Bookmark
PhD position

Modelling & Simulation of Batteries

Starting date

2 December 2019

Duration of contract

up to 3 years

Remuneration

up to German TVöD 13

Type of employment

Part-time

"Cutting-edge research requires excellent minds – particularly more females – at all levels. Launch your mission with us and send in your application now!" Prof. Pascale Ehrenfreund - Chair of the DLR Executive Board

DLR's Institute of Engineering Thermodynamics conducts research in the field of efficient energy storage systems and next-generation energy conversion technologies. The department of Computational Electrochemistry at the Helmholtz Institute Ulm (HIU) for Electrochemical Energy Storage is developing new theories and simulation tools for battery materials and cells. We participate in the Cluster of Excellence POLiS for Post-Lithium Systems and the Graduate School for Electrochemical Energy Storage of CELEST. Our motivation is to develop new batteries for electromobility and stationary energy storage. We offer you access to excellent cutting-edge research, space for your own ideas and contact to national as well as international partners in academia and industry.

Physicists and Engineers for the 3D modelling and simulation of Li-Ion and all-solid-state batteries

The topics extend along the life cycle of the battery from the description of the production process over the optimization of materials and electrode structures up to the analysis of the aging behavior. The work requires a good physical and chemical understanding, knowledge in modelling and simulation and experience with the implementation of models in C/C++ or Matlab. Basic knowledge of batteries and electrochemistry is desirable.

Theoretical Physicists, (Physical) Mathematicians and Engineers for the theory of electrolytes, electrochemical interfaces and post-lithium batteries

Would you like to apply your knowledge of the mathematical description of physical processes to improve batteries? Then you found the right position. For your start you do not need any knowledge in electrochemistry. Firstly, you create models for ion transport in new electrolytes and the movement of phase boundaries on the basis of statistical physics and fluid dynamics. Secondly, you will implement these as programs in Matlab, Python or C/C++. Thirdly, you will simulate physical-chemical processes - from the nanoscale to the macroscale.

Your qualifications:

  • excellent master degree in physics, mathematics, or engineering e.g. chemical engineering, mechanical engineering, or similar
  • proficient English language skills
  • passion for innovative research

Your benefits:

Look forward to a fulfilling job with an employer who appreciates your commitment and supports your personal and professional development. Our unique infrastructure offers you a working environment in which you have unparalled scope to develop your creative ideas and accomplish your professional objectives. Our human resources policy places great value on a healthy family and work-life-balance as well as equal opportunities for persons of all genders (m/f/non-binary). Individuals with disabilities will be given preferential consideration in the event their qualifications are equivalent to those of other candidates.

  • Apply online now
  • You can send this job advertisement via e-mail and complete your application on a personal computer or laptop.

    We need your digital application documents (PDF). The document upload function is not supported by all mobile devices. Please complete your application on a PC/laptop.

    Complete application on PC

Technical contact

Prof. Dr. Arnulf Latz
Phone: +49 731 5034084

Send message

Vacancy 44569

HR department Stuttgart

Send message

Helmholtz-Institute Ulm (HIU)

To location

DLR Institute of Engineering Thermodynamics

To institute

Bookmark

Beginn

2. Dezember 2019

Dauer

bis 3 Jahre

Vergütung

bis Entgeltgruppe 13 TVöD

Beschäftigungsgrad

Teilzeit

"Spitzenforschung braucht auf allen Ebenen exzellente Köpfe - besonders noch mehr weibliche! Starten Sie bei uns, wir freuen uns auf Ihre Bewerbung" Ihre Prof. Dr. Pascale Ehrenfreund - Vorsitzende des Vorstands

Das Institut für Technische Thermodynamik des DLR forscht auf dem Gebiet effizienter und ressourcenschonender Energiespeicher der nächsten Generation. Die Abteilung für Computergestützte Elektrochemie entwickelt am Helmholtz-Institut Ulm (HIU) für elektrochemische Energiespeicherung neue Theorien und Simulationswerkzeuge für Batteriematerialien und -zellen. Wir nehmen Teil am Exzellenzcluster POLiS für Post-Lithium-Batterien und der Graduiertenschule für elektrochemische Energiespeicherung von CELEST. An der Schnittstelle von Grundlagen und Anwendung erforschen wir in einem interdisziplinären Team physikalisch-chemische Vorgänge. Unser Ziel ist die Verbesserung von Batterien für Elektromobilität und stationäre Energiespeicherung. Wir bieten Ihnen den Einstieg in exzellente Spitzenforschung, Raum für eigene Ideen, internationale Sichtbarkeit und Kontakt mit der Industrie.

