Bookmark
Scientific activities / projects

Multi-satellite multi-instrument ionosphere probing

Starting date

1 September 2019

Duration of contract

3 years

Remuneration

up to German TVöD 14

Type of employment

Full-time

"Cutting-edge research requires excellent minds – particularly more females – at all levels. Launch your mission with us and send in your application now!" Prof. Pascale Ehrenfreund - Chair of the DLR Executive Board

Ionospheric disturbances can affect technologies in space and on Earth disrupting satellite and airline operations, communications networks, navigation systems. As the world becomes ever more dependent on these technologies, ionospheric disturbances as part of space weather pose an increasing risk to the economic vitality and national security. Having the knowledge of ionospheric state in advance during space weather events is becoming more and more important. Therefore, a team in Neustrelitz is working on monitoring, modelling and forecasting the ionosphere for many years.

With the modernization of GNSS, the use of multi-constellation, multi-frequency observations including new signals enables continuous monitoring of Earth’s ionosphere using worldwide distributed sensor stations. The permanently growing number of GNSS receivers and associated networks essentially supports establishing high precision monitoring of ionospheric weather including perturbation tracking and forecasts usable in space weather services. Other ground based techniques such as vertical sounding (VS), Incoherent Scatter Radar (ISR), Very Low Frequency (VLF) or Radio Beacon (RB) measurements provide complementary data thus completing GNSS based data sets.

The availability of numerous medium Earth orbit (MEO) satellites deployed by GPS, GLONASS, BeiDou systems and fulfillment of Galileo constellation allows continuous monitoring of the Earth’s ionosphere and neutral atmosphere by tracking GNSS signals from low Earth orbiting (LEO) satellites. In addition to the GNSS radio occultation measurements onboard navigation measurements can be used to derive the total electron content (TEC) between GNSS satellites and the LEO satellite thus providing an excellent database for subsequent data inversion and assimilation. Other space based measurements include data from dual-frequency altimeter missions such as TOPEX-Poseidon and Jason 1/2/3, data from the geodetic orbit determination and positioning system DORIS onboard altimetry satellites etc. The GNSS reflectometry is a new remote sensing technology that opens new scientific horizons in topography, weather forecast and climate research.

Localized in-situ measurements of electron and thermospheric neutral density (e.g. Langmuir probe aboard CHAMP, SWARM etc.), solar irradiance and wind parameters from space platforms (e.g. ACE/DSCOVR, SDO etc.) complement integral TEC measurements to identify plasma bubbles and become important data base for physics based ionosphere modelling.

Ground and space based data originating from different sources have to be harmonized and integrated properly to obtain accurate and consistent data sets to be used in scientific studies. The different temporal- and spatial-resolution and latency of multi-instrument observations must be adapted to a unified time- and special-scale for near real-time monitoring of the ionosphere for space weather services.

In this context, we are looking for scientists with strong interest on ionospheric research and ambition for a team work. Your mission is the development of improved estimation/inversion techniques, instrumental bias removal, reconstruction techniques, assimilation methods and powerful processing systems for handling big data sets from multi-satellite, multi-instrument space- and ground based systems.

Your work will comprise the following tasks.

  • develop powerful processing systems for handling big data sets of space- and ground-based measurements in near real-time
  • simultaneous data processing from multi-satellite, multi-instrument systems which include GNSS and non-GNSS sensors in space aboard moving platforms (e.g., LEO missions) as well as on earth fixed ground stations
  • development of improved ionosphere estimation/inversion techniques, instrumental bias removal for ground and space borne sensors
  • generate 3D electron density reconstructions of the geo-plasma environment with high temporal and spatial resolution by means of data fusion, reconstruction techniques and assimilation methods
  • develop ionospheric forecast algorithms to be used in space weather services
  • working on new instruments and new signals for retrieving ionospheric information
  • develop concepts and procedures to leverage knowledge for accurate and safety-critical GNSS application and services
  • transfer the developed algorithms into the IMPC ("Ionospheric Monitoring and Prediction Center") and ensure a continuous service
  • publish new findings to the international journal and scientific conferences

Your qualifications:

  • university degree (master's or diploma) in physics, geophysics, mathematics or a comparable scientific discipline
  • excellent PhD in Geophysics, Physics or Mathematics
  • long standing working experience in the empirical modelling of physical processes (gases, liquids)
  • long standing fundamental specialized knowledge and working experience in the 3D data assimilation and tomography methods (ensemble Kalman filter)
  • very good knowledge of relevant programming languages (e.g. Fortran, Python, Matlab, C++) and common operating systems
  • experience in project acquisition and project management and publication of scientific papers
  • excellent German and English knowledge in spoken and written
  • teamwork as well as independent, creative and goal-oriented way of working

Your benefits:

Look forward to a fulfilling job with an employer who appreciates your commitment and supports your personal and professional development. Our unique infrastructure offers you a working environment in which you have unparalled scope to develop your creative ideas and accomplish your professional objectives. Our human resources policy places great value on a healthy family and work-life-balance as well as equal opportunities for persons of all genders (m/f/non-binary). Individuals with disabilities will be given preferential consideration in the event their qualifications are equivalent to those of other candidates.

