+++ At DLR, we are always looking for bright minds – even during the current exceptional circumstances. Our current vacancies can be found here. +++

Bookmark
Scientific activities / projects

Effect models in resilience management

Starting date

1 February 2021

Duration of contract

3 years

Remuneration

up to the German TVöD 13

Type of employment

Full-time

The Institute for the Protection of Terrestrial Infrastructures investigates how the supply of society can be secured by means of resilient infrastructures. To this end, it develops methods that, on the basis of digital twins of the infrastructures, should enable both situational protection and strategic adaptation to future threats. The department "Resilience - Models and Methods" works on the fundamentals in the fields of modeling and methodology development in order to make threat situations analyzable, resilience measurable and the systemic effect of (socio-)technical resilience concepts describable in models.

You investigate how the effect of (socio-)technical measures and processes can be quantified and described in models. For this purpose, you develop schemes, in order to be able to class known resilience increasing methods and concepts to effect patterns. On this basis you develop metrics for quantification and effect models, which enable the description, evaluation and implementation into performance-based resilience models. The concepts developed by you are supposed to serve as basis for a dynamic resilience management, which supports decision-making by determining situationally optimal measures for resilience preservation. You have the chance to present your research world-wide on international conferences and to publish in recognized journals.

The opportunity to earn your PhD is given within the framework of the temporary employment.

The position includes the following principal activities:

  • research of models and methods for the quantitative representation of the effect of resilience enhancing measures
  • identification of effect patterns and derivation of metrics suitable for measuring the effect
  • presentation and publication of research results

Your qualifications:

  • completed scientific university studies (University Diploma or Master’s Degree) in Engineering (e.g. Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Safety Engineering), Natural Sciences (e.g. Mathematics, Technomathematics, Numerics) or Computer Science
  • knowledge in risk analysis, assessment and management, especially Human Reliability Assessment (HRA)
  • experience in the analysis of sociological and/or socio-technical systems
  • good oral and written expression in German and English
  • willingness to work cooperatively
  • knowledge of at least one programming language (preferably Python) is a plus
  • knowledge in performing third-party funded projects is desirable
  • readiness for qualification, e.g. PhD, requested

Your benefits:

Look forward to a fulfilling job with an employer who appreciates your commitment and supports your personal and professional development. Our unique infrastructure offers you a working environment in which you have unparalleled scope to develop your creative ideas and accomplish your professional objectives. Our human resources policy places great value on a healthy family and work-life-balance as well as equal opportunities for persons of all genders (f/m/x). Individuals with disabilities will be given preferential consideration in the event their qualifications are equivalent to those of other candidates.

  • Apply online now
  • You can send this job advertisement via e-mail and complete your application on a personal computer or laptop.

    We need your digital application documents (PDF). The document upload function is not supported by all mobile devices. Please complete your application on a PC/laptop.

    Complete application on PC

Technical contact

Dr.-Ing. Daniel Lichte
Institute for the Protection of Terrestrial Infrastructures

Phone: +49 2203 601-5360

Send message

Vacancy 53130

HR department Cologne

Send message

DLR location Sankt Augustin

To location

DLR Institute for the Protection of Terrestrial Infrastructures

To institute

+++ Wir suchen immer kluge Köpfe für das DLR – auch in dieser besonderen Lage. Unsere aktuellen Stellenangebote finden Sie hier. +++

Früher wollte ich neue Wege entddecken. Heute bin ich Forscherin beim DLR
Bookmark
Wissenschaftliche Tätigkeit / Projektarbeit

Wirkmodelle im Resilienzmanagement

Beginn

1. Februar 2021

Dauer

Zunächst für drei Jahre

Vergütung

bis Entgeltgruppe 13 TVöD

Beschäftigungsgrad

Vollzeit

Das Institut für den Schutz terrestrischer Infrastrukturen erforscht, wie die Versorgung der Gesellschaft durch resiliente Infrastrukturen gesichert werden kann. Hierzu entwickelt es Methoden, die auf Basis digitaler Abbilder der Infrastrukturen sowohl situativen Schutz als auch eine strategische Anpassung an künftige Gefahren ermöglichen sollen. Die Abteilung „Resilienz - Modelle und Methoden“ leistet hierzu Grundlagenarbeit auf den Gebieten der Modellierung und Methodenentwicklung, um Bedrohungslagen analysierbar, Resilienz messbar und die systemische Wirkung (sozio-)technischer Resilienzkonzepte in Modellen beschreibbar zu machen.