Für verschiedene Projekte suchen wir:

Physiker/innen und Ingenieurinnen/Ingenieure für die 3D Modellierung und Simulation von Li-Ionen- und Festkörper- Batterien

Die Themen erstrecken sich entlang des Lebenszyklus der Batterie von der Beschreibung des Produktionsprozesses über die Optimierung von Materialien und Elektrodenstrukturen bis hin zur Analyse des Alterungsverhaltens. Die Arbeiten erfordern ein gutes physikalisches und chemisches Verständnis, Kenntnisse im Bereich der Modellierung und Simulation sowie Erfahrung mit der Implementierung von Modellen in C/C++ oder Matlab. Grundkenntnisse im Bereich Batterien und Elektrochemie sind wünschenswert.

Theoretische Physiker/innen, (physikalische) Mathematiker/innen und Ingenieurinnen/Ingenieure für die Theorie von Elektrolyten, elektrochemischen Grenzflächen und Post-Lithium-Batterien 

Möchten Sie Ihre Kenntnisse der mathematischen Beschreibung physikalischer Vorgänge einsetzen, um Batterien zu verbessern? Dann sind Sie bei uns richtig. Sie benötigen zum Einstieg keine Grundkenntnisse im Bereich Elektrochemie. Zuerst erstellen Sie Modelle für den Ionentransport in neuen Elektrolyten und die Bewegung von Phasengrenzen auf der Basis der statistischen Physik bzw. der Fluiddynamik. Anschließend programmieren Sie diese in Matlab, Python oder C/C++ und simulieren physikalisch-chemische Vorgänge - von der Nanoskala bis zur Makroskala.

Ihre Qualifikation:

  • überdurchschnittlich erfolgreich abgeschlossenes wissenschaftliches Hochschulstudium der Physik, Mathematik oder Ingenieurwissenschaften z. B. Maschinenbau, Verfahrenstechnik o.ä. (Diplom/Master)
  • sehr gute Englischkenntnisse
  • Leidenschaft für innovative Forschung

Ihr Start:

Freuen Sie sich auf einen Arbeitgeber, der Ihr Engagement zu schätzen weiß und Ihre Entwicklung durch vielfältige Qualifizierungs- und Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten fördert. Unser einzigartiges Arbeitsumfeld bietet Ihnen Gestaltungsfreiräume und eine unvergleichbare Infrastruktur, in der Sie Ihre Mission verwirklichen können. Vereinbarkeit von Privatleben, Familie und Beruf sowie Chancengleichheit von Personen aller Geschlechter (m/w/d) sind wichtiger Bestandteil unserer Personalpolitik. Bewerbungen schwerbehinderter Menschen bevorzugen wir bei fachlicher Eignung.

  • Jetzt online bewerben
  • Sie können sich diese Stellenanzeige per E-Mail zusenden und Ihre Bewerbung am stationären Computer oder Laptop erstellen.

    Wir benötigen Ihre digitalen Bewerbungsunterlagen (PDF). Die Übermittlung wird von einigen Mobilgeräten nicht standardmäßig unterstützt. Bitte erstellen Sie Ihre Bewerbung an einem PC/Laptop.

    Bewerbung am PC erstellen

Fachliche/r Ansprechpartner/in

Prof. Dr. Arnulf Latz
Tel.: +49 731 5034084

Nachricht senden

Kennziffer 44569

Personalbetreuung Stuttgart

Nachricht senden

Standort Ulm am Helmholtz-Institut Ulm (HIU)

zum Standort

DLR-Institut für Technische Thermodynamik

zum Institut