Bookmark
Scientific activities / projects

Data Scientist in the field of condition monitoring and predictive maintenance of transport infrastructure

Starting date

immediately

Duration of contract

2 years

Remuneration

up to German TVöD 14

Type of employment

Full-time (part-time possible)

"Cutting-edge research requires excellent minds – particularly more females – at all levels. Launch your mission with us and send in your application now!" Prof. Pascale Ehrenfreund - Chair of the DLR Executive Board

Mobility has a high priority in our society. People want to reach their destination safely, comfortably and quickly. Goods must be transported cost-effectively over short and long distances. The consequences of mobility can be seen in environmental pollution, accidents and traffic jams, which increase with the ever-growing volume of traffic. These are the challenges we face at the Institute of Transportation Systems. We develop solutions for the safe and efficient mobility of the future.

Help us to shape the future of transport infrastructure!

The DLR Institute of Transportation Systems is working together with practice partners on the development of the foundations for the predictive maintenance of road and rail infrastructures. Our goal is a resilient, highly available and trouble-free transport system with lower life-cycle costs. We are therefore conducting research into methods and algorithms for the detection, diagnosis and prognosis of facility conditions by means of measurement data from embedded sensors. For this challenging work, our interdisciplinary Data Science team is seeking reinforcement in the areas of signal and data analysis, pattern recognition, machine learning and system modelling.

Your task is the analysis of measurement data, which provide information concerning the condition of selected systems and facilities of traffic infrastructure and vehicles. This includes not only pure data-driven analysis procedures but also the modelling of the investigated systems. The working collaboration will take place within the framework of national and international projects in cooperation with infrastructure operators, industry and other research institutions.

Your qualifications:

  • completed scientific university studies (diploma/master) in data science, computer science, physics, mathematics, electrical engineering, technical cybernetics, geophysics or a comparable course of studies
  • doctorate or comparable proof of scientific qualification including relevant publications (German/English) in the field of data science and applications of respective methods for engineering problems
  • deep knowledge in data science methods (e.g. supervised and unsupervised learning, time series analysis in time and frequency domain, deep neural networks, time series prediction, Bayesian networks, ...)
  • profound experience in the application of data science methods to large and/or heterogeneous data sets with time and location reference (preferably with Python)
  • several years of professional experience in research and development (e.g. in the field of condition monitoring, cyber physical systems, system identification, anomaly detection, IoT concepts, etc.)
  • project experience in science, preferably with experience in acquiring and managing nationally and internationally (e.g., EU) funded research projects
  • very good German and English language skills, both written and spoken
  • preferably good self-organisation and a high level of independent initiative in the processing of complex scientific and technical issues
  • ability to quickly familiarize yourself with unknown circumstances and complex interrelationships including new tools and methods in data science welcome
  • preferably practical experience in agile working (e.g. SCRUM)
  • experience in Apache Spark desired

Your benefits:

Look forward to a fulfilling job with an employer who appreciates your commitment and supports your personal and professional development. Our unique infrastructure offers you a working environment in which you have unparalled scope to develop your creative ideas and accomplish your professional objectives. Our human resources policy places great value on a healthy family and work-life-balance as well as equal opportunities for persons of all genders (m/f/non-binary). Individuals with disabilities will be given preferential consideration in the event their qualifications are equivalent to those of other candidates.

  • Apply online now
  • You can send this job advertisement via e-mail and complete your application on a personal computer or laptop.

    We need your digital application documents (PDF). The document upload function is not supported by all mobile devices. Please complete your application on a PC/laptop.

    Complete application on PC

Technical contact

Dr. rer. nat. Jörn Groos
Institute of Transportation Systems

Phone: +49 531 295-3543

Send message

Vacancy 43892

HR department Braunschweig

Send message

DLR site Braunschweig

To location

DLR Institute of Transportation Systems

To institute

Bookmark
Wissenschaftliche Tätigkeit / Projektarbeit

Data Science in der Zustandsüberwachung und der prädiktiven Instandhaltung der Verkehrsinfrastruktur

Beginn

ab sofort

Dauer

2 Jahre

Vergütung

bis Entgeltgruppe 14 TVöD

Beschäftigungsgrad

Vollzeit (Teilzeit möglich)

"Spitzenforschung braucht auf allen Ebenen exzellente Köpfe - besonders noch mehr weibliche! Starten Sie bei uns, wir freuen uns auf Ihre Bewerbung" Ihre Prof. Dr. Pascale Ehrenfreund - Vorsitzende des Vorstands

Mobilität hat in unserer Gesellschaft einen hohen Stellenwert. Menschen wollen sicher, bequem und schnell ihr Ziel erreichen. Güter müssen über kurze und lange Strecken kostengünstig transportiert werden. Folgen der Mobilität zeigen sich in Umweltbelastungen, Unfällen und Staus und verstärken sich mit dem stetig wachsenden Verkehrsaufkommen. Diesen Herausforderungen stellen wir uns am Institut für Verkehrssystemtechnik. Wir erarbeiten Lösungen für eine sichere und effiziente Mobilität der Zukunft.

