Bookmark
Scientific activities / projects

Research for experimental studies

Starting date

immediately

Duration of contract

3 years

Remuneration

according to the German 13 TVöD

Type of employment

Full-time

"Cutting-edge research requires excellent minds – particularly more females – at all levels. Launch your mission with us and send in your application now!" Prof. Pascale Ehrenfreund - Chair of the DLR Executive Board

The protection and security of critical infrastructures is an essential basis for the economic prosperity and stability of countries and societies. The Institute for the Protection of Terrestrial Infrastructures is dedicated to this task and develops concepts, procedures and technologies for this purpose. These serve to assess and improve the security status of infrastructures, taking into account people, technology and the overall system. The department Detection Systems develops sensor systems and measurement methods for the acquisition of data needed for the creation of digital twins as well as the assessment and improvement of the resilience of critical infrastructures.

Predominantly with sensor technology, which operates in various electromagnetic frequency ranges outside the visible range, a large-area continuous monitoring is aimed at. Your work primarily comprises

  • selection and further development of measurement technology which can be used for contact-less structure analysis of buildings and facilities and for monitoring of key physical parameters in critical infrastructures
  • development of experimental setups and performance of experiments from laboratory scale to experimental use in real infrastructures
  • preparation and analysis of measurement data with modern methods of data analysis and statistics
  • communication and publication of the results
  • application for and management of third-party funded projects in your field of activity

Your qualifications:

  • scientific university degree (diplom or master) in a natural science field (e.g. physics) or engineering (e.g. mechanical engineering)
  • experience in the development of experimental setups on different size scales
  • experience in the field of data evaluation
  • experience with third-party funded projects is desirable
  • experience in dealing with industrial partners, if possible also in joint projects, is desirable
  • excellent verbal and written expression and fluent English
  • strong communication and cooperation skills and ability to work in a team

Your benefits:

Look forward to a fulfilling job with an employer who appreciates your commitment and supports your personal and professional development. Our unique infrastructure offers you a working environment in which you have unparalled scope to develop your creative ideas and accomplish your professional objectives. Our human resources policy places great value on a healthy family and work-life-balance as well as equal opportunities for persons of all genders (m/f/non-binary). Individuals with disabilities will be given preferential consideration in the event their qualifications are equivalent to those of other candidates.

  • Apply online now
  • You can send this job advertisement via e-mail and complete your application on a personal computer or laptop.

    We need your digital application documents (PDF). The document upload function is not supported by all mobile devices. Please complete your application on a PC/laptop.

    Complete application on PC

Technical contact

Dr. rer. nat. Jacob Estevam Schmiedt
Institute of Solar Research

Phone: +49 2203 601-4427

Send message

Vacancy 49907

HR department Cologne

Send message

DLR locations Sankt Augustin and Rheinbach

To location

DLR Institute for the Protection of Terrestrial Infrastructures

To institute

Früher wollte ich abheben. Heute bin ich Forscherin beim DLR

Bookmark
Wissenschaftliche Tätigkeit / Projektarbeit

Optimierung des Schutzes kritischer Infrastrukturen

Beginn

ab sofort

Dauer

zunächst befristet auf 3 Jahre

Vergütung

bis Entgeltgruppe TVöD 13

Beschäftigungsgrad

Vollzeit

"Spitzenforschung braucht auf allen Ebenen exzellente Köpfe - besonders noch mehr weibliche! Starten Sie bei uns, wir freuen uns auf Ihre Bewerbung" Ihre Prof. Dr. Pascale Ehrenfreund - Vorsitzende des Vorstands

Der Schutz und die Sicherheit kritischer Infrastrukturen ist eine essentielle Grundlage für die wirtschaftliche Prosperität und Stabilität von Staaten und Gesellschaften. Dieser Aufgabe widmet sich das Institut zum Schutz terrestrischer Infrastrukturen und entwickelt dafür Konzepte, Verfahren und Technologien, die sowohl zur Beurteilung als auch zur Verbesserung des Sicherheitsstatus von Infrastrukturen unter Betrachtung der drei Ebenen Mensch, Technologie und Gesamtsystem dienen. Die Abteilung Detektionssysteme entwickelt Sensorik und Messverfahren für die Gewinnung von Daten, die für die Erstellung von digitalen Zwillingen sowie die Beurteilung und Verbesserung der Resilienz von kritischen Infrastrukturen benötigt werden.