  • Apply online now
  • You can send this job advertisement via e-mail and complete your application on a personal computer or laptop.

    We need your digital application documents (PDF). The document upload function is not supported by all mobile devices. Please complete your application on a PC/laptop.

    Complete application on PC

Technical contact

Dr. Mohammed Mainul Hoque
Institute of Communications and Navigation

Phone: +49 3981 480-125

Send message

Vacancy 38765

HR department Berlin

Send message

DLR site Neustrelitz

To location

Institute for Solar-Terrestrial Physics

To institute

Bookmark
Wissenschaftliche Tätigkeit / Projektarbeit

Multi-Satelliten Multi-Sensor Ionosphärenuntersuchung

Beginn

1. September 2019

Dauer

3 Jahre

Vergütung

bis Entgeltgruppe 14 TVöD

Beschäftigungsgrad

Vollzeit

"Spitzenforschung braucht auf allen Ebenen exzellente Köpfe - besonders noch mehr weibliche! Starten Sie bei uns, wir freuen uns auf Ihre Bewerbung" Ihre Prof. Dr. Pascale Ehrenfreund - Vorsitzende des Vorstands

Am Institut für Solar-Terrestrische Physik des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) werden solar-terrestrische Beziehungen mit dem Schwerpunkt Ionosphäre und deren Bezug zu Phänomenen und Auswirkungen des Weltraumwetters untersucht.

Moderne Kommunikations- und Navigationssysteme sowie hochauflösende Radarverfahren der Fernerkundung arbeiten mit Funkwellen deren Ausbreitung durch den elektrisch leitfähigen Teil der Erdatmosphäre, die Ionosphäre, signifikant beeinflusst wird. Angesichts ständig wachsender Anforderungen an Genauigkeit, Verfügbarkeit und  Zuverlässigkeit der genutzten Radiosignale ist eine möglichst umfassende Kenntnis der Ausbreitungseigenschaften der Ionosphäre erforderlich. Hierzu und zum Verständnis der grundlegenden solar-terrestrischen Beziehungen sind umfassende Beobachtungen des Zustandes der Ionosphäre und verschiedener Weltraumwetter-Faktoren, einschließlich Sonnenwind sowie signifikanter Kopplungsprozesse mit der Magnetosphäre, Thermosphäre, Atmosphäre und Lithosphäre erforderlich.

Die erforderlichen Messtechniken fokussieren auf die Nutzung boden- und satellitengestützter Signale der Globalen Navigations-Satelliten-Systeme (GNSS) wie GPS, GLONASS, Beidou und Galileo. Die ständig steigende Zahl der Empfängernetze und Satellitenmissionen als auch der weitere Ausbau der Navigationssysteme ermöglicht ein sehr genaues und permanentes echtzeitnahes Monitoring  der globalen Ionosphäre. Weitere Messtechniken wie vertikale Sondierung (VS), Incoherent Scatter Radar (ISR), Very Low Frequency (VLF)- Verfahren und Radio Beacon- Techniken ergänzen das Beobachtungsspektrum in geeigneter Weise.

Derartige multi-sensorale Beobachtungen ionosphärischer Variablen erlauben die für die Einschätzung der Funkwellenausbreitung notwendige Rekonstruktion der dreidimensionalen Elektronendichteverteilung sowohl in ausgewählten Regionen als auch global. Hierzu sind die aus verschiedenen Messtechniken stammenden Daten mit unterschiedlichen räumlichen und zeitlichen Skalen zu harmonisieren und zu fusionieren, so dass ein konsistentes Gesamtbild des ionosphärischen Verhaltens entsteht. Dies schließt die Lösung von Aufgaben zur empirische Modellierung und Vorhersage ein.

Die direkten und multi-sensoral rekonstruierten Beobachtungsergebnisse sind einerseits Gegenstand eigenständiger wissenschaftlichen Publikationen. Andererseits liefern sie die unverzichtbare Datengrundlage für weiterführende theoretische Untersuchungen zum Verhalten der Ionosphäre und seiner Vorhersage als auch für einen zuverlässigen operationellen Weltraumwetter-Dienst über das Ionospheric Monitoring and Prediction Center (IMPC) des DLR. 

