Bookmark
PhD position

Organizational Principles and Control Algorithms for Coordinated Cooperative Urban Traffic

Starting date

Immediately

Duration of contract

3 years

Remuneration

According to the German 13 TVöD

Type of employment

Part-time

"Cutting-edge research requires excellent minds – particularly more females – at all levels. Launch your mission with us and send in your application now!" Prof. Pascale Ehrenfreund - Chair of the DLR Executive Board

Some 170 scientists - engineers, psychologists and computer scientists - work at the Institute of Transportation Systems in Braunschweig and Berlin. They carry out research and development for automotive, railway and traffic management systems.

Join us in shaping the future of connected mobility in transport 5.0 by helping to master the complexity of transport systems and their increasing interconnection. As a result of increasing digitalization, new and fully integrated traffic systems and system networks are emerging from the infrastructure, vehicle and passenger, which up to now have operated in isolation and independently of each other. Here there is the potential to make transport more efficient, environmentally friendly and safer through new organisational principles and methods.

Our team develops novel methods and algorithms for communication and organization between road users and vehicle systems. The focus is on the progress from assisted and highly automated traffic to automated, connected traffic, which combines the individual automation of individual modes of transport with comprehensive traffic management to form a cooperative overall traffic system.

We are looking for a motivated research associate for a doctorate in the following subject area:

  • Self-organizing organizational principles and control algorithms for coordinated cooperative urban transport through local cooperation without infrastructure coordination and their integration into a cooperative overall transport system.

You will support our national and international project partners in industry and science. We offer you a stimulating research environment, space for your own ideas and international visibility. The remuneration is based on DLR doctorate guidelines.

Your qualifications:

  • above-average academic degree (diploma/master) in engineering (transport), computer science, mathematics or a comparable field of study
  • experience in the scientific field of traffic, in particular with V2X technology
  • programming knowledge, for example in Java, C++, Python or MATLAB
  • knowledge in modelling technical systems
  • very good written and spoken German and English language skills
  • independent working style
  • enjoy working independently and scientifically in a team
  • passion for innovative research
  • experience with traffic simulation programs (SUMO or comparable) is a plus
  • experience in experimental design, execution and data Evaluation is plus

Your benefits:

Look forward to a fulfilling job with an employer who appreciates your commitment and supports your personal and professional development. Our unique infrastructure offers you a working environment in which you have unparalled scope to develop your creative ideas and accomplish your professional objectives. Our human resources policy places great value on a healthy family and work-life-balance as well as equal opportunities for persons of all genders (m/f/non-binary). Individuals with disabilities will be given preferential consideration in the event their qualifications are equivalent to those of other candidates.

  • Apply online now
  • You can send this job advertisement via e-mail and complete your application on a personal computer or laptop.

    We need your digital application documents (PDF). The document upload function is not supported by all mobile devices. Please complete your application on a PC/laptop.

    Complete application on PC

Technical contact

Tobias Hesse
Institute of Transportation Systems

Phone: +49 531 295-3721

Send message

Sten Ruppe
Phone: +49 30 67055 195

Send message

Vacancy 41692

HR department Braunschweig

Send message

DLR site Braunschweig

To location

DLR Institute of Transportation Systems

To institute

Bookmark
Promotion

Organisationsprinzipien und Steuerungsalgorithmen für den koordinierten kooperativen urbanen Verkehr

Beginn

ab sofort

Dauer

3 Jahre

Vergütung

bis Entgeltgruppe 13 TVöD

Beschäftigungsgrad

Teilzeit

"Spitzenforschung braucht auf allen Ebenen exzellente Köpfe - besonders noch mehr weibliche! Starten Sie bei uns, wir freuen uns auf Ihre Bewerbung" Ihre Prof. Dr. Pascale Ehrenfreund - Vorsitzende des Vorstands

Etwa 170 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler in den Bereichen Ingenieurwissenschaften, Psychologie und Informatik arbeiten im Institut für Verkehrssystemtechnik an den Standorten Braunschweig und Berlin. Sie leisten Forschung und Entwicklung für Automotive-, Bahnsysteme und für das Verkehrsmanagement.

