+++ At DLR, we are always looking for bright minds – even during the current exceptional circumstances. Our current vacancies can be found here. +++

My knowledge is shaping the future.

Bookmark
Course paper / final thesis

Machine learning in traffic control

Starting date

1 November 2021

Duration of contract

6 months

Type of employment

Full-time (part-time possible)

Traffic management is the key to increasing road traffic efficiency. What is needed here are new concepts for the organisation and operation of transport. We deliver them as the result of well-founded research. Important: The corresponding information on the current traffic situation must be recorded as the basis for all traffic control procedures.The tasks can thus be divided into two areas: the development of innovative methods for monitoring traffic (traffic recording) and the development of methods for influencing traffic flows (traffic influencing). The Institute's work focuses primarily on the management of large transport systems, for example in conurbations and at catastrophes and major events.

The Institute of Transportation Systems in Berlin is researching new methods for developing future-oriented solutions in the field of traffic control with the help of vehicle-to-infrastructure communication (V2I). Emergency vehicles play a significant role here. The prioritization of these in emergency cases poses major challenges for safe and efficient traffic control. The task of modern traffic management will therefore be, to provide an intelligent infrastructure that enables such vehicles to drive quickly and safely while at the same time having minimal effects on other road users. For this purpose, new technologies of connectivity and artificial intelligence are to be accessed.

Using a special method from the field of machine learning, so-called reinforcement learning, strategies for prioritizing emergency vehicles in a connected traffic system are to be examined. With the help of the microscopic traffic simulator SUMO and the use of existing machine learning libraries, selected traffic scenarios from the application of connected driving will be implemented. The training results are to be analyzed with regard to possible improvements for traffic behavior through these control strategies. The aim is to  understand whether such ai controllers can provide feasible optimizations for traffic management.

This topic should be worked on in the context of existing project tasks in combination with a bachelor's or master's thesis.

Your qualifications:

  • Field of study: engineering or computer science, ideally with reference to traffic, automotive or similar
  • Programming: good knowledge of Python
  • Basic knowledge of machine learning
  • Basic knowledge in dealing with SUMO
  • Interest in traffic research, motivation, commitment and independent work

Your benefits:

Look forward to a fulfilling job with an employer who appreciates your commitment and supports your personal and professional development. Our unique infrastructure offers you a working environment in which you have unparalleled scope to develop your creative ideas and accomplish your professional objectives. Our human resources policy places great value on a healthy family and work-life-balance as well as equal opportunities for persons of all genders (f/m/x). Individuals with disabilities will be given preferential consideration in the event their qualifications are equivalent to those of other candidates.

  • Apply online now
  • You can send this job advertisement via e-mail and complete your application on a personal computer or laptop.

    We need your digital application documents (PDF). The document upload function is not supported by all mobile devices. Please complete your application on a PC/laptop.

    Complete application on PC

Technical contact

Robert Alms
Institute of Transportation Systems

Phone: +49 30 67055-9680

Send message

Vacancy 59096

HR department Berlin

Send message

DLR site Berlin

To location

DLR Institute of Transportation Systems

To institute

+++ Wir suchen immer kluge Köpfe für das DLR – auch in dieser besonderen Lage. Unsere aktuellen Stellenangebote finden Sie hier. +++

Mein Wissen bewegt. Gestalten Sie mit uns die Welt von Morgen!

Bookmark
Studien-/ Abschlussarbeit

Machine Learning in der Verkehrssteuerung

Beginn

1. November 2021

Dauer

6 Monate

Beschäftigungsgrad

Vollzeit (Teilzeit möglich)

Verkehrsmanagement ist der Schlüssel, um die Effizienz im Straßenverkehr zu erhöhen. Gefragt sind hier neue Konzepte zu Organisation und Betrieb von Verkehr. Wir liefern sie als Resultat fundierter Forschung. Wichtig: Als Grundlage für alle Verfahren zur Verkehrsbeeinflussung müssen die entsprechenden Informationen über den aktuellen Verkehrszustand erfasst werden. Die Aufgaben lassen sich so in zwei Bereiche gliedern: die Entwicklung innovativer Methoden zum Monitoring von Verkehr (Verkehrserfassung) und die Entwicklung von Methoden zur Einflussnahme auf Verkehrsabläufe (Verkehrsbeeinflussung). Die Arbeiten im Institut konzentrieren sich dabei vor allem auf das Management großer Verkehrssysteme wie zum Beispiel in Ballungsräumen und bei Katastrophen und Großveranstaltungen.

