Bookmark
PhD position

Development of architectural concepts for service platforms in highly integrated traffic systems

Starting date

immediately

Duration of contract

3 Jahre

Remuneration

According to the German TVöD 13

Type of employment

Part-time

"Cutting-edge research requires excellent minds – particularly more females – at all levels. Launch your mission with us and send in your application now!" Prof. Pascale Ehrenfreund - Chair of the DLR Executive Board
Join us in shaping the future of mobility! Be part of an interdisciplinary team in which committed men and women have turned their passion for tomorrow's mobility into their profession.  Work with us on numerous national and international projects together with our research partners to develop highly automated transport systems on the road, rail and in the air.
 
In order to achieve its mission, the Institute of Transportation Systems operates and continuously expands powerful large-scale research facilities such as the Lower Saxony test field. As an important next building block, the test field will be equipped with 5G mobile radio modules, so that research can be done into which traffic applications can result from this technology. The control of these radio modules as well as the development of corresponding software for the mapping of traffic services (e.g. congestion detection and warning) will take place on a service and development layer which has yet to be defined. The implementation of this layer will be carried out by service providers and is only part of this doctorate on request.
As part of this research activity, we offer a PhD position that focuses on the scientific/technical examination of the following questions:
  • How must a service layer be designed from the point of view of the system and software architecture in order to be able to develop traffic services using 5G technology?
  • How can partial functionalities of a service be sensibly distributed and linked in the system network, e.g. sensor technology and data acquisition remain in the vehicle, but data processing in the backend, signalling in the infrastructure, etc.?
  • Is it possible to realize an alternative functional allocation by using the 5G technology?
To answer these questions, you will primarily develop concepts and system architectures in the software development environment and along the interface between mobile radio technology, software engineering and traffic disciplines. You will also have extensive access to the institute's research infrastructure and to the know-how of colleagues with many years of experience in the individual fields. You will work in the direct field of new, highly innovative systems and processes and actively participate in future developments along the system interfaces.

Your qualifications:

  • University degree (diploma or master's degree) in computer science, communications engineering, data sciences, engineering or a comparable field of study.
  • experience in software design and the use of large software frameworks
  • experience in the field of telecommunications technologies
  • experience in the development of transport services
  • very good knowledge of German and English required
  • generalistic and solution-oriented way of working and an affinity for technology is desired
  • enthusiasm for communication and the presentation of technical facts is of advantage
  • interest in the design and modelling of concepts at higher degrees of abstraction is an asset

Your benefits:

Look forward to a fulfilling job with an employer who appreciates your commitment and supports your personal and professional development. Our unique infrastructure offers you a working environment in which you have unparalled scope to develop your creative ideas and accomplish your professional objectives. Our human resources policy places great value on a healthy family and work-life-balance as well as equal opportunities for persons of all genders (m/f/non-binary). Individuals with disabilities will be given preferential consideration in the event their qualifications are equivalent to those of other candidates.

  • Apply online now
  • You can send this job advertisement via e-mail and complete your application on a personal computer or laptop.

    We need your digital application documents (PDF). The document upload function is not supported by all mobile devices. Please complete your application on a PC/laptop.

    Complete application on PC

Technical contact

Christian Linder
Institute of Transportation Systems

Phone: +49 531 295-3490

Send message

Vacancy 45890

HR department Berlin

Send message

DLR site Berlin

To location

DLR Institute of Transportation Systems

To institute

Bookmark
Promotion

Entwicklung von Architekturkonzepten für Serviceplattformen in hochintegrierten Verkehrssystemen

Beginn

ab sofort

Dauer

3 Jahre

Vergütung

Entgeltgruppe 13 TVöD

Beschäftigungsgrad

Teilzeit

"Spitzenforschung braucht auf allen Ebenen exzellente Köpfe - besonders noch mehr weibliche! Starten Sie bei uns, wir freuen uns auf Ihre Bewerbung" Ihre Prof. Dr. Pascale Ehrenfreund - Vorsitzende des Vorstands

Gestalten Sie mit uns die Zukunft der Mobilität! Seien Sie Teil eines interdisziplinären Teams in dem engagierte Frauen und Männer ihre Leidenschaft für die Mobilität von morgen zum Beruf gemacht haben. Entwickeln Sie mit uns in zahlreichen nationalen und internationalen Projekten zusammen mit unseren Forschungspartnern hochautomatisierte Verkehrssysteme auf Straße, Schiene und in der Luft.

Um seine Mission zu erreichen, betreibt das Institut für Verkehrssystemtechnik leistungsstarke Großforschungsanlagen wie z. B. das Testfeld Niedersachsen und baut diese kontinuierlich aus. Als ein wichtiger nächster Baustein wird das Testfeld mit 5G Mobilfunkmodulen bestückt, sodass erforscht werden kann, welche Anwendungsfälle sich durch diese Technologie für den Verkehr ergeben. Die Ansteuerung dieser Funkmodule sowie die Entwicklung entsprechender Software zur Abbildung von verkehrlichen Diensten (z. B. Stauerkennung und -warnung) erfolgt auf einer noch zu definierenden Service- und Entwicklungsschicht. Die Implementierung dieser Schicht wird durch Dienstleister erfolgen und ist nur auf Wunsch Teil dieser Promotion.

Im Rahmen dieser Forschungsaktivität bieten wir eine Promotionsstelle an, die im Zentrum ihrer Betrachtung die wissenschaftlich/technische Auseinandersetzung mit folgenden Fragen zum Ziel hat:

  • Wie muss eine Serviceschicht aus Sicht der System- und Softwarearchitektur gestaltet sein, um verkehrliche Dienste unter Nutzung von 5G Technologie entwickeln zu können?
  • Wie können Teilfunktionalitäten eines Dienstes sinnvoll im Systemverbund verteilt und miteinander verknüpft werden, z. B. Sensorik und Datenerfassung verbleibt im Fahrzeug, Prozessierung der Daten jedoch im Backend, Signalisierung in der Infrastruktur, etc.
  • Ergibt sich aus der Nutzung der 5G Technologie die Möglichkeit eine alternative Funktionsallokation zu realisieren?  

Sie erarbeiten zur Beantwortung dieser Fragen vornehmlich Konzepte und Systemarchitekturen im Softwareentwicklungsumfeld sowie entlang der Schnittstelle zwischen Mobilfunktechnologie, Softwareengineering sowie der verkehrlichen Disziplinen. Dazu erhalten Sie umfangreichen Zugriff auf die Forschungsinfrastruktur des Institutes sowie auf das KnowHow der Kolleginnen und Kollegen mit mehrjähriger Erfahrung in den einzelnen Teilgebieten. Dabei arbeiten Sie im direkten Wirkfeld neuer hoch innovativer Systeme und Verfahren und gestalten zukünftige Entwicklungen entlang der Systemschnittstellen aktiv mit.

Ihre Arbeitsleistung erbringen Sie in einem Umfang von 19,25 Stunden wöchentlich.

Ihre Qualifikation:

  • abgeschlossenes wissenschaftliches Hochschulstudium (Diplom oder Master) der Informatik, Nachrichtentechnik, Daten-, Ingenieurwissenschaften oder vergleichbarer Studiengang
  • Erfahrung im Entwurf von Software sowie der Nutzung von großen Softwareframeworks
  • Erfahrung im Bereich der Telekommunikationstechnologien
  • Erfahrungen im Bereich der Entwicklung verkehrlicher Dienste
  • sehr gute Deutsch und Englischkenntnisse
  • generalistische, technisch-affine und lösungsorientierte Arbeitsweise von Vorteil
  • Spaß an Kommunikation und der Darstellung von technischen Sachverhalten wünschenswert
  • Interesse am Entwurf und der Modellierung von Konzepten auf höheren Abstraktionsgraden erwünscht

Ihr Start:

Freuen Sie sich auf einen Arbeitgeber, der Ihr Engagement zu schätzen weiß und Ihre Entwicklung durch vielfältige Qualifizierungs- und Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten fördert. Unser einzigartiges Arbeitsumfeld bietet Ihnen Gestaltungsfreiräume und eine unvergleichbare Infrastruktur, in der Sie Ihre Mission verwirklichen können. Vereinbarkeit von Privatleben, Familie und Beruf sowie Chancengleichheit von Personen aller Geschlechter (m/w/d) sind wichtiger Bestandteil unserer Personalpolitik. Bewerbungen schwerbehinderter Menschen bevorzugen wir bei fachlicher Eignung.

  • Jetzt online bewerben
  • Sie können sich diese Stellenanzeige per E-Mail zusenden und Ihre Bewerbung am stationären Computer oder Laptop erstellen.

    Wir benötigen Ihre digitalen Bewerbungsunterlagen (PDF). Die Übermittlung wird von einigen Mobilgeräten nicht standardmäßig unterstützt. Bitte erstellen Sie Ihre Bewerbung an einem PC/Laptop.

    Bewerbung am PC erstellen

Fachliche/r Ansprechpartner/in

Christian Linder
Institut für Verkehrssystemtechnik

Tel.: +49 531 295-3490

Nachricht senden

Kennziffer 45890

Personalbetreuung Berlin

Nachricht senden

DLR-Standort Berlin

zum Standort

DLR-Institut für Verkehrssystemtechnik

zum Institut