Sie erforschen, wie die Wirkung (sozio-)technischer Maßnahmen und Prozesse quantifiziert und in Modellen erfasst werden kann. Hierzu entwickeln Sie Klassifizierungsschemata, um bekannte Methoden und Konzepte zur Steigerung der Resilienz Wirkmustern zuordnen zu können. Auf dieser Basis entwickeln Sie Metriken zur Quantifizierung und Wirkmodelle, die eine Beschreibung, Bewertung und Implementierung in performancebasierte Resilienzmodelle ermöglichen. Die von Ihnen entwickelten Konzepte sollen als Grundlage für ein dynamisches Resilienzmanagement dienen, das zur Entscheidungsunterstützung situativ optimale Maßnahmen zur Erhaltung der Resilienz ermittelt. Sie haben die Chance, Ihre Forschungsergebnisse weltweit auf internationalen Konferenzen zu präsentieren und in anerkannten Fachzeitschriften zu publizieren.

Die Möglichkeit zur Promotion ist im Rahmen der zeitlich befristeten Tätigkeit gegeben.

Die Stelle umfasst folgende prinzipielle Tätigkeiten:

  • Erforschung von Modellen und Methoden zur quantitativen Darstellung der Wirkung resilienzsteigernder Maßnahmen
  • Identifikation von Wirkmustern und Ableitung von zur Messung der Wirkung geeigneten Metriken
  • Präsentation und Publikation von Forschungsergebnissen

Ihre Qualifikation:

  • abgeschlossenes wissenschaftliches Hochschulstudium (Universitätsdiplom oder Master) in Ingenieurwissenschaften (z.B. Elektrotechnik, Maschinenbau, Sicherheitstechnik), Naturwissenschaften (z.B. Mathematik, Technomathematik, Numerik) oder Informatik
  • Kenntnisse in Risikoanalyse, -bewertung und -management, insb. Human Reliability Assessment (HRA)
  • Erfahrung im Bereich der Analyse soziologischer und/oder soziotechnischer Systeme
  • gutes mündliches und schriftliches Ausdrucksvermögen in Deutsch und Englisch
  • Bereitschaft zum kooperativen Arbeiten
  • Kenntnisse in wenigstens einer Programmiersprache (vorzugsweise Python) sind von Vorteil
  • Kenntnisse in der Durchführung von Drittmittelprojekten sind wünschenswert
  • Bereitschaft zur Qualifikation, z.B. Promotion, ist erwünscht

Ihr Start:

Freuen Sie sich auf einen Arbeitgeber, der Ihr Engagement zu schätzen weiß und Ihre Entwicklung durch vielfältige Qualifizierungs- und Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten fördert. Unser einzigartiges Arbeitsumfeld bietet Ihnen Gestaltungsfreiräume und eine unvergleichbare Infrastruktur, in der Sie Ihre Mission verwirklichen können. Vereinbarkeit von Privatleben, Familie und Beruf sowie Chancengleichheit von Personen aller Geschlechter (w/m/d) sind wichtiger Bestandteil unserer Personalpolitik. Bewerbungen schwerbehinderter Menschen bevorzugen wir bei fachlicher Eignung.

  • Jetzt online bewerben
  • Sie können sich diese Stellenanzeige per E-Mail zusenden und Ihre Bewerbung am stationären Computer oder Laptop erstellen.

    Wir benötigen Ihre digitalen Bewerbungsunterlagen (PDF). Die Übermittlung wird von einigen Mobilgeräten nicht standardmäßig unterstützt. Bitte erstellen Sie Ihre Bewerbung an einem PC/Laptop.

    Bewerbung am PC erstellen

Fachliche/r Ansprechpartner/in

Dr.-Ing. Daniel Lichte
Institut für den Schutz terrestrischer Infrastruktur

Tel.: +49 2203 601-5360

Nachricht senden

Kennziffer 53130

Personalbetreuung Köln

Nachricht senden

DLR-Standort Sankt Augustin

zum Standort

DLR-Institut für den Schutz terrestrischer Infrastrukturen

zum Institut