Das Institut für Verkehrssystemtechnik erforscht neue Methoden zur Entwicklung von zukunftsfähigen Lösungen im Bereich der Verkehrssteuerung. Eine besondere Rolle nehmen hierbei Einsatzfahrzeuge ein, deren Bevorrechtigung im Notfalleinsatz große Herausforderungen an eine sichere und effiziente Verkehrsbeeinflussung stellen. Aufgabe eines modernen Verkehrsmanagements wird es daher unter anderem sein, eine intelligente Infrastruktur bereitzustellen, die solchen Fahrzeugen eine schnelle und sichere Einsatzfahrt bei gleichzeitig minimalen Auswirkungen auf andere Verkehrsteilnehmer ermöglicht. Hierfür soll unter anderem auf neuartige Technologien der Vernetzung und künstlichen Intelligenz zugegriffen werden.

Mittels einer speziellen Methode aus dem Themenfeld des Machine Learning, dem sogenannten Reinforcement Learning, sollen Strategien zur Bevorrechtigung von Einsatzfahrzeugen in einem vernetzten Verkehrssystem untersucht werden. Mit Hilfe der mikroskopischen Verkehrssimulation SUMO sowie unter Einsatz existierender Machine Learning Libraries werden ausgewählte Verkehrsszenarien aus dem Anwendungsfeld des vernetzten Fahrens implementiert. Die Trainingsergebnisse werden im Hinblick auf mögliche Verbesserungen für das Verkehrsverhalten durch diese Steuerungsstrategien analysiert. Ziel ist es zu verstehen, ob derartige Controller geeignete Optimierungen für das Verkehrsmanagement liefern können.

Dieses Thema soll im Rahmen von bestehenden Projektaufgaben in Kombination mit einer Bachelor- oder Masterarbeit bearbeitet werden.

Ihre Qualifikation:

  • laufendes Studium Ingenieurswesen oder Informatik idealerweise mit Bezug Verkehr, Automotive o. ä.
  • Programmierung: gute Kenntnisse in Python
  • Grundkenntnisse im Bereich Machine Learning
  • Grundkenntnisse im Umgang mit SUMO
  • Interesse an Verkehrsforschung, Motivation, Engagement und selbstständiges Arbeiten

Ihr Start:

Freuen Sie sich auf einen Arbeitgeber, der Ihr Engagement zu schätzen weiß und Ihre Entwicklung durch vielfältige Qualifizierungs- und Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten fördert. Unser einzigartiges Arbeitsumfeld bietet Ihnen Gestaltungsfreiräume und eine unvergleichbare Infrastruktur, in der Sie Ihre Mission verwirklichen können. Vereinbarkeit von Privatleben, Familie und Beruf sowie Chancengleichheit von Personen aller Geschlechter (w/m/d) sind wichtiger Bestandteil unserer Personalpolitik. Bewerbungen schwerbehinderter Menschen bevorzugen wir bei fachlicher Eignung.

  • Jetzt online bewerben
  • Sie können sich diese Stellenanzeige per E-Mail zusenden und Ihre Bewerbung am stationären Computer oder Laptop erstellen.

    Wir benötigen Ihre digitalen Bewerbungsunterlagen (PDF). Die Übermittlung wird von einigen Mobilgeräten nicht standardmäßig unterstützt. Bitte erstellen Sie Ihre Bewerbung an einem PC/Laptop.

    Bewerbung am PC erstellen

Fachliche/r Ansprechpartner/in

Robert Alms
Institut für Verkehrssystemtechnik

Tel.: +49 30 67055-9680

Nachricht senden

Kennziffer 59096

Personalbetreuung Berlin

Nachricht senden

DLR-Standort Berlin

zum Standort

DLR-Institut für Verkehrssystemtechnik

zum Institut