Living science

Smart energy management

Jan-Simon Telle studied Industrial Engineering for Process and Energy Technology (B.Sc.) and Sustainable Energy Systems (M.Sc.). Today, he works in the Energy Systems Technology Department at the DLR Institute of Networked Energy Systems, as project manager for the energy supply project for commercial real estate EMGIMO. The energy supply project for commercial real estate is intended to integrate electric mobility and CO2-neutral electricity in a network-compatible manner.

Here, he answers six questions about the project, about his tasks and what he looks forward to every morning.

Jan-Simon, what is the EMGIMO project all about?

Jan-Simon Telle: EMGIMO stands for the German project title, which translates as ‘New energy supply concepts for multi-tenant commercial real estate: integrating and managing flexible loads, including electromobility, coupled with innovative, tenant-friendly energy marketing concepts’.

As the title suggests, it is partly about developing energy management that enables the integration of electromobility into commercial property. In addition, it is aimed at achieving a significant increase in the self-supply of power, and thus to markedly improve the carbon balance of individual buildings through the installation of a decentralised source of power generation – in this case, a 99.9-kilowatt peak photovoltaic (PV) system. A transferable model will then be developed on the basis of the project results. During the project, which will run until late 2019, several charging points and a photovoltaic system will be installed in a pilot building in Munich.

The main task of the DLR Institute of Networked Energy Systems in the course of the project is to develop the building blocks for smart energy management in the pilot building. Algorithms for predicting loads and power generation are being developed using machine learning (ML), which is indispensable to integrating electromobility into existing buildings. A high-resolution measuring system will supply data for recording  and identifying individual consumers. All of the hardware and software components will be thoroughly tested in the DLR laboratory before the energy management and supply concept developed by the project consortium go live.
 
What is your role within the project?
As the project manager for EMGIMO, I have a lot of different tasks. In addition to my administrative responsibilities as project manager – which range from communicating with project partners to drawing up internal and external reports – I am also in charge of implementing the technical objectives of the project. This includes scheduling and workload planning for specific work packages and the technical implementation of sub-goals. This makes for an interesting variety of organisational and scientific work – all with the support of a fantastic project team. One aspect that I particularly enjoy is the sheer range of scientific work, which covers everything from programming machine-learning algorithms to developing measuring systems and evaluating high-resolution measurement data. 

Versatility, early assumption of responsibility - and a small contribution to the energy transition

What is the most unusual/exciting thing about your work?
More than anything, I find the huge diversity of tasks to be the stand-out aspect of my role, while the most exciting thing is the fact that I am able to take on such responsibility even at an early stage in my career. I have learned an incredible amount in the space of less than a year, including how to write interim reports, plan workflows, and I have even acquired technical skills, such as how to develop forecasts based on ML algorithms.

What do you most look forward to when you get to work in the mornings?
First and foremost, I look forward to seeing my colleagues and feeling the great atmosphere across the whole Institute. I enjoy the array of tasks, which include working at my desk and in the laboratory, while giving me the chance to bring my own ideas to fruition within a project. What’s more, I am glad that I can make a small contribution to an important field of the future through my work: the Energy Transition.

Where might your research findings/work be used?
The research project aims to create a transferable concept for the integration of decentralised power generation and electromobility in existing and new commercial real estate. The results are intended to encourage both owners and tenants to make their power supply more carbon-neutral and switch to electric mobility. The ML forecasting algorithms developed by DLR are integrated by the project partners into a product for load management in buildings and help to demonstrate feasibility while creating a transferable, tried-and-tested concept.   

How did you find your way to DLR?
While studying for my master’s degree in 2016, I spent time at the DLR Institute of Networked Energy Systems (which at the time was still NEXT ENERGY) in Oldenburg. Following that, I presented my work at the EU PVSEC 2017 conference in Amsterdam. I then received an offer to join the EMGIMO project.

Thank you very much for the interview, Jan-Simon.

Information for applicants

Links

Downloads

Contacts

DLR Institute of Networked Energy Systems

To institute

Wissenschaft leben

Smartes Energiemanagement

Jan-Simon Telle hat Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen für Verfahrens- und Energietechnik (B.Sc.) und Nachhaltige Energiesysteme (M.Sc.) studiert. Heute arbeitet er in der Abteilung Energiesystemtechnologie am DLR-Institut für Vernetzte Energiesysteme – als Projektleiter für EMGIMO. Das Energieversorgungsprojekt für Gewerbe-Immobilien soll Elektromobilität und CO2-neutralen Strom netzverträglich integrieren.

6 Fragen an ihn zum Projekt, zu seinen Aufgaben und worauf er sich morgens in der Arbeit freut.

Jan-Simon, worum geht es im Projekt EMGIMO?

Jan-Simon Telle: Das Akronym EMGIMO steht für den Projekttitel „Neue Energieversorgungskonzepte für Mehrmieter Gewerbeimmobilien: Integration und Management flexibler Lasten, einschließlich Elektromobilität, gepaart mit mieterfreundlichen innovativen Energievermarktungskonzepten “.

Wie der Titel schon verrät, geht es zum einen darum, ein Energiemanagement zu  entwickeln, das die Integration von Elektromobilität in Gewerbeimmobilien ermöglicht. Zum anderen ist es das Ziel, durch die Installation einer dezentralen Erzeugungsquelle -  in diesem Fall eine 99,9 Kilowatt Peak Photovoltaikanlage (PV) - , die Eigenstromversorgung signifikant zu steigern und damit die CO2-Bilanz des Gebäudes merklich zu verbessern. Aus den Projektergebnissen wird anschließend ein übertragbares Modell  entwickelt. Während der Projektlaufzeit (bis Ende 2019) werden an einem Pilotgebäude in München mehre Ladepunkte und eine Photovoltaikanlage installiert.

Die Hauptaufgabe des DLR-Instituts für Vernetzte Energiesysteme im Projekt ist die Entwicklung von Bausteinen eines smarten Energiemanagements für das Pilotgebäude. Mit Hilfe von „Machine Learning“ (ML) werden Algorithmen zur Last- und –Erzeugungsprognose entwickelt, die bei der Integration von Elektromobilität in Bestandsgebäuden unabdingbar sind. Für die Erfassung und Identifizierung einzelner Verbraucher wird ein hochaufgelöstes Messsystem Daten liefern. Bevor das im Projektkonsortium entwickelte Energiemanagement und Versorgungskonzept in den Realbetrieb geht, werden alle Hardware- und Softwarekomponenten beim DLR-Institut im Laborbetrieb auf Herz und Nieren getestet.
 
Welche Aufgaben hast du im Projekt?
Als Projektleiter von EMGIMO sind meine Aufgaben sehr vielseitig: Neben meinen administrativen Aufgaben als Projektleiter, die von der Kommunikation mit Projektpartnern bis zur internen und externen Berichterstattung gehen, bin ich auch für die Umsetzung der technischen Ziele des Projektes verantwortlich. Darunter fallen die Zeit- und Arbeitsplanung einzelner Arbeitspakete und die technische Umsetzung von Teilzielen. Dadurch ergibt sich ein interessanter Wechsel zwischen organisatorischen und wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten - und das Ganze zusammen mit einem tollen Projektteam. Ein besonderer Reiz liegt für mich in den unterschiedlichen wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten, die vom Programmieren von Machine-Learning-Algorithmen über den Aufbau von Messsystemen bis hin zur Auswertung von hochaufgelösten Messdaten geht. 

Große Vielseitigkeit und frühe Verantwortung - und ein kleiner Beitrag zur Energiewende

Was ist das Besondere/das Coole an deiner Arbeit?
Für mich ist vor allem die große Vielseitigkeit meiner Arbeit besonders und das Coolste ist, als junger Mensch die Möglichkeit bekommen zu haben, schon früh Verantwortung zu übernehmen. Innerhalb eines knappen Jahres habe ich unglaublich viel gelernt, wie z. B. das Schreiben von Zwischenberichten, die Planung von Arbeitsschritten oder auch technische Fertigkeiten, wie die Entwicklung von Prognosen auf Grundlage von ML-Algorithmen.

Worauf freust du dich, wenn du morgens in die Arbeit kommst?
Zuerst  freue ich mich auf meine Arbeitskollegen und die gute Atmosphäre, die im ganzen Institut herrscht. Spaß machen mir meine unterschiedlichen Aufgaben, die von Schreibtischarbeit bis zur Arbeit im Labor reichen und mir die  Möglichkeit bieten, meine eigenen Ideen innerhalb eine Projektes zu verwirklichen. Reizvoll finde ich auch, dass ich mit meiner Arbeit  einen kleinen Beitrag zu einem wichtigen Baustein der Zukunft leiste: der Energiewende.

Wo können deine Forschungsergebnisse/deine Arbeit einmal eingesetzt werden?
Aus dem Forschungsprojekt entsteht ein übertragbares Konzept zur Integration dezentraler Energieerzeugung und Elektromobilität in bestehende, aber auch neue Gewerbe-Immobilien. Die Ergebnisse sollen sowohl Eigentümer als auch Mieter dazu ermutigen, die Energieversorgung CO2-neutraler zu gestalten und auf Elektromobilität umzusteigen. Die vom DLR entwickelten ML-Prognosealgorithmen werden von den Projektpartnern in ein Produkt für das Lastmanagement des Gebäudes integriert und tragen dazu bei, die Machbarkeit zu zeigen und ein übertragbares, in realer Umgebung erprobtes Konzept zu schaffen.   

Wie bist du zum DLR gekommen?
Für meine Masterarbeit bin ich 2016 zum DLR-Institut für Vernetzte Energiesysteme (damals noch NEXT ENERGY) nach Oldenburg gegangen. Die Arbeit habe ich dann auf der Konferenz EUPVSEC 2017 in Amsterdam präsentiert. Im Anschluss daran wurde mir angeboten,  bei dem Projekt EMGIMO einzusteigen.

Vielen Dank, Jan-Simon, für das Gespräch.

Bewerberinformation

Links

Downloads

Kontakte

DLR-Institut für Vernetzte Energiesysteme

zum Institut