Am neuen Institut für Solar-Terrestrische Physik werden deshalb Mitarbeitende zur Bearbeitung folgender Themenbereiche gesucht:

  • Entwicklung effektiver Prozessierungs-Systeme für die echtzeitfähige Bearbeitung  umfangreicher Datensätze von verschiedenen Monitoringsystemen wie z.B. satelliten- und bodengestützte GNSS-Messungen
  • Entwicklung von Algorithmen und Inversionstechniken zur Ableitung  aussagekräftiger Ionosphären-Variablen und zugeordneter  Qualitäts- und Kalibrierungs-Parameter aus satelliten- und bodengestützten Messungen
  • Entwicklung geeigneter Techniken der Daten-Fusion und -Assimilation zur Bereitstellung hochgenauer Rekonstruktionen der 3D Elektronendichteverteilung auf der Basis multi-sensoraler Elektronendichtemessungen (integrale GNSS Messungen, Radarverfahren, in situ  Messungen auf Satelliten)
  • Entwicklung empirischer Modelle und Vorhersagemodelle für modellgestützte Verfahren der Datenverarbeitung als auch für Aufgaben des Weltraumwetter-Dienstes im IMPC
  • Entwicklung von Konzepten und Verfahren zur Nutzung der Erkenntnisse für präzise und sicherheitskritische GNSS- Anwendung und Services
  • Überführen der entwickelten Algorithmen in das IMPC („Ionospheric Monitoring and Prediction Center“) und Sicherstellung eines kontinuierlichen Services  

Die Mitarbeitenden des Instituts verfügen über langjährige Erfahrungen beim Monitoring der Ionosphäre insbesondere mittels satelliten- und bodengestützter GNSS-Techniken sowie der empirischen Modellierung der Ionosphäre.

Ihre Qualifikation:

  • abgeschlossenes wissenschaftliches Hochschulstudium (Master oder Diplom) in (Geo-)Physik oder Mathematik/Informationstechnik
  • abgeschlossene Promotion in Geophysik, Physik oder Mathematik
  • langjährige Erfahrungen in der empirischen Modellierung physikalischer Prozesse
  • langjährige fundierte Spezialkenntnisse und praktische Erfahrungen in der Entwicklung von 3D Datenassimilations- und Tomographie-Verfahren (z.B. die Anwendung von Kalman-Filtern)
  • sehr gute Kenntnisse einschlägiger Programmiersprachen (z.B. Fortran, Python, Matlab, C++) und gängiger Betriebssysteme
  • Erfahrungen in der Projektakquisition, im Projektmanagement und in der Publikation wissenschaftlicher Arbeiten
  • exzellente Deutsch- und Englischkenntnisse in Wort und Schrift
  • Teamfähigkeit sowie selbständige, kreative und zielorientierte Arbeitsweise wünschenswert

Ihr Start:

Freuen Sie sich auf einen Arbeitgeber, der Ihr Engagement zu schätzen weiß und Ihre Entwicklung durch vielfältige Qualifizierungs- und Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten fördert. Unser einzigartiges Arbeitsumfeld bietet Ihnen Gestaltungsfreiräume und eine unvergleichbare Infrastruktur, in der Sie Ihre Mission verwirklichen können. Vereinbarkeit von Privatleben, Familie und Beruf sowie Chancengleichheit von Personen aller Geschlechter (m/w/d) sind wichtiger Bestandteil unserer Personalpolitik. Bewerbungen schwerbehinderter Menschen bevorzugen wir bei fachlicher Eignung.

  • Jetzt online bewerben
  • Sie können sich diese Stellenanzeige per E-Mail zusenden und Ihre Bewerbung am stationären Computer oder Laptop erstellen.

    Wir benötigen Ihre digitalen Bewerbungsunterlagen (PDF). Die Übermittlung wird von einigen Mobilgeräten nicht standardmäßig unterstützt. Bitte erstellen Sie Ihre Bewerbung an einem PC/Laptop.

    Bewerbung am PC erstellen

Fachliche/r Ansprechpartner/in

Dr. Mohammed Mainul Hoque
Institut für Kommunikation und Navigation

Tel.: +49 3981 480-125

Nachricht senden

Kennziffer 38765

Personalbetreuung Berlin

Nachricht senden

DLR-Standort Neustrelitz

zum Standort

DLR-Institut für Solar-Terrestrische Physik

zum Institut