Gestalten Sie mit uns die Zukunft der vernetzten Mobilität im Verkehr 5.0, indem Sie helfen, die Komplexität verkehrlicher Systeme und deren zunehmende Vernetzung zu beherrschen. Durch die zunehmende Digitalisierung entstehen neue und vollintegrierte Verkehrssysteme und Systemverbunde aus Infrastruktur, Fahrzeug und Passagier, die bislang noch isoliert und unabhängig voneinander agieren. Hier besteht das Potential den Verkehr durch neue Organisationsprinzipien und Methoden effizienter, umweltverträglicher und sicherer zu gestalten.

Unser Team entwickelt dabei neuartige Verfahren und Algorithmen zur Kommunikation und Organisation der Verkehrsteilnehmer und Fahrzeugsysteme untereinander. Im Fokus steht der Fortschritt vom assistierten und hochautomatisierten Verkehr zum automatisierten, vernetzten Verkehr, der die individuelle Automatisierung einzelner Verkehrsträger mit einem übergreifenden Verkehrsmanagement zu einem kooperativen Gesamtverkehrssystem verbindet.

Wir suchen eine/n motivierte/n wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeiter/in zur Promotion in dem folgenden Thema: Selbstorganisierende Organisationsprinzipien und Steuerungsalgorithmen für den koordinierten kooperativen urbanen Verkehr durch lokale Kooperation ohne infrastrukturseitige Koordinierung und deren Integration in das kooperative Gesamtverkehrssystem. 

Sie unterstützen unsere nationalen und internationalen Projektpartner in Industrie und Wissenschaft. Wir bieten Ihnen eine anregende Forschungsumgebung, Raum für eigene Ideen und internationale Sichtbarkeit. Die Vergütung erfolgt laut Doktorandenrichtlinien des DLR.

Ihre Qualifikation:

  • abgeschlossenes wissenschaftliches Hochschulstudium im Studiengang Verkehrswesen, Informatik, Mathematik oder vergleichbarer Studiengang (Diplom/Master)
  • Erfahrung im wissenschaftlichen Bereich Verkehr, insbesondere mit der V2X-Technologie
  • Programmierkenntnisse, beispielsweise in Java, C++, Python oder MATLAB
  • Kenntnisse in der Modellierung technischer Systeme
  • sehr gute deutsche und englische Sprachkenntnisse in Wort und Schrift
  • selbstständige Arbeitsweise
  • Freude am selbstständigen, wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten in einem Team
  • Leidenschaft für innovative Forschung
  • Erfahrung mit Verkehrssimulationsprogrammen (SUMO oder vergleichbar) wünschenswert
  • Erfahrungen in der Versuchsplanung, -durchführung und -datenauswertung von Vorteil

Ihr Start:

Freuen Sie sich auf einen Arbeitgeber, der Ihr Engagement zu schätzen weiß und Ihre Entwicklung durch vielfältige Qualifizierungs- und Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten fördert. Unser einzigartiges Arbeitsumfeld bietet Ihnen Gestaltungsfreiräume und eine unvergleichbare Infrastruktur, in der Sie Ihre Mission verwirklichen können. Vereinbarkeit von Privatleben, Familie und Beruf sowie Chancengleichheit von Personen aller Geschlechter (m/w/d) sind wichtiger Bestandteil unserer Personalpolitik. Bewerbungen schwerbehinderter Menschen bevorzugen wir bei fachlicher Eignung.

  • Jetzt online bewerben
  • Sie können sich diese Stellenanzeige per E-Mail zusenden und Ihre Bewerbung am stationären Computer oder Laptop erstellen.

    Wir benötigen Ihre digitalen Bewerbungsunterlagen (PDF). Die Übermittlung wird von einigen Mobilgeräten nicht standardmäßig unterstützt. Bitte erstellen Sie Ihre Bewerbung an einem PC/Laptop.

    Bewerbung am PC erstellen

Fachliche/r Ansprechpartner/in

Tobias Hesse
Institut für Verkehrssystemtechnik

Tel.: +49 531 295-3721

Nachricht senden

Sten Ruppe
Institut für Verkehrssystemtechnik

Tel.: +49 30 67055-195

Nachricht senden

Kennziffer 41692

Personalbetreuung Braunschweig

Nachricht senden

DLR-Standort Braunschweig

zum Standort

DLR-Institut für Verkehrssystemtechnik

zum Institut