Shaping the future.

Battery models for future spaceflight

Linda Bolay is a mathematician at the Institute of Engineering Thermodynamics in Ulm. Together with her team she works on a model for testing satellite batteries.

Satellites support crucial navigation and Earth observation systems. Precise satellite positioning is vital for numerous technologies, from land surveying to automated driving. Earth observation data also helps us understand how the world is changing and enables us to take informed decisions. While flying through space satellites need reliable batteries for their control systems, sensors, cameras and other equipment. To help address the challenges presented by our changing world, I am developing a model that will precisely simulate the chemical and physical processes in satellite batteries in order to speed up battery testing processes.

I’m accelerating the development of lithium-ion batteries for space

Linda Bolay is developing battery models with her team

Like all spaceflight components, batteries for satellites must function extremely safely and reliably. Once in space, they cannot be fixed or replaced. They are also exposed to extreme temperatures. Before launch, the batteries are therefore extensively tested in the laboratory or on test stands, often over several years.

At my institute, we are researching how we can accelerate these tests for a wide range of battery storage systems using theory-based models. Through the DLReps project, I am developing a model that precisely describes the chemical and physical processes in the batteries. It is part of the cross-sectoral GigaStore project, which combines the latest findings regarding battery development and energy storage simulation from 11 DLR institutes. The individual teams are working on the further development of electricity and heat storage systems for every area of application.

Interaction with other researchers aids my progress

We meet regularly to coordinate requirements and update the status of the project. I have also presented my research to the international scientific community at six conferences. The feedback and exchange I have with other researchers about my work aids my progress.
 

My simulation will soon be able to accurately predict the condition of a battery

My model, programmed in MATLAB, is designed to determine charge level and battery health based solely on telemetry data – specifically, temperature, voltage and current. I use existing theoretical models and compare them with data acquired by the Japanese satellite REIMEI, which I receive from the Japanese space agency JAXA. I also use the results of experiments that my colleagues in Stuttgart conduct for me.

How will batteries for spaceflight be tested in the future? Instead of campaigns lasting several years, just a handful of experiments are needed to obtain the basic data for the model. We may even be able to influence battery lifetime, enabling adjustments to the mission and additional manoeuvres. In any case, we will be able to send satellites into space faster and more economically – I am therefore helping to shape future spaceflight at DLR.

Would you like to shape the future with us? You can find the current job advertisements of our Institute of Engineering Thermodynamics here.

 

Like Linda Bolay, all researchers at DLR  pursue their tasks with curiosity and passion every day. They are free to focus all their energy on research and carry out pioneering work in the areas of aeronautics, space, energy, transport, security and digitalisation. 

What do our researchers value at DLR?

  • a personnel policy that offers equal opportunities and is family-friendly
  • flexible working time models and 30 days annual leave
  • further education, communication and leadership training 
  • comprehensive services for childcare and dependents in need of care, provided by an external cooperation partner
  • a management culture based on respect

Would you like to bring your expertise and innovative drive to DLR? You can find our current job advertisements here.

 

Information for applicants

Links

Downloads

Contacts

DLR Institute of Engineering Thermodynamics

To institute

Mein Wissen bewegt.

Energie für die Raumfahrt der Zukunft

Linda Bolay ist Mathematikerin und arbeitet mit ihrem Team an unserem Institut für Technische Thermodynamik in Ulm an einem Modell, das Batterietests und -experimente für Satelliten unterstützt.

Satelliten steuern entscheidende Systeme für Navigation und Erdbeobachtung. Die präzise Positionsbestimmung durch Satelliten ist wichtige Basis für Technologien von Landvermessung bis hin zum autonomen Fahren. Satelliten-Monitoring macht globale Veränderungsprozesse verständlich und gezieltes Handeln erst möglich. Bei ihrem Flug durchs All benötigen Satelliten zuverlässige Batterien, zum Beispiel für ihre Steuerungssysteme, Sensoren oder Kameras. Meine Antwort auf diese Herausforderung einer Welt im Wandel: Ich entwickle ein Modell, das chemische und physikalische Prozesse in der Batterie exakt simulieren und Tests weniger aufwändig machen soll.

