Bookmark
Scientific activities / projects, PhD position

Models of the observable mobility behaviour in traffic events

Starting date

1 October 2019

Duration of contract

3 Jahre

Remuneration

According to the German E13 TVöD

Type of employment

Part-time

"Cutting-edge research requires excellent minds – particularly more females – at all levels. Launch your mission with us and send in your application now!" Prof. Pascale Ehrenfreund - Chair of the DLR Executive Board

Mobility has a high priority in our society. People want to reach their destination safely, comfortably and quickly. Goods must be transported cost-effectively over short and long distances. The consequences of mobility can be seen in environmental pollution, accidents and traffic jams, which increase with the ever-growing volume of traffic. These are the challenges we face at the Institute of Transportation Systems. We develop solutions for the safe and efficient mobility of the future.

Most accidents are caused by the driver's misconduct. Assistance systems can therefore sustainably increase safety and efficiency in road traffic. In the automotive context, we investigate driver behavior, stress and accidents in order to derive requirements for driver assistance systems. Psychological and ergonomic findings are incorporated into the development of assistance functions within the context of DLR's entire technological background. They are implemented in such a way that they correspond to the skills and expectations of the driver. The implementation is checked in driving tests - in simulation and in real traffic.

The task of the holder of this position is to develop, apply and evaluate models of the observable mobility behaviour in traffic events, which describe normal driver behaviour with a special focus on interaction and cooperation, in order to derive specific requirements for concepts for interaction, cooperation and communication within new assistance and automation systems and functions. In these times of increasing automation, special focus is being placed upon differing automation levels in urban mixed traffic as well as upon the consideration of man-machine interfaces. The aim is to thereby further develop and apply specific methods which will enable the acquisition and analysis of naturalistic driver data, interaction and cooperation data and accident data from urban mobility areas. With the aid of the results, a building block for the definition of interaction and cooperation behaviour – and, thereby, observable, safe and efficient mobility in urban traffic areas – will be provided. Furthermore, the basis for a human-centred development of innovative assistance and automation systems will also be created.

For the development of methods and models for the acquisition, analysis and description of observable driving behaviour data, in particular the interaction, cooperation and communication in urban traffic areas as well as for the application and investigation of these within the framework of a German-Japanese research cooperation, an employee (50 %) with completed scientific university studies (diploma, M.Sc.) in psychology, human factors, cognitive sciences or related disciplines is being sought.

Your qualifications:

  • Completed scientific university studies in psychology, human factors, traffic and engineering psychology or cognitive sciences
  • Experience and participation in research projects as well as experience in the conducting of empirical studies
  • Experience in the elicitation and evaluation of behavioural and driver-performance data
  • Experience in scientific work, evaluation of empirical data and in the development of concepts for psychological models of driver behaviour
  • Knowledge of empirical research methodology and evaluation
  • Experience in working with interdisciplinary teams, ability to work in a team
  • Very good knowledge of English (spoken and written)
  • Sound knowledge of empirical research projects in the field of traffic and engineering psychology, human factors, cognitive sciences or comparable disciplines is a plus
  • Sound knowledge of empirical research methods, evaluation, data analysis and data mining is a plus
  • Knowledge of programming using scripting languages such as Python or in Matlab is a plus
  • Sound knowledge of the elicitation and statistical evaluation of behavioural and driver-performance data is aplus
  • Scientific publications and presentations at national and international conferences is a plus
  • Sound experience in working with interdisciplinary teams, ability to work in a Team is a plus 

Your benefits:

Look forward to a fulfilling job with an employer who appreciates your commitment and supports your personal and professional development. Our unique infrastructure offers you a working environment in which you have unparalled scope to develop your creative ideas and accomplish your professional objectives. Our human resources policy places great value on a healthy family and work-life-balance as well as equal opportunities for persons of all genders (m/f/non-binary). Individuals with disabilities will be given preferential consideration in the event their qualifications are equivalent to those of other candidates.

  • Apply online now
  • You can send this job advertisement via e-mail and complete your application on a personal computer or laptop.

    We need your digital application documents (PDF). The document upload function is not supported by all mobile devices. Please complete your application on a PC/laptop.

    Complete application on PC

Technical contact

Dr. Caroline Schießl
Institute of Transportation Systems

Phone: +49 531 295-3462

Send message

Vacancy 42332

HR department Braunschweig

Send message

DLR site Braunschweig

To location

DLR Institute of Transportation Systems

To institute

Bookmark
Wissenschaftliche Tätigkeit / Projektarbeit, Promotion

Entwicklung von Modellen beobachtbaren Mobilitätsverhaltens, Interaktion und Kooperation, sowie zur Anwendung und Analyse dieser im Rahmen einer deutsch-japanischen Forschungskooperation

Beginn

1. Oktober 2019

Dauer

3 Jahre

Vergütung

bis Entgeltgruppe E13 TVöD

Beschäftigungsgrad

Teilzeit

"Spitzenforschung braucht auf allen Ebenen exzellente Köpfe - besonders noch mehr weibliche! Starten Sie bei uns, wir freuen uns auf Ihre Bewerbung" Ihre Prof. Dr. Pascale Ehrenfreund - Vorsitzende des Vorstands

Die meisten Unfälle entstehen durch das Fehlverhalten des Fahrers. Assistenzsysteme können Sicherheit und Effizienz im Straßenverkehr deshalb nachhaltig steigern. Im Automotive-Kontext untersuchen wir Fahrerverhalten, Beanspruchung und Unfälle, um daraus Anforderungen für Fahrerassistenzsysteme abzuleiten. Psychologische und ergonomische Erkenntnisse fließen vor dem gesamten technologischen Hintergrund des DLR in die Entwicklung von Assistenzfunktionen ein. Sie werden so umgesetzt, dass sie den Fähigkeiten und Erwartungen des Fahrers entsprechen. Die Umsetzung wird in Fahrversuchen überprüft – in der Simulation und im Realverkehr.

