Bookmark
Course paper / final thesis

Choice of optimizer for the yield optimized operation of a CSP plant under consideration of water saving

Starting date

2 March 2020

Duration of contract

6 months

Remuneration

up to German TVöD 5

Type of employment

Part-time

"Cutting-edge research requires excellent minds – particularly more females – at all levels. Launch your mission with us and send in your application now!" Prof. Pascale Ehrenfreund - Chair of the DLR Executive Board

Direct solar irradiation is essential for the use of Concentrated Solar Power (CSP) plants. Hence CSP plants are built in places with high direct solar irradiation. In general these are arid regions. This is a challenge since CSP plants also rely on the availability of water.

Water is used for various tasks in a CSP plant. The three main water consumers are wet-cooling, mirror cleaning and steam cycle blow down.

In the EU project "SOLWARIS", technologies and methods are being developed to reduce the water consumption of CSP plants. DLR is developing an O&M optimizer to help the power plant operator to run his CSP plant as efficiently as possible. The selection of a suitable optimization approach is subject of this master thesis.

The result of the optimizer should be a schedule according to which the operator can run the power plant as profitably as possible for the next three days. For example, you can influence the time of mirror cleaning and storage charging, but also valve positions in the piping for cooling and water recovery. The definition of the optimization task and the appropriate parameterization shall not be topic of the student work. Parameter sets proposed by the optimizer are passed on to a “black box”, which calculates the electricity generation, the water consummation and the financial yield. Based on these results, the optimizer searches for the optimal operation schedule. A gradient-based method is probably unsuitable in favor of the flexibility of the "black box".

The implementation of the optimizer is planned in Matlab or Phyton.

Steps:

  • Familiarization and understanding of optimization task
  • Support and definition of interfaces for planning the black box-optimizer system.
  • Research of possible optimization approaches
  • Well-founded selection of suitable optimization approaches
  • Implementation and testing of selected optimization approaches with the black box.
  • Evaluation and comparison of optimizer results and well-founded recommendation of the most convenient one

Your qualifications:

  • Field of study: computer science, Math, etc.
  • good analytical skills
  • very good knowledge in the field of optimization
  • Basic knowledge of Matlab, Python or other programming languages
  • Good oral and written skills in German and English language

Your benefits:

Look forward to a fulfilling job with an employer who appreciates your commitment and supports your personal and professional development. Our unique infrastructure offers you a working environment in which you have unparalled scope to develop your creative ideas and accomplish your professional objectives. Our human resources policy places great value on a healthy family and work-life-balance as well as equal opportunities for persons of all genders (m/f/non-binary). Individuals with disabilities will be given preferential consideration in the event their qualifications are equivalent to those of other candidates.

  • Apply online now
  • You can send this job advertisement via e-mail and complete your application on a personal computer or laptop.

    We need your digital application documents (PDF). The document upload function is not supported by all mobile devices. Please complete your application on a PC/laptop.

    Complete application on PC

Technical contact

Lisa Kaborn
Institute of Solar Research

Phone: +49 2203 601-2438

Send message

Vacancy 46255

HR department Cologne

Send message

DLR site Cologne, Headquarters

To location

DLR Institute of Solar Research

To institute

Bookmark
Studien-/ Abschlussarbeit

Auswahl eines Optimierers für den gewinnoptimierten Betrieb von CSP Kraftwerken unter Berücksichtigung von Wassereinsparung

Beginn

2. März 2020

Dauer

6 Monate

Vergütung

bis Entgeltgruppe 5 TVöD

Beschäftigungsgrad

Teilzeit

"Spitzenforschung braucht auf allen Ebenen exzellente Köpfe - besonders noch mehr weibliche! Starten Sie bei uns, wir freuen uns auf Ihre Bewerbung" Ihre Prof. Dr. Pascale Ehrenfreund - Vorsitzende des Vorstands

Direkte Sonneneinstrahlung ist für die Nutzung von CSP-Kraftwerken (Concentrated Solar Power) unerlässlich. Daher werden CSP-Kraftwerke an Orten mit hoher direkter Sonneneinstrahlung errichtet. In der Regel handelt es sich dabei zudem um aride Regionen. Dies ist eine Herausforderung, da CSP-Kraftwerke auf die Verfügbarkeit von Wasser angewiesen sind. In einem CSP-Kraftwerk wird Wasser für verschiedene Aufgaben eingesetzt. Die drei Hauptwasserverbraucher sind Nasskühlung, Spiegelreinigung und das Abschlämmen des Dampf-Kreislaufs.