„Ich beschleunige die Entwicklung von Lithium-Ionen-Batterien für die Raumfahrt“

Linda Bolay arbeitet mit ihrem Team an Modellen für Batteriespeicher

Wie alle Komponenten für die Raumfahrt müssen Batterien für Satelliten extrem sicher und zuverlässig funktionieren. Einmal im Weltraum, sind sie nicht austauschbar und zudem extremen Temperaturen ausgesetzt. Vor dem Start werden die Batterien deshalb im Labor oder an Prüfständen umfangreich getestet, oft über mehrere Jahre. 

In meinem Institut erforschen wir, wie wir die Tests für verschiedenste Batteriespeicher mit theoriebasierten Modellen beschleunigen können. Ich entwickle im Projekt DLReps ein Modell, das chemische und physikalische Prozesse in den Batterien exakt beschreibt. Es ist Teil des Querschnittsprojekts GigaStore, das neueste Erkenntnisse zur Batterieentwicklung und Energiespeichersimulation aus 11 DLR-Instituten bündelt. Die einzelnen Teams arbeiten an der Weiteentwicklung von Strom- und Wärmespeichern für jeden Einsatzbereich.

„Der Austausch mit anderen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern bringt mich voran“

Um Anforderungen und Projektfortschritte abzustimmen, setzen wir uns regelmäßig zusammen. Meine Forschung habe ich außerdem schon auf sechs Konferenzen der internationalen Wissenschaftswelt vorgestellt. Durch das Feedback und den Austausch mit anderen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern lerne ich neue Perspektiven kennen, die mich für meine Forschungsprojekte voranbringen.
 

„Den Batteriezustand sagt meine Simulation bald genau voraus“

Mein in Matlab programmiertes Modell soll allein anhand der Telemetriedaten – also Temperatur, Spannung und Strom – den Lade- und Gesund­heits­zustand einer Batterie ermitteln. Für die Entwicklung greife ich auf bereits vorhandene theoretische Modelle zurück und gleiche sie mit Daten des japanischen Satelliten REIMEI ab, die ich von der Raum­fahrt­agentur JAXA bekomme. Außerdem nutze ich Ergebnisse von Experimenten, die meine Stuttgarter Kolleginnen und Kollegen für mich durchführen.

Wie Batterien für die Raumfahrt in Zukunft getestet werden? Anstelle von mehr­jährigen Kampagnen sind nur noch wenige Experimente nötig, um die Grund­daten für das Modell zu erhalten. Im Idealfall können wir sogar die Lebens­dauer der Batterien beeinflussen. Dann wird die Mission entsprechend angepasst und es werden zusätzliche Manöver geflogen. Auf jeden Fall können wir Satelliten schneller und günstiger in den Welt­raum schicken – mit meinem Wissen gestalte ich beim DLR die Raumfahrt von morgen.

Sie möchten mit Ihrem Wissen an unserem Institut für Technische Thermodynamik viel bewegen? Hier finden Sie die aktuellen Stellenausschreibungen.

 

So wie Linda Bolay gehen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler beim DLR täglich mit Neugier und Leidenschaft ihren Forschungsaufgaben nach. Denn hier können sie ihre Energie ganz auf die Forschung konzentrieren. Und dabei Pionierarbeit in den Bereichen Luftfahrt, Raumfahrt, Energie, Verkehr, Sicherheit und Digitalisierung leisten.

Was unsere Mitarbeitenden am DLR schätzen?

  • eine an Chancengleichheit orientierte und familienbewusste Personalpolitik
  • flexible Arbeitszeitmodelle und 30 Tage Urlaub
  • Weiterbildungsprogramme, Kommunikations- und Führungstrainings 
  • umfassende Leistungen rund um die Themen Kinderbetreuung und pflegebedürftige Angehörige über einen externen Kooperationspartner
  • eine an Wertschätzung orientierte Führungskultur

Möchten Sie ebenfalls Ihr Fachwissen und Ihre Innovationskraft beim DLR einbringen? Hier finden Sie unsere aktuellen Stellenausschreibungen.

 

Bewerberinformation

Links

Downloads

Kontakte

DLR-Institut für Technische Thermodynamik

zum Institut