Shaping the future.

Hybrid speedster for the commute of the future

Sebastian Scheibe is an aerospace engineer and conducts research into new vehicle technologies at the Institute of Vehicle Concepts in Stuttgart.

Every day, many of us travel by car from our homes to the nearest city. The distances seem short, but in the long term, local traffic emits considerable amounts of pollutants. My response to enable a resource-saving commute – the Safe Light Regional Vehicle (SLRV). The small hybrid speedster with a sandwich design is lightweight yet safe. Its fuel cell battery propulsion system provides it with a range of up to 400 kilometres.

My team and I are developing a small futuristic vehicle 

At the Institute of Vehicle Concepts in Stuttgart, we investigate new vehicle technologies, while always keeping an eye on the future requirements of the transport system. Together with my team, I’m working on the Safe Light Regional Vehicle (SLRV). The new small vehicle’s body weighs only 90 kilograms and yet offers a high level of passive safety. In cooperation with external partners, I have revised the design and adapted the exterior. We combined the innovative lightweight construction with a highly efficient fuel cell propulsion system, which I helped to install myself. I also programmed the control system.

Sebastian Scheibe in the Safe Light Regional Vehicle (SLRV)

There is more to the SLRV than innovative technology. It is intended to provide a technology platform for local zero-emission mobility that is quiet and available for personal use. Together we want to show that innovative vehicle technology, usage conditions and cost-effectiveness for commuter traffic can be combined.

The SLRV is in good company in the large-scale Next Generation Car (NGC) project. Research is being conducted on two other vehicle concepts specifically for use in urban areas – the Urban Modular Vehicle (UMV) as a modular car for private and commercial users, and the Inter Urban Vehicle (IUV) designed for longer distances between metropolitan areas. A total of 20 DLR institutes are jointly developing technologies for the next but one generation of road vehicles as part of the project.

The future belongs to intelligent mobility

What I appreciate most about my work is the fact that we not only keep the big picture in mind, but that we also get the results onto the road quickly. We have already tested and presented a first prototype of the commuter vehicle. Being able to get behind the wheel is great fun. At DLR, I can unleash my creativity and am encouraged to contribute my own ideas and content.

How will we commute in the future? Light vehicles like the SLRV complement local public transport, especially in peripheral urban areas and outside towns and cities and can be used in car sharing or as environment-friendly second vehicles. With a low purchase price and high mileage, the price per kilometre remains favourable while the environment is protected – this is how my knowledge is shaping the future!

Would you like to shape the future with us? You can find the current job advertisements of our Institute of Vehicle Concepts here.

Like Sebastian Scheibe, all researchers at DLR  pursue their tasks with curiosity and passion every day. They are free to focus all their energy on research and carry out pioneering work in the areas of aeronautics, space, energy, transport, security and digitalisation. 

What do our researchers value at DLR?

  • a personnel policy that offers equal opportunities and is family-friendly
  • flexible working time models and 30 days annual leave
  • further education, communication and leadership training 
  • comprehensive services for childcare and dependents in need of care, provided by an external cooperation partner
  • a management culture based on respect

Would you like to bring your expertise and innovative drive to DLR? You can find our current job advertisements here.

 

Information for applicants

Links

Downloads

Contacts

DLR Institute of Vehicle Concepts

To institute

Mein Wissen bewegt.

Hybrid-Flitzer für einen nachhaltigen Pendelverkehr

Sebastian Scheibe ist Ingenieur für Luft- und Raumfahrttechnik und forscht an unserem Institut für Fahrzeugkonzepte in Stuttgart an neuen Fahrzeugtechnologien. 

Täglich pendeln viele von uns mit dem Auto von ihrem Wohnort in die nächstgelegene Stadt. Die Wege scheinen kurz, langfristig betrachtet werden auch im lokalen Verkehr erhebliche Mengen Schadstoffe ausgestoßen. Meine Antwort für einen ressourcenschonenden Pendelverkehr: das Safe Light Regional Vehicle (SLRV). Der kleine Hybrid-Flitzer in Sandwichbauweise ist ein echtes Leichtgewicht und dennoch sicher. Mit seinem Brennstoffzellen-Batterie-Antrieb kommt er sogar bis zu 400 Kilometer weit.

