Bookmark
PhD position

Understanding snow and sea ice properties at microwave frequencies for remote sensing applications during MOSAiC

Starting date

1 January 2020

Duration of contract

3 years

Remuneration

up to the German TVöD 13

Type of employment

Part-time

"Cutting-edge research requires excellent minds – particularly more females – at all levels. Launch your mission with us and send in your application now!" Prof. Pascale Ehrenfreund - Chair of the DLR Executive Board

The SAR Oceanography Team at the "Maritime Safety and Security Lab" in Bremen develops algorithms that extract and make available to users in near-real-time information on the condition of the oceans. This information is derived from radar images collected by a variety of satellites.

In the framework of the project MOSAiCmicrowaveRS will develop new and improve current methods to derive sea ice properties from microwave observations, in particular ice type and lead distribution from SAR and snow properties and ice type from microwave radiometers. The project is part of the international consortium of the Multidisciplinary drifting Observatory for the Study of Arctic Climate (MOSAiC) and will provide an extensive opportunity of international collaborations.  The PhD thesis will be supervised by Dr. Suman Singha (DLR) and Dr. Gunnar Spreen (Institute of Environmental Physics, University of Bremen).

Your qualifications:

  • Master’s degree in the field of computer science, physics, mathematics, electrical engineering or similar
  • very good Programming skill in Python and others such as IDL, C++ or similar
  • very good English language skills
  • willingness to travel and research stays at collaborative institutes
  • basic knowledge in Earth observation, ideally with synthetic aperture radar (SAR)
  • knowledge in the field of artificial intelligence and machine learning

Your benefits:

Look forward to a fulfilling job with an employer who appreciates your commitment and supports your personal and professional development. Our unique infrastructure offers you a working environment in which you have unparalled scope to develop your creative ideas and accomplish your professional objectives. Our human resources policy places great value on a healthy family and work-life-balance as well as equal opportunities for persons of all genders (m/f/non-binary). Individuals with disabilities will be given preferential consideration in the event their qualifications are equivalent to those of other candidates.

  • Apply online now
  • You can send this job advertisement via e-mail and complete your application on a personal computer or laptop.

    We need your digital application documents (PDF). The document upload function is not supported by all mobile devices. Please complete your application on a PC/laptop.

    Complete application on PC

Technical contact

Herr Dr. Suman Singha
Remote Sensing Technology Institute

Phone: +49 421 24420-1856

Send message

Dr. Sven Jacobsen
Remote Sensing Technology Institute

Phone: +49 421 24420-1852

Send message

Vacancy 43618

HR department Oberpfaffenhofen

Send message

DLR site Bremen

To location

DLR Remote Sensing Technology Institute

To institute

Bookmark
Promotion

Erkenntnisse über Schnee- und Meereiseigenschaften im Mikrowellenfrequenzbereich für Fernerkundungsanwendungen

Beginn

1. Januar 2020

Dauer

3 Jahre

Vergütung

bis Entgeltgruppe 13 TVöD

Beschäftigungsgrad

Teilzeit

"Spitzenforschung braucht auf allen Ebenen exzellente Köpfe - besonders noch mehr weibliche! Starten Sie bei uns, wir freuen uns auf Ihre Bewerbung" Ihre Prof. Dr. Pascale Ehrenfreund - Vorsitzende des Vorstands

Am Institut für Methodik der Fernerkundung werden im Rahmen verschiedener Bundes- und EU Forschungsprojekte in der Forschungsstelle „Maritime Sicherheit“ am Standort Bremen innovative Verfahren zur Analyse von SAR-Satellitendaten entwickelt. Im Rahmen der Erweiterung von Echtzeitdiensten für die Maritime Sicherheit erforscht das Team u.a. Verfahren zur automatischen Bestimmung der Verdriftung von Eisflächen, zur Detektion von Eisbergen und zur Klassifizierung von Meereis in polaren Gewässern.

Im Rahmen des Projekts MOSAiCmicrowaveRS werden neue Methoden zur Ableitung von Meereisinformationen aus Beobachtungen im Mikrowellenband entwickelt und bestehende Verfahren verbessert. Konkret geht es um die Unterscheidung verschiedener Eistypen und der Verteilung von Rinnen und Rissen im Eis auf Basis von Satelliten-SAR Daten sowie der Ermittlung von Eis- und Schneeeigenschaften mit Mikrowellenradiometern. Das Projekt ist eingebettet in das multinationale Großvorhaben “Multidisciplinary drifting Observatory for the Study of Arctic Climate (MOSAiC)” und bietet daher hervorragende Möglichkeiten zur internationalen Zusammenarbeit. Sie werden an der Universität Bremen promovieren.

Ihre Qualifikation:

  • abgeschlossenes Masterstudium der Fachrichtung Informatik, Physik, Mathematik, Elektrotechnik o.ä. (mit mindestens guter Bewertung)
  • gute Programmierkenntnisse in Python und weiteren Programmiersprachen wie IDL, C++ o.ä.
  • sehr gute Englischkenntnisse in Wort und Schrift
  • Bereitschaft zu Reisen sowie zu Forschungsaufenthalten in Kanada
  • Grundkenntnisse in der Erdbeobachtung, optimalerweise mit Synthetische Apertur Radar (SAR)
  • wünschenswert sind Kenntnisse im Bereich Künstliche Intelligenz und Maschinelles Lernen

Ihr Start:

Freuen Sie sich auf einen Arbeitgeber, der Ihr Engagement zu schätzen weiß und Ihre Entwicklung durch vielfältige Qualifizierungs- und Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten fördert. Unser einzigartiges Arbeitsumfeld bietet Ihnen Gestaltungsfreiräume und eine unvergleichbare Infrastruktur, in der Sie Ihre Mission verwirklichen können. Vereinbarkeit von Privatleben, Familie und Beruf sowie Chancengleichheit von Personen aller Geschlechter (m/w/d) sind wichtiger Bestandteil unserer Personalpolitik. Bewerbungen schwerbehinderter Menschen bevorzugen wir bei fachlicher Eignung.

  • Jetzt online bewerben
  • Sie können sich diese Stellenanzeige per E-Mail zusenden und Ihre Bewerbung am stationären Computer oder Laptop erstellen.

    Wir benötigen Ihre digitalen Bewerbungsunterlagen (PDF). Die Übermittlung wird von einigen Mobilgeräten nicht standardmäßig unterstützt. Bitte erstellen Sie Ihre Bewerbung an einem PC/Laptop.

    Bewerbung am PC erstellen

Fachliche/r Ansprechpartner/in

Herr Dr. Suman Singha
Institut für Methodik der Fernerkundung

Tel.: +49 421 24420-1856

Nachricht senden

Dr. Sven Jacobsen
Institut für Methodik der Fernerkundung

Tel.: +49 421 24420-1852

Nachricht senden

Kennziffer 43618

Personalbetreuung Oberpfaffenhofen

Nachricht senden

DLR-Standort Bremen

zum Standort

DLR-Institut für Methodik der Fernerkundung

zum Institut