Bookmark
Course paper / final thesis

Runtime Tracing of Flight Software

Starting date

immediately

Duration of contract

6 months

Type of employment

Full-time

"Cutting-edge research requires excellent minds – particularly more females – at all levels. Launch your mission with us and send in your application now!" Prof. Pascale Ehrenfreund - Chair of the DLR Executive Board

Modern space missions incorporate at least one on-board computer that needs to process a wide range of computational tasks. DLR developed the Tasking Framework as a middleware between the operating system and the applications. One of its main purposes is the efficient scheduling of multiple computational tasks like control algorithms for spacecraft. Tasking Framework is used in a wide variety of missions ranging from satellites to reentry experimental vehicles. Increasing demands on the complexity of the control algorithms results in more complex task networks to be handled by the scheduler.

With larger task networks it becomes also more complex to reconstruct its actual behavior. However, this is required to develop and debug applications. It becomes also more difficult to prove that the application meets certain requirements like timing constraints.

One solution to the problem is the usage of tracing tools to supervise the running application. This allows for a later reconstruction of the behavior from the log files. Modern tracing tools like TRACE COMPASS use the Common Trace Format (CTF). The tools also help to preprocess and visualize the results.

Your mission is to evaluate the potential and the pitfalls of using tracing with the DLR Tasking framework. The main task is to investigate and implement a tracing functionality into the Tasking Framework software stack. Therefore, you will first need to familiarize yourself with the general design of satellite onboard software and with the specific design of the DLR Tasking Framework. Additionally, you need to investigate the state of the art and potential of using tracing in embedded systems. The developed concept for tracing shall be implemented into the software stack of the Tasking Framework. Finally, the implemented tracing tools will be applied on demo applications to trace the runtime performance and to check for possible bottlenecks. The results should contain an evaluation of the tracing tools, with focus on how the extracted information can prove valuable for the development of larger and more complex real-time software systems.

Your qualifications:

  • Bachelor in computer science or similar
  • Experience in programming C++ and its related frameworks
  • Experience in using the Eclipse IDE and Plugins
  • Motivated and self-reliant team-player

Your benefits:

Look forward to a fulfilling job with an employer who appreciates your commitment and supports your personal and professional development. Our unique infrastructure offers you a working environment in which you have unparalled scope to develop your creative ideas and accomplish your professional objectives. Our human resources policy places great value on a healthy family and work-life-balance as well as equal opportunities for persons of all genders (m/f/non-binary). Individuals with disabilities will be given preferential consideration in the event their qualifications are equivalent to those of other candidates.

  • Apply online now
  • You can send this job advertisement via e-mail and complete your application on a personal computer or laptop.

    We need your digital application documents (PDF). The document upload function is not supported by all mobile devices. Please complete your application on a PC/laptop.

    Complete application on PC

Technical contact

Dennis Pfau
Simulation and Software Technology

Phone: +49 531 295-2203

Send message

Vacancy 48112

HR department Braunschweig

Send message

DLR site Braunschweig

To location

DLR Simulation and Software Technology

To institute

Früher wollte ich die Sonne fangen. Heute bin ich Forscherin beim DLR
Bookmark
Studien-/ Abschlussarbeit

Runtime Tracing von Flug-Software

Beginn

ab sofort

Dauer

6 Monate

Beschäftigungsgrad

Vollzeit

"Spitzenforschung braucht auf allen Ebenen exzellente Köpfe - besonders noch mehr weibliche! Starten Sie bei uns, wir freuen uns auf Ihre Bewerbung" Ihre Prof. Dr. Pascale Ehrenfreund - Vorsitzende des Vorstands

Moderne Raumfahrtmissionen beinhalten heute immer die Nutzung eines On-Board Computers, welcher eine große Bandbreite an Rechenaufgaben bewältigen muss. Das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) hat deshalb das Tasking Framework entwickelt. Dabei handelt es sich um eine Middleware, welche eine Verbindung zwischen dem Betriebssystem und der Anwendungssoftware darstellt. Sie übernimmt u.a. das Scheduling von verschiedenen Rechenaufgaben wie z.B. Regelalgorithmen für Raumfahrtsysteme. Es wird bereits in mehreren aktiven Missionen von Satelliten bis Wiedereintrittsfahrzeugen verwendend. Mit steigender Komplexität der Mission steigt auch die Anforderung an den Scheduler, welcher mehr Rechenaufgaben zu verwalten hat.

Steigt die Anzahl der Rechenaufgaben, wird es zunehmend schwieriger das Verhalten des Schedulers nachzuvollziehen. Dies ist jedoch für die Entwicklung und das Debugging unerlässlich. Es wird darüber hinaus ebenfalls schwieriger nachzuweisen, dass die Anwendung die benötigen Anforderungen erfüllt. Ein Beispiel hierfür ist die Anforderung an die Echtzeitfähigkeit.

Eine Lösung für das Problem ist die Nutzung von Tracing Tools für die Überwachung der laufenden Anwendung. Tracing erlaubt die spätere Rekonstruktion des Verhaltens aus Log-Files. Ein modernes Tracing Tool ist TRACE COMPASS welches das Common Trace Format (CTF) nutzt. Das Tool besitzt ebenfalls Funktionen für die Aufbereitung und Visualisierung der Ergebnisse.

Deine Aufgabe besteht darin, die Vor- und Nachteile von Tracing für das Tasking Framework des DLRs zu erarbeiten. Die Hauptaufgabe besteht darin, eine geeignete Tracing Funktionalität zu recherchieren und diese anschließend in das Tasking Framework zu integrieren. Dazu wirst du dich mit dem Tasking Framework und den Besonderheiten bei der Entwicklung von Software in der Raumfahrt vertraut machen. Des Weiteren ist die Recherche zum aktuellen State-of-the-Art von Tracing in Embedded Systems erforderlich. Das dabei entwickelte Konzept soll anschließend zu dem Software-Stack des Tasking Framework hinzugefügt werden. Zum Abschluss wird das hinzugefügte Konzept mit Hilfe von Demo-Anwendungen getestet. Die Ergebnisse der Arbeit sollten eine Evaluierung des entwickelten Tracing Tools beinhalten. Von besonderem Interesse ist dabei, wie die getracten Daten bei der Entwicklung von größerer und komplexer Echtzeitsoftware genutzt werden können.

Ihre Qualifikation:

  • Bachelor im Bereich Informatik oder vergleichbares
  • Erfahrung in der Programmierung mit C++ und deren Frameworks
  • Erfahrung in der Nutzung der Eclipse IDE und Plugins
  • motiviert, selbständig und teamfähig

Ihr Start:

Freuen Sie sich auf einen Arbeitgeber, der Ihr Engagement zu schätzen weiß und Ihre Entwicklung durch vielfältige Qualifizierungs- und Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten fördert. Unser einzigartiges Arbeitsumfeld bietet Ihnen Gestaltungsfreiräume und eine unvergleichbare Infrastruktur, in der Sie Ihre Mission verwirklichen können. Vereinbarkeit von Privatleben, Familie und Beruf sowie Chancengleichheit von Personen aller Geschlechter (m/w/d) sind wichtiger Bestandteil unserer Personalpolitik. Bewerbungen schwerbehinderter Menschen bevorzugen wir bei fachlicher Eignung.

  • Jetzt online bewerben
  • Sie können sich diese Stellenanzeige per E-Mail zusenden und Ihre Bewerbung am stationären Computer oder Laptop erstellen.

    Wir benötigen Ihre digitalen Bewerbungsunterlagen (PDF). Die Übermittlung wird von einigen Mobilgeräten nicht standardmäßig unterstützt. Bitte erstellen Sie Ihre Bewerbung an einem PC/Laptop.

    Bewerbung am PC erstellen

Fachliche/r Ansprechpartner/in

Dennis Pfau
Simulations- und Softwaretechnik

Tel.: +49 531 295-2203

Nachricht senden

Kennziffer 48112

Personalbetreuung Braunschweig

Nachricht senden

DLR-Standort Braunschweig

zum Standort

DLR Simulations- und Softwaretechnik

zum Institut