Gestalten Sie mit uns die Zukunft der Verkehrsinfrastruktur! Das DLR-Institut für Verkehrssystemtechnik erarbeitet gemeinsam mit Praxispartnern Grundlagen für die prädiktive Instandhaltung der Straßen- und Schieneninfrastruktur. Unser Ziel ist ein resilientes, hochverfügbares und störungsarmes Verkehrssystem bei geringeren Lebenszykluskosten. Dafür forschen wir an Methoden und Algorithmen für die Detektion, Diagnose und Prognose von Anlagenzuständen anhand von Messdaten eingebetteter Sensoren. Für diese herausfordernde Tätigkeit sucht unser interdisziplinäres Data Science Team Verstärkung. Ihre Aufgabe ist die Analyse von Mess- und Betriebsdaten, die Aufschluss über den Zustand ausgewählter Systeme und Anlagen der Verkehrsinfrastruktur und von Fahrzeugen geben.

Dies umfasst:

  • Signalanalyse im Zeit- und Frequenzbereich
  • statistische Datenanalyse
  • Mustererkennung und maschinelles Lernen
  • Systemmodellierung

 Die wissenschaftliche Arbeit erfolgt in nationalen und internationalen Projekten gemeinsam mit Infrastrukturbetreibern, Industrie sowie anderen Forschungseinrichtungen.

Ihre Qualifikation:

  • abgeschlossenes wissenschaftliches Hochschulstudium (Diplom/Master) im Studienfach Data Science, Informatik, Physik, Mathematik, Elektrotechnik, technische Kybernetik, Geophysik oder in einem vergleichbaren Studiengang
  • Promotion oder vergleichbare nachgewiesene Qualifikation zur wissenschaftlichen Arbeit einschließlich einschlägiger Publikationen (dt./engl.) im Bereich der Datenwissenschaften bzw. der Anwendung datenwissenschaftlicher Methoden und Verfahren im ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Kontext
  • umfangreiches datenwissenschaftliches Methodenwissen (z. B. überwachte und unüberwachte Lernverfahren, Zeitreihenanalyse im Zeit- und Frequenzbereich, tiefe neuronale Netze, Zeitreihenprädiktion, Bayes’sche Netze, …)
  • mehrjährige Erfahrung in der Anwendung datenwissenschaftlicher Methoden auf große und/oder heterogene Datensätze mit Zeit- und Ortsbezug (vorzugsweise mit Python)
  • mehrjährige Berufserfahrung in Forschung und Entwicklung (z. B. im Bereich Zustandsüberwachung, Cyber Physical Systems, Systemidentifikation, Anomaliedetektion, IoT-Konzepten, o.ä.)
  • Projekterfahrung in der Forschung, vorzugsweise mit Erfahrung in Akquise und Management von national und international (z. B. EU) geförderten Forschungsprojekten
  • sehr gute Deutsch- und Englischkenntnisse in Wort und Schrift
  • gute Selbstorganisation und hohe Eigeninitiative bei der Bearbeitung komplexer wissenschaftlicher und technischer Fragestellungen wünschenswert
  • idealerweise Fähigkeit zum schnellen Einarbeiten in fremde Sachverhalte und komplexe Zusammenhänge einschließlich neuer datenwissenschaftlicher Methoden und Werkzeuge
  • Erfahrungen mit agilen Arbeitsweisen (z. B. SCRUM) vorteilhaft
  • Erfahrung mit Apache Spark wünschenswert

Ihr Start:

Freuen Sie sich auf einen Arbeitgeber, der Ihr Engagement zu schätzen weiß und Ihre Entwicklung durch vielfältige Qualifizierungs- und Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten fördert. Unser einzigartiges Arbeitsumfeld bietet Ihnen Gestaltungsfreiräume und eine unvergleichbare Infrastruktur, in der Sie Ihre Mission verwirklichen können. Vereinbarkeit von Privatleben, Familie und Beruf sowie Chancengleichheit von Personen aller Geschlechter (m/w/d) sind wichtiger Bestandteil unserer Personalpolitik. Bewerbungen schwerbehinderter Menschen bevorzugen wir bei fachlicher Eignung.

  • Jetzt online bewerben
  • Sie können sich diese Stellenanzeige per E-Mail zusenden und Ihre Bewerbung am stationären Computer oder Laptop erstellen.

    Wir benötigen Ihre digitalen Bewerbungsunterlagen (PDF). Die Übermittlung wird von einigen Mobilgeräten nicht standardmäßig unterstützt. Bitte erstellen Sie Ihre Bewerbung an einem PC/Laptop.

    Bewerbung am PC erstellen

Fachliche/r Ansprechpartner/in

Dr. rer. nat. Jörn Groos
Institut für Verkehrssystemtechnik

Tel.: +49 531 295-3543

Nachricht senden

Kennziffer 43892

Personalbetreuung Braunschweig

Nachricht senden

DLR-Standort Braunschweig

zum Standort

DLR-Institut für Verkehrssystemtechnik

zum Institut