besonders herausfordernde Aufgabe. Ein Kernelement der Arbeit ist die Entwicklung und der Betrieb von numerischen Modellen des gekoppelten Systems Thermosphäre-Ionosphäre-Magnetosphäre.

Ihre Aufgabe ist die Untersuchung und Beschreibung der Koppelmechanismen des Thermosphären-Ionosphären-Magnetosphären-Systems mit dynamischen Prozessen von unten (mit Ursprung in der Litho- oder Hydrosphäre oder der unteren und mittleren Atmosphäre) oder oben (mit Ursprung in Sonneneinstrahlung, Wind und interplanetaren Magnetfeldern).

Ihre Arbeit umfasst folgende Tätigkeiten:

  • Forschung zur Bestimmung der Natur, Ausmaß und Wechselbeziehungen von Atmosphären- und Ionosphäreneigenschaften und -Dynamiken, Wellen und Gezeiten, Neutralgas-Winden, elektromagnetischen Feld- und Welleneigenschaften sowie interhemisphärischen und vertikalen Kopplungen zwischen atmosphärischen Regionen durch empirische Studien, theoretische und rechnerische Mittel
  • Anwendung wissenschaftlicher Methoden zur Bewältigung wichtiger ungelöster Probleme der solar-terrestrischen Physik, insbesondere des Thermosphären-Ionosphären-Magnetosphären-Systems
  • Verwendung eines oder mehrerer modernster physikalischer numerischer Modelle der oberen Atmosphäre und Ionosphäre, Vergleich mit mehreren Beobachtungsdatensätzen aus der oberen Atmosphäre der Erde, Ionosphäre und Sonnenparametern, Interpretation der Ergebnisse und Dokumentation der Ergebnisse
  • Präsentation der Forschungsergebnisse vor der internationalen wissenschaftlichen Gemeinschaft und kontinuierlicher Erfahrungsaustausch mit anderen in diesem Bereich tätigen Teams
  • Übernahme von Projektaufgaben

Sie bringen Ihre ausgezeichneten Fähigkeiten in ein erfolgreiches und motiviertes Forschungsteam mit langjähriger und breiter wissenschaftlicher Expertise im Ionosphären- und Weltraumwetterkontext ein, das Datenerfassung und -verarbeitung, phänomenologische physikalische Studien und Auswirkungsstudien umfasst. Hier erleben Sie ein sehr gutes Arbeitsklima.

Ihre Qualifikation:

  • abgeschlossenes wissenschaftliches Hochschulstudium (Master oder Diplom) in Physik, Meteorologie, angewandter Mathematik oder einer vergleichbaren wissenschaftlichen Fachrichtung
  • Promotion in Physik, Meteorologie, angewandter Mathematik oder einem verwandten naturwissenschaftlichen Fach
  • langjähriges fundiertes Fachwissen und umfangreiche Erfahrung in der Interpretation und Analyse von Ionosphären-, Thermosphärenbeobachtungen mit hochentwickelten Methoden
  • starke Fähigkeiten in der rechnergestützten Forschung
  • ausgezeichnete Programmierkenntnisse (z.B. Fortran, Python, Matlab, C++)
  • langjährige Erfahrung in der wissenschaftlichen Arbeit und im peer-reviewed Publishing-Bereich
  • gute englische Sprachkenntnisse in Wort und Schrift
  • ein gut entwickelter Hintergrund in der ionosphärischen Forschung ist von Vorteil
  • wünschenswert sind gute Kenntnisse und umfangreiche Erfahrungen im Betrieb von Atmosphärenmodellen
  • wünschenswert sind analytische Kompetenz und statistische Kenntnisse

Ihr Start:

Freuen Sie sich auf einen Arbeitgeber, der Ihr Engagement zu schätzen weiß und Ihre Entwicklung durch vielfältige Qualifizierungs- und Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten fördert. Unser einzigartiges Arbeitsumfeld bietet Ihnen Gestaltungsfreiräume und eine unvergleichbare Infrastruktur, in der Sie Ihre Mission verwirklichen können. Vereinbarkeit von Privatleben, Familie und Beruf sowie Chancengleichheit von Personen aller Geschlechter (m/w/d) sind wichtiger Bestandteil unserer Personalpolitik. Bewerbungen schwerbehinderter Menschen bevorzugen wir bei fachlicher Eignung.

  • Jetzt online bewerben
  • Sie können sich diese Stellenanzeige per E-Mail zusenden und Ihre Bewerbung am stationären Computer oder Laptop erstellen.

    Wir benötigen Ihre digitalen Bewerbungsunterlagen (PDF). Die Übermittlung wird von einigen Mobilgeräten nicht standardmäßig unterstützt. Bitte erstellen Sie Ihre Bewerbung an einem PC/Laptop.

    Bewerbung am PC erstellen

Fachliche/r Ansprechpartner/in

Dr. rer. nat. Claudia Borries
Tel.: +49 3981 480 215

Nachricht senden

Kennziffer 38786

Personalbetreuung Berlin

Nachricht senden

DLR-Standort Neustrelitz

zum Standort

DLR-Institut für Solar-Terrestrische Physik

zum Institut