Bookmark
Course paper / final thesis

Visualizing Uncertainty in Graphs

Starting date

1 July 2022

Duration of contract

3-6 months

Type of employment

Full-time

The Scientific Visualization group at the Institute for Software Technology creates interactive and intuitive visualization applications for end-users and other stakeholders. Data that we receive from variant sources, e.g. simulation studies, sensors etc., comes with its own set of uncertainty. Uncertainty is the possibility that the observed data or model predictions could take on a set of possible values. The term risk is also used for those uncertainties where the potential error and bias remain unquantified. Therefore, it is critical that the methods we use to visualize this data must effectively calculate and show the underlying uncertainty or risk. Moreover, the relevance and meaning of uncertainty are different for different users (for example, domain experts, politicians, and laymen). Therefore, the solution should be applicable to the broad range of users.

Numerous studies have investigated and developed various uncertainty visualization techniques. For example, different graphical annotations: error plots, violin plots, quantile dot plots, and different visual encodings: fuzziness, arrangements, size, transparency etc. and other uncertainty visualization techniques like animations, contours etc. However, many of these techniques are not applicable as the size of the data increases or the domain of the data changes. We receive a large amount of data of spatio-temporal nature. Using simple uncertainty charts, for example violin charts for extensive timelines leading to many years, is very ineffective due to the clutter it brings, which impedes its readability.

In the scope of this thesis, different uncertainty visualizations, primarily of big spatio-temporal simulation data, needs to be investigated. Then applicable techniques need to be implemented or developed if no suitable technique exists. This thesis will investigate many of the following questions in the broader sense. However, this is not an exclusive task list and the student can form its own research directions.

  • understanding of uncertainty in temporal data
  • What are the different aspects of uncertainty in temporal data that can affect its analysis? Also, the same with the simulation of the temporal data.
  • How these aspects were addressed in the previous studies, and what are the techniques developed?
  • Implementation of the techniques on our datasets and doing user studies. If no suitable technique exists, develop your own.

If you enjoy visualizations and are interested in this thesis, we are looking forward to receiving your application. We are also welcome to discuss any innovative ideas that matches to the scope of this thesis. You can start immediately.

Your qualifications:

  • pursuing bachelor or master degree in Computer Science or similar
  • good programing skills in JavaScript, D3.js, Typescript
  • understanding of web development frameworks like React or Angular is a plus
  • knowledge of Python is plus

Your benefits:

Look forward to a fulfilling job with an employer who appreciates your commitment and supports your personal and professional development. Our unique infrastructure offers you a working environment in which you have unparalleled scope to develop your creative ideas and accomplish your professional objectives. Our human resources policy places great value on a healthy family and work-life-balance as well as equal opportunities for persons of all genders (f/m/x). Individuals with disabilities will be given preferential consideration in the event their qualifications are equivalent to those of other candidates.

  • Apply online now
  • You can send this job advertisement via e-mail and complete your application on a personal computer or laptop.

    We need your digital application documents (PDF). The document upload function is not supported by all mobile devices. Please complete your application on a PC/laptop.

    Complete application on PC

Technical contact

Jonas Gilg
Institute for Software Technology

Phone: +49 531 295-2221

Send message

Vacancy 68767

HR department Braunschweig

Send message

DLR site Braunschweig

To location

DLR Institute for Software Technology

To institute

Bookmark
Studien-/ Abschlussarbeit

Visualisierung von Unsicherheiten in Diagrammen

Beginn

1. Juli 2022

Dauer

3-6 Monate

Beschäftigungsgrad

Vollzeit

Die Gruppe Wissenschaftliche Visualisierung am Institut für Softwaretechnologie entwickelt interaktive und intuitive Visualisierungsanwendungen für Endnutzer und andere Stakeholder. Daten, die wir aus verschiedenen Quellen erhalten, z. B. aus Simulationsstudien, Sensoren usw., sind mit einer gewissen Unsicherheit behaftet. Unsicherheit ist die Möglichkeit, dass die beobachteten Daten oder Modellvorhersagen eine Reihe möglicher Werte annehmen könnten. Der Begriff Risiko wird auch für jene Unsicherheiten verwendet, bei denen der potenzielle Fehler und die Verzerrung unquantifiziert bleiben. Daher ist es von entscheidender Bedeutung, dass die Methoden, die wir zur Visualisierung dieser Daten verwenden, die zugrunde liegende Unsicherheit oder das Risiko effektiv berechnen und darstellen. Darüber hinaus sind die Relevanz und die Bedeutung der Unsicherheit für verschiedene Nutzer (z. B. Fachleute, Politiker und Laien) unterschiedlich. Daher sollten die Lösungen für ein breites Spektrum von Nutzern anwendbar sein.

Zahlreiche Studien haben verschiedene Techniken zur Visualisierung von Unsicherheiten untersucht und entwickelt. Zum Beispiel verschiedene grafische Annotationen: Error Plots, Violin Plots, Quantile Dot Plots, und verschiedene visuelle Kodierungen: Unschärfe, Anordnungen, Größe, Transparenz usw. und andere Techniken zur Visualisierung von Unsicherheit wie Animationen, Konturen usw. Viele dieser Techniken sind jedoch nicht anwendbar, wenn der Umfang der Daten zunimmt oder sich der Bereich der Daten ändert. Wir erhalten eine große Menge an Daten mit räumlich-zeitlichem Charakter. Die Verwendung einfacher Unsicherheitsdiagramme, z. B. Violin Plots für umfangreiche Zeitreihen, die sich über viele Jahre erstrecken, ist sehr ineffektiv, da die Lesbarkeit durch die Unübersichtlichkeit beeinträchtigt wird.

Im Rahmen dieser Arbeit sollen verschiedene Unsicherheitsvisualisierungen, vor allem von großen räumlich-zeitlichen Simulationsdaten, untersucht werden. Es müssen geeignete Techniken implementiert oder entwickelt werden, falls keine geeignete Technik existiert. Diese Arbeit wird viele der folgenden Fragen im weiteren Sinne untersuchen:

  • Verständnis der Unsicherheit in zeitlichen Daten
  • Was sind die verschiedenen Aspekte der Unsicherheit in zeitlichen Daten, die ihre Analyse beeinflussen können? Das Gleiche gilt für die Simulation der zeitlichen Daten
  • Wie wurden diese Aspekte in früheren Studien behandelt, und welche Techniken wurden entwickelt?
  • Anwendung der Techniken auf unsere Datensätze und Durchführung von Nutzerstudien. Wenn es keine geeignete Technik gibt, entwickeln Sie Ihre eigene.

Wenn Sie Spaß an Visualisierungen haben und sich für diese Arbeit interessieren, freuen wir uns auf Ihre Bewerbung. Gerne diskutieren wir auch mit Ihnen über innovative Ideen, die in den Rahmen dieser Arbeit passen. Sie können sofort beginnen.

Ihre Qualifikation:

  • angestrebter Bachelor- oder Masterabschluss in Informatik oder ähnlichen Studiengängen
  • gute Programmierkenntnisse in JavaScript, D3.js, Typescript
  • Kenntnisse von Webentwicklungs-Frameworks wie React oder Angular sind ein Plus
  • Kenntnisse in Python sind von Vorteil

Ihr Start:

Freuen Sie sich auf einen Arbeitgeber, der Ihr Engagement zu schätzen weiß und Ihre Entwicklung durch vielfältige Qualifizierungs- und Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten fördert. Unser einzigartiges Arbeitsumfeld bietet Ihnen Gestaltungsfreiräume und eine unvergleichbare Infrastruktur, in der Sie Ihre Mission verwirklichen können. Vereinbarkeit von Privatleben, Familie und Beruf sowie Chancengleichheit von Personen aller Geschlechter (w/m/d) sind wichtiger Bestandteil unserer Personalpolitik. Bewerbungen schwerbehinderter Menschen bevorzugen wir bei fachlicher Eignung.

  • Jetzt online bewerben
  • Sie können sich diese Stellenanzeige per E-Mail zusenden und Ihre Bewerbung am stationären Computer oder Laptop erstellen.

    Wir benötigen Ihre digitalen Bewerbungsunterlagen (PDF). Die Übermittlung wird von einigen Mobilgeräten nicht standardmäßig unterstützt. Bitte erstellen Sie Ihre Bewerbung an einem PC/Laptop.

    Bewerbung am PC erstellen

Fachliche/r Ansprechpartner/in

Jonas Gilg
Institut für Softwaretechnologie

Tel.: +49 531 295-2221

Nachricht senden

Kennziffer 68767

Personalbetreuung Braunschweig

Nachricht senden

DLR-Standort Braunschweig

zum Standort

DLR-Institut für Softwaretechnologie

zum Institut