Bookmark
Course paper / final thesis

Integration of Eye-Tracking and Assistant Based Speech Recognition for the Interaction at the Controller Working Position

Starting date

immediately

Duration of contract

6 months

Type of employment

Full-time

"Cutting-edge research requires excellent minds – particularly more females – at all levels. Launch your mission with us and send in your application now!" Prof. Pascale Ehrenfreund - Chair of the DLR Executive Board

The department controller assistance develops prototypic support systems for air traffic controllers. This also encompasses human machine interfaces and functionalities for information visualisation to the air traffic operator. Among other things, systems for assistant based speech recognition and for the detection of visual controller attention have already been developed.

An assistant based speech recognition system, for example, recognizes one or more controller commands and enters the values in the corresponding command type cell of an aircraft radar label in an emphasized form. This highlighting is intended to cause the air traffic controller to check and correct the displayed command(s) if it is / are incorrect. If all the information is correct and the controller has apparently checked this, the highlighting should disappear after a certain time (e.g. 20 seconds or at the time of looking at it). However, the controller may not have carried out a check despite the highlighting. This can be checked as far as possible by an eye tracker detecting whether the controller’s gaze has stayed at least for a short time on the highlighted label position or whether the mouse cursor has been specifically moved to the display position. If the controller has apparently not carried out any control, the highlighting should become clearer (higher visual escalation level) in order to draw the controller’s attention. After a further 20 seconds, if applicable, the highlighted values should be adopted automatically. The inspection using eye tracking and the time-dependent transfer of values are to be developed and integrated into an existing prototypic radar display. Ideally, this system can even be tested and validated with air traffic controllers in simulations at DLR.

In the course of your bachelor’s thesis, the following tasks need to be handled:

  • familiarisation with the concepts of assistant based speech recognition and eye-tracking based visual attention guidance
  • development of concept for determining the visual scan of speech recognition output through the air traffic operator based on various sensor data and related displays
  • implementation of the developed concept and creation of tests into existing source code of a software-toolbox for controller support systems including integration of gaze and speech recognition
  • continuous documentation of working steps and results
  • if applicable support for the evaluation of developed functionalities with air traffic controllers in simulation studies

Your qualifications:

  • studies in Informatics or similar
  • good programming skills in C++ and with MySQL databases
  • good knowledge in writing scientific essays (e.g. seminar thesis)
  • basics in the domain of air traffic control complete your profile in the best case

Your benefits:

Look forward to a fulfilling job with an employer who appreciates your commitment and supports your personal and professional development. Our unique infrastructure offers you a working environment in which you have unparalled scope to develop your creative ideas and accomplish your professional objectives. Our human resources policy places great value on a healthy family and work-life-balance as well as equal opportunities for persons of all genders (m/f/non-binary). Individuals with disabilities will be given preferential consideration in the event their qualifications are equivalent to those of other candidates.

  • Apply online now
  • You can send this job advertisement via e-mail and complete your application on a personal computer or laptop.

    We need your digital application documents (PDF). The document upload function is not supported by all mobile devices. Please complete your application on a PC/laptop.

    Complete application on PC

Technical contact

Dr Oliver Ohneiser
Institute of Flight Guidance

Phone: +49 531 295-2566

Send message

Vacancy 47286

HR department Braunschweig

Send message

DLR site Braunschweig

To location

DLR Institute of Flight Guidance

To institute

Früher wollte ich die Sonne fangen. Heute bin ich Forscherin beim DLR
Bookmark
Studien-/ Abschlussarbeit

Integration von Eye-Tracking und Assistenzbasierter Spracherkennung für die Interaktion am Fluglotsenarbeitsplatz

Beginn

ab sofort

Dauer

6 Monate

Beschäftigungsgrad

Vollzeit

"Spitzenforschung braucht auf allen Ebenen exzellente Köpfe - besonders noch mehr weibliche! Starten Sie bei uns, wir freuen uns auf Ihre Bewerbung" Ihre Prof. Dr. Pascale Ehrenfreund - Vorsitzende des Vorstands

Die Abteilung Lotsenassistenz entwickelt prototypische Unterstützungssysteme für Fluglotsen. Dazu gehören auch verschiedene HMIs (Human-Machine Interface) oder Funktionalitäten zur Visualisierung von Informationen für den Luftfahrt-Operateur. Unter anderem wurden bereits Systeme zur assistenzbasierten Spracherkennung sowie zur Erfassung der visuellen Lotsenaufmerksamkeit entwickelt.

Ein assistenzbasiertes Spracherkennungssystem erkennt beispielsweise ein oder mehrere Lotsenkommandos und trägt die Werte in die entsprechende Kommandotyp-Zelle eines Luftfahrzeug-Radarlabels in hervorgehobener Form ein. Dieses Hervorheben soll den Fluglotsen dazu veranlassen, das/die angezeigten Kommando/s zu kontrollieren und zu korrigieren, falls es/sie nicht korrekt ist/sind. Sind alle Angaben korrekt und hat der Lotse dies offenbar geprüft, soll die Hervorhebung nach einer gewissen Zeit (z.B. 20 Sekunden oder zum Zeitpunkt des Anguckens) verschwinden. Es kann jedoch sein, dass der Lotse trotz der Hervorhebung keine Kontrolle vorgenommen hat. Dies lässt sich weitestgehend überprüfen, indem ein Eye-Tracker detektiert, ob der Blick des Lotsen zumindest für kurze Zeit auf der/den hervorgehobenen Label-Position verweilt hat oder der Maus-Cursor gezielt zur Anzeigeposition verschoben wurde. Falls der Lotse, offenbar keine Kontrolle vorgenommen hat, sollte das Hervorheben deutlicher werden (höhere visuelle Eskalationsstufe), um die Aufmerksamkeit des Lotsen zu lenken. Nach ggf. weiteren 20 Sekunden sollen die hervorgehobenen Werte automatisch übernommen werden. Die Prüfung mithilfe des Eye-Trackings und die zeitabhängige Werte-Übernahme sollen entwickelt und in ein bestehendes prototypisches Radardisplay integriert werden. Im Idealfall kann dieses System sogar mit Fluglotsen in Simulationen des DLR getestet und validiert werden.

Während der Bachelorarbeit sollen folgende Aufgaben bearbeitet werden:

  • Einarbeitung in die Konzepte von Assistenzbasierter Spracherkennung und Eye-Tracking-gestützter visueller Aufmerksamkeitslenkung
  • Entwicklung eines Konzepts zur Entscheidung der visuellen Erfassung von Spracherkennungsausgaben durch einen Luftfahrt-Operateur basierend auf verschiedenen Sensordaten und zugehörigen Anzeigen
  • Implementierung des erstellten Konzepts und Erstellung von Tests in den existierenden Quellcode einer Software-Toolbox für Lotsenunterstützungssysteme inklusive Integration von Blick- und Spracherkennung
  • fortwährende Dokumentation der Arbeitsschritte und -ergebnisse
  • ggf. Unterstützung für die Evaluation der entwickelten Funktionalität mit Fluglotsen in Simulationsstudien

Ihre Qualifikation:

  • Studium der Informatik oder ähnlicher Studiengang
  • gute Programmierkenntnisse in C++ sowie im Umgang mit MySQL-Datenbanken
  • Kenntnisse beim Erstellen von schriftlichen wissenschaftlichen Aufsätzen (z.B. Seminararbeit)
  • Kenntnisse im Bereich Flugsicherung runden Ihr Profil bestenfalls ab

Ihr Start:

Freuen Sie sich auf einen Arbeitgeber, der Ihr Engagement zu schätzen weiß und Ihre Entwicklung durch vielfältige Qualifizierungs- und Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten fördert. Unser einzigartiges Arbeitsumfeld bietet Ihnen Gestaltungsfreiräume und eine unvergleichbare Infrastruktur, in der Sie Ihre Mission verwirklichen können. Vereinbarkeit von Privatleben, Familie und Beruf sowie Chancengleichheit von Personen aller Geschlechter (m/w/d) sind wichtiger Bestandteil unserer Personalpolitik. Bewerbungen schwerbehinderter Menschen bevorzugen wir bei fachlicher Eignung.

  • Jetzt online bewerben
  • Sie können sich diese Stellenanzeige per E-Mail zusenden und Ihre Bewerbung am stationären Computer oder Laptop erstellen.

    Wir benötigen Ihre digitalen Bewerbungsunterlagen (PDF). Die Übermittlung wird von einigen Mobilgeräten nicht standardmäßig unterstützt. Bitte erstellen Sie Ihre Bewerbung an einem PC/Laptop.

    Bewerbung am PC erstellen

Fachliche/r Ansprechpartner/in

Dr. Oliver Ohneiser
Institut für Flugführung

Tel.: +49 531 295-2566

Nachricht senden

Kennziffer 47286

Personalbetreuung Braunschweig

Nachricht senden

DLR-Standort Braunschweig

zum Standort

DLR-Institut für Flugführung

zum Institut