Im EU-Projekt „SOLWARIS“ werden Technologien und Methoden entwickelt, um den Wasserbedarf von CSP Kraftwerken zu reduzieren. Das DLR entwickelt einen O&M-Optimierer, der dem Kraftwerksbetreiber helfen soll, sein CSP Kraftwerk möglichst effizient zu betrieben. Die Auswahl eines geeigneten Optimierungsansatzes ist Gegenstand dieser studentischen Arbeit.

Das Ergebnis des Optimierers soll ein Fahrplan sein, nach dem der Betreiber das Kraftwerk für die nächsten drei Tage möglichst gewinnbringend fahren kann. Zu beeinflussen sind zum Beispiel der Zeitpunkt der Spiegelreinigung und der Speicherladung, aber auch Ventilstellungen im Bereich der Kühlung und Wasserrückgewinnung. Die Definition der Optimierungsaufgabe und die geeignete Parametrisierung soll nicht Aufgabe der studentischen Arbeit sein. Vom Optimierer vorgeschlagene Parameter-Sets werden an eine „Blackbox“ weiter gegeben, welche damit den generierten Strom, die verbrauchte Wassermenge und den finanziellen Gewinn berechnet. Auf Grundlage dieser Ergebnisse sucht der Optimierer nach dem optimalen Betriebsplan. Ein Gradienten-basiertes Verfahren scheidet vermutlich zu Gunsten der Flexibilität der „Blackbox“ aus.

Die Umsetzung der Optimierung ist in Matlab oder Phython vorgesehen.

Arbeitsschritte:

  • Einarbeitung und Verständnis der Optimierungsaufgabe
  • Hilfestellung und Schnittstellendefinition bei der Konzeptionierung des Blackbox-Optimierungssystems
  • Recherche möglicher Optimierungsansätze
  • Begründete Auswahl der geeignetsten Optimierungsansätze
  • Implementierung und Test der ausgewählten Optimierungsansätze mit der „Blackbox“
  • Auswertung und Vergleich der Optimierungsergebnisse und begründete Empfehlung für den am besten geeigneten Optimierer

Ihre Qualifikation:

  • Studienrichtung: Informatik, Mathematik o. ä.
  • gute analytische Fähigkeiten
  • sehr gute Kenntnisse im Bereich Optimierung
  • grundlegende Kenntnisse in Matlab, Python oder anderen Programmiersprachen
  • gute mündliche und schriftliche Ausdrucksfähigkeit in deutscher und englischer Sprache

Ihr Start:

Freuen Sie sich auf einen Arbeitgeber, der Ihr Engagement zu schätzen weiß und Ihre Entwicklung durch vielfältige Qualifizierungs- und Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten fördert. Unser einzigartiges Arbeitsumfeld bietet Ihnen Gestaltungsfreiräume und eine unvergleichbare Infrastruktur, in der Sie Ihre Mission verwirklichen können. Vereinbarkeit von Privatleben, Familie und Beruf sowie Chancengleichheit von Personen aller Geschlechter (m/w/d) sind wichtiger Bestandteil unserer Personalpolitik. Bewerbungen schwerbehinderter Menschen bevorzugen wir bei fachlicher Eignung.

  • Jetzt online bewerben
  • Sie können sich diese Stellenanzeige per E-Mail zusenden und Ihre Bewerbung am stationären Computer oder Laptop erstellen.

    Wir benötigen Ihre digitalen Bewerbungsunterlagen (PDF). Die Übermittlung wird von einigen Mobilgeräten nicht standardmäßig unterstützt. Bitte erstellen Sie Ihre Bewerbung an einem PC/Laptop.

    Bewerbung am PC erstellen

Fachliche/r Ansprechpartner/in

Lisa Kaborn
Institut für Solarforschung

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2438

Nachricht senden

Kennziffer 46255

Personalbetreuung Köln

Nachricht senden

DLR-Standort Köln, Hauptverwaltung

zum Standort

DLR-Institut für Solarforschung

zum Institut