Bookmark
Management position, Scientific activities / projects

Research Team Leader for the DLR Branch Office Darmstadt - „Modelling of complex Infrastructure Systems in Smart Cities“

Starting date

immediately

Duration of contract

3 years

Remuneration

up to the German TVöD

Type of employment

Full-time

"Cutting-edge research requires excellent minds – particularly more females – at all levels. Launch your mission with us and send in your application now!" Prof. Pascale Ehrenfreund - Chair of the DLR Executive Board

The safe and secure operation of critical infrastructures is essential for the economic prosperity and stability of countries and societies. The Institute for the Protection of Terrestrial Infrastructures is dedicated to this task. We aim to develop concepts, methods and technologies that serve to assess and improve the resilience of infrastructures pursuing a holistic approach considering human and technical aspects as well as an overarching systemic view. The Department “Digital Twins of Infrastructures” will model and simulate complex networked infrastructures at different levels of abstraction and in sector couplings. Being fed with real-time data, the digital twins will be run within a big data platform and interact with humans. This way Digital Twins shall enable improved situational awareness as well as the analysis and optimization of the resilience of terrestrial infrastructures.
 
The team „Modelling of complex Infrastructure Systems in Smart Cities“ shall develop innovative and novel approaches to model and simulate complex infrastructure systems in smart cities. The work takes place in cooperation with the emergenCITY Centre, for which DLR is setting up a branch of the institute in Darmstadt. The LOEWE Center emergenCITY is an interdisciplinary research center that was established at TU Darmstadt. emergenCITY aims at investigating fundamentals, methods and solutions towards the resilience of future digital cities and especially the capability of Information and Communication Technology to resist, adapt, and transform in crisis situations. The DLR team in Darmstadt will cooperate with the emergenCITY team and other local partners. Their work will form the foundation for the implementation of digital twins at the institute in St. Augustin.

As a team leader, you define and plan the detailed scientific scope of the work group. You will identify the scientific core topics with regard to innovation and third-party funding potential. The coordination of the work with other projects at the institute, the acquisition of projects as well as the instruction of doctoral students and young scientists is also part of your job. You conduct own research projects in the core area of the working group and publish your results in specialist journals and at international conferences.

As the recently founded institute and the team are emerging, you will have the opportunity to intensively shape the dynamic and innovative research area and working environment.

Your qualifications:

  • university degree (master's/diploma) in engineering, mathematics, electrical engineering, engineering, computer sciences or a related field, PhD desirable
  • very good expertise in the development, evaluation and simulation of functional and technical system models according to scientific methods
  • good knowledge in the use of software development processes, development of software architectures for simulation systems or data science as well as use of databases
  • high willingness to familiarize oneself with new fields of application and technologies
  • ability to think and work in an interdisciplinary way and willingness to work in a team
  • passion for innovative research and a scientific and systematic approach
  • understanding of complex contexts and analytical approach
  • experience in leading scientific teams, experience with agile methods
  • experience in the implementation of projects would be desirable; experience in dealing with industrial partners and authorities, preferably also in joint projects
  • willingness to travel (national/international)
  • very good skills in written and spoken English
  • strong willingness to communicate and cooperate as well as teamwork

Your benefits:

Look forward to a fulfilling job with an employer who appreciates your commitment and supports your personal and professional development. Our unique infrastructure offers you a working environment in which you have unparalled scope to develop your creative ideas and accomplish your professional objectives. Our human resources policy places great value on a healthy family and work-life-balance as well as equal opportunities for persons of all genders (m/f/non-binary). Individuals with disabilities will be given preferential consideration in the event their qualifications are equivalent to those of other candidates.

  • Apply online now
  • You can send this job advertisement via e-mail and complete your application on a personal computer or laptop.

    We need your digital application documents (PDF). The document upload function is not supported by all mobile devices. Please complete your application on a PC/laptop.

    Complete application on PC

Technical contact

Prof. Dr. Eva Brucherseifer
Institute for the Protection of Terrestrial Infrastructures

Phone: +49 2203 601-3769

Send message

Vacancy 50269

HR department Cologne

Send message

DLR locations Sankt Augustin and Rheinbach

To location

DLR Institute for the Protection of Terrestrial Infrastructures

To institute

Früher wollte ich abheben. Heute bin ich Forscherin beim DLR

Bookmark
Leitungsfunktion, Wissenschaftliche Tätigkeit / Projektarbeit

Teamleiterin oder Teamleiter der DLR-Außenstelle in Darmstadt - „Modellierung komplexer Infrastruktursysteme in der SmartCity“

Beginn

ab sofort

Dauer

Zunächst befristet auf drei Jahre

Vergütung

bis Entgeltgruppe 14 TVöD

Beschäftigungsgrad

Vollzeit

"Spitzenforschung braucht auf allen Ebenen exzellente Köpfe - besonders noch mehr weibliche! Starten Sie bei uns, wir freuen uns auf Ihre Bewerbung" Ihre Prof. Dr. Pascale Ehrenfreund - Vorsitzende des Vorstands

Der Schutz und die Sicherheit kritischer Infrastrukturen sind eine essentielle Grundlage für die wirtschaftliche Prosperität und Stabilität von Staaten und Gesellschaften. Dieser Aufgabe widmet sich das Institut zum Schutz terrestrischer Infrastrukturen und entwickelt dafür Konzepte, Verfahren und Technologien, die sowohl zur Beurteilung als auch zur Verbesserung der Resilienz von Infrastrukturen unter ganzheitlicher Betrachtung der drei Ebenen Mensch, Technologie und Gesamtsystem dienen.

In der Abteilung „Digitale Zwillinge für Infrastrukturen“ werden komplexe vernetzte Infrastrukturen auf verschiedenen Abstraktionsstufen und in Sektorkopplungen modelliert und simuliert. Mit der Anbindung an Echtzeiten-Daten werden die Modelle als Digitale Zwillinge in Big Data Plattformen betrieben und interagieren mit dem Menschen. Digitale Zwillinge sollen so die Situational Awareness verbessern und die Analyse und Optimierung der Resilienz terrestrischer Infrastrukturen ermöglichen.  

Das Team „Modellierung komplexer Infrastruktursysteme in der SmartCity“ soll innovative und neuartige Ansätze entwickeln, um komplexe Infrastruktursysteme in Smart Cities zu modellieren und simulieren. Die Arbeiten finden in Kooperation mit dem Zentrum emergenCITY statt, für das das DLR eine Außenstelle des Instituts in Darmstadt einrichtet. Das LOEWE-Zentrum emergenCITY ist ein interdisziplinäres Forschungszentrum an der TU Darmstadt. Ziel von emergenCITY ist die Erforschung von Grundlagen, Methoden und Lösungen für zukünftige resiliente digitale Städte. Im Fokus steht insbesondere die Erforschung und Entwicklung von Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie, die in Krisensituationen selbstständig reagieren, sich anpassen und neu konfigurieren kann. Die Arbeiten des DLR-Teams in Darmstadt sollen in Zusammenarbeit mit der emergenCITY-Gruppe sowie weiteren Partnern vor Ort stattfinden und die Grundlage für die Umsetzung von Digitalen Zwillingen am Institut in Sankt Augustin bilden.

Als Teamleiterin oder Teamleiter definieren und planen Sie die detaillierte inhaltliche Ausrichtung des Teams. Sie identifizieren die wissenschaftlichen Kernarbeitsgebiete im Hinblick auf Innovations- sowie Drittmittelpotentiale. Die Abstimmung der Arbeiten mit anderen Projekten am Institut und die Akquise von Projekten gehört ebenso zu Ihrem Aufgabenspektrum wie die Anleitung von Doktoranden und Jungwissenschaftlern. Sie forschen selbst an Kernfragestellungen im Arbeitsbereich und publizieren Ihre Ergebnisse in Fachzeitschriften sowie auf internationalen Konferenzen.  

Da sich das neu gegründete Institut und das Team im Aufbau befinden, haben Sie die Chance, ein dynamisches und innovatives Themengebiet und Arbeitsumfeld intensiv mit zu gestalten.

Ihre Qualifikation:

  • abgeschlossenes Studium in einem ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Bereich (z.B. Elektrotechnik, Maschinenbau), naturwissenschaftlichen Bereich (z.B. Mathematik, Technomathematik, Numerik, Physik) oder Informatik; abgeschlossene Promotion wünschenswert
  • Erfahrungen in der Entwicklung, Evaluation und Simulation von funktionalen und technischen Systemmodellen nach naturwissenschaftlichen Methoden
  • Erfahrung in der Nutzung von Entwicklungsprozessen zur Softwareentwicklung, Aufbau von Softwarearchitekturen für Simulationssysteme oder Data Science sowie Nutzung von Datenbanken Übersetzung in Deutsch
  • hohe Bereitschaft, sich mit neuen Anwendungs- und Technologien vertraut zu machen
  • Fähigkeit, interdisziplinär zu denken und zu arbeiten und die Bereitschaft, im Team zu arbeiten
  • Leidenschaft für innovative Forschung und einen wissenschaftlichen und systematischen Ansatz
  • Verständnis komplexer Kontexte und analytischer Ansätze
  • Erfahrung in der Führung von Projektteams in wissenschaftlichen Projekten
  • Erfahrung mit agilen Projektmethoden
  • Erfahrung in der Durchführung von Drittmittelprojekten wünschenswert; Erfahrungen im Umgang mit Industriepartnern und Behörden, möglichst auch in gemeinsamen Projekten
  • Reisebereitschaft (national/international)
  • hervorragendes mündliches und schriftliches Ausdrucksvermögen sowie verhandlungssichere Englischkenntnisse
  • ausgeprägte Kommunikations- und Kooperationsbereitschaft sowie Teamfähigkeit

Ihr Start:

Freuen Sie sich auf einen Arbeitgeber, der Ihr Engagement zu schätzen weiß und Ihre Entwicklung durch vielfältige Qualifizierungs- und Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten fördert. Unser einzigartiges Arbeitsumfeld bietet Ihnen Gestaltungsfreiräume und eine unvergleichbare Infrastruktur, in der Sie Ihre Mission verwirklichen können. Vereinbarkeit von Privatleben, Familie und Beruf sowie Chancengleichheit von Personen aller Geschlechter (m/w/d) sind wichtiger Bestandteil unserer Personalpolitik. Bewerbungen schwerbehinderter Menschen bevorzugen wir bei fachlicher Eignung.

  • Jetzt online bewerben
  • Sie können sich diese Stellenanzeige per E-Mail zusenden und Ihre Bewerbung am stationären Computer oder Laptop erstellen.

    Wir benötigen Ihre digitalen Bewerbungsunterlagen (PDF). Die Übermittlung wird von einigen Mobilgeräten nicht standardmäßig unterstützt. Bitte erstellen Sie Ihre Bewerbung an einem PC/Laptop.

    Bewerbung am PC erstellen

Fachliche/r Ansprechpartner/in

Prof. Dr. Eva Brucherseifer
Institut für den Schutz terrestrischer Infrastrukturen

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3769

Nachricht senden

Kennziffer 50269

Personalbetreuung Köln

Nachricht senden

DLR-Standorte Sankt Augustin und Rheinbach

zum Standort

DLR-Institut für den Schutz terrestrischer Infrastrukturen

zum Institut