Die Aufgabe des/der Stelleninhabers/in ist es, Modelle des beobachtbaren Mobilitätsverhalten im Verkehrsgeschehen zu entwickeln, anzuwenden und zu bewerten, die normales Fahrerverhalten mit besonderem Fokus auf Interaktion und Kooperation beschreiben, um darauf aufbauend gezielt Anforderungen an Konzepte zur Interaktion, Kooperation und Kommunikation neuer  Assistenz- und Automationssysteme und -Funktionen abzuleiten. Im Zuge zunehmender  Automatisierung liegt dabei besonderer Fokus auf unterschiedlichen Automationsleveln im urbanen Mischverkehr sowie der Betrachtung der Mensch-Maschine-Schnittstellen und Interfaces. Dabei sollen gezielt Methoden weiterentwickelt und angewendet werden, mittels derer vor allem naturalistische Fahrerdaten, Interaktions-, Kooperationsdaten und Unfalldaten aus dem urbanen Mobilitätsraum erfasst und analysiert werden können. Mit Hilfe der Ergebnisse wird damit einerseits ein Baustein zur Beschreibung von Interaktions- und Kooperationsverhalten und damit beobachtbarer, sicherer und effizienter Mobilität im urbanen Verkehrsraum  geliefert, andererseits die Basis für eine mensch-zentrierte Entwicklung innovativer Assistenz- und Automationssysteme geschaffen.

Für die Entwicklung von Methoden und Modellen zur Erfassung, Analyse und Beschreibung beobachtbaren Fahrverhaltens, insbesondere der Interaktion,  Kooperation und Kommunikation im urbanen Verkehrsraum sowie zur Anwendung und  Untersuchung dieser im Rahmen einer deutsch-japanischen Forschungskooperation wird ein/e Mitarbeiter/in (50%) mit abgeschlossenem wissenschaftlichen Hochschulstudium (Diplom, M.Sc.), Psychologie oder Human Factors oder Kognitionswissenschaften oder verwandten Fachgebieten gesucht.

Ihre Qualifikation:

  • abgeschlossenes wissenschaftliches Hochschulstudium der Psychologie, Human Factors bzw. Verkehrs- und Ingenieurspsychologie bzw. Kognitionswissenschaften
  • fundiertes Wissen in empirischen Forschungsmethoden, Evaluation, Datenanalyse und Datamining
  • fundierte Kenntnisse in der Erhebung und statistischen Auswertung von Verhaltens- bzw. Fahrerleistungsdaten
  • Erfahrung im wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten, Auswertung von empirischen Daten und in der Erstellung von Konzepten psychologischer Modelle des Fahrerverhaltens
  • Kenntnisse in der Programmierung mit Skriptsprachen wie Python oder in Matlab wünschenswert
  • wissenschaftliche Publikationen und Präsentationen auf nationalen und internationalen Fachkonferenzen wünschenswert
  • sehr gute Englischkenntnisse in Wort und Schrift
  • Erfahrungen in der Arbeit mit interdisziplinären Teams, Teamfähigkeit

Ihr Start:

Freuen Sie sich auf einen Arbeitgeber, der Ihr Engagement zu schätzen weiß und Ihre Entwicklung durch vielfältige Qualifizierungs- und Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten fördert. Unser einzigartiges Arbeitsumfeld bietet Ihnen Gestaltungsfreiräume und eine unvergleichbare Infrastruktur, in der Sie Ihre Mission verwirklichen können. Vereinbarkeit von Privatleben, Familie und Beruf sowie Chancengleichheit von Personen aller Geschlechter (m/w/d) sind wichtiger Bestandteil unserer Personalpolitik. Bewerbungen schwerbehinderter Menschen bevorzugen wir bei fachlicher Eignung.

  • Jetzt online bewerben
  • Sie können sich diese Stellenanzeige per E-Mail zusenden und Ihre Bewerbung am stationären Computer oder Laptop erstellen.

    Wir benötigen Ihre digitalen Bewerbungsunterlagen (PDF). Die Übermittlung wird von einigen Mobilgeräten nicht standardmäßig unterstützt. Bitte erstellen Sie Ihre Bewerbung an einem PC/Laptop.

    Bewerbung am PC erstellen

Fachliche/r Ansprechpartner/in

Dr. Caroline Schießl
Institut für Verkehrssystemtechnik

Tel.: +49 531 295-3462

Nachricht senden

Kennziffer 42332

Personalbetreuung Braunschweig

Nachricht senden

DLR-Standort Braunschweig

zum Standort

DLR-Institut für Verkehrssystemtechnik

zum Institut