„Mein Team und ich entwickeln ein futuristisches Kleinfahrzeug“

Am Institut für Fahrzeugkonzepte in Stuttgart forschen wir an neuen Fahrzeugtechnologien. Dabei behalten wir immer die zukünftigen Anforderungen des Verkehrssystems im Blick. Mit meinem Team arbeite ich am Safe Light Regional Vehicle (SLRV). Das neue Kleinfahrzeug hat eine nur rund 90 Kilogramm schwere Karosserie, die eine sehr hohe passive Sicherheit bietet. In Zusammenarbeit mit externen Partnern habe ich die Konstruktion überarbeitet und die Außenhaut angepasst. Den innovativen Leichtbauansatz haben wir mit einem hocheffizienten Brennstoffzellenantrieb kombiniert, den ich selbst mit eingebaut habe. Außerdem habe ich das Steuerungssystem programmiert.

Sebastian Scheibe unterwegs im Safe Light Regional Vehicle (SLRV)

Im SLRV steckt mehr als innovative Technik. Es soll eine Technologieplattform für lokal emissionsfreie, leise und individuelle Mobilität werden. Gemeinsam wollen wir zeigen, dass sich innovative Fahrzeugtechnik, Wirtschaftlichkeit und Nutzungsbedingungen für den Pendelverkehr sehr gut vereinen lassen. 

Im Großprojekt Next Generation Car befindet sich das SLRV in guter Gesellschaft: Hier wird an zwei weiteren Fahrzeugkonzepten speziell für den Einsatz in urbanen Gebieten geforscht: Das Urban Modular Vehicle (UMV) als modular aufgebautes Stadtauto für private wie kommerzielle Anwender sowie das für weitere Strecken zwischen Ballungsräumen entworfene Inter Urban Vehicle (IUV). Insgesamt entwickeln im Projekt 20 DLR-Institute gemeinsam Technologien für Straßenfahrzeuge der übernächsten Generation.

„Die Zukunft gehört der intelligenten Mobilität“

An meiner Arbeit schätze ich nicht nur, dass wir das große Ganze im Blick behalten. Wir bringen die Ergebnisse auch schnell auf die Straße. Einen ersten Prototyp des Pendlerfahrzeugs haben wir bereits getestet und vorgestellt. Sich selbst hinter das Steuer setzen zu können, macht einfach Spaß. Beim DLR habe ich die Freiheit, meine Kreativität voll auszuleben und kann außerdem jederzeit eigene Ideen und Inhalte einbringen.

Wie wir in Zukunft pendeln werden? Leichte Fahrzeuge wie das SLRV ergänzen vor allem in urbanen Randgebieten und im außerstädtischen Bereich den öffentlichen Nahverkehr, werden im Carsharing oder als leichtes Zweitauto genutzt. Bei niedrigen Anschaffungskosten und einer langen Laufleistung bleibt der Kilometerpreis günstig, während die Umwelt geschont wird - so gestalte ich mit meinem Wissen die Welt von morgen!

Sie möchten mit Ihrem Wissen an unserem Institut für Fahrzeugkonzepte viel bewegen? Hier finden Sie die aktuellen Stellenausschreibungen.

So wie Sebastian Scheibe gehen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler beim DLR täglich mit Neugier und Leidenschaft ihren Forschungsaufgaben nach. Denn hier können sie ihre Energie ganz auf die Forschung konzentrieren. Und dabei Pionierarbeit in den Bereichen Luftfahrt, Raumfahrt, Energie, Verkehr, Sicherheit und Digitalisierung leisten.

Was unsere Mitarbeitenden am DLR schätzen?

  • eine an Chancengleichheit orientierte und familienbewusste Personalpolitik
  • flexible Arbeitszeitmodelle und 30 Tage Urlaub
  • Weiterbildungsprogramme, Kommunikations- und Führungstrainings 
  • umfassende Leistungen rund um die Themen Kinderbetreuung und pflegebedürftige Angehörige über einen externen Kooperationspartner
  • eine an Wertschätzung orientierte Führungskultur

Möchten Sie ebenfalls Ihr Fachwissen und Ihre Innovationskraft beim DLR einbringen? Hier finden Sie unsere aktuellen Stellenausschreibungen.

 

Bewerberinformation

Links

Downloads

Kontakte

DLR-Institut für Fahrzeugkonzepte

zum Institut