Vorwiegend mit Sensorik, die in verschiedenen elektromagnetischen Frequenzbereichen außerhalb des sichtbaren Bereichs arbeitet, wird ein großflächiges, kontinuierliches Monitoring angestrebt. Ihre Arbeit umfasst dabei in erster Linie folgende Schwerpunkte:

  • Auswahl und Weiterentwicklung von Messtechnik zur berührungslosen Strukturanalyse von Bauwerken und Anlagen sowie zum Monitoring entscheidender physikalischer Größen im Bereich kritischer Infrastrukturen
  • Entwicklung von Versuchsaufbauten und Durchführung von Experimenten vom Labormaßstab bis zum experimentellen Einsatz in realen Infrastrukturen
  • Aufbereitung und Analyse der Messdaten mit modernen Methoden der Datenanalyse und Statistik
  • Kommunikation und Veröffentlichung der erzielten Ergebnisse
  • Beantragung und ggf. Leitung von Drittmittelprojekten im Aufgabengebiet

Ihre Qualifikation:

  • Abgeschlossenes wissenschaftliches Hochschulstudium (Universitätsdiplom oder Master) in einem naturwissenschaftlichen Bereich (z.B. Physik) oder ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Bereich (z.B. Maschinenbau)
  • Erfahrungen in der Entwicklung von Versuchsaufbauten auf verschiedenen Größenskalen
  • Erfahrungen im Bereich der Datenauswertung
  • Erfahrung in der Durchführung von Drittmittelprojekten wünschenswert
  • Erfahrungen im Umgang mit Industriepartnern, möglichst auch in gemeinsamen Projekten von Vorteil
  • idealerweise ervorragendes mündliches und schriftliches Ausdrucksvermögen sowie verhandlungssichere Englischkenntnisse
  • ausgeprägte Kommunikations- und Kooperationsbereitschaft sowie Teamfähigkeit wünschenswert

Ihr Start:

Freuen Sie sich auf einen Arbeitgeber, der Ihr Engagement zu schätzen weiß und Ihre Entwicklung durch vielfältige Qualifizierungs- und Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten fördert. Unser einzigartiges Arbeitsumfeld bietet Ihnen Gestaltungsfreiräume und eine unvergleichbare Infrastruktur, in der Sie Ihre Mission verwirklichen können. Vereinbarkeit von Privatleben, Familie und Beruf sowie Chancengleichheit von Personen aller Geschlechter (m/w/d) sind wichtiger Bestandteil unserer Personalpolitik. Bewerbungen schwerbehinderter Menschen bevorzugen wir bei fachlicher Eignung.

  • Jetzt online bewerben
  • Sie können sich diese Stellenanzeige per E-Mail zusenden und Ihre Bewerbung am stationären Computer oder Laptop erstellen.

    Wir benötigen Ihre digitalen Bewerbungsunterlagen (PDF). Die Übermittlung wird von einigen Mobilgeräten nicht standardmäßig unterstützt. Bitte erstellen Sie Ihre Bewerbung an einem PC/Laptop.

    Bewerbung am PC erstellen

Fachliche/r Ansprechpartner/in

Dr. rer. nat. Jacob Estevam Schmiedt
Institut für den Schutz terrestrischer Infrastrukturen

Tel.: +49 2203 601-4427

Nachricht senden

Kennziffer 49907

Personalbetreuung Köln

Nachricht senden

DLR-Standorte Sankt Augustin und Rheinbach

zum Standort

DLR-Institut für den Schutz terrestrischer Infrastrukturen

zum Institut