+++ At DLR, we are always looking for bright minds – even during the current exceptional circumstances. Our current vacancies can be found here. +++

Bookmark
PhD position

Space weather research

Starting date

1 July 2020

Duration of contract

3 years

Remuneration

up to the German TVöD 13

Type of employment

Part-time

"Cutting-edge research requires excellent minds – particularly more females – at all levels. Launch your mission with us and send in your application now!" Prof. Pascale Ehrenfreund - Chair of the DLR Executive Board

At the Institute of Solar-Terrestrial Physics of the German Aerospace Center (DLR), solar-terrestrial relationships are studied with the focus on the ionosphere and their relation to phenomena and effects of space weather. Modern communication and navigation systems as well as high-resolution radar techniques of remote sensing work with radio waves whose propagation is significantly influenced by the electrically conductive part of the Earth's atmosphere, the ionosphere. In view of constantly increasing demands on accuracy, availability and reliability of the radio signals used, it is necessary to have the most comprehensive knowledge possible of the propagation properties of the ionosphere. For this purpose and to understand the basic solar-terrestrial relationships, comprehensive observations of the state of the ionosphere and various space weather factors including solar wind as well as significant coupling processes with the magnetosphere, thermosphere, atmosphere and lithosphere are required.

The department of Space Weather Observations deals with ionosphere measurement and inversion techniques using ground and space borne sensors. The observation data are used to reconstruct the 3D electron density distribution of the geo-plasma environment by means of data fusion, reconstruction and assimilation techniques.

The investigation of ionospheric propagation of radio waves in the low and very low frequency (VLF) range and their correlation with atmospheric and space weather effects are of great interest for reliable long range communications. Besides solar radiation, which is the main driver of the ionosphere, especially the lower layers are subject to atmospheric variability. Often observed wave like structures or travelling ionospheric disturbances are the primary manifestation of forcing from the lower atmosphere. In order to understand the dynamic behaviour of the lower ionosphere, the propagation parameters of radio waves shall be measured, analysed and simulated. Modern radio control systems operated on long radio waves are often subject to high demands on transmission reliability. Therefore, the knowledge of ionospheric impact factors and their variability is of practical importance.

The Institute for Solar-Terrestrial Physics is therefore looking for staff to work on the following topics:

  • investigation and simulation of VLF signal propagation, deduction of ionospheric processes, and reconstruction of the lower ionosphere (D-layer)  
  • long-term analysis of various ground-based ionosphere measurements as well as satellite-based measurements of solar radiation to exclude space weather impacts
  • investigation of coupling processes between the D-layer and atmospheric processes (especially mesosphere)
  • comparative studies on mesospheric radar wind measurements and global atmospheric simulation data sets
  • installation and extension of VLF receiving stations
  • implementation of VLF data processing systems based on the programming languages C++, Python and Matlab on Linux and Microsoft Windows systems
  • Documentation of work results in publications

You will bring in your excellent skills into an international successful and highly motivated research team with long scientific expertise in ionosphere and space weather research. Here, you will experience a very good working atmosphere in a well-equipped and modern research site situated in a beautiful and livable region of Germany.

Your qualifications:

  • university degree (master's or diploma) in physics, meteorology, applied mathematics or a comparable scientific discipline
  • very good knowledge of relevant programming languages (e.g. Fortran, Python, Matlab, C++) and common operating systems
  • experience in space weather research and signal processing is advantageous
  • excellent German and English knowledge in spoken and written
  • ability to work in a team as well as independent, creative and goal-oriented way of working

Your benefits:

Look forward to a fulfilling job with an employer who appreciates your commitment and supports your personal and professional development. Our unique infrastructure offers you a working environment in which you have unparalled scope to develop your creative ideas and accomplish your professional objectives. Our human resources policy places great value on a healthy family and work-life-balance as well as equal opportunities for persons of all genders (m/f/non-binary). Individuals with disabilities will be given preferential consideration in the event their qualifications are equivalent to those of other candidates.

  • Apply online now
  • You can send this job advertisement via e-mail and complete your application on a personal computer or laptop.

    We need your digital application documents (PDF). The document upload function is not supported by all mobile devices. Please complete your application on a PC/laptop.

    Complete application on PC

Technical contact

Daniela Banyś
Institute for Solar-Terrestrial Physics

Phone: +49 3981 480-214

Send message

Vacancy 49224

HR department Berlin

Send message

DLR site Neustrelitz

To location

Institute for Solar-Terrestrial Physics

To institute

+++ Wir suchen immer kluge Köpfe für das DLR – auch in dieser besonderen Lage. Unsere aktuellen Stellenangebote finden Sie hier. +++

Früher wollte ich neue Wege entdecken. Heute bin ich Forscherin beim DLR

Bookmark
Promotion

Weltraumwetterforschung

Beginn

1. August 2020

Dauer

zunächst befristet auf 3 Jahre

Vergütung

bis Entgeltgruppe 13 TVöD

Beschäftigungsgrad

Teilzeit

Am Institut für Solar-Terrestrische Physik des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) werden solar-terrestrische Beziehungen mit dem Schwerpunkt Ionosphäre und deren Bezug zu Phänomenen und Auswirkungen des Weltraumwetters untersucht. Moderne Kommunikations- und Navigationssysteme sowie hochauflösende Radarverfahren der Fernerkundung arbeiten mit Funkwellen deren Ausbreitung durch den elektrisch leitfähigen Teil der Erdatmosphäre, die Ionosphäre, signifikant beeinflusst wird. Angesichts ständig wachsender Anforderungen an Genauigkeit, Verfügbarkeit und  Zuverlässigkeit der genutzten Radiosignale ist eine möglichst umfassende Kenntnis der Ausbreitungseigenschaften der Ionosphäre erforderlich. Hierzu und zum Verständnis der grundlegenden solar-terrestrischen Beziehungen sind umfassende Beobachtungen des Zustandes der Ionosphäre und verschiedener Weltraumwetter-Faktoren einschließlich Sonnenwind sowie signifikanter Kopplungsprozesse mit der Magnetosphäre, Thermosphäre, Atmosphäre und Lithosphäre erforderlich.

Die Abteilung für Weltraumwetterbeobachtung des neu gegründeten Institutes für Solar-Terrestrische Physik untersucht Ionosphärenmess- und Inversionstechniken mittels boden- und weltraumgestützter Sensoren. Die Beobachtungsdaten werden genutzt, um die 3D-Elektronendichteverteilung des Geo-Plasmas mittels Datenfusion und diverser Rekonstruktionsverfahren und Assimilationstechniken in ihrer zeitlichen Dynamik zu rekonstruieren.

Im Rahmen einer Promotion führen Sie die Untersuchung der ionosphärischen Ausbreitung von Funkwellen im Lang- und Längstwellenbereich (VLF – Very Low Frequency) und deren Kopplung zu atmosphärischen sowie Weltraumwettereinflüssen durch. Neben der solaren Strahlung, die der Hauptenergielieferant der Ionosphäre ist, unterliegen insbesondere die unteren Schichten atmosphärischen Schwankungen. Um auch die dynamischen Eigenschaften der unteren Ionosphäre zu erfassen, sollen die Ausbreitungseigenschaften dieser Wellen gemessen, analysiert und simuliert werden. Moderne Funksteuerungssysteme, die mit Langwellen arbeiten, unterliegen hohen Anforderungen an die Übertragungssicherheit. Die Kenntnis ionosphärischer Einflussfaktoren und ihrer Variabilität ist deshalb von praktischer Bedeutung.

Ihre Arbeit umfasst die folgenden Aufgaben:

  • Untersuchung und Simulation der VLF-Signalausbreitung, Ableitung ionosphärischer Prozesse, sowie Rekonstruktion der unteren Ionosphäre (D-Schicht)
  • Langzeitanalyse von diversen bodengestützten Ionosphärenmessungen sowie satellitenbasierten Messungen der solaren Strahlung um Weltraumwettereinflüsse auszuschließen
  • Untersuchung von Kopplungsprozessen zwischen der D-Schicht und atmosphärischen Prozessen (insbesondere Mesosphäre)
  • Vergleichsstudien zu mesosphärischen Radar-Windmessungen und globalen atmosphärischen Simulations-Datensätzen
  • Installation und Erweiterung von VLF-Empfangsstationen

Sie bringen Ihre exzellenten Fähigkeiten in ein international erfolgreiches und hoch motiviertes Forschungsteam mit langjähriger wissenschaftlicher Expertise in der Ionosphären- und Weltraumwetterforschung ein.

Hier erleben Sie ein sehr gutes Arbeitsklima an einem sehr gut ausgestatteten und modernen Forschungsstandort, in einer schönen und lebenswerten Region Deutschlands.

Ihre Arbeitsleistung erbringen Sie in einem Umfang von 19,25 Std./Wo.

Ihre Qualifikation:

  • abgeschlossenes wissenschaftliches Hochschulstudium (Master oder Diplom) in Physik, Meteorologie, angewandter Mathematik oder einer vergleichbaren wissenschaftlichen Fachrichtung
  • gute Programmierkenntnisse in höheren Programmiersprachen (z. B. Python, Matlab, C/C++,  Fortran)
  • Erfahrung in der Weltraumwetterforschung und Signalverarbeitung vorteilhaft
  • sehr gute englische Sprachkenntnisse in Wort und Schrift

Ihr Start:

Freuen Sie sich auf einen Arbeitgeber, der Ihr Engagement zu schätzen weiß und Ihre Entwicklung durch vielfältige Qualifizierungs- und Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten fördert. Unser einzigartiges Arbeitsumfeld bietet Ihnen Gestaltungsfreiräume und eine unvergleichbare Infrastruktur, in der Sie Ihre Mission verwirklichen können. Vereinbarkeit von Privatleben, Familie und Beruf sowie Chancengleichheit von Personen aller Geschlechter (m/w/d) sind wichtiger Bestandteil unserer Personalpolitik. Bewerbungen schwerbehinderter Menschen bevorzugen wir bei fachlicher Eignung.

  • Jetzt online bewerben
  • Sie können sich diese Stellenanzeige per E-Mail zusenden und Ihre Bewerbung am stationären Computer oder Laptop erstellen.

    Wir benötigen Ihre digitalen Bewerbungsunterlagen (PDF). Die Übermittlung wird von einigen Mobilgeräten nicht standardmäßig unterstützt. Bitte erstellen Sie Ihre Bewerbung an einem PC/Laptop.

    Bewerbung am PC erstellen

Fachliche/r Ansprechpartner/in

Dr. Daniela Banyś
Institut für Solar-Terrestrische Physik

Tel.: +49 3981 480-214

Nachricht senden

Kennziffer 49224

Personalbetreuung Berlin

Nachricht senden

DLR-Standort Neustrelitz

zum Standort

DLR-Institut für Solar-Terrestrische